(2008/10) Oct 2008

wow many days never come in.. so many mummies pop liao..
Big Big Congrats to all who delivered...

Oh I can see there is 4KG baby!!...wow really good weight.

Re: hospital bag
I may have missed it.. but can anyone share hospital bad packing list? I havent done mine yet :p and hope I dun miss any important things out

Little Bluey - I think for elective csect, docs prefer not to do it on PHs cos they also need a break mah. I also wanted 1 Oct, but doc say PH so scheduled to 2 Oct. There is a surcharge on PHs. My doc charges 30% more.

<font color="aa00aa">That time I did check with my gynae whether will there be a surcharge if we have c-sect on a PH and he said it depends on the hospital. But he said so far TMC no surcharge. </font>

For mummmies delivering in TMC, this is from their web. http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm

What to Bring For Your Stay
For maternity patients, please bring along your:
• personal nightgowns (front-open types for easier breastfeeding)
• maternity brassieres
• cardigan or dressing gown
• bedroom slippers
• sanitary belt (optional)
• sanitary towels (optional)
• polythene bags (for your soiled linen)
Note: It is advisable to have a bag ready with these necessary items packed 2 to 4 weeks befoe estimated delivery date.

We will provide the following for your newborn baby:
• baby vests
• disposable diapers
• toiletries
• a baby bag
• wrapping blanket
• a pair of mittens
Basic toiletries throughout your stay with us will be provided. However, you may also like to bring along your personal clothing, cosmetics and toiletries for a more comfortable stay. You are advised against bringing large sums of cash or valuables.

As for hubby, if he is staying overnight, guess he need a set of clean clothes and toiletries. If not, guess just some magazine for them to past time.

blur

my hubby brought Ruffles (not our fellow forum mate... hahaha) cheddar cheese and sour cream chips, cup noodles, sweater, video cam etc etc.!!!!!!!! hahaha....... think he's gonna add more food items...

hehe..i went to chinese chamber to collect CO..then otw go bugis buy lunchie! i bot yoshinoya!! hehehe..yummy!!!

Littlebluey,

sorry, din reply yr last msg, i was driving then..hope u r feeling better yah.

Jollyhoppy,

Happy birthday to you!!!

Mspiggy,

wow, yr bb ger is big..good for u!! yest my mum was just asking if u hv given birth.. i told her yr bb still waiting for the right time to arrive.. :p

i m so tired today..din sleep well last nite...middle of the nite tummy pain and woke up to poo..hehe...n yest my SIL came bk frm shanghai..n was woken up by those noises outside..haiz...

hi cookie,

i just finished packing for my 3 night 4 day stay so here's my list. TMC has theirs online at http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm
(scroll down to see what to bring for your stay) but i think there's a few things i think i should bring in case i'ld need it.

re: hospital bag packing list

toiletries (e.g. face moisturiser, face wash, cotton wool, cotton buds, body moisturiser)
3 button down dressing gowns
1 pair of bedroom slippers
3 nursing bras (one with underwire, two without)
1 cardigan
2 pairs of socks
1 pack of maternity pads
1 pack of heavy flow overnight pads
10 packs of breast pads
1 tube of nipple cream (in case i chafe when trying to bf)
plastic bag for dirty laundry
1 pack of XL size disposable panties
dettol wipes
biore body wipes (when i need to freshen up without leaving bed)
1 box of tissue paper (heard some hospitals charge u for tissue paper, i know mount e did)
scatter packets of tissue paper
3 small face towels to wipe myself down with hot water (face and body use) if i'm not up for showering.

documents:
marriage cert
ic (husband and mine)
my birth cert (using my mom's medisave so must bring to certify relationship)
receipts (antenatal visits) - i have everything in one file
pre-admission documentation(my clinic holds onto this for me so i just go in with my big card with my details and this form stating health history. you'ld prob need to bring in your pre-admission letter)

err. i think that's about it. for me..

Bigflamingo.. that's good news.. congrats..

Bluey.. thks for sharing.. hee...

Forest.. icic.. so good hor can go there c bb...

mspiggy... public holiday cant meh???

