(2008/10) Oct 2008

mousebb,
Don't feel guilty! Kids just have growth spurts at different stage...you've been doing a good job as it's not easy being a mum to 2!

lili
ya, size i sent u is S

mousebb
dun feel guilty ah...u r a great mom from what we all know abt u in this forum!

mommies
my ger is not feeding well today. only ask for milk in the morning n now, she's not drinking. she is v slpy n she is not feeding. i'm worried

soudez,
aiyoh, difficult situation. Esp since u still need to live w CL. Difficult to trust ppl these days. A friend told me there are maids who work honestly for a family for ten yrs but still steal from them when they go home for good.

Gals
my friend just came over with her 9 month old kid. They are sooooo cute at that age! Let's hang in there.

Mousebb, how come clinic didnt give me the forumla leh?? I'm giving Bryan Similac when my EBM not enough leh..U take it easy lah, as long as both kids are healthyand of normal weight then not so much of worry mah

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
The Similac is for stage 2 (6 months &amp; above). You want? I'm going to see Dr adrian tomorrow. Can pass it to you at Compass point.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies
Thanks for all your consolation. Am hoping they will have better weight gain at their next checkup. The PD too is also surprised that how come both my kids esp my son, has slowed down in his weight gain.</font>

Mousebb, ok thanks in advance!
PM u my h/p later

Mousebb, by the way when FM cannot finish within 3wks must throw away right? As stated in the tin instructions. U knw what? My FIL bought 1 large tin of FM for Bryan. I told my hb surely cannot finish and will be wasted cos need to throw. my FIL insist can keep, asked me to transfer into small tin then the bal. wrap and keep inside the big tin! -_-" I refused!! He still challenge me and says if cannot keep for long, then y they manufacture in such tin!! Wah lau! I told him : Father, some bb are on total FM, thats y can finish, but im giving Bryan BM most of the time and he cannot finish the FM!

Got your PM.
Have ordered the medela storage bottles from the babycenter spree.</font>

Tell your FIL only those unopened tins can keep for long (before the expiry date) but opened ones cannot mah. We only bought the 900gms one for wenmin and just nice, it lasts her about 4 weeks which is stated on the instruction.</font>

dimple
she has no fever and not on medication... she's hasnt been slpg for that long, just v slpy.. falls aslp just like that and not feeding as often as we usual. will call my PD later and chkif it is normal. v heart pain ah...

<font color="aa00aa">Jellypurin
Agreed with dimpletot. Wake your gal up if she sleeps for more than 5hrs. Monitor her temp too.</font>

Mousebb, Wenmin or Wenxuan can finish the 900grams tin?? Bryan cannot finish the 400grams small tin of Similac leh..then now worse when my FIL bought the 900grams one!

It's wenmin. We give her fm about once or twice a day. Just nice for 1 month.
How come cannot finish 400gm leh? Very small tin only leh. Wenxuan's one is 1.8kg and finished within 3 weeks!!!!</font>

Mousebb, we only give Bryan FM when we go out on wkends, usually only 1-2 feedings outside and sometimes when my ss not enough. Weird leh this is his 2nd tin liao, the previous one also cannot finish leh!

haiz... lemme share my story. at first wanted to TBF so bought small 400g tin of mamex gold to hide in cupboard. first day home from hospital needed to open already.

then first tin finished v fast. bought second tin. but still hoping no need so much formula so bought tiny one. then finish. CL said, urm i think u better buy bigger one. so we bought 900g one. then by the time she left also almost finished. so i went to buy the HUGE one. 1.5 kg. 2 weeks already and think more than halfway through...

although now the rate of depletion is decreasing cos bb only on 2 formula feeds a day... still hoping at some point will stop needing FM at all.

everafter,

tell yr FIL that you're trying to save him money. if really cannot use have to throw so buy smaller lor...

dimpletot, your bb also can finish 400g and 900g tin ah?!!?? what's wrong with my boy then?? he's drinking 90 or 120ml per feed when on FM, but cannot finish the tin in 4wks time leh

last time my girl was on 4-5 formula feeds per day... so very fast lor.

similac v expensive hor? thinking of trying that after this tin finishes though, cos my mum has funny idea that this FM is no good.

i think Bryan takes FM probably twice or thrice per week thats y he cannot finish the small tin. im like stuck in btw. My ss not sufficient to TBF so still hv to keep a small tin.

dimpletot, i cannot remb hw much is similac cos everytime its my hb who bought the tin

mint
I should be getting it end next year if I'm not wrong. I'm not under the new scheme where the payout is every 3 or 4 years. Mine's an older scheme.

