(2008/10) Oct 2008

mint, AB still will give a token lah..
hao lai hao qu

pouch >>

i thinking of gtting the bb bjorn carrier for use cos need to attend hb's parade in jan but still wondering if i shd get the MIM sarong from my sis since she no longeer using..
any comments which type is better?
i c my sis use the sarong like still need to hold bb but more use the carrier like easier n more "hands free"

re:sleeping on tummy
after reading sleeping on tummy..for past 2 days I also try to let Kacia sleep on her tummy.. and it's really works wonder.
I din even tried to let my #1 and #2 to sleep on tummy before afriad they not able to turn their head.
But anyway I let Kacia try... she used to cry and cry every 2 hrs and my MIL will say she is not full BM not full better feed and feed... then my bb also greedy pig.. feed she will drink.
Now she can sleep for 3-3.5 hrs le!! record le.. then I told MIL.. see.. not FULL? she can sleep well now.

But I'm not gng to try that at nite cos I still worry a bit..
Tummy in the day ok cos we always walk to her to check she is fine.

I only let my bb sleep on tummy in the afternoon. But after a while when I need to do my stuff, I turn her. Will let her sleep on tummy when her neck is stronger.

my bb is keeping more and more difficult to handle.
She simply need attention when even after milk.. cry and cry for attention. I have given her the pacifier now.. and she just spilt out and cry again.
She is not comfortable in rocker too.. I really dunno how to keep her happy besides carrying her around le..

jen,
You're so right! Pregnancy's the easiesr of the whole journey!

Pinny,
My boy always don't want to sleep after night feedings thus I'm very tempted to let him tummy sleep at night and yet I'm worried...

cookie, mousebb

I am a bit scared to let Ethan sleep on tummy leh...hmm...maybe I shld try tonite hor? then wun they vomit milk out?

I am running fever at 38 degrees now. Can I still breastfeed if I go see doc and he gives me medicine? Can I go near bb?

elchwong, diane : i guess it will be better to try to let your bb sleep on the tummy during the day 1st...@ least can monitor..until you are comfortable, then let them sleep on tummy @ nite =)

diane,

yes u can. i was running a 39.5 degree fever 2wks back and was given antibiotics and paracetamol. doc says safe to breastfeed. Only thing is, if you latch on, you might pass the virus over if its a viral fever. You may wish to pump to be on the safe side.

elchwong,

when you give your night feedings, don't talk to baby or on the light bright bright. Just feed with not much eye contact and on a dim light. This is so that we'll not over stimulate the baby and to let baby know it's night time, so just drink and get back to sleeping! Learnt this from Gina Ford's book.

My boy also sometimes eyes big big after night feedings. I just burp him and put him back in cot. If he still not happy, he'll whimper whimper a bit then sleep liao. I'm those kind my mummy who's not scared of letting baby cry to sleep (as long as baby's not hungry, burp already, diaper clean liao). haha.... heartless hor.

dumbo

ok thanks. I seldom latch him...always pump...hoepfully my supply wun be affected by the fever...supply already very pathetic lor.

hahaa i just chanced upon a new mom's blog.. and i give you an excerpt below - really funny and helps lightens our breastfeeding efforts..

"How often do you need to pump? It's like you are always having this extra thing stuck to your breasts. If it's not Bean it's the pump."

"As often as Bean feeds. In fact I'm trying to pump more to increase supply."

"I had a nightmare last night."

"About Bean?"

"No, about your breast pump."

"Oh? What about?"

(Background info: The husband is an LSM teacher. Teaches Math to children with learning disabilities)

"I dreamt that I was teaching in class and this ADHD kid kept rocking on his chair making that Eee wuu eee wuu eee wuu eee wuu sound. I got really irritated and told him to stop it but he gave me that defiant look and continued to eee wuu eee wuu eee wuu. It went on for so long that I finally snapped and wanted to go over and stop him. Then my anger woke me up. I saw you pumping. I'm very haunted by the sounds of your breast pump."

"Live with it. You'll be hearing it more often, especially at night."

she's an Oct mum too, hmm, maybe it is one of you guys...

her next post is killing me... HAHAA.. i havent laughed so hard since i gave birth..

ok if no one "complains" abt the earlier excerpt, i will copy another one..

<font color="aa00aa">Pinny
Yes. I still wake up twice every night to pump cos I scared if I dont pump, the supply will reduce.
My #1 is also taking bm, about 400ml every day but so far ok for him and am glad that he likes it.