Freya'smummy... air con is better than fan.. as fan create winds while air con only cool air..
Since yr EDD is so near, u may deliver anytime wor... do take care ya...

Blur.. what is maternity brassieres???

<font face="tahoma"> whitepaper,
if natural delivery, no choice mah. Gynae will have to come down to hospital. If induced or elective c-sect, they prefer not to unless we willing to pay for the surcharges.

when i told her i want to see the dates, her 1st qns is, "you also supersitious huh?" hahahaaa

Ruffles,
We might just missed each other at Mt E if I chose 30 Sept for my induction coz if everything went natural then should be discharged by 2 Oct morning. What time is your op?

Littlebluey,
I wanted 2 Oct but doc said too late as she's growing like 250g each week, by then she's bigger! *faint*</font>

mint,
i packed in a disposable razor and cream for the husband, i think he might go home in the day so i left it up to him to do his own packing. i reckon if they can wear the same pair of undies for a week while doing ns, he's a big grown up man, he can pack his damn bag. ehhe

blur_p and whitepaper,
oh oh!!! that reminds me hahaha i should stock up on snacks and magazines when i'm there. wait, the snacks and magazines for me or for him? heheh

bluey,
TMC: my gynae only operates on mon, wed and fri for elective caesar so when i proposed thurs, she wanted to charge me 30% on top of her fees plus you need to pay 288 to book operating theatre. dunno how it works so i'm operating on fri, save some money.. but if emergency then i think no choice right? i dunno whether i'ld be expected to pay the 30% if it's PH or thursday.

tweety,
i dunno what's the diff between maternity and nursing bras leh. i assume they're all the same but they come with two flaps that u can unlatch and peel down to breastfeed.

<font color="ff6000">Jollyhoppy,</font>
<font color="ff6000">no lah, i din state properly =P so the confusion...paiseh</font>

<font color="ff6000">Bluey,</font>
<font color="ff6000">did u get those powder for bb to bath in if they r yellowish? Forget the name liao =P They sell it in medical hall too.</font>

Mint.. for hb, only need his IC and a jacket in case it's cold in deliver suite...

pildough... I did heard those toiletries and maternity pad are chargeable...
SO I will bring my own maternity pad too... Do we need to bring nappy rash cream??? I heard also need to pay if our bb need that...

<font color="0077aa">tweety,</font>
<font color="#41627E"> so which is means dunrin confinement period can on air-con lor?</font>

mspiggy- Am still waiting for the nurse to confirm the timing. Supposed to be early in the morn but doc may be out for a talk. Will let you know

I'm planning to on aircon duirng confinement. Hubby says utilities bill shoot up sky high for that 1 month is fine... kekeke... also intending to let baby sleep in aircon at night. Coz the mommy can't sleep without aircon!!!!!!!!!

mummies, forgotten to say, i was "shaved" in the labour ward.
So those, pls do take note if u are vy "hairy". Hahee.hee

My right nipple sore, havent engorge lei. But when massage w hot towel, squeeze have something came out

pildough.. i think maternit and nursing bra same ba... I bring nursing bra only...

If natural delivery on 1st Oct then got any surcharge???

Rebecca.. air con can leh... fan is a big no no... that's y confinement period we are not supposed to go out coz got wind outside...

My mum ask me wear long pant during confinement.. sure v hot wor.. faint lah...

<font color="ff6000">pildough,</font>
<font color="ff6000">u still wanna snack when in delivery suite?

<font color="ff6000">forest,</font>
<font color="ff6000">aiyah, i juz went ikea on wed &amp; din c the clothe hanger *piang*</font>

<font color="ff6000">mspiggy,</font>
<font color="ff6000">wah...if choose PH, must pay 30% more, these gynae really earn fat $ leh</font>

pildough.. from what i learn from antenal, water bag water is clear transparent de... no smell... if urine then got yellowish colour and smell... that's the difference...

whitepaper - Your HB like going for picnic leh. SO cute.

limkoh - Depends on how often you are bathing. 1 packet of 'human' bak kut teh is for 1 bath.