I am doing direct latch but my girl drinks for 5 - 10 minutes, sleeps then demands for another feed very quickly. She will sleep longer during eveningtime/night time. Now I wonder if I am doing the right thing or if my breastmilk is enough for her. If not, why is she drinking so often.

<font color="blue">mint,
thanks for the encouragement.
hopefully my supply will come next month. really in a dilema now as to how to store milk by jan cause need to go back to ofc.

mousebb,
don't say that la. i'm sure you're a good mum. i think that your kids are just adjusting that's why like that.

karen,
maybe your girl is having a growth spurt too. mine was drinking every hour last time. now a bit better. 2-3hrs. but my problem now is usually baby don't want to sleep. she's wide awake sometimes and no matter what i do i couldn't get her to sleep. wonder if that's normal....</font>

mousebb
seems like your wenxuan and my #2 Kyler has close birthdate.. my boy is 15mths+++ this month.
our wenxuan is also Aug 07 bb?

Wow 1 day never catch up so many post.
Ytd was my official day of end of confinement, today went back office to distribute cakes and favours.. so tiring..
Tomorrow will be the full mth celebration hope everything will be smooth and not so tiring..
These 2 days I have missed 1 pump each day and I so worry my already no good ss will decrease..
But no choice.. will try my best...

re: fussybaby
haizz mummies I think the fussy baby is making me and hb reall cranky and will get irritated easily with each other...
SO draining for both parents... maybe I have forgotten.. but I dun remember my #1 and #2 is so difficult to handle.

MOusebb
if it's blood clog... gynae will give medicine to try "expel" the blood clog out else might need to do D&amp;C le..
When I had my #2, seems like there are blood clog not cleared out during delivery, I had mensus for more than 6 weeks ( which is abnormal, I think for C section should be shorter peroid)
So gynae after 6 weeks ultra sound and give me medication.. thankfully the clog came out.. my gyname told me maybe need to do D&amp;C my face go pale..

<font color="aa00aa">hi!

pic of kaitlyn in her emma socks.

1906747.jpg

they are still large on her as they are meant to last till 12 mths old.. but they hold up very well. they stayed on all the way during her full month celebration despite being passed from auntie to uncle.

if interested pls visit mini.fashionistas or http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1892101.html?1227261546 for more pics and other products.

October mummies receive free normal postage on top of sale prices!

cheers!

Mummies:
Do u have problem feeding babies??? Like latch on for very long time and stil not satisfied? Like my bb.

My cousin gave me a very good solution and i've used it for a week liao and u can try.

I'm someone who believe in direct latching rather than pump it out to let her drink as I would like her to stimulate and have easier let-down.

My cousin told me to let bb direct latch on 1 side and pump on the other side. When bb unlatches, feed her wif wat i've pump out and ho-say i only took 15 mins to finish a feed. Unlike the past i spent abt an hour to feed her.

Ribena
I'm the opposite of you. Ha. baby latched on for a short while and quickly went to sleep. ha ha. We as mothers are so hard to please. Latch on too little, we complain. Latch on too much, we also complain.

Joanna
I hope so ah. I am only afraid my Bm ss not enough for my baby.

wish to seek some advice..

i was pumping a max of 200ml (from both breasts) 1-2 wks after i gave birth.. then i fell sick with fever.. so i pumped only 2-3 times a day coz i was sleeping so much. after i recovered, i realized my supply dropped to like 80ml.. few days later i fell sick again with stomach flu.. for the last 2 wks, i've only been pumping max of 50ml.. sometimes, only 20-30ml (even after 5-6 hrs). it's so sad!
i've started on fenugreek for a wk, and horlicks for 3 days already. still no improvement.

i did not let her latch on as that was how i had the fever to begin with.. due to cracked nipple as i could get her to latch on right. so i had an infection and kinda developed a phobia.. if i let her latch now, will it make a difference? any one had similar experience?

<font color="blue">hi karen,
don't worry. i recently found out that baby can suck better than a pump. so i think your BM ss should be enough for your baby.

karen,
my bb most of the times wil latch on very long like 20 - 30 mins per side and she had been sleeping most of the time. I had hard time waking her up to continue the feed. And if i break the seal and unlatch, next hour, she will be screaming for milk. I'm very stressed out until i told my cousin abt this and she gave me her solution.

dumbo,
ur horlicks muz take 3 cups a day and drink it while hot. And it muz be thick- 3 full tablespoons. u try for another 3 days and see if ur ss increase or not. I rem mine dint take effect so fast. it took quite a while for my milk ss to increase.

