(2008/10) Oct 2008

jelly: i wanted GA.. lol...but i think its very unfair to hb cos he cant see his son coming out lor.. so maybe EPI bahz

Hope everyone had a good lunch.

Littlebluey, hope you are feeling better now.
Seems like we are really in the stage of being emotional now. I didn't get angry at all for the past 10 mths eversince I was pregnant, but today somehow don't know why I was so irriated with what my boss is saying that I just got angry. So angry that I just scolded him off. After I cooled down, I thought actually it is such a small matter ler, but don't know why I'm just angry. Hai~ So I guess we are all very "normal"

JJMom2008, I got my raspberry tea from Vitacost. They got a few branches in Singapore, like Paragon, Forum Gallery and United Square. It is more expensive than from MIMs though 'cos it is already pre-packed in tea bags. I got it from them 'cos MIM was running out of stock for this item for quite a couple of months then.

rains
Wah, not knowing when I pass urine is great comfort. Haaa. Actually I rather labour pain. Just for that 12 hours or so. The pain and inconvenience from C-section lasts for more than a day! Anyway, yah, the only consolation is my V will still be tight tight from no stretching. LOL!! Aiyah, anyway, pain or not, I still have to go through it unless my little girl turn. Which is very unlikely. So ren min and prepare myself for C-section.

I think pildough is planned for a C-section because of her spinal injuries.

Cord Blood Donation
I'm donating too. But I haven't scalled SCCB (sp).

cheezel,

I had to constantly wipe myself with towels to soak up the perspiration, apply snake powder to make myself feel cooler, apply some chinese hair lotion meant for confinement so that the hair didn't stink.

I didn't manage to breastfeed much the last time, but whenever I wanted to, I would wipe my breasts with warm water to clean them. I think the main concern is the parts of our body that have to do with bones. Old people believe that wind will get into the bones, and cause aches, if they come into contact with water, so cleaning the breasts and wound down there are forgiven.

My mother went through eight confinements in the similar manner and she doesn't experience any aches despite reaching sixty. My father said that my mother wet a few outfits a day during her confinement becos of profuse perspiration. To be honest, I find that all these are bearable, albeit uncomfortable, compared to the time when I was in the hospital. So I'm willing to put up with all these.

Talking about breastfeeding, I'm contemplating over to get Medela mini electric plus or PIS. Mommies, I know that PIS is definitely superior, but mini electric plus is so much cheaper and I have no confidence that I will breastfeed beyond 3 months. Which one do you get?

rain, for me, i was fortunate enough to loan a set from my SIL who BF and EBM her baby for 9mths.

I am going to try it out and if it is really good and if i have a good supply, may get a set for myself. Medala has got a new pump called Freestyle. Thinking of getting from the US cos it is cheaper and its hands free. Otherwise, i will consider a 2nd hand cos i am already chose to use my SIL's.

rains: themore ex u buy.. the chances of u using it longer. i bought a battery operated one 3 yrs back, and pump till blood in milk. till many days later when supply kicks in, the pump almost gng to die on me and i bought PIS. i bf til May 08 this yr when my pregnancy is abt 4mths. :p

Hello mommies

Back from gynae's... guess what... I'M STILL ZERO CENTIMETRE DILATED... arrgggggghhhhhhhh!!! So most prob my baby will be late (that shows how accurate women's instincts are!). And guess what again... gynae did something gross... she STRETCHED my cervix to help it open up... wah biangz!!! Dig dig dig and stretch!!! wahahahahahaha...

Anyway, I'll need to induce on 7 Oct (but will take time for the pill to take effect, so maybe pop on 8 Oct) if I don't pop naturally by then. Gynae says contractions will be more painful if induce, but no choice lor, can't wait anymore coz baby quite big already. Just give him a few more days and see if he wants to come out by himself
one good thing is my water level is still high so he's safe and comfy inside

Baby's weighing 3.3+kg today and my weight gain maintains at 7.3kg.

rains... It really depends on the weather.. my house facing afternoon sun.. so I don think I can bear without air con wor... if raining season then will be good for me...

breastpump:
I'm getting avent manual... PIS is simply too ex wor.. unless u intend to BF for at least 1 yr then worth the investment..

everafter

errrhhhmmm... yes it's definitely gross... not very painful lah, still can tahan. But she said she is also disturbing my mucus plug to help it dislodge... so I may bleed today. BUT obviously my mucus plug is as stubborn as my boy lor, til now I have yet to see any signs of blood!!! hahaha...