Things to bring - dont forget to bring your Cordlife / Stemcord package (if you have signed-up for it)

pildough - I've not bot any nursing bras yet! Yikes. My nnp keeps leaking colustrum and everyday I have some yellow milk scabs. Hopes this means lotsa milk!! Regret not getting the milk bags fr Lilbluey the last round .. now, I dunno who to get from cheaply ..sobs

<font color="0077aa">tweety,</font>
<font color="#41627E"> ic. den tink to nite might beg my hubby to on air-con. hehe...</font>

Also, those who unfortunately ended up in labour ward and kana strapped to CTG, please bring your CTG straps... cos the hosp will charge again if they use new one for u (Nurse told me). Bring own maternity pads and tissue boxes too - all chargeable. AM bringing my breast pump cos my gal will be v small when born and doc say she may or may not be able to suckle.

<font color="ff6000">lili,</font>
<font color="ff6000">apply some of the BM on your sore nipple will help it to heal fast &amp; air it

<font color="ff6000">tweety,</font>
<font color="ff6000">wah...nappy rash cream also charge *piang*

My mom vy particular 1, shd say cannot even on aircon, she told me to wear a sweater when i m out of bed during confinement, socks &amp; slipper all time *piang*</font>

hello..i'm new here. just went for my gynae checkup and i've lost weight and baby not gaining..2kg at 35 week..gynae says baby not growing well and would need to induce if baby remains small.. how to fatten up my bb?

Ruffles.. u leaking colustrum now?? can keep it?? v good for bb leh...

I think bluey still got stock on the milk bag ba...

Rebecca.. today quite cooling leh... need air con?? hee... so yr last 2 confinement nv on air con and fan???

<font color="ff6000">Ruffles,</font>
<font color="ff6000">u so cute...'human' bak kut teh...eee...hahaha</font>

Ruffles.. what's yr bb weight now?? what u mean by too small???

JJmom.. I think everything is charge in hospital lor.. hee...
wow.. sweater?? i think i will "cong su" leh... too hot lah...

Freda.. try durian, cheese or milk...

<font color="0000ff">Hi Freda,</font>
Dun worry too much abt the weight of your baby. If you and your hubby are smaller build, your baby can't be too big too. Drink more full cream milk. My colleagues even suggest more fatty pork or fatty food. It helps the baby to put on weight. But u need to be fast since you are in 35 wks liao.

Freda,

try to eat beef too! dats wad purebliss has told me..she had full cream milk..think 4 glass per day n lotsa beef! n her effort pays off..her twins r of good weight!

tweety - dun think so. It's drops here and there... and I don't dare press them in case kana contractions.

My ger is only 1.6kg at wk34 this Wed. When born, she will be slightly less than 2kg only. All these because of placenta previa ... it prevents the bb from growing to its full potential.

Freda - Dun despair. My case is like yours. I've been pigging out with milk, cheese, durian etc and even eating when not hungry ... but no use. If you do not hv previa, can you get your doc to check if the oxygen flow to yr bb is gd? Mine is superb ..but somehow, my bb cant grow as fast. In such cases, it's better to take bb out so that they can grow faster and better outside our wombs. There are risks like fetal hypoxia and stillbirth if you leave them inside and they grow marginally.

Freda.. agree with blur.. as long bb cann grow bit by bit, it's ok.. u alr over 2kg markline...

Mummies... I really got no mood to work leh.. jialat leh.. I seriously think my boss gonna sack me after maternity.. I've been so lazy and taking mc and leave on and off... haiz..

tweety,
i thought the toiletries and maternity will be default charged to bill. can say i don't want ah? liddat, i'ld say i don't want because i prepared everything.

ruffles,
what is colostrum like? when i clean my nipple, there are bubbles of clear to whitish liquid esp the left one. right one like dun have leh.

must bring breast pump, bottles, cooler bag and the works? stress.. thought these things can borrow from hospital then get some free bottles from them. if u borrow breastpump, issit also chargeable?

how come ctg straps also must charge? can't they wipe it down and reuse it like they do at the clinic? liddat, need to buy?

Freda,
when i was at my 35th week, bb was only 2.2kg. so i panicked but i'm now in my 37th week, bb is about 2.75 kg so sometimes the growth spurt takes awhile to get there. i took lots of dairy like what tweety recommended.

