(2008/10) Oct 2008

purebliss
maybe will turn out #4 and #5 another time instead of only #4 :p

phtanus
good that you will see your bb soon in 2 days time!!!

freya mummy's
never heard that jaundice is caused by breastfeeding. i'm surprised at what the polyclinic doctor's ignorant comment.

nickpower
good to see you in the afternoon once in a while :p

Whitepaper & enya,
*Muack* Thanks dear! Ya, I will jiayou, and will come back here after delivery to learn from u gals how to take care & Bf the baby!

nickypower,
are u having braxton hicks contraction??

Phtanus,
wahhh... u will give birth on 16th... agree, its better to follow ur gynae's recommendation.. she's the pro, so will know better!!

eh, i still got chance leh.. maybe my boy decides to report soon... ho ho ho!! im still hopeful lor.. :p :p

mspiggy,
*waves*

<font color="aa00aa">Phtanus
You will be seeing your bb on 16 Oct!
Feel excited for you! Jiayou and have a smooth delivery.</font>

Enya
Me too! I thought it was only me. I can wake up in the middle of the night, feeling hungry. But I will usually ignore the feeling, because too lazy to climb out of bed. Even though I'm suffering from insomnia now.

karen
the prob is i cant..lol..can hear the hunger pang. juz took some oat milk and biscuits and im still hungry.

Phtanus- Jiayou mummy!! I'm sure ur gynae knows ur condition best and kw wat works best for u oso...Meanwhile do eat and rest well b4 ur big day!! ;)

whitepaper- Yup done all the needed prep orie, so now just wait for signs and for bb to be engaged lor...keke!! But looks like she wun be out so soon leh since my gynae said she's not v.low yet...
Very envy u now leh, hehehe as if pregnancy din happened at all!! *keke* At least it's good, will make u wanna another bb in the near future... ;p

Enya- Heee yalor at least u dun always see me posting entry here at late nights!! *keke*

forest- Dun kw is it BH contractions oso leh..cos not tat intense oso...Haiz...Anyway tml is my check-up again..hope to hear some good news like bb has goes lower etc le.. ;p But think unlikely oso lah cos can feel her still quite high leh!

Phtanus
Im sure ur gynae knows best... unfortunately sometimes things just have to be the opposite from as planned.. however i wish u all the best and we will wait for u to be back....

Enya &amp; Karen...
Talking about being hungry... we are all in the same boat... lately my tummy growls in the middle of the night... and yet before i go to bed mum makes sure i have a hot drink and 2 slices of bread.... i wonder how long this hungry mode cycle is gonna last...

<font color="ff6000"> gwen,

so you decided to deliver in JB on the spur of the moment? so how abt Dr Khi??

gals,

am still pumping and latching and supplementing with formula. haiz. slow but increasing. praying for more each day! gambette everyone who's in the same boat! one day our milk supply with catch up! think my gal has a lazy latch though - keep having to change it, feel quite mean to break up her suck too...

am very happy that bb Kate has next to no jaundice! PD said she doesn't need to be sunned at all. PTL. apparently, if blood group same as mother, incidence of jaundice is lower.

i went for my chkup today..doc asked mi to wait again!!! he said its anytime nw..juz wait for the right time..

i am checking in to hospital tonight for induce.
tomoro is my 38th week and baby getting too big so cannot wait le. feeling very very scare now..

Trace,
Like you, I'm asked to wait again...just like what he said last week...hah...really hope I don't have to visit him next week as I wish to see my baby by this week...

my bb oso big..my doc nv mentioned anything abt induce n c sect leh..

elchwong,
last week he oso said my bb engaged..asked mi wait..today still asking mi to wait... he said see u next week...i asked him..see u in the clinic or delivery suite?

today i told my doc..i cant differeniate the diff btw contraction n bb's movement..guess wad he replied..he said he oso dunno cos he got no experience in dat at all..pengz

Trace,
yr doctor never say anything? during my check up yesterday, he was shock at the growth of my baby cause he put on 500 gram within 1 week. so he ask me to choose either induce or c-sect before my 39th week. cause i wanna try natural so i opt to induce and he say asap otherwise the baby grow somemore i will have difficulties giving birth. wat i worrried now is he say baby head not engage so i might still end up c-sect also. but at least i give it a try loh.

Hie Dimpletot...

I actually decided to deliver in KL before that and Dr Khi was advised on that and she was also supportive as i wanted to complete my confinement in KL.. However, because my water bag broke before expected i had to settle with delivering in JB... But from the week before i had all my records in hand and Dr Khi also wrote a letter to the delivering doc to advise on all my medical check ups...

dimpletot>>how to tell supply not enuf?? i was told won't not enuf one?? coz i oso suspected my supply not enuf thats why baby at night keep wanting to feed even within very short period after i fed her le... ppl tell me wun not enuf leh...?? how u know?? pls advise, thanks. can PM me? in case i miss out. thanks

ms pi,

dunno leh..but today i asked him if i m needed to go c sect due to big bb..he said nope...he said for my case ok leh..he will onli advise c sect unless needed...

out of cuorisity i asked wads the biggest bb he has delivered..he said 4.6kg, natural n 1st time mummy..