rains

I got myself a PIS. 1st time mum myself so dunno if it will work on me. But just thought I dun wanna save the $$$ if it can make my breastfeeding journey more comfy

I got the PIS quite cheaply though, bought from one of the mommies in the forum at $550, brand new with 1 year warranty. It's an extra set she got as a gift so she sold it off to me

<font color="#7E354D"><font color="ff6000">rains,</font>
abt confinement. u mention that u apply chinese hair lotion. may i noe whr u got it n wat is the cost? </font>

whitepaper
can dislodge the muscous plug like that by the gynae? hm... maybe i will ask my gynae on monday can do that for me anot though i am not like due yet!

<font color="#7E354D"> whitepaper,
ouch!!! whn i was admitted that day n the nurses n doc check on me. i already feel irritated n uneasy. ur's is DIG n DIg n STRETCH?! :|

whn is ur EDD?</font>

so bored leh...... how how how?

Trace,
so sweet to have lunch w ur hubby!!! im so down today... dunno why? haizzz...

whitepaper,
so, u're also officially late!! wahhh.. wat u said abt stretching cervix and disturbing ur mucus plug sure sounds... hmmm... but if its gonna help.. no harm trying.. !

hehe.. as u said, ur water level is still high, so ur boy is really enjoying his time inside u lah.. kekeke :p

rains,
pei fu!! doubt i can tahan those true confinement style.. i will do what i can, but to not shower is probably too hard le.. :p actually, even mrs wong of TMC says we can shower, cos' it is only in the olden days and winter days.. whereby women need to draw water from the well and also cos of the cold, that they dont shower...

sorry about yesterday nite...my pc crashed...then prob with my mouse, so couldn't re log in...

pildough
regarding the creamy and original, i dun find any difference except for the smell.

colostrum
i dun remember the thickness except that it's translucent in color.

juz came back from lunch..had beef rice at yoshinoya...tired

jellypurin

Don't do it unless hopeless like me lar!!! hahaha... do for what? the mucous plug protects the baby against infections etc... it's good to let it stay k?

Yes vaginal examinations can result in dislodge of mucous plug... that's why when you have a show, it doesn't mean you are in labour already... it's just... a show lor...

Rebecca

my EDD 3 Oct lor... baby very comfy inside mah... today did CTG and detected zero contractions... just the baby's super strong heart rate at 140... wahahahahaha... I think he really doesn't want to come out...

<font color="#7E354D"> whitepaper,
LOL!! but i tink it's ok ba. coz my fren slp inside her mummy's tummy for 41weeks. she den willin to come out!!</font>

forest..
i'm bored too...alot of things to do, but no energy to do anything. :-(

went to aussino to buy new set bed sheet etc..for my bb. it's quite worth it..$69.90 for a full set...and on top it's beautiful..unlike the set i bought for my gal at kp last time. paid more there.

I just came back from my gynae's and a short shopping spree at IMM. Heehee! Bb's weight now 2.8kg and head in position. Told my gynae about my constipation problem and he gave me something to stick up my a**. Faint!!! My hubby kept laughing at me all the way home. When I reach home, guai guai sat on the "throne" so that no need to use the ghastly thing.

Then went to IMM to buy face masks to stock up so during confinement can still look mei mei. ;p heehee!

forest,
Ya, short and smooth labour is impt. Heehee! so I think I should also get the tea to try.

dimpletot,
I haven't been to mono but looks nice from outside. ex or not?

whitepaper,
hehehehe.... maybe u shd po-lor-soh ur boy to come out sooner liaozz... better than to be induced :p

enya,
sigh... really bored.. and feel down..
i also bot the bedding set from aussino!! i like it better than the one i got from JL too.. :p

forest
I also super bored. So now I am always alternating between the web, and playing Wii. Heee. Now waiting for 3pm to watch rerun of Nu Ren Wo Zui Da. But but but ... I would rather stay home and be bored than face the kids at work. Hee.

My cot is coming this Friday. So late, right? I will do the measurements then pop over to Aussino to get the bedsheets. One set is enough right? Since I am getting another set with the cot.

forest,

yes, hubby today on leave..went to his sis hse to help out..cos theyjuz move..

wad happen to u? y feeling down? tired? or mood swings? have something sweet to eat..

rains.. if u wan US version of PIS, u can get from KKH.. they selling PIS from US...

