(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="119911">busybee>> can pls share your problems with breastfeeding?? i oso hope to BF and wanna be mentally prepared what could go wrong! thanks!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Dimpletot,

The pic juz posted is Icylemon's bb gal not Ribena's Claudia lolx ;p

Busybee,

Dun give yrself too much stress ok else the milk supply won't flow in

Purebliss,

Muz always remain positive hor!!

<font color="119911">PD>> mine will be Dr Simon Ng. i have no PD in mind and this was the one assigned by my gynea clinic. so no idea how he is though? anyone had experience with him?</font>

dimpletot,
the bb photo is Rachel's Mummy's baby... not Ribena's!! kekeke.. think a few of u got confused le...

also, both will not be preemie...

Purebliss,
take good care!! keep us posted ya... and don't worry urself also!!

Littlebluey,
me also no mood... guess its Friday mood bah!!! hahahahaha

Purebliss
Don't worry! My heart goes out to you and you have our support! I can imagine how hard it is on you, double everything we are going through! Jiayou!

dimpletot
hahaha... yah... but gotta work so how to take 3 leh? Maybe 2 lar. See how lor. If 2nd one is girl, maybe consider 3. But if 2nd one is boy, I'll stop at 2. Coz dun want 3 boys ar!!! become zoo... haha...

<font color="aa00aa">Purebliss
What time is your appt with your gynae?
Dont panic ya. You will be alright. See what the gynae advise you? See my fren's twins come out at week 34 but they are alright. They are going to discharge together with their mummy later. Think positive ya! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Juz Us
The PD assigned to you will be the one to examine/take care of your bb during the hospital stay. Most of the pple I know they dont stick to the PDs they were assigned. Some prefer to bring their babies to their family doctor or the PD they know while others would prefer to go to a polyclinic. </font>

bbgoh - yes. Previa Grade 1; touching the ORS. It affects the bb's ability to absorb nutrients. I've been eating like a pig but to no avail. Anyways, will continue eating like a pig in the hope she gets more food.

Phatanus - ya eat as much as you can now. You dont have previa right?

Forest - I will be exactly wk 36 if csect on 1 or 2 Oct. Although I wish I cld deliver naturally, I am not to fussed about whether it is natural or csect as long as bb is safely delivered.

If deliver on those dates, I might meet mspiggy cos both of us deliver at Mt E!!

<font color="aa00aa">Whitepaper
So you prefer to have 2 boys 1 girl?
I told my hubby if we want #3, I would prefer #3 to be boy boy! My hubby used to think that boy will be closer to mummy but my #1 proved him wrong liao. As he grow up, my boy will stick to me during day time and when he see daddy come home from work le, he will stick to him like superglue. Hence he doesnt mind if we have another boy.</font>

Thanks for encouragement Littlebluey!

Juz us,
Well after I had my c-sect at 34 weeks I was all gung ho about breastfeeding. Never did I expect it to be a problem as I am quite well endowed! Sigh. Everytime they brought baby into room for me to try out BF she will suckle then cry. Then nurse reminds me that since breast milk has not come, to supplement with formula or I will mess up the feeding times. But my Mikayla is now 16 days old and milk flow is still pathetic. I think she is now so comfortable with formula now that she gets impatient when I latch her on. She cries and only soothes when formula is given. Having to juggle 3 hourly feeds, diaper change and sneaking in my own mealtime, showertime and naps, I am finding I dun have time to pump.

<font face="tahoma"> ruffles,
try to rest on your sides... hope bb will get more nutrients from your placenta that way.

i hope bb will endure till then suspected bb might will arrive next week</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Busy Bee
Why not express out the bm for your bb? As long as she drinks, it doesnt matter whether you latch on or bottle-feed her the bm.
Did you try to drink plenty of soup esp papaya &amp; fish soup? Try to have a cup of hot drink half an hour before you feed your bb. A good diet is also important. At the same time, you must have enough rest cos this will also affect your milk supply. Stress is another factor which will affect milk supply too. During night time, you still have to wake up like 3 hourly to pump in order to keep your milk supply coming in.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

Did u try drinking alot of soups/fluids, heard that it helps in the flow. U might want to try fenugreek as well...heard that massaging your breasts will oso help to stimulate the Ss. Hv a hot drink before you latch or express might oso help! Most imptly, rest when yr bb nap and dun give yrself too much stress ok

mousebb is right, busybb
you've to drink alot alot alot water and eat a very good meal. i remembered i ate alot when i was breastfeeding

<font color="ff6000">Gio,

STRIP is at basement... next to MPH.

OOPS! haha, got confused with the gal names! Icylemon's princess still no confirmed name is it? Her EDD is 5 Oct and delivered on 19 Sept, so i guess was 38 weeks so full term liao hor? no wonder looks nice and big!

Busybee,

what I heard is that it is enough for bb to just take whatever colustrum you can provide for the first week or so. most mums on TBF just don't supplement. but yr bb came out at 34 weeks so might be different.

my friend said that her full milk supply didn't come in till 2 weeks later. another friend said that whatever BF problems u face, should be ironed out naturally by 4-6 weeks. try to persevere... instead of a nurse, perhaps you can contact a lactation consultant? they are more encouraging and expert.</font>

Littlebluey,
Thanks! ya, hoping for the best, dun want to stress myself unecessary liao, coz is beyond my control.

ruffles,
Ya, me dun have previa, but dunno why my boy seems cant absorb the nutrients well lo, hm...guess I have no choice, but to EAT and EAT!

