(2008/10) Oct 2008

can i check how often do we need to express our BM? 3 hourly basis good enuff? my ss is very low, i wonder if i express every 3 hour, will there be milk?

for c-section, how soon can we start doing massage?

hi mummies, congrats to all mummies that had recently popped. all the best and enjoy motherhood!

Carole, i thought you had you c-sect on friday, u so soon discharged on saturday? super leh. or i remembered the dates wrongly. Hehehe...

I really hadnt had time to go through the posts yet. I think im having contractions now. menstrual crampy feeling at the lower belly. Srong and long.

Anyway, i need some info from experienced mummies here. currently am 36w5d. went for checkup in the afternoon. Dr checked my cervix and she say currently i'm 1cm dilated. She stretches it alittle too. Can i check, if 1 cm dilated, does it mean anytime now? how long normally till you deliver? She didnt tell me much except to ask me to go back next week and monitor if i experience dizzyness or gastric pain cos my BP had gone up. She didnt really say i may go into labour soon. I'm having stronger and longer menstrual kind of cramps at night and in early morning for a few days now. Any idea?

<font color="0000ff">Everafter, from what I learn from Mrs Wong, she said midnight is the best time for milk stimulation.

&amp; abt sterilising the milk bots, we were taught not to air dry them. Juz take them out of the steriliser &amp; assemble them up. Ever if there is water in them, they r suppose to b germs free since already sterilised. Air drying them again, will only re-intro germs from the air wor...

Any1 else to comment on this too? In case I remember wrongly =P</font>

<font color="0000ff">Beary, u have been having engorement right? Mayb u can try pumping at a shorter interval like 1.5 to 2 hrs? Coz bb on FM normal have to b feed ard this timing?

Everafter, my friend also told me abt the leak when she knows I bought the supershield too

Everafter,

How about putting a pillow behind you and lean back against that pillow? I'm also using supershield. No leakage so far.

<font color="aa00aa">Forest
Soon lah soon lah! Your turn coming soon le!

Ginapy, Babe99

beary
My gynae told me no massage for me.

Carole
Ya! All babies are cute and adorable! They really melt our hearts hor. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Everafter
Agreed with JJmom. I also wake up once or twice in the middle just to express the milk.</font>

<font color="#C48793"> Purebliss,
OMG!! she is really sickenin!! she din need to do much tins n yet still got the cheek to ask so many stupid qns? really pity u. so nw u lookin aft ur twins alone?

lili,
wa.. ur CL is so good to u leh.. u'r really lucky to get a nice CL.

Hi Babe99,
first of all, congratz on ur newborn
Kaeden is cute n look so alert.
dun feel discourage.
u'r a great mum!!!
do take care of urself coz ur little one still need u.

Karen,
ur bb is nt the smallest size. my BB is nt heavy. Erin is juz 2.5kg n she oso 37wks at birth

dreamyjo,
b4 my delivered, i oso hve the menstrual kind of cramps dun nite n early in the morn. u should monitor ur menstural kind of cramp. coz labour pain is exactly the same feelin as menstrual kind of cramp. but if the feelin din stop n the pain if gettin stronger, u should call up ur gynae or head to the hospital.</font>

JJmom

I give Ethan FM at night leh because my BM not enuff wor. Only give him BM during daytime. Just now my uncle called and asked me wat I need so tat he can give me as pressie...i told him "I need sleep!!"...so u can imagine how sleep deprived I am!!

Forest

Ur EDD today?..no signal ah?..ya time flies hor...I am hoping for the day when Ethan is able to sleep throughout the nite!!!..Ribenali also very sleep deprived!!

Everafter

I bought the supershields too. Not very good leh or is it I dun know how to use. Yea the milk will leak out lor.

everafter

my BM situation same as u. In the morning can pump more. After that, its like 70 to 80ml every 4hrs...sigh...btw my bb alsohas hiccups...usually its after every feed leh. Did u have trouble buroing ur bb? Sometimes he dun want to burp and i feel very tired so will just give up..after that he will throw up milk lor....

Hw's dinner? Mi had curry fish head..hehe...mi today busy watching my hk serial..mi n hubby have watched it since fri...gan cheong! Haha...

Am still in the waiting game...hope got gd news frm doc tmr..

All the babies so adorable! Mummies struggling with bf, please jiayou and be our motivation. I'm sure if you persevere, you can do it!

