(2008/10) Oct 2008

cookie
I hope I won't hate baby in time to come... hahaha... I also pump for 15mins only, like mousebb and bbgoh! 30mins is long leh, nipples not sore?

essanna
I dunno if he's going through a growth spurt???

**one question that need the advice of you mommies**:
I'm feeding my boy EBM, should I feed on demand? He seems to be always hungry. Or should I be hard-hearted and limit the amount he takes on a 3 hour basis?

Diane
Yah maybe its the cod fish!!! ahahahahaha... hope the DHA got to his brains then

mousebb
Yah I let him cry also, and I also tell him I'm pumping milk for him, if not he got no milk to drink. But really stressful pumping with a baby screaming away. His screams are real powerful, I have neighbours popping by to ask me what happened... hahaha... I'm also worried my BM supply will start to run low... so far still ok, can pump about 150 to 210ml, depending on the number of hours in between.

hi jen,,.
oh my god,, really terrible man your massage lady... if u still wnat do you post natal massage , maybe you can ask origins jamu which i did.... they are professional and the lady rebecca is nice. just give her a call..

mousebb.. thanx..

whitepaper.. u should increase his intake alr... he needs to be full enough to be able to last that desired 3 hrs... if u feed small amts each time.. u're gonna be vvvvvv bz.. hehe.. then where got time to express right... i know ur CH appetite quite big one hor? luckily ur ss v good leh..

now that my mother (CL) has stopped coming over.. realli muz time feeding and expressing v well.. or i have to train helper to feed bb... if alonzo were easier to feed still ok.. he is SO DIFFICULT when it comes to feeding.. drink halfway will struggle and CRY!!! any of ur babies also lidat???

<font color="aa00aa">Karen
The pain could be caused by the muscle pulling. If you are worry, why dont you check with your gynae?

Whitepaper
Your ss is really good!!! I can only pump between 130-160ml at every 3-3.5hours nia. You should keep up with your good work so that your supply will always be there. At first when my kids cried, I also kena stressed up. As time goes by, my heart become 'harden' liao. Just let them cry and I focus my attention on the TV. Hahaha! </font>

just went for emergency consultation with my pd. didn't sleep all night cause was panicking. baby was making weird sounds and vomiting. then found out now that baby got colic. looks like i'm not burping her properly.

Yesterday night bryan kept crying and vomit twice too. usually his vomitting is after feeding and burping. This time really jialat, the EBM jus down his mouth, then vomit out! aiyoh..

hi everafter, yah.. so scary. i dare not sleep last night cause afraid that baby will choke. then this morning really panic already cause still haven't stopped. she will eat but everytime i put her in her cot will start to vomit again.

hi everafter,
he just say to burp baby. and he told me not to stop until baby burps. then he gave me some medicine for colic.

i don't know also. but i just delivered last oct 31. so my menses haven't stopped yet.

PrincessEmma, is that so? If breast-feed for 6mths or more then menses wont come meh??

Joanne, wah then urs really muz hv scared u out

everafter, yah. that's why whole night didn't sleep. was sitting beside baby. then didn't know who to call cause everybody sleeping already. and nobody here knows why baby is like that.

Joanne
Then you still don't want to go sleep? I was happy as last night I was able to catch more than 3 hours of sleep.

Anyone of you still going through the emotional roller coaster? I"m experiencing this hormonal imbalance now. A little thing, and I bawled and bawled. I'm a wreck!

everafter

Just to share - went PD (Dr Ong EK from TMC) yesterday and he said there are 4 major things parents are always worried about when our babies are about a month old:

(1) phlegm/mucus in throat, nose
(2) vomitting/regurgitation of milk
(3) pimples on face
(4) wierd sounds baby makes at night/during feeds

For (1), he says its normal and leave them alone, no need to remove the phlegm and mucus.

For (2), it is normal too. Just burp them while they are lying on their sides (like what bluey said) so that vomit can come out and not get stuck at the throat. Normal to see milk curds in vomit too coz milk turns into curds 10-15mins after being ingested. Also normal to see sticky stuff in the vomit - this is thickened saliva, not phlegm (contrary to popular belief).

For (3), this is called baby acne which will go away on their own. His advice is not to apply anything.

For (4), these sounds are NORMAL, though may sound like baby is wheezing like got asthma. But NO, it's not asthma, it's just normal for babies to produce these sounds. Will go away by themselves too.

So Mommies, if you are worried about the above 4 common problems, fret not, they are absolutely normal and will go away when baby is older.

I think Dr Ong EK is extremely good. He hit the bullspot by mentioning the above 4 common problems we face when baby is about a month old. COZ THAT'S EXACTLY WHAT I'M FACING!!! Resulted that I don't have any questions for him! Coz he answered the questions I wanted to ask liao mah... hahaha...

mousebb

Your supply is about the same as mine lor. I got 210ml coz I pumped only after almost 5hrs!!! I realise my heart hardened liao lor, now I can tolerate baby's cries more. He can be crying non stop and throwing tantrums, and we just place him in the room, close the door and let him cry. Then me and hubby watch TV and joke in living room. hahaha..................

