(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="#D16587"> pinki,
haha... the credits dun goes to me alone. my MIL n hubby oso got help out here n there. though i spend more time wif them but W/O their help, i dun tink i can manage.

cramps,
actually the labour pain feelin is like menstrual pain. hve u encounter that kind of feel? if yes, den u'll roughly noe hw the feelin is like. and oso it has a mixture of tummy ache pain feelin. u feel like goin to poo poo. but u went to toilet several times, it 'come out' nth. that's wat my MIL share wif me today. hope it helps.

i am very very very down

just came back from gynae...nearly freak out

Gynae said my baby too big, now i am 39+wks, hes weighing 3.8kg, but still no signs of engaging.
so he raise up all the risks issues... that if i go for natural, baby will be at risk. coz the shoulder may be wider than the head, and then complications will arise if the shoulder is jammed and everyone will panick. baby will have to be pulled out by force and this will either break his shoulder or hurt his nerves n this may lead to permanent damage in serious cases....

sigh, of coz listen so much risk, i would not dare to go thru natural for the sake of my baby..in other words, its a last minute 360deg turn from 'able to deliver natural' to 'c-section'...but the worst part is doc says c-sect tomolo!!!!
I am reallie not ready!!!! I actually shiver at the clinic, cant think straight at all, mind went blank!

however, i told him i am having flu n slight fever now, so he is oso concerned that its not gd to go under the knife when i am having fever. he prescribed antibiotics for me, and give me 3 days to recover... but baby mus come out by this fri.

dear mummmies here... i am just so lost now! i am racing against time to get my body healthy for the c-section, and i must let doc noe the date by tomolo, its either 8th or 10th. coz the rest is fully booked...and i noe nuts abt c-section. been reading up on natural delivery oni... then now suddenly this surprise came! i just feel so lousy! Broke down and cried at toa payoh just now coz doc ask me to walk ard and come back let him noe... i eventually went back n say i am not ready to do it tomolo... my hubbie will go down n finalise the dates with him tomolo..

sorrie this post is so long, just wish to share my fears n sadness... coz i am so lost

but like wat my hubbie says, think of baby, he has to come out somehow... so have to be positive.. so many pple c-section oso so strong n happi...i sure can make it.

well... i hope i can sleep tonite...

<font color="aa00aa">Dimpletot
Have a smooth delivery! Jiayou!!!

pinkimum
Glad to hear that your bb is doing well!

rebecca,
I kept having stomachache this few days. Maybe its actually cramps. Wonder if I will know if I really go into labour. Hehe.

beary,
Don't be so upset and think positive. At least your baby is doing well inside you. Just that you are using another method to bring him out. Most important is to have him out safely.

<font color="aa00aa">beary
Dun be upset. It is better to follow your doctor's advice and go for c-sect since you already know what the consequences going to be if you really go for natural birth. Bb's health is more important.
I have been thru c-sect twice and there's nothing to be scared of. Just think of the positive things. Firstly, it is pre-scheduled so you wont be caught by sudden contraction or waterbag burst. Secondly, the whole process takes less than an hour. It is short and fast and very soon, you will be able to hold your bb in your arm le.

As for recovery process, I am able to get down the bed to walk freely on the next day w/o assistance (except when you first get out of bed, need the assistance of a nurse). So far, I have no regret to go for c-sect.

Dont worry and jiayou! Let us know us which date you have chosen *hug hug*. </font>

beary,

dun feel down ok..most imptly is to seek doc's advise..i believe he will gv u the best solution. Most imptly is to bring the bb out safely.. i reckon c sect is ok ..there's so many mummies here gog thru c sect..dun worry too much ok..most imptly nw is to get well frm yr flu! the more u worry the slower yr recovery will b...

in fact i hv such worries too..my bb oredi 3.6kg at 37 weeks leh, n oso dunno when will she pop..i leave it to my doc's professional skills..he has been seeing mi for pass 9 mths..he will noes wads best for me..n oso, i noe God will decide wads best for me too :p

Hello Mummies, thanks for your well wishes!

Am so glad that my wish came true and i dont need to report to work till next yr! hahaha...