Rebecca, i googled on the web and found that some people can be dilated a few weeks before their actual labour. It really depends on individuals. Hopefully i fall into this category and tong till next week till i hit 38 week. Either bb decide to come out or induction. Hehehe.. thanks for the information and i will monitor my contractions. How long did you have night and early morning contraction symptoms before actual labour contractions start?

karen, congrats that your gal so guai decide to turn down. You must be real happy now that you need not go under the knife. Now is your turn in the waiting game liao. i think you have to reward her for her good behaviour and dont forget to praise her. haha :>

xinying: my SIL said nt bad.. food nice. i m holding the full mth at Serangoon Jumbo (buffet)

dreamyjo: no.. i admit on 8th and discharge on 11th. Conrad discharge on 12th.

All our babies melt our hearts.... tts for sure

forest
yeah...my bb was very notti. the nurses got quite frustrated cuz there was a long queue of mummies waiting to do ctg, and my boy wasn't cooperative. one moment he kept hiding away so couldn't detect his heartbeart, the other moment kept kicking the thing off. even my gynae was shaking her head, smiling away.

cant imagine when he comes out *headache*
was contemplating if should get him out on 23 instead of 25...i'm really dying of fatigue these days, couldn't sleep at nite at all. he was doing so many stunts in there.

beary
jiayou, mummy!!! :) be patient, you will do fine. feel free to ask. can also email me [email protected]

<font color="#C48793"> dreamyjo,
actually i keep havin the contraction symptoms for quite some time. but din really care abt it. until 1 or 2 wks b4 my labour day. the feelin gettin stronger n stronger. sometimes i got so bad until the whole nite i cnt slp well n the feelin stop in the mornin 8 plus. but 3 days b4 my labour day, the feelin is really bad but still bearable. but on my actual day, the pain didn go off. n i din noe that my cervic has open. coz whn i reach KKH n was under CTG monitor, the doctor checkon me n said that i'm 5cm dilated. but whn i was at hme, i got a feelin like my virginal is kind of 'lose' LOL!. </font>

Dreamyjo
Heee, yah, but it can still go either way. So not putting too much hope first. But yah, I couldn't stop smiling when I came out from the gynae's.

Rebecca
So you mean the whole contraction can stretch for days? I've never experienced BHs before (or I didn't know what they were) so I don't know what to expect. When exactly do we rush to the hospital? When waterbag bursts? When we're dilated 5cm?

rebecca, same same.. i also had contraction during the night and keep waking up in the middle of the night. but pain still bearable. Early morning, then stop. today, maybe gynae stretch my cervix, so just now feel contraction for a quite sometime but now okay le. Will monitor. Thanks for the info. If the contraction is unbearable and dont stop, i will know what to do.

Karen, think on the bright side. haha.. praise her so she stays put.

Enya, your gynae put you on CTG when you are 37 weeks. Hmm... im 2 days away but mine never put me on CTG leh even when i tell her i had strong and long contractions during the night. Hmmm.. is it a normal practice of depends on gynae one ?Hey do you mind if i email you or sms you for advise on breastfeeding after birth should i encounter difficulties?

<font color="#C48793"> Karen,
LOL!!! some ppl will sream like hell whn they are 5cm dilated liao. coz the contraction got bad. hmm... i can onbly tell u my experience. diff ppl hve diff labour signs. some will hve their water-bag burst 1st. some will be like me, labour pain or they called it contractions. the feelin is like menstrual pain but the pain is more painful den normal menstrual pain. some will hve spottin. mucus like discharge together wif little bit of blood show. like my Aunt. she got the mucus like togther wif blood. but always remember, once u'r in 37wks. ur BB can be out anytime.

dreamyjo,
welcome. juz share wif u my experience.

but once ur contraction is like every 5 to 10 min. u need to admit. dun wait till the pain is unbearable. coz u might nt hve the strength to walk or drive (if u'r drivin).

hi mummies, today work from hm cos temp MC..
cross my fingers this one will appear tml..
think after 3 days of rest i feel much better..
hb more understanding after i talk to him.. n his more supportive of the idea i work from hm then stress abt a temp.

contractions can last for wks?
i now have this tightening feeling n slight pain when i use some energy to pee or poo..
also i have this pain on my left that refuse to go away..
pain till i walk also sala.. at nite also cannot sleep..
wonder if it bb resting my my nerves or is this symptoms..
also gynae mention my bb head in cervix liao wat it means?
i gonna pop anytime?
i very scare that i dunno how to identify my contractions cos i nv really got any menses cramp b4..

congrats vanilla!!
gamabette all the mummies!!