Whitepaper.. I heard touching of nipple will coz early contraction.. maybe u can try to massge that area???

Enya.. what does the set come with???

Enya,
the bedsheet from Aussino is the standard sizing.. we also bot the set w/o checking our cot size.. hahah, too lazy to go back and get it later.. :p

Karen,
hehehe... doesnt sound too bored.. what u're doing at home!! wah, ur cot seems late.. Oh, 2 sets shd be enough for a start.. if it aint enough, we can always go out and get another 1..

Tweety

Yep nipple stimulation... but Mrs Wong also mentioned not to do too much. Coz she saw a number of babies in bad shape after their mummies did nipple stimulation... coz over-stimulated and the contractions became too strong and harsh...

Trace,
i see.. but good also mah.. ur hubby can "pei ni" as well.. hehehe...

dunno leh... think its the mood swings bah.. sigh.. kinda unexplainable.. think im getting this lately also cos' am getting some cramps in the evenings for the past few nites.. haha.. anxiety creeping in maybe!!!

Tweety,
the aussino bedsheet set comes with the bed cover, the bumper set, 1 pillow, 1 bolster, and a quilt cover.. i think i got it right.. cos my memory sucks bad now :p

forest,

try to do some stretching? n massage..i hv been applying bengay!! hahaha....mi on n off oso moody..but still manageable..when i m moody, haha i will head to my bed n zZzZZzZ...

Forest.. icic.. I bought one set from KP.. they got comforter.. But i guess aussino material is batter???

I think coz of the pain in last trimester.. Me also get quite moody at time...

whitepaper.. maybe u try do abit lah..don over to help u delivery earlier???

My next check up is Monday.. how amniotic fluid back to normal.. else I need to deliver early liao...

Trace,
cannot apply bengay or massage.. cos its the uterus cramps.. not leg cramps!! kakaka.. funny why i nv had this feeling until now.. thruout the pregnancy was A-OK leh... Faint...

Hihi ladies!
Super bz these few days, cant really follow the thread, so many posts to catch up! @_@ Will try my best to read when I free.

Heartiest congrats to all mums who have popped!

Update for my check-up today:
I may cut Q liao! My bb din grow well from last visit, so we may need to induce him out on next Thu or Fri! Will see my gynae again next Tue, hopefully he can gain some weight then I maybe able to keep him slightly longer inside me. Oh well, the verdict will be out next Tue, lets c how lo...Ahh!!! Feeling 'weird" now, still not prepared for it! Oh, need to do some last-min shopping and cleaning, set up bb cot etc. Worst is my confinement lady can only join me on/after 22 Oct, may need to "activate" my mum or MIL to help first. Sigh...no choice, bb's health is more important!
Hoho...i better stop here and finish my work first, feeling tired, hope can go back earlier today, chat again ladies!

mint,
just re-read ur post... seems ur bb is of a good weight now too! seems that u're having a ball of a time lately leh.. k-song lah.. shopping lah... good for u!!

errmmm.. some ppl said the tea helped.. for me, am just trying my luck to see if it helps!! i also think its no harm trying!! :p

Phtanus,
huh.. now u may cut queue?? but its not confirmed right? hope ur boy will gain more weight, and then u dont have to induce liaozz.. but u're right, if gynae says u have to, for bb's health.. then better to do it!! Jia you.. dont overwork urself or get too stressed, as it may affect bb's growth too... and keep us updated on ur checkup ya!!

Trace,
my next checkup is this sat... i asked my gynae last sat le.. he said the cramps r most likely BH... i also dunno.. cos' it just cramps and within half hour... bo liao.. i also wonder whether its really BH... :S

maybe its really cos i going to pop soon? hahaha.. now, waiting game leh.. dunno when!! hahahaha

whitepaper
how abt trying to walk more often?my colleague's gynae also help to make her dilate by using her fingers. sounds grosh...but then she say helps le.

rains
cant comment much cos i'm using neither pump. I've been using Avent pump since my #1. but my colleague used the mini pump and bf for 6 months. another is using PIS, which is really exp, but she only bf for 7 months which i think the $$ spend on the pump not soo worth it. If u thinking of bf longer like a yr, then strongly recommend u to get a good pump

Phtanus.. Hope yr bb will grow well... Yr EDD is 1 day after mine ya... as long yr bb is healthy, cut queue also can... hee...

Pinny.. share with us yr birth story ya.. and loves to c yr bb's photo too...