Here, my birth story:

5-Oct 9plus: After posting on forum shortly, i went toilet and my waterbag burst!

5-Oct 1030pm: Reached TMC and had VE check, i was only 1cm dilated. Cleared my bowels and gynae told me i would most likely deliver next day morn btw 7-8am. He also commented that bryan is abit big, but nevertheless, will try for natural delivery.

6-Oct 12am: As my waterbag had burst, thus i was put on drip and this was when i just started experiencing contractions.

6-Oct 1.30am: Kept having feeling to go poo poo and its a horrible feeling!! Nurse said it could be bb pressing.

6-Oct 3am: Contractions were getting more intense but still bearable, but same as Whitepaper, i wanted to hv a gd night slp to prepare myself for the pushes later, so opt for epidural. Well, i can say epidural is the best invention ever!! After taking epidural, immediately i went to slp.

6-Oct 5am: VE check again and i was 7cm dilated. I experienced some side effect of epi which is shivering, but wasnt feeling cold at all.

6-Oct 7am: Was 9cm dilated and nurse told me i would be delivering real soon.

6-Oct 750am: Gynae came and im all ready to push. Unfortunately, i didnt do a gd job at pushing. The mid-wives pressed so hard on my tummy and i felt thats even more painful than contractions! Eventually with several pushes and vacumm-suction bryan arrived at 8.08am

My pain threshold could be almost zero :p As after effect of epidural wear-off, i was so much in pain for my wounds and i had to take 2 dosage of painkillers. The pain only suside when i started breast-feeding bryan at 3.30pm. Maybe its motherhood that makes me forget abt the pain? Seeing him suckle really makes my day

<font color="aa00aa">beary
Please go to bed early cos you have to recover from your flu first before the c-sect.</font>

Hi beary,

Dun worry too much. Just take care of ur health now and quickly recover from your flu. Drink more water and have plentiful of rest so that you can recover.

Trace, pinkimum, mousebb

thks for listening to me!
i feel better after listening to musebb's stori... i hope i can be as brave as you!

okie, me will go take flu med now n try to have an early nite..hopefully i will calm down after tonite and be more composed

gdnite ladies!

Hi littlealmond,

yah, me have to quik quik go rest liao. dr koh reallie give me a fright jus now!
but at least he told me his best professional opinion

gdnite!

Hi beary
i cant understand what's the prob with your 3.9kg baby. my gal was 4.215 at 41weeks. i tried natural for 2 days then c section on 3rd.Nothing went wrong. She was as healthy as a bull.

Dun worry about c-sect. :) it's not that scary.

Enya,

thks for ur assurance! me will try to be brave...maybe its the mindset, mentally unprepared

But after hearing u all say that c-sect is not so scary after all, i feel much much much better

Hi beary, i can understd how u feel. I was really depressed for the past few days as i anticipate if my boy only come out at EDD, he would b huge at 3.8kg. Im scared of c-section as well. But since this had meant to be, jus leave everything to your gynae's hands! Jia
you!

Freda,

like what all the mummies suggested.. do drink more milk.. sleep on ur left.. and eat more meals.. it should help bb in gaining more weight. do keep positive as well, as that will also help.. rem, our bb can feel our emotions ya!!
we're all here to support each other!

whitepaper,
great to hear u and bb r doing fine!! jia you ya!!

Trace,
dont worry... have faith in ur bb and urself.. if ur gynae is willing, u'll def still be able to go natural!

dimpletot,
how are u now? have a smooth delivery and keep us posted!!
thanks for the link too.. i've saved it into my favourites so i can have it handy if its really my turn le!! thanks much!

pinkimum,
think the tightening feeling that was described by Jellypurin earlier shd be contractions.. it sounds exactly like what i've experienced, but each time i get that.. it doesnt last v long.. so, mine shd still be BH bah.. :p

beary,
like wat all the mummies suggested, do listen to ur gynae.. the method is secondary.. of primary concern is urs as well as ur baby's well-being!! JIA YOU!! we'll be rooting for u here!!!

everafter,
thanks for sharing ur birth story!! ur prayers really came true, with baby Bryan being so "guai" leh... amazing how after u posted, ur water bag just broke!!!! do rest well.. and so glad to read the warm feelings u experience when bfeeding bb.... do post bb bryan's pics when u have a chance ya!!