<font color="#C48793"> seem like a few waitin mummies here dunno hw a contraction feelin is like wor~

Jen,
my experience on contractions:
- tummy or abdominal(below belly button) got dis tightenin feelin n slight pain.
- the uneasy feelin goes on n off. like every 5-10min</font>

mousebb,
kekekek... me hen fan hor!!! wahahahaha.. :p

Diane,
so far none.. hahah.. keep waiting lor.. :p
can tell u and RibenaLi r tired... jia you wor!!!!

Enya,
kekeke... ur boy got "character".. kekekek..

Trace,
wah seh.. eat curry fish head! shiok shiok!! kekek.. looks like u truly enjoyed ur 1st day of ML!!
keep us updated on ur checkup tom ya!

dreamyjo,
diff gynae diff practises bah.. im already at my EDD but was nv put on CTG.. i've so far never really had much contractions as well.. therefore, am quite blur on it too.. :p

Jen,
great to know that u feel better now!! have hope n stay positive ya!

looks like u're having sciatic pain? i.e. bb pressing on ur nerves.. i had it too during early 3rd trimester, and i kept asking my boy to move, and after a few wks, he eventually moved.. phew!! maybe u can try?

ur gynae most likely means bb is engaged.. it doesnt necessarily mean that u'll deliver soon, cos bb can be engaged for sometime even before labour starts...

A tip to share....

for those who BF... if your breast gets swelled up... use a hotel towel and place it on your breast you will feel very much relieved...

I suffered my first few days when Marissa didnt wanna take breast milk till breast got so sweeled up and hard like a brick.. i even had to go to the doc as it was so pain...

So doc advised to use the hot towel method and its was a relief....

------------------------------------------------

From what i read through one of the sites... our breast gets filled up with milk every 3 hours so basiclly we have to pump every 3 hours and i know how frustrating it can be especially to pump in the middle of the nite....

-------------------------------------------------

rebecca, ya the tightening feeling with slight pain when i pee/ poo is the lower tummy area..
but its not constant so i guess shd b BH..
forest, my gynae says my bb very engaged liao..
sometimes i pee can feel like something coming out from my V like tat..
so i scare maybe my cervix dilate oredi or wat..

i think so lah.. bb pressing on my nerves again..
now 37wks+ really getting very tired..
cannot wait to start my ML

<font color="0000ff">Jen, me too. Can't wait to start my ML, now 36weeks but I plan to start my ML only on 38week. My legs &amp; feets r starting to 'kill' me these 2 days liao...argh
really need the rest.</font>

purebliss: if i were u.. i will put those shit in her mouth to shut her up!

Tks god i gotten back my old CL.. kekeke no complains. sounds like mother lately.. whaah nagging on the slippers cos i think she saw my feet swelling.

worse.. i cant take care of myself and having problems up n down fmor bed.. and my girl tonite having high fever!

hi mummies..

in my 38th wk already and baby still not engaged. urghh.. at 37 wks she was already 3.2kg.. gynae thinks im in for a long labour.. *gasp!*

am waddling like a duck.. gaining weight like crazy.. cant sleep.. and peeing consistently.. no signs of contractions at all, am getting pretty frustrated.. i cant wait for her to pop.. yet i fear the day it happens..

To first time mummies: is motherhood what you expected it to be? Question goes out specially to those who did not plan their pregnancy and to those who did not plan to have children at all. i'm one of those ppl who used to say i rather have 10 dogs than a kid.

Diane, bryan also vomit the milk a few times as we didnt manage to burp him. my hb blamed it on my BM, i was so mad!! Today went to see PD and i asked her if my BM will cause my bb to vomit and PD says very unlikely! That shuts my hb's mouth!! He's not very supportive on breast-feeding! I got rather pissed off manz!!

Thanks to all mummies on your advise on breast-feeding. Think i gotta be more hardworking and wake up to express in the middle of the night!