Diane
Suggest you try to let your bb sleep on tummy during the day first. I'm not going to let wenmin sleep on her tummy during night time cos we will be too tired to monitor her. Take care and recover from your fever soon.</font>

diane,
We better not be gungho and try letting babies sleep on tummies so fast...let's monitor them a few more times during the day 1st...

jollyhoppy,
How long do we have to monitor?

Pinny,
I read that in Gina Ford's book too but it's so difficult not to look into baby's eyes when he opened them so big loking straight at me when bf-ing...will try my best to be more heartless...

Essanna, the blog entry is funny. Care to share the link?

I've been letting Marcus sleep on his tummy since he was 2 weeks old. Haha... BB head won't get stuck in middle lah, they can turn their heads. But i still worry and check on bb often. Keke...

<font color="aa00aa">Hi all, have popped our gal on my EDD 11.11.2008
She is 2.782kg &amp; 46cm in height.

Been too busy with caring of her coz my CL can only come on next Mon so my MIL came over to help us out.

Having problem with BM supply although have been latching my gal the moment she is out in the labour suite &amp; have been doing direct latch eversince leh. But I will carry on to do my best, interim have to give her some FM after BF

&amp; my nipples r both sore. Can we still continue to BF &amp; give EBM if there is blood stains? </font>

Diane
if it's your first time trying.. I suggest u try in the day where u can monitor.
I also dun place bb on tummy at nite, a bit worry also.

JJmom
Yay, you're in the club too!!!

Actually although my latch is good, my nipples are still a little sore. Especially the first few seconds when baby latches on. but after that, it is fine.

forest,
yah. my baby today tire me out. to feed her takes about 2hrs each time cause it seems like she is always hungry and refuses to sleep.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi all,

Juz to update tat I have popped our girl on my EDD 11.11.2008 natural with epi. Our girl is 2.782kg, 46cm in height.

Did most of u mommies deliver with episiotomy or without? Is the cut quite close to the anus? How was the pain after delivery? I find mine quite painful even till today - 3rd day liao</font>

jjmom
congrats. although i dun hv an episiotomy, i tore my hymen, so i needed stiches. i felt the soreness even after a week. but do try and sit on a float or cushion, u will feel moe comfy. if the pain is very bad, do see ur gynae

JJmom, yes the cut is the small space between ur anus and vagina..
for me it was quite painful for the first 10days at least so i got a float *yes those that kids use for swimming* to sit on which does relieve the apin a bit when i sit now..

oh n going to do big biz is a big challange *so scare wound will burst*

but don worry the pain is normal

forest,
Yes!! I did tat. its safe to do so. I look so much better now and the feeling is great!! For having nice hair.

Diane,
Do take care, drink lots of water. Have a speedy recovery.

Congrats JJMom. I had the pain near to anus too. I cant remb how long does it last but on and off i took painkillers.

haha...Jen, u're so funny when u said "welcome to the world of expressing urself"

Essanna, the blog sounds interesting, can share the link with me too? I badly need a good laugh!!

congrats JJmom2008!! make sure bb is latched on properly. if need be, seek the help of a lactatin consultant. it made all the difference. if your nipples are bleeding, still can feed the bb but i think it is super OUCH for you!

heheh this is the post that i nearly died laughing..

The Failed Mamasutra

Following Auddie and Mel's advice, I tried the mamasutra. Going on 4s and positioning myself in such a way that Bean can help my clear my blocked milk duct. Now here's the problem.

I have small boobs. Which means I need to bend REALLY low for my teats to reach Bean. It requires me to go on my elbows and my thighs spread out. So I ended up balancing on the inside of my knees and my elbows extending to an awkward 135 degrees. It's VERY tiring. I cannot last for even 10 mins. Reminds me of the Amore pilates class I used to attend.

Second problem is that in that position, no way I can rub the boob. I tried. I almost broke my left arm and risked smashing my boob into Bean's face.

Third problem, Bean developed this bad habit of sleeping when suckling. While I am desperately balancing on the 4s, the little monkey suckled halfway and went to sleep. When I'm carrying him I could free one hand to tickle his cheek or feet to wake him up. Now in this mamasutra position, I can only call him to wake him up. Of course my baby is oblivious to noise when he's sleepy.

So I give up. The lump is still there. If it doesn't clear by this weak via breast pump + knuckling, I'm going to the doctor's.