Trace,
hmm maybe different gynae different ba.
Cause he told me average asian babies only abt 3.2kg at 40 weeks. thereswhy i feel scare. As long as yr gynae say u r alrite to wait then wait ba. I also wish baby can come out naturally but no choice..

ms pi/xinying,

he said these weight r juz estimated..mine is 3.6kg, who noes comes out will b less than dat..he dun want his patient to b under the knife for nothing..there's no guanrantee for anything ...

xinying,

its ok lar..as long marcus is out safely..trust yr gynae's words..cos he has been with u for mths...
he noes wads best for u n for him too..

nickypower,
yeah.. sometimes, i cant tell if its BH either.. but the way u describe it.. does sounds like it!! nonetheless, have a good checkup tom, and keep us posted ya! ;)

dimpletot,
great to hear that u r progressing... jia you!!

Ms Pi,
JIA YOU!! will wait for ur good news ya!

elchwong,
im still waiting lor.. let's all wait together!!
wow.. seems more n more of us are in the waiting game now... let's all stay +ve!!

Trace,
i burst out laughing reading ur post!! Dr Ho is not wrong leh.. he also cant differentiate cos he never experienced bb kicks or contractions mah.. wahahahahah... he's damn farnie!! wahahahahah..

forest,

he very farny one lar..today out of the blue told mi..he has a patient..said cant have sex..then he turned to my hubby..u dun hv such prob if not yr wife cant b pregnant liao..pengz..

Trace,
My boy's 3.1kg last Tues and 3kg today...gynae says no worries...

forest,
Ya...let's wait together...hee...hope it's not too long!

hi mummies, so glad my temp turn up today n officially from tml onwards i can start to work from hm n start my ML..
finally can rest well n stay hm n hopefully this will help my BP go down..
congrats tweety!!

Diane:
I din realise I gave birth one day after you, my boy's full month this sun. Regarding burping, my baby doesn't always burp, then my CL says if he poos poos or pass gas also can, coz also release the air inside haha..

Freya's mummy/ xinying: I also worried about my baby's jaundice as you. My Pd also said just need to sun, now baby almost full month but the jaundice not completely gone. Rebecca, mspiggy, are your babies ok now?

Xinying:
My CL suggest I apply Hazeline ceam (xue hua gao) on baby's pimples, put in fridge before that. I think it did help abit. You may want to try.

Can I ask u mummies, is the standard jab better or the 6 in 1 jab? Anyone knows how much difference is the cost between private clinics and polyclinics?

owl reporting. @@

it's my 12th day today after the c-section so i was catching up alot on eggs and chicken (apparently forbidden foods after surgery for awhile).

Baby Abby has abit of jaundice so we've been sunning her for a while now, tm going back to the pd to be cleared then not going back to pd anymore because .. well. it's too friggin expensive and we wait too bloody long. pd quoted my husband 1000+ for immunisation package so we're going to the local gp or polyclinic instead.

Abby is good, she can still snooze through a diaper full of crap, the dog barking his head off, vacuum cleaner going on so that's a pretty good baby there and she passed her hearing tests in case anyone was wondering. The only thing that upsets her greatly is being hungry (i don't blame her, she probably got that from me) oh and taking baths (she got that from me too.. hee hee).

I have a question, the kid makes lots of noises and sounds. On some days, i swear i hear horses neighing, donkeys braying, squirrels clicking and birds chirping from her playpen.

She hates the playpen and the heat and she likes to sleep with me. Of course, i have friends with children giving me advice on co-sleeping, suckling to sleep, carrying her, spoiling her. But i'ld say bugger it, i'm not going to suckle her when she's 10 and kids grow up too fast.

I've turning obsessed, cannot stop looking at her. One night in hospital, i actually wept like a pussy because i suddenly missed having her in my tummy. i shuffled to the nursery, wheeled her out and watched her sleep for an hour. I had to text enya for reassurance.. haha.

Congrats to the mommies who have popped!

How are the rest doing?

I'm breastfeeding and i have absolutely no sense of time.

I have a last question.. how much are you giving your kid in terms of ml, is there a general guideline? Abby seems to be eating more and wanting to eat more.

always thought people who used the description 'spanking new' watched mtv asia on ch20.

enya enya enya

other mommies other mommies other mommies

c'mon, who replaced me as owl? hehehehehe

oh nicky has. nicky power!