<font color="aa00aa">Whitepaper
Same same. Wenmin also behaves in this way too. Some times she will not stop crying even when we carry her so me or hubby will just leave her on the bed crying while I play with wenxuan or watch the TV. Hehehe!!!!

Dr Ong EK is a very popular PD wor! Heard his queue can be very very long! Thanks for sharing! Wenmin also having 'pimples' on her face now. Her face looks so rough. Wenxuan din have this problem last time leh. And she also produces a lot of funny sounds when she sleep! Dont know why this baby is so different from her korkor! At times can be very gek sim when handle her! </font>

<font color="0000ff">I had fresh blood discharge when I wipe after gng to pee this morning, now the discharge is like a little brownish colour. Dunno shd I go in hospital or wait for more happening...</font>

whitepaper
Thanks!! Those are very useful information.

JJMom
Hmm, I think you should observe and if there's more blood, go into the hospital. You haven't delivered, right?

Whitepaper, thanks for sharing! Its so helpful as its EXACTLY what i faced too!! Bryan's face been popping with lots of baby acne! Made me feel so gek sim and my hb guessed could it be something i eat that causes him to hv allergy as most of the time we're giving him EBM unless we're going out.

Wah...u and your hubby really close the door and jus let CH cry ah?? I cant leh..only allow him to cry a while when i go warm up EBM. See he cry until face cry, i feel so heart pain.

Now bk at hm with in-laws i quarrel quite abit with hb. Cos he kept wanting to bring Bryan to the living rm for bonding with my in-laws. Its not wrong of cos, but i feel pissed off! As i told him: So they only want they baby but not the mummy!! Cos when im pregnant, they behaved normally, so i presumed they dun really fancy this grandson. Didnt offer to cook any special things for me either. (Not that i giam, but jus unhappy) My MIL lagi worse! kept doing things that might cause me to fall dwn! So right now, the baby is out, everyone is so fasincated and wanna carry and hv bonding! Pissed me real off manz! I told him, at least my family not only concern abt the baby AND most imptly also the mummy!!

pat, how much is the massage from orgins jamu n how long?
karen, don worry i also roller coaster mood..
hb tot i got PND but then come in n "pour out" feel better that i'm not the only one.
so karen do pop in n pour out watever u want..
we r all here to hear u out

Jen, thats y i HATE it when my hb complained that his parents dun hv enough time to bond with their grandson cos i always keep him in the rm!! dun talk abt bonding now when they're not the least concern when im pregnant!!

everafter, kan kai dian.. the hbs will NEVER understand and their parents are NEVER wrong n its always we the wives creating trouble..
so the next time ur hb wanna bring ur boy out u find excuse like oh i haven burp him or u wanna BF him so find watsoever reason u have lah..

like my BIL bring his "cheapo" GF with him to visit me in hspoital n i hate it so the moment my MIL attempt to let my bil carry i'll say don carry so much lah etc etc n carry my gal over put back in the nursery bed so the gf won't touch my gal..
n my MIL will keep wanting to carry her n i'll keep finding excuse to keep my gal laying in her bed..
at leats it works for me :p

Karen
i think all of us will go thru the emotional roller coaster. there will be the days that you may love your baby so much, and there will be the days you wish you dun hv one etc etc.

It's the hormone thing.

everafter
the last time when i had no. 1, my menses only came after 1 year cuz iwas full breastfeeding. I guess it depends on individual

everafter, my ils and my hub are the same...I'm always the troublemaker.

the last my mil came to visit during my confinement period when i had my no. 1, she kept carrying the baby to play, while i wanted her to nap cuz i was very tired and also wished to sleep a little. '

To make things worse, my hub kept complaining that i hide inside the room and layed on the bed and sleep and didn't bother to entertain his mom.

haiz.this time round, i forbid his family esp his mom to come during my first month. so tired of their nonsense.

Jen, doesnt work leh..cos i didnt latch on my boy, i only feed him EBM. My hb and i take turns to feed him. And my hb always like to feed him in the living rm. Sigh! Anyway, we're lookin for hse now, hopefully when i move out it will b better! hahaa...want more bonding?? sorry dun hv lor!! :p I'm a evil DIL

Enya, its really sian when our own hb also dun stand on our side hor! Wah..breastfeeding will stop menses frm coming ah..i dun mind that leh! But hor..i hate the engorgement! Cos got probs latching on my boy, but i cant b bringing out my pump all the time mah! Wonder hw to cope during CNY. Any advice frm mummies whose not latching on??

everafter, then u find excuse to say u wanna latch lah cos notice got some drop in EBM..
for me is i find 1 million n 1 reasons cos is my bb not theirs n its non of their concern watsoever..

enya, ya lor.. my MIL also always wanna come on wkend afternoons n stay from like 12+ to 7+ then i cannot nap cos not nice they come n i go nap mah in the end after they leave i can sit in front of tv n doze off

Enya
I totally understand the thing about visitation. Just today, my MIL wanted to come to to my place. She's the super traditional kind so she expects me to be wrapped all over, and not be how I'm dressed now (I go underwear only in an aircon room at night! <-- this would freak her out). Plus I have three dogs and I know she would be nagging non-stop. So we had to think of a way to bring the dogs somewhere else, and I dress appropriately to 'welcome' her. Sigh.