Dreamyo
it's different gynae's practice, i guess. no prob. you may email or sms me. 94525107

forest
yeah, i think so too!!! inside already giving people headache..lol. how are you today?
i'm seriously dying of fatigue today. lol. lie down also cant sleep. and my gal is down with running nose today. ark.

dumbo
i was one of those who say to hv a dog is easier to hv a kid. :p i still think so. it was much tougher than i think, different problems at different stage but i choose not to worry abt it. I juz take a step at a time, and I'm enjoying motherhood so far. there are the difficult and hard days and there are the easy and good ones.

everafter
i'm sorry to hear what happened to your bb. it's not unusual that babies vomit or hv reflux. too bad, your hb isn't supportive, but he isn't the only one.

take care, jiayou mummy.

jjmon, in 3days time i'll b in my 38th wk..
lets hop by then i can go on my ML..

can i ask.. how long does 1 contraction last?
i'm like getting some tightening feeling every like 30mins?
but its not long jus last for a few secs

Enya
tks for ur response..

my hubby and i are like 2 big kids in the hse. we don't do any housework, no cleaning, no washing, no ironing, no packing.. since we moved back with his family, they're even the ones who feed our dogs now.. i really duno how we're gonna be good parents.

i had to make my hubby drink his herbal soup and eat his veges today.. err??!!! how can he be a daddy!?? what kinda example is he gonna set?

i told myself to take it a step at a time in this pregnancy.. and not to worry. so far so good. but as the date draws nearer, the headaches escalate. haii...

dumbo
my hub was like a little boy too before my gal was born. but now he's learning....and is doing a good job so far as a father (no perfect but glad he's making alot of effort)

guess will take time...we will do better .

Enya,
today is bad... im actually having heat rash on my back!! guess the heat is really getting into me, and fancy having the rashes even before confinement!! duh..

oh dear, ur gal is down with runny nose? must take care.. guess the humid weather lately isnt helping!!

dumbo,
my mentality is also to take 1 step at a time.. guess, i wont know how i will fare as a parent until the actual test starts.. and we will learn to cope with it!!

everafter,
hope u can have the time to have a good talk with ur hub and work it out ya!! its impt to be on the same wavelength so both can work towards the goal together!! jia you!

forest
i used to hv heat rash all over my stomach when i had my gal. ARGH couldn't sleep cuz very itchy.
had to spray ice water to stop the itch.

thanks. im going to sleep now... juz finish working.

our champion nite owl is late today...wonder what's she doing...ehhe. prolly eating biscuit and milk before coming.

yeah... the rash is very uncomfortable.. n it had to come at this last lap of mine.. grr...

have a good nite Enya!! im also heading to bed soon!!

hehehe... yeah, nicky must be having milk n biscuits..

soudez- Heee icic...Hopefully Dr Koh wun disappoint us when it's our time for delivery!! ;)

jollyhoppy- Thxs for sharing ur birth story mummy!! Meanwhile do rest and eat well!! ;)

Carole- Baby Conrad looks so boyish and handsome!! Luv his fine spikey hair!! ;)

Ruffles- Glad u make the right choice of firing the CL!! She wasn't tat pro at all lor from wat u have described those incidents to us! Meanwhile jiayou!! ;)

dimpletot- Bb Kate is so sweet &amp; cute!! ;)

Enya- Hey mummy, glad ur check-up and CTG check was smooth and fine!! ;)

forest- haaaa u are right, I will always snack and have a glass of milk every nite one!! *KEKE* If not bb will protest for her milk feed!! ;p
Heee cos day time, sometimes lazy to log in or either my hub needs to use the comp/laptop for work so I can't log in to chat!! ;p

Ginapy- Ur bb Remus is so handsome and very nice double eyelids!!! ;)

Babe99- Kaeden bb is soo cute...;p

Karen- Congrats!! Ur bb has finally turn head down!! ;) Now it's waiting game le!!

Beary- Heard for c-section, massage can be done aft 2wks onwards.. ;) But oso depends on individuals bah..

Enya, forest- Haaaa CHAMPION NITE OWL is here reporting!! But too late le, guess ur heading to bed le right!! Keke!! U both are right lah, I just ate my biscuits and drank my milk b4 logging in!! *keke* I was laughing away when I read ur posts!! *lol*

I have tried both KCK Food Catering &amp; Kim's Kitchen few months back for my house warming. Personally i likes Kim's kitchen while my hb prefer KCK. Many of my guests have very good comments for Kim's Kitchen. Beside the food, the setup provided by them was quite nice too. You might wanto consider them if you are looking for caterers...

Btw, when will be the first visit to the PD?

Hi Dumbo
today my boss was telling mi that i walk like a duck! ("")lll
I'm wondering if its better to be told that i walk like a duck or if i myself thinks i walk like a duck... haa...

Good nite everyone...
My turn to turn in...