Trace,
kekeke... funny lar..

elchwong,
hahahah.. i've waited until im overdue.. u think long or not?? wahahha.. but i will stay +ve.. and keep waiting... ho ho ho!! :p

Jen,
good that u feel good now... stay relaxed and am sure ur BP will go down ya! jia you!

pildough,
welcome back!!! great to hear that Baby Abby is doing great!! hahaha... u sound like a contented mummy now!! hehehe...

as for feeding, i've read that there's no guidelines so to speak.. every baby is different, and so, just feed as per what ur bb needs..

the new owl is.... *drum roll*... nickypower!! but she doesnt come on v early sometimes.. kekekek... ;)

Breastfeeding: How long should we let bb drink from each side of the breast? How to know when is enough? Right now, I just latch her 20 mins on each side. Any advise?

Jaundice: Was told by my CL that if bb have jaundice then mummy cannot take ginger (if bfeeding). So my CL didn't cook food with ginger. Not sure if my bb's jaundice will go down or not. Tmr is the checkup. Also was told by the nurses that giving plain water to bb with jaundice helps to bring the level lower. That's why during my stay at Mt A, after every feed, the nurse would give my bb plain water (1 oz or less) and true enuf, the jaundice level went down. So maybe can try a bit of water.

Hey pildough,
Great to hear that you're doing well.
And 'welcome' back. It's been a long time since we heard from you. Heehee!

I'm also looking for a swaddling blankie to buy. Any recommendations? There's a type I heard of where you just swaddle the bb in two easy steps. Right now I'm using the cloth that I bought from Mrs Wong's class but I think it's a bit too warm for bb.

hi forest!

yea yesterday was the first real shocker, she had 60 ml of ebm, 20 min on the right boob and two hours later she was hungry again so CL topped her up with 20 ml of ebm. She usually takes 60 ml and sleeps for about 2.5 hours before the next feed.

sometimes i think she nyaks alot at night to irritate the CL then CL will carry her over to my room to see if she wants to suckle which i'ld happily oblige (well, it's not like i have a country to run or anything) then i'ld let her sleep on the bed for a few hours then carry her out again when she's comatose. It's her ploy to sleep on my comfy bed before returning to her shitty, hot latex with holes mattress that her mommy paid a good 70 bucks for.

Hey mint!

Congrats on your new addition
Actually, i have been lurking around the forum occassionally. Hhaha, we've finally popped. Know how are karen and rains doing?

on breastfeeding: i have no timing but it takes 20-30 min for a boob to go from rock hard to soft and pliant when she nurses. I read somewhere on the breastfeeding website for the baby to nurse on one breast till satisfied before allowing the kid to nurse on the other. What happened last week before she turned into an angry, hungry poopie monster yesterday was that she was quite happy to nurse on one breast (may take up to 45 min if she dozes off) then i use the pump to pump the other breast after.

Starting yesterday, she started on one for about 15 min and it seemed empty and she was quite happy to go at the other breast for about 10-15 min although it didn't feel so deflated, i pumped out the remnants to store.

on average, i might be able to get about 80 ml from both breasts after nursing and 100-120 ml on really good days (i sound like i'm farming myself). not sure if that's even enough, i hope so though.

diet: i've been taking ginger leh but not alot, don't know about the water but i think bm has enough water content. i'm also checking the kid's jaundice level tm, hope you'ld have good news too.

mint,

i swaddle the kid in one of those annaku cloth nappies, it works esp on really warm days. then when i switch on the air-conditioning or on cold days, i'ld just make sure she has her long sleeve, mittens and big baby granny pants that covers her feet and i might choose to swaddle or drape those standard receiving blankets made of terry or fleecy material.

mint,
other than the wrap that i bought from mrs wong, i also bot the kiddopotamus swaddle me blanket.. mousebb was using it on wenxuan if i rem correctly, and i bot that to standby as well.. keke.. :p

pildough,
hehhe.. looks like Baby Abby is slowly increasing her BM intake!! hehehe... shows that she's growing really well too!!

i think babies making noises at nites are pretty normal too.. 2 of my fren's bb does the same, and their PD says everything is normal.. cos' we dunno wat the babies are thinking / dreaming?? kekek..

Ms Pi
Hv a smooth delivery!!! :)

Trace
I luv your gynae and his honest comments abt what is bh and what is contraction..ahahahahha

pildough
nice to see you again!!!!
i must be spoiling my gal all this while..i co-sleep with her, let her suckle to sleep, carry her...i do everything that most people consider as 'spoiling' a child.

but i love and enjoy my every second with her:)
good to do it now, cuz as she grows older, she wont to do it with you anymore.

and glad to hear that both you and baby abby are doing great!!! and you sound so happy

nickypower...is the champion nite owl..but soudez is catching up...lol.nickypower...jiayou!!!