(2008/10) Oct 2008

Xinying, Mousebb:
Yah lor, nothing much I can do except to follow PD's instructions. Just hope this will really bring the jaundice down. Coz I also read that increasing bf may help clear jaundice, so not sure I am asked to stop for now.

xinying:
Have you sent marcus for any tests or pd review? I have tried stop ginger intake, put "seeds" thing, sun my baby, but nothing works.

My appt with pd is on 28th. Pd didn;t say we need to do any test when we saw him when bb was 1 week old. Sigh... dunnoe lah. The last test bb did was when he was Day 5, reading was 14.5.

<font color="0077aa">mousebb
her PD got mention during 1st mth she can take 60-80ml. she pass motion on almost every feed &amp; CL said her urine is a lot.

bbgoh,

I look at the ingredients on my Fenugreek bought from GNC. It stated cellulose (a type of sugar/glucose) and gelatin (a form of substance extracted from collagen[protein] of animals). And on the bottle, it stated Fenugreek is a traditional ayurvedic herb. So I supposed that make it 100% natural though processed to make it into pill form. I still take it since now I want to try to maintain my milk supply. My mum still dun allow me to latch on. She afraid I suffocate my BB with my boobs.

My mum told me she will shave my BB gal's eyebrows during full month if not next time she will want to buy alot of things. Hehe... She pantang over such things. My BB gal dun really have much eyebrows so it make no difference.

Wah, was trying to catch up with the treads.... bm will affect jaundice?

My bb has jaundice too and was admitted yesterday and today reading was 11.1 so hubby and I decided to discharge him since PD said up to us since he is in borderline.

I have problem latching my bb and one nipple is very sore and not able tolatch for days. Any advice on how to latch as once my bb hungry... he is a monster. He keeps turning and when u put him near the nipple, he will bite it

jetudes,

wat is the "seeds" thing u tried b4? I heard my massage lady said we Chinese put something in the bath to cure jaundice. I cant remember where I read it, it seems to be "liu huang". Anyone know wat exactly it is? My BB level is still 200 as at yesterday so now hope to bring it down.

xinying,

How to assess if our BB still got jaundice? How to look from her face? Cause I only see my BB gal face is red red type. Never see yellowish thing. Ask doctor, he replied the flesh under the eyes. But I see red red onli. Very confused. Feel upset that I never read up enough b4 pregnancy regarding jaundice.

<font color="ff6000">hi mummies,

for those using PIS, just wanna ask: do u find that mode 1 is better for expressing? i find more flow from that, even though they say mode 2 (maximum expression) is usually best? so i toggle quite a lot from mode 2 back to 1.

Also, roughly how long do u pump each time? like for 20-30 mins every 3 hours? or less? I'm pumping about 5-10 mins for 2-3 times every 3 hours, cos most flow comes out in the first 5-10 mins. so i rest for like 5-10 mins after every pump.

for those pumping, do u also latch at every feed? i've started latching only at alternate feeds...

last of my cheong hei questions - do u have a specific arm chair where you pump? I pump in my room so don't have an arm chair yet, quite jialat...

xinying,

I got try latch her on after birth. My BB got small mouth. She can hardly put my nipple inside. Then the midwife comment that I may risk suffocate my BB. After that, my BB got sent to Special Care Nursery (SCN) so I never successfully latch her on.

Before she discharge from SCN, I try to latch her on with help from the nurse there. My BB manage to suck a bit. But I got to press down my boobs. If I dun do that, her nose is covered by my boobs. Sighs...

My PD say look at BB eyes. The eye white part shd be white. Marcus one is still yellowish.

Dimpletot, i also pump in my room, on my bed. I latch bb on every feed. I pump only once or twice a day or when feeling engorged, normally for 20min max. BB seems to be sucking well. Able to help empty my breats.

oic... My bb nose also. Just use finger to press boob down lor. Actually, bb very smart one. Will move abt till they are comfy before sucking.

LittleAlmond, put nipple cream to help soothe the sore? My BB also like to bite and pull when he's done. Pain man...

<font color="aa00aa">Dimpletot
Same here. I also feel that mode 1 (stimulation) is like better for expressing as compared to mode 2. I guess this is bcos during stimulation phrase, our breasts are full hence you see more milk is being expressed into the bottle. Come to phrase 2 is like drop by drop le.
I only pump like 10-15mins cos I scare nipples will get sore. After each pump, I will apply some nipple cream on the nipples.</font>

Hi Dimpletot, I tried using the min mode today and feel that it is better too. Yesterday try to be hero, used the max and the nipples feel so sore.