Forest, im shocked that my waterbag jus burst like that also! haha..perhaps baby bryan really heard me and dun wanna make me a unhappy mummy :p

One funny part abt my hb that i wanna share. He was so gan jiong when my waterbag burst! He was making a mess in the wardrobe trying to locate my maternity pads! Eventually had to go dig out frm hosp bag. Thats not all! He was breathing hard and literally blowing out when we're on our way to carpark! I was laughing at him and asked him its me goin into labour, y is he the one practising the breathing? hahhahaa...

dimpletot
hv a smooth delivery!!! good luck!

Beary
it's not scary at all really :) unlike natural labor, which may take many hours and hours of pain, c-section is a pretty fast procedure. :) Your gynae is scaring you too much.

hv a good sleep...

freda
dun worry...some babies put on weight gradually, while some put on suddenly at certain stage (growth spurt)..maybe your bb is one of them.
Juz hv a good rest at home, relax, listen to music.

congrats to all the mummies who popped!!

freda, don worry.. trust ur gynae n don force food down urself.. maintain happy is very impt n eat well + nutrious food..
talking to bb also helps tell bb to b gd n absorb everything mummy take so he/she can b healthy..
jia you!!

Gambatte all the mummies!!!
we r all reaching THERE!!!

Hi I am from the July 08 thread!
I have for sale a Brand New in Box (security seal still on) Medela Mini Electrical Breast Pump for sale. The packaging has never been opened before!

Its retailing in shops for $193.90, and I am selling it at $150 to clear, as this gift is not of any use to me as I already have mine =)

Its a massive savings of $43.90, so if any mummy-to-be here intends on getting one...do look for me 93223995 =) Item is 100% Brand new in box!

beary: if u are like me fear of Csec, maybe opt for GA csec. I am in state of shock till today and still nt getting over it. But I think hubby knows and still said its ok.. scare then go GA. the most he cant see his baby the moment bb is out. Gynae advice if i m nt ready, best to go GA then EPI. so i opt for GA on 8th Oct 4.30pm. My bb is big, and gynae wanted to do a natural via breech, but he is just big and given up that idea. Stay calm.. i understand u are upsaet too, so m i. Just wanna you to calm down, there isnt much a choice if he is big n breech. just like mine.

Gynae is the best person to advice... let him or her make that call.. to go natural or csec.

My mum is cursing n swearing to my SIL abt my csec. Well, if my gynae has a choice, i bet she wont delay n delay to choose a csec date. she has delayed for 3 weeks, and we all know bb just refused to turn. My mum loves to complain that my gynae no good.. this n that... Simple... 1. if gynae nt good, she wont be a gynae, she wont be a senior parnter.. and my hb wont pay $$$ for the antenatal package. If she is no good, i wont be with her since 1998.

My mum is always thinking in the grand old history where her gynae is the best.. comeon lahz.. gynae gets old too.. i bet her gynae should be late 60s or 70s now.. kekkee. hand trembling while delivery! whahahhaah

Beary: jia you.. i know i cant do it without my gynae and my hubby. More impt is hubby is supportive!

everafter: ur hubby soo cute!!!! typical KC hubby lehz. :p but at least he is bothered.. u should be very very happy

hi enya, i'm ok.. my temp came in n hope she coping well..
how abt u?

anyway jus went for dinner at sizzler cos crave for pasta salad n had a small portion of ice cream n guess wat.. jus less then 15mins, my gal make me throw out every single bit of the ice cream i took.. she really HATES sweet stuff n i cannot even believe myself the ice cream that i throw out was still a but cold *faint*

my sis freaked cos she hear my vomit till like i throw out my whole dinner..
n hb was starting to get worried..
1 moment i was happily eating n next i throw out everything jus like that..
i have pelvic bone aches also esp after sitting too long n bb now feeling really low can feel the weight liao *pant*

Jen
I'm okay, tird and sleepy. doing some work and replying some emails.