<font color="blue">ribenali,
what solution did your cousin give you? mine if i try to unlatch halfway through a feed, she will sleep and refuse to wake up. so usually i just let her feed on one breast at a time until she is full.</font>

ribenali,
ohh.. i follow instructions and made 3 teaspoons instead of 3 tablespoons.. wah thats alot of difference. i'll continue trying.. tks!

<font color="aa00aa">Cookie
Wow! Sounds scary leh!Have to do D&amp;C if blood clog not cleared? Hopefully mine is not blood clog. Start to worry le cos my menses came back again yesterday after break for 2 days.</font>

annetan84,
Hmm.. My case is different from ur's. Mine is once i unlatch for her, she will wake up and if she's still hungry, she will scream. My cousin told me to let bb direct latch on 1 side and pump on the other side. When bb unlatches, feed her wif wat i've pump out and ho-say i only took 15 mins to finish a feed. Unlike the past i spent abt an hour to feed her.

There r also times where she also fell asleep and i juz let her be. Then i'll store the milk that i pumped out.

<font color="blue">hi ribenali,
i see.. then like that very hard on you. at least like that can cut down on your feeding time and you can rest more.
but then very hard to pump while feeding baby le.</font>

Christina, never train lah. he just dun like pacifier. He like my boobs. Haha...I'm his pacificer.

Karen, direct latch on easier than having to pump. That's whu i alot of free 1 hand time. Keke... I hand carry Marcus to breast, the other hand typing.

Ribena, i also sometimes let Marcus latch and pump the other side. Amazing let down when bb is suckling and pump on other. can get 60ml within minutes!

Karen, wake your baby up and feed again. This is what my CL does. Once baby fall asleep and reject nipple, but drinks less than 10 min, she will try to burp him, change diapers, put nappy rash cream. (basically try to wake him up) so that baby will latch again.

Ribena, i will try your method and see whether it works.

<font color="blue">hi enya,
last time you said that you got the trays with lids for $13.50 (2 sets). is it still available? how to get? can my hubby meet you somewhere to collect?</font>

<font color="blue">my baby eating non-stop again today. 2:30pm, 3:30pm, 4:30pm, 5:30pm, 6:30pm.. then when i put her in her cot she will start grunting like she wants to poo. then vomit out some of the milk she just ate. the first vomit was quite a lot.. some come out from the nose some more..
couldn't sleep whole afternoon cause i keep on checking on her. anybody's baby keep grunting and vomit out the milk as well?</font>

Joanne,
My baby same as yours will keep grunting and "gek" till his face red red. Today after feeding him he fall asleep dan on and off he will suddenly wake up crying and suddenly he just vomit his milk out even from the nose and the amt of milk he vomit out is alot lo and even splash on my face cos i was carrying him. Any mummies can advise? I'm getting worried... =(

Hi all, it has been quite sometime since my last post, how is everyone?

I have celebrated bb's full month on last Sat, but super duper sadly, my dad passed away on the next day. It was so sudden, til now still unable to accept it, cry time to time when I think of him...milk supply also affected/dropped.

Anyway, update for baby Isaac, he is doing fine and weighed 3.85kg now.

Ribena,
My milk supply is low, so I tried to latch my bb, hopefully can improve the milk flow. I also took quite long to feed him, and usually only manage to latch him on my left breast, he has problem suckle my right side. Also, he seems not full lo, will wake up very soon and cry for milk again. Thinking to direct latch on 1 side and pump on the other side too, but it seems a bit hard for me to so that. How did u do that?

phtanus,
I'm sorry to hear the sad news abt ur dad. Be strong, be the pillar of support to ur family.

phtanus,annetan84:
Its very easy one, if u got My brest friend pillow, u can put ur bb on it, support him/her with 1 hand and the other hand hold pump.

If dun have breastfeeding pillow, use ur own pillow and stack it up and put ur bb on it ( make sure bb is safe) then d other hand hold pump.

Tink pildough or xinying can somehow clip on the shield to the nursing bra. U may wanna as them how to do so.

Milk ss low?? try horlicks!! 3 FULL TABLESPOONS, 3 times a day and u will have lots of milk.

Joanne

he can come to my house void deck to collect. i stay at woodlands area. can sms 94525107 to arrange.