Oh, you guys should see the look on Bean's face when I went all 4s. He had this WTF look on his face. In fact, he was so shocked that he didn't know what to do when I put my nipple at his lips. He was just staring at me. I only managed to shove it into his mouth when he yawned.

Damn pathetic.

Momo = Fail

Her blog address - http://momobananas.blogspot.com/

hope not violating any forum rules... ;p

JJmom

Congrats!!!
Finally you meet your little bundle of joy le! Post pics here once you can k?

For episiotomy, I had one but not pain... didn't have any painkillers at all. In fact, can't even feel it... dunno why...

Karen,
Like you, 1st few seconds when baby latch on is very painful for me. Especially so on my left nipple. Makes me wonder if its normal or because I latch incorrectly. I just assume I have sensitive nipple since baby manage to suckle well and the pain goes off after a few seconds.

whitepaper, u gd lah got high pain threshold..
me dunno izit epi off liao so the nite after i deliver i pain until cannot sleep..

luckily day 2 maybe i got use to the pain liao so not so bad..

karen, elch, when jus starting to latch i also got the pain but now i think use to it liao so feels normal

Letting baby sleep on tummy the 2nd time today...he's been sleeping from 7.30pm till now and I've been walking in and out of his room checking on him every 5-10mins...hope he'll wake up around 10pm for feeding before I go to bed...then I'll place him facing up...

<font color="aa00aa">Mommies, thanks for all the well wishes &amp; advises

Will try to post when I get the fotos from DH, so far he's the 1 keep taking fotos

Still trying my best to take care of my girl...busy busy with so many little thing here &amp; there @_O'' Lucky my DH, MIL, mom &amp; sis r all of great help

JJmom,

Congrats! n do take care..!

btw, did someone mention abt fridge to go? i juz purchase mine frm mumsfairy.. can get it frm their website...

JJmon
Congrats...

Mummies feeding bb with EBM, do ur warm up the milk in advance b4 bb wake up?
I only warm up when my boy wakes up but then he will reali scream and cry so loud. Makes me feel sad to keep him waiting.

JJmon
congratulation.

Today I am so tired. My #1 down with gastric flu and #2 doesn't want to sleep and demand to be fed all the time. I latch him on so many times until I feel as if my nipple is going to drop off. He is still not asleep yet. Boy boy if you dun let mummy rest how to have more milk for you.

after reading the encouraging result of letting bb sleep on tummy. i think i m going to try that. Ethan does not sleep long, he always wake up screaming way b4 his next feed.

Long time since I posted.
Had been busy adjusting to my gal's schedule etc esp after my CL left last week. Did come in once in a while to check up the posting here.

So far so good for my gal. My gal is 5.08kg and 56cm at the 1st mth check up. PD said very good weight gain.

JJMOm2008,

For episiotomy, I had it with my #1, my pain only went away around 5 to 6 days.

Mint,

Regarding pouch and sling. I prefer pouch. I bought one from Pupsik and my gal loves being in it. I find it easier to handle than sling as I just don't know how to use the ring on the sling ler. But my friend told me it is just a matter of practice.

Babe99,

I do warm up EBM in advance if I can. Sometimes she wake up way in advance then no choice. Because I realise it is very hard to feed her when she is super hungry. She will fuss and whine as she drink. If I prepared in advance and fed her immediately when she need it, it is much easier to feed her and she is satisfied. She is on 3 hourly feed. I prepared 15 to 20 mins in advance. But sometimes, she needs her feed 2.5 or even 2 hours, then no choice.

Precious_08,

Some babies do sleep better in sarong. But if they get used to sleep in sarong, they might have problem sleeping when u bring them outside or other places because they need sarong. That is why if I can, I prefer not to use it. I used for my #1 'cos she got colic. We can't deal with her endless crying. We stopped using when she was 4 mths old as by then she no more having colic.

Re : Sleeping on tummy

I do let my gal sleep on tummy if she can't get to sleep on her back. She can sleep well on tummy, around 3 to 4 hours.

Share a photo of Cheralynn at Day 37.

1883406.jpg

Essana,
thanks for the link. Need all the laughs I can get man. Love the part abt bb giving the wtf face, heh.

Whitepaper,
I think u got no pain cos our gynae's famous for good stitching.
btw, u seen her for second post natal check? I'm going today, ie sat.

Jjmom,
congrats and welcome to the club man. Persevere w the bf...