good that you got a temp, so you can relax more.

when you going for ml?

eeheh...my bb loves sweet and cold stuffs on the contrary. my husband always freak out when he hears me throwing up.

jelly, seriously frizzy drinks help..
i came hm n drank 1 mouthful of coke light n i BURP~~~~~~~
now i tend to get my heartbruns at nite.. even tot dinner wasn't very heavy, my hb commented that now i preg i'm eating lesser then when i not preg..

jelly/carole
you ladies still up..

jen's right. frizzy drink help. sometimes i drink baihua she cao shui if i dun want too much sugar.

i get heartburn very easily. so i eat very light dinner at 6...then drink a cup of sugar free oat/ or paoshen at this time.

so boring, getting so heavy these days...waiting waiting for the day.

jen
for me, 100 plus is my best fren now ... should have discovered its magic earlier .. may have saved my life ...

u eating less now?

enya
u r a busy mom, but i salute you... u seemed to be full of energy!

me still up ... hubby OT until now then can go ... he OT more since moving to a better prospect job ... of course, me and my heart burn ... so i just stay up until i feel better ...

just the 3 of us tonight?

jellypurin
yeah, i'm a busy mom, but not full of energy these days anymore. got to keep my online store going cuz of small group of regulars

it's the only thing that keeps my spirit alive, besides only looking after my gal, housework and cooking...being sahm sucks sometimes! no pay, no excitement...only comfort is you get to see your gal's development. sigh

yeah, only 3 of us..soon 2...cuz im getting tired

jelly, ya i eating lesser then normal since i preg..
tats why now weight gain abt 10kgs n at 36wks+ my bb is abt 3kg+..
my sis n aunt say after i deliver prob 5-6kgs gone then after massage to get rid of water retention+ if i can BF well i may even b slimer then b4 preg which i'm praying i will cos i'm FAT *lol~*

enya, have a gd nite rest!!
me addict to tv now cos its my favorite Grey's anatomy n also showing the new season amazing race n lucky me hb can drive me to work tml so i can sleep late..

anyway i also can chat only at nite..
planning to start ML from 17th if i don pop soon althought my sis n aunt say popping on 10/10 is a gd date

thanks jen.
gtg to drink some paoshen and take my calcium and head to bed. got a long day ahead. :-(

you will lose some weight right after water bag burst.

<font color="0000ff">goodnite, mummies. sleep well and sweet dream.</font>

Freda- Warm welcome to u!! Like wat many has mentioned... Dun worry too much!! I'm sure things will turn for the better... Meanwhile just cont to eat well, sleep well and rest well..Bb will grow more oso!! And yes pls drink more milk especially those formulated milk powder form and eat many small meals if u can't eat a lot at a time... Cheer up ok! ;)

dimpletot- Have a smooth delivery and keep us posted okie!! ;) Jiayou!!

pinkimum- Ur bb is of very good weight now!! Think our gestational age/week is almost the same!! ;) Meanwhile cont to rest well ok!

beary- Hi babe!! Cheer up...Can understand how u feel...I'm sure Dr Koh is taking the safest method of bringing ur dear bb out..and like wat other experienced mummies have said..C-section isn't that scary at all, most impt is for bb to be healthy and good!! ;) Maybe this news came too sudden for u, tats why u feel more emo...Cheer up ok...I'm sure things will go smoothly for u! *Jiayou* and cheer up! ;)

everafter- Heee bb Byran is so co-operative and ur water bag burst cos he dun wanna mummy be unhappy and nags at him!! *keke*
Thxs for sharing ur birth story! ;) Have a good rest k!! ;)

jellypurin- Heee me too sometimes I find that 100PLUS and H20 drinks are really good when u feel nauseous or having heartburn!! ;p

it's me again, woke up at 3.44am and can't sleep... prob coz that's the time baby arrived yesterday... hahaha

here's my super long birth story, please bear with me...

Sunday 5 October 2008

0700 – had show, flow was heavy like 1st day menses

0830 – showered, wash hair before going to TMC for a check, since Doc mentioned to go for check if show is heavy and not only spotting

0900 – reach TMC, was strapped to CTG. Contractions detected at 4 min intervals but I felt no pain. Cervix was 1cm dilated.