Ruffles.. icic.. then better don take that risk..
yr bb cant gain much even u eat those milk, cheese and durian??? Did gynae advice u on anything that can help???

<font face="tahoma"> ruffles,
sure... sms me if you know the timing. am having mixed feelings now... excited yet scared!

great to know your body is already ready for bb arrival!

pildough,
every single thing in hospital is chargeable! even those "blue" waterproof sheet which prevent use from staining the beds are chargeable! </font>

back from lunch... wah, i really feel like gg home... whole body aching.. :S

JJmom,
aiyo.. u just went ah? maybe u can go Carrefour or Giant.. they also have ah..

Ruffles,
wow.. u're leaking colostrum le.. very good leh.. might really mean that you'll have ample supply!!

mspiggy,
so ur girl is bigger than ur boy ah!!! wow!! so, likely u're the next to pop lor.. kekeke... :p

bigflamingo,
congrats!! now u can go for natural delivery le!!

Pildough... I not sure if can refund, i think should be can ba since we haven pay mah and nv use...

My bb also 1.8kg only at 32 weeks.. this coming monday will c if he grows well.. kind of worry now also...

I think hospital can give free glass btl, so no need to bring ba... need cooler bag?? for what huh???

Pildough - Colustrum is yellowish in color. I dunno abt the whitish liquid leh.

The last time I stayed in hosp for 3wks, I had CTG strapped onto me to monitor bb heartbeat and contractions. When I was discharged, the detailed bill showed they charged me S$8 for that strap! So nurse told me to remember to bring that strap back when I deliver.

Bottles - think hosp can provide clean glass bottles for you to express out; foc.

Lilbluey - if you got somemore spare milkbags, can sell to me?

<font face="tahoma"> Ruffles,
you want the milkbags? my frd just bought in Playtex liners from USA. You want them? I think abt S$12++ for 100 pcs of 240ml bag.

Let me know soon, I will check if she still have spares.</font>

tweety,
to bring milk home lor. wah i sound like i have yaya papayas, sure got milk gush out like fountains of life giving substance. ok no need to bring cooler bag, so ok to just let bb latch.

i give up liao, if everything is chargeable also bo pian, let them charge lor. if i so neow also stress myself out unncessarily.

mspiggy,
liddat i will make sure i make full use of hospital amenities, leak and stain to my heart's content. my friend said she survived in hospital robes for her stay so she can leak and leak and not worry about bringing home clothes to wash, she only changed when there were visitors. ehhehe

mspiggy - ya am counting down. Very excited and scared. HB scared he faint. Haha. Doc told him to bring along camcorder to record even. I told him to scrub himself clean before going into OT with me.

forest / mspiggy - ya doc said to feed her with all the colustrum I hv cos it will help her grow faster and better! SO I do hope I have LOTSA milk man! She has a lot of catching up to do.

what's the difference between milk bags and milk bottles? i have medela bottles, it came with the pump and cooler bag when i bought it.

i'm assuming bags can store more and take up less space in the fridge?

mommies, how do u store your milk in the fridge because i think open fridge, see bottles of milk.. abit mm strange. do u put your bottles or bags of milk in a compartment or container or some sort?

<font color="0000ff">Whitepaper,

Yr DH seems to be going there for a picnic! wahhahahahaha ;p

<font color="0000ff">Trace,

No problem, safety comes first!!

My DH brought me to Shokudo for lunch ^_^ hee hee

<font color="0000ff">Mspiggy,

So how now? 30/9/08?

<font color="0000ff">JJmom,,

I did not get any of those for bb to bathe in

<font color="0000ff">Ruffles,

If u are keen to order the milk bags, then I might hv another spree depending on Demand

<font color="0000ff">Freda,

Juz eat and rest more, think it helps

<font color="0000ff">Juz now I went City Hall, really felt the 'excitement and mood' there..Although got free tickets to the Grandstand but DH is not taking me there boo hoo hoo :'(

mspiggy - Hv u use them before? DO they leak and how do I attach them to my Medela pump? Actually how do we know which milk bag brand is good?