But I still cun get enuff milk supply for bb and yet also not able to latch bb. So very worry for him as by now his reserve shd have been finish.

Xinying, I did use the mustela nipple cream but still feel the same. Hope the nipples will recover fast then can try to latch again... heard that if keep expressing, the milk supply will run out soon? Is it true?

ypg

the seeds used for bathing. My MIL told me its actually used for making the yellow rice dumpling during "duan wu jie"..dragon boat festival. Go get from chinese medicine hall.

<font color="0000ff">littlealmond, aiyoh...where did u heard tat rubbish from? It's shd b the total opp, the more u latch &amp; express, the more BM supply u will get so jia you
&amp; pump more when u need.</font>

congrats pinkimum! Enjoy your motherhood.

Ypg, i called the sg blood bank. After answering the list of questions, finally i'm not suitable to donate or store the cord blood. This is due to my previous thyroid problem and the medication i had taken. I had to be off the medication for at least 3 years otherwise the cord blood is of no use.

Congrats to all th mummies who has popped!! Enjoy Motherhood!!

Any mummies still awake?

Dimpletot:
I have d same prob as u. Mode 1 is better for me and not tat painful oso.

Mummies:
I'll be finishing my confinment tmr and i've book for my facial tmr!!! Full mth party b held on Sunday at Peony Jade Restaurant. Cant wait to see my frens!! Cant wait to go out!

Forest, Tracee
U there? Give birth le ma?

dreamyjo,

I see. So u considering to store ur cord blood in this case? Or also no point storing since cant use the cord blood due to ur thyroid problem?

JJmom2008,

I think littlealmond worried that as compared to latch on, expressing will not have so much milk flow. I also worried about that. That is why I am anxious to do latch on asap. Cause my colleague got mention b4 that expressed milk can only tahan a while since our brain will not be stimilated by the cold breast pump to produce milk as compared to latch on by our BB.

ypg/xinying:
Ypg, your baby's jaundice not as high as mine, my baby's is 300++ (at almost 1 month). When he was tested at day 5 it was 16. I dunno how to judge whether his jaundice is higher than the last time. Think the seed is called "liu huang". The 2 sayings I heard, one is to put a few seeds inside the baby cot, the other is to smash into powder to bathe baby.

Jaundice babies:
The eye white will be yellowish. Then when you press the skin and release,can see the spot where you press is yellow for a while then returning to skin colour.

Let's hope all our babies will recover soon.

RibenaLi,
Yes.. am here...!
Congrats on ur freedom!! tomorrow is the day hor!!
how's BB Claudia now? any new pics?

me same as Trace.. still here... tom seeing my gyane..

allo mommies,
@@ hoot hoot. i'm waiting for the little girl to wake up for her midnight feed. wakey wakey abby, mommy needs you to empty out a breast.

Enya,
tempted to buy a milkband. these days when i bf and forget which side, i usually grope myself to see which side harder or fuller to determine which side shall have priority for next feed. hahah... will let u know soon. the bands look good, very systematic.

mint,
80 ml at 12 days i think. trickles in slowly.. i also suspect rains has given birth. ahhahaah.. nvmd about the c0-sleeping lah as long as bb and you get some sleep.

dimpletot,
glad to be of some use ;)

buffy,
i'm going to pack a diaper bag, grab CL and 2 week old baby in tow to carrefour next week to get my brie and camembert. the wind can blow straight into my pores for all i care, i miss my cheeses and alcohol so much.. now all i need is an ice cold beer. sigh..

nickypower,
haiya.. i think alot of mommies here are night owls only they might have found it difficult to breastfeed and type at the same time. i'm not logging in so often as well because well, the little girl is a shark. she's on a feeding frenzy and i swear when she turns to look for me, she looks straight at my chest.

xinying,
actually.. what i really want to know is with you, your husband and bub in the picture, WHO'S TAKING THE PHOTO OF YOU BREASTFEEDING? whahahah.. ok lah, breastfeeding is a natural wholesome family involved process. hee heee

ypg,
you ought to do what xinying and i do, push your boob down to make room for breathing space. kekeekke

mommies,
the ironic thing about that pregnancy wish of sleeping on my front again has now been dashed because my now very engorged rock hard tits are too painful to sleep on so i'm back on my sides and my back. pfft.

RibenaLi,

Congrats for the end of ur confinement. I am waiting for mine to come in another 2 weeks time. I am planning to end my confinement 1 day earlier than my BB full month celebration. I am going for my facial, haircut, shopping for new clothes. Hehe... Hope that day come faster.