1000 – Doc Wong came to take a look. I requested to leave TMC coz I do not feel any pain, wanted to go walk around to speed up labour. Doc says ok but wants to do VE again. She added that I cannot leave if I’m already 3cm dilated. She checked and still 1cm. So I left TMC and went Ang Mo Kio for breakfast, was asked to admit in the afternoon if I have heavy bleeding again.

1430 – after makan and shopping around at Ang Mo Kio, I told hubby I want to go home and shower, coz weather was so hot I’m sticky all over

1500 – reach home and showered. This was when I bled heavily; blood was flowing out like a stream, down my legs, and with some blood clots. Super disgusting

1530 – admitted at TMC delivery ward 7. 2.5cm dilated, still do not feel much pain though can feel contractions.

1700 – Doc came and broke water bag, since labour not progressing fast. Was also placed on oxytocin drip.

1730 – can feel contractions coming in, almost immediately after one another. Can feel pain but mild.

2000 – pain got super intense, breathed deeply in and out and worked for sometime. 3cm dilated.

2130 – cannot tahan anymore and asked for epidural. Doc says better to skip Pethidine and go straight to epidural since I most probably can only start pushing between 0200 and 0400 the next day, and epidural can last longer, without side effects and I can sleep. Used gas in the meantime before Anesthetist arrives.
2200 – Epidural administered, really effective after 10mins, no pain at all. Finally can joke and laugh. Kekeke. 5cm dilated.

2300 to 0300 – drifted in and out of sleep. Midwives came in to check regularly.

Monday 6 October 2008

0320 – was asked to push to lower baby’s head as he’s still quite high. Hubby was sleeping on the chair and almost fell off when he heard it’s time to push. Pushed guided by the midwife. Pushed real hard when contractions came. After 2 sets of pushes, baby’s head crowned. First question I asked was if baby had hair. Hahaha. Midwife and my hubby said “Yes, lots of hair!”

0330 – Midwife informed Doc was on her way

0340 – Doc arrives, asked to push again.

0353 – After 2 sets of pushes, baby’s head was out. After another half a push, baby’s out! Almost fainted at the last push coz can see white dots blurring my vision hahaha. Told hubby later on if I had fainted, then they have to pull out baby by themselves. Baby was 3.295kg, head circumference 33cm, height 50cm.

Here's another photo of Ch'en Hsi (let's call him CH for short
)...

1768631.jpg

beary -->
I agree with the ladies here, please don't despair. There's nothing wrong with c-sect, as long as baby's healthy!!! And listen to Doc, they know our condition best!!! All the best, jiayou!

whitepaper: thanks for sharing your birth story! love CH's eyes =) enjoy motherhood =)

everafter: thanks for sharing your story too! bb byran realli 'heard' you &amp; when i read abt him suckling..realli warms the heart c",)

beary: cheer up &amp; hope you are feeling better..hugz =) we have all come so far..wat we are all looking fwd now is the best for our bb..believe in your gynae ya =) @ least now, you know tat you can cuddle your lil precious very soon. meanwhile, drink more water, have a good rest &amp; smile =)

Will be going for my routine check later this evening and also doing GBS test...hope my boy has engaged and will arrive by next week as I'll be in my 38 weeks tomorrow...

hi! Am at mt a now. Contractions at 3 min interval. Thanks for all the well wishes! Hope for fast and smooth delivery too! :) will keep u updated.

dimpletot
All best to u. Everything will be smooth and fast. Jia you!!

Mummies, still undecide if want to celebrate bb full mth. But wont be at my home but inlaw pl. Cos my pl too small for 80pax approx. But inlaw pl now construct lift, abit dusty. Thinking not to do and to do. 50%50%. Need advise.

morn mummies!

congrats to everafter &amp; whitepaper again! I read your birth story, makes mi more gan cheong..both of yr hubby so cute...hahaha...do take care n rest well...

dimpletot,

all the best in yr delivery! do keep us update!

morn mousebb,

did u hv enuff rest?