Actually all we want is to take care of our baby and rest, right? So difficult to achieve this even. I think I will be telling friends and colleagues not to come visit me, but wait till the one month celebration. I have the added burden of making my dogs not bark and getting all excited with visitors.

<font color="0000ff">Karen, yupz I haven deliver...still playing the waiting game with my girl, vy sian!

Called the hospital juz now, also ask me to monitor &amp; wait for more signs...sianzzz

Pls come out now bb...</font>

<font color="0000ff">Visitors :

Hi^5, me too. Have told my DH b4 hand tat none of his side of relatives r allow to visit us b4 the 1st mth.

My PIL r those crazy ppl who will call their relatives themselves to tell them tat they r hospitalised so tat ppl will visit them...siaozzz!

&amp; their relatives also crazy ppl, can do visiting at late nite like 11pm &amp; bring beer as gift (when my FIL is hospitalised) !!!</font>

<font color="0000ff">PrincessEmma, congrats on finishing your confinement. I really vy sianzzz to start mine @_o'' Alonzo is so handsome!

Everafter, LOL...your boy so cute

mousebb/whitepaper
wow pump only 15 mins but can yield so much?
Hmm ok.. think I better cut down to 20 mins.. and see how.. cos my suply low le.. thats why I pump longer see more or not. and YES sore ah my nipple

btw whitepaper, when my gal take EBM she is also hungry more well tho I agree she should be hungry more then having FM but she is unpreditctable.. somestimes 1hr, 1.5 hr and 2 hrs. the longest is 2 hrs. she can never last for 3 hrs on EBM..
I dun think we can restrict them...if bb is hungry got to feed but first must determine what is the cause.
I have given her the pacifier.. when I think she should not be hungry.. I give her the tutu.. and she can really fell alseep., if not for tutu. and I cannot pacific her I might feed her milk le.

everafter
Your bb so cute !!!he look so big boy hor..
My hb used to do funny things to my #1 too.. but now we are too busy and tired to play tricks on bb liao..
Enjoy every moment ok!

Princess Emma
Your Alonzo so handsome !

JJmom
have a smooth delivery...

Enya
Thanks..

whitepaper
Just read what u wrote from Dr Ong. Thanks!!! I have ??? for qn 4 and it's answered!! I was still wondering if I should bring bb see a PD..hehehe

Mousebb and white paper
wow I wonder when I can have ss like yours.. power...ok I cutting down the pump time.. see the sore will go away or not..

Visitors
I'm actually rejecting all visitors at home these days (except customers who come to self collect)cuz I'm really tired and major lack of sleep. it's non-stop work at home with 2 kids and housework. Dun give face anymore..:p

mummies who posted their kids and babies pictures..
all your babies and kids are juz gorgeous!!! compliments.

Hiya Mums!

Long time no post. How are ya ladies? Hope all are well. I am into my third week of confinement now. I have been sneaking out once every week on the pretext of PD checkup, gynae check, etc :p

Feels damn good to be outdoors...muahhahahahaahaha

Reading the current discussion on visitors and I have my contribution to share too...not sure if I am over-sensitive becos of the hormonal changes. My MIL's relatives have been comin' to my house in the first week and it was so tiring cos felt too paiseh to sleep during the day. Nowadays, my PILs like to come by in the afternoon and jus look at my boy, wait for him to wake up n watch TV...then they freak out when my boy wakes n screams for his milk or pass motion. The scary part is my MIL have always insisted that she takes care of my boy when i return to work. Till now, I have not seen her bottlefeed him once or change his diaper, or even ask my confinement lady to teach her how to bathe my boy, urgh she can't even carry him properly..looks like i have to look for infantcare soon.

<font color="0077aa">hi mummies

how is everyone?

cookie
i hate BF too, i thk if not BF then we sure can manage very well &amp; enjoying the motherhood while on maternity leave
i use avent isis duo pump. i thk if the flow is smooth then can pump queit fast bah..

mousebb
my supply seem drop liao.. nw i can drag till 4hr still get 120ml only, even 5hr still get the same.
most probably due to i m not so hard working to pump bah, thking of give it up soon

i always try to pump after feed so avoid baby crying while pumping </font>