<font color="0000ff">RibenaLi,
wah...time really passes fast, like juz hearing u gave birth &amp; now your confinement also over liao. Yeah!
Happy for u
Can b chio mommy le!</font>

JJmom, ypg, forest &amp; Tracee:

Yeah, really cant wait for confinement to end. Claudia still got jaudice but doc says its Breastfeeding jaudice and its normal. I was looking back at her pics and realise that she used to be very fair when she's born but now very tanned ah. hee.

I'm planning to go brailizan wax ah, like hook to it already. hee.

I'm busy in planning of my bb full mth party. Will upload pics once the party has ended. My party gg to be held in a restaurant so need to plan the guest list and seating arrangement. Guess wat? My hubby wants to be the emecc himself. hahaha!! coz too rush to find 1 emecc.hee..

tracee and forest:
Guess the waiting game is no fun at all coz i guess u gals should want to see ur bb soon. Be patient ah.

RibenaLi,

All the best to your BB full month party. I am sure it will be a memorable one for you.

Good nite, ladies. Got to rest a while b4 I wake up later to pump milk.

pildough- Haaa so farnie of u to mention ur girl is a shark and when she's on a feeding frenzy she will turn to look for me and looks straight at ur chest!!! Haa tats sooo comical lah!! ;)

Enya and forest not here tonight?? ;p

morning mummies

pildough
yeah....i kept doing that at nite in the middle of the nite last time....:p

nickypower
sorry..i was mia last nite..watching hongkong serials..:p

finally managed to get some sleep...

how are you mummies?

pildough...
you are real early..2.19am..ehehehe

today going to avent toa payoh to buy spare parts...for my manual pump and going to housewarming of my bro.

hv a good day, mummies!

<font color="ff6000">xinying, mousebb, littlealmond, ribena,

thanks for sharing!

gals,

gonna have massage later - think the binding really works... heh. looking forward to regaining part if not all of my taut tum *not*

my CL is quite good lah... as vouched for by my friend. really helps to have someone to turn to in the middle of the night when bb snorted some milk thru her nose! she calmly and professionally sucked it out *yeech*.

hb and i are dreading nightfall these days... cos it's when bb's PATTERN emerges. amazing how she can sleep so so so peacefully in the day and so so so fitfully at night! fainted.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">dimpletot
Envy you gals who can go for massage. My gynae said I cannot go for massage leh

MORNING MOMMIES!

are you going about with your morning feeds?

MORNING PREGGIE MOMMIES!

pls have lots of post natal forbidden foods like nasi lemak, anything lemak, bobo chacha, ice kachang, ching teng, rojak and kindly put some pictures up for me..

i'm gagging for rojak.. with nice warm toasty yu char kway, lots of cold sliced cucumber, pear, slices of ginger flower... mmmmmm

<font color="ff6000">i was just searching and searching for my post on what i wanna do after popping, but cannot find! hiyah. wanted to scrapbook a page on that.

my CL said i can eat ROTI PRATA!!! whooooo hoooo. gonna get that tmw. naughty hubby said he dowan to buy for me. </font>

mousebb,

don't worry, in a few weeks u also can!

pildough,

I've expressed enough for bb's 11am feed, so i can massage in peace and give others a chance on the joy of feeding my little piranha. (probably my PILs) .

dimple dimple,

i want to eat tissue prata! but prata can eat right? it's just murtabak that cannot..

careful of the curry, i had curry the other day, crapped hot shit, baby also crapped more and her bum turned red. dunno whether it goes to bm or not. lol

ooh i think I'll just stick to sugar then.

crapping not easy for me - those who push doth get piles.

tata! going to get whatever shuteye i can.

dimple,

i usually take the last feed e.g. 11 p.m., 2 a.m. then let the CL take over the 4-5 a.m. feed before seeing her in the morning also. But sometimes lazy to pump then i see her every 2-3 hours, i think my breasts are adapting to her appetite, getting engorged within 2 hours. k need to pump now.

<font color="aa00aa">Pildough, dimpletot
For my first c-sect, my gynae din allow me to go for massage at all. This time during my post-delivery checkup, he said the same thing again.
I guess the only thing which I can do now is to wear my osim binder longer a bit, hopefully my tummy can become flat flat.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Pildough
It is a good sign that you are getting engorgement on your breasts cos this shows that your supply is very good. So far I have no engorgement at all leh, even if I dont pump at 3hourly.</font>