Thanks all for the tips,
Guess the stress is getting to me. Cos even when I try to pump, not more than 20 ml each time. I am trying hard not to give up, its so trying that I have been crying everyday. I feel bad as I should be enjoying my baby now and not be upset. Going to get fenugreek and make more papaya fish soup (btw is it only threadfin can be used or any type of fish). I was also having a hard time first 2 weeks due to my maid not adjusting well( arrived a month ago) and not having confidence to handle my small baby. But luckily she is picking things up now and things are better. My DH also bot the hot compress from mothercare which apparently will aid milkflow. Hopefully like dimpletot said the BF problems will iron itself out soon.

<font color="0000ff">Phtanus,

Dun stress yrself ok, muz enjoy the remaining lap of your pregnancy, as long as bb is healthy tht's the most impt! ^_^

Busybee,

Dun cry ok
heard tht women in confinement not suppose to cry wor! Not healthy ok
Cheer up and maintain a positive outlook!

Threadfin is ok for cooking the green papaya soup, u might want to add some red dates and wolfberry in as well

Okie Littlebluey.

My DH also peptalk me yesterday and this morning. Will try to maintain positive outlook.

Do take care as well. I hope you are feeling better already. Dun get too stressed out too. Trust me when you meet your baby you will feel your world change.

Thanks dear

Now still hv to put up with swellings all over the place with indescribable back ache, hoping to "tong" till 37 Wks and trying to be gd and rest more! hahahaha lolx ;p

The world definitely changes when bb arrives

hee hee

<font color="119911">mousebb>> oic! thanks! i was still headache thinking every time next time must go back to Mt A to see the PD! haha then not so convenient liao

busybee>> o no! no wonder i heard that many ppl have problems with breastfeeding. i know reading about all the problems is really different from experiencing them ourselves. mabbe can try all the mummies' advices. drink plenty of fluids and dun stress ya? all the best ya!

enya>> can enlighten how the bands work?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Read tis frm other thread, maybe can give it a try?

I found this power pump method/schedule:-

I was pumping 10-30ml every 3 hrs i felt so sad &amp; patetic, very very depressed lor.

After i got on this power pumping my milk increased after 2 days to 180ml &amp; on the 4th day onwards stablised to 80-120ml per session. most people i have told about this method -especially when they try during 1st few mths after delivering - works for them.

YOu just need to do this for 2 days - after that do 1-2 times a day on day 3 &amp; 5 for maintenance &amp; repeat the 2 days system again maybe before you go back to work.

4-5 times a day power pump

Pump 20 mins
rest 10 mins
Pump 10 mins
rest 10 mins
Pump 10 mins
rest 10 mins
Pump 10 mins
total 60 mins

this gives u 10 mins inbetween to tend to your baby change her or carry her/him. (roughly la - +/- few mins is ok for this system just do it 4-5 times a day.

For single pump users - its abit more tedious but i have come up with a system for you as well

Pump 15.mins (Right)
Pump 15mins (Left)
Pump 7mins (Right)
Pump 7mins (Left)
Pump 7mins (Right)
Pump 7mins (Left)
total 58 mins (approx)

while u pump one side the other side is resting - single pump users really have to be tied down whole nearly 1 hr lor. But i developed this just for those who dont plan to buy another pump since they have already bot one.

just 2 days of this system - most will see significant milk supply increased - but still pump 15-20 mins every 2-3 hrs after that as usual - really up to your lifestyle &amp; your urgency to upp your supply.

<font color="0077aa">whitepaper and purebliss,

any idea which PD Doc Wong will recommend for the first 'consultation' at the hospital?</font>

Hi Mrs Lau,
I am using the Ameda Lactaline, as I delivered earlier than expected, I didn't have a pump. TMC was sold out on the Ameda and only had the Medela swing (single pump) I wanted a double. So I contacted Mumsfairy and they were so nice to deliver it to me Day2 of my discharge. I must admit I have not been eating and drinking well. So it could have contributed to the poor supply as well.

Littlebluey,
Wow I am definitely trying out this power pumping plan! Sure beats sitting there for for 45 mins and only getting 20ml.

Muz find time to rest and definitely hv to eat/drink well ok

U give it a try and feedback to us whether it works!! I hope it does!!

Will try power pumping today! Wait to hear my update on Sun or Mon! Hopefully it will open the floodgates! Gonna top it up with fish papaya soup and fenugreek. Keeping fingers crossed! Wish me luck!

<font color="119911">busybee>> think must try to stay positive too ok? jia you and stay happy! then can improve your appetite and lessen ur stress level. ganbatte ne and good luck!

qn on CDA>> issit can use for PD vaccinations and visits?</font>

<font color="119911">xinying>> drool!! havent had that in ages! not mnay place got the outlets. i like the corn muffins! yum! i had san lou horfun and horlicks for lunch

<font color="0000ff">Bigflamingo,

U are not the only one, a few of us here are experiencing the same condition as you are -_-"" hahahaha

Trace,

My lunch is boring! I tabao wor *yawn* u neh?

busybee,
jia you!! the mummies here have given v good suggestions, and its what i've learnt at the BF workshops too.. must rem to eat and sleep well.. and of cos, drink lots n lots of fluid.. tats v v crucial ya!! Jia You!

re: RibenaLi
no further updates from her yet.. will def keep all of u posted ya!!

Trace,
lunch was HOT HOT HOT.... my sweat was trickling down my back!! never before have i sweat so much in my life i think.... gosh!!! and i hate it cos' now am in air con room...

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

It's not only hot but stuffy!! *bleh* I juz go out and tabao for a while alrd felt it argh!!

Trace,

Seems like our lunch all so so nia, hmmm...how? how? how? so sianz and sleepy now

Trace,
me too also sleepy!! worse is, i got a strange feeling my boy is now heads up.. cos' am feeling his movements not at the ribs but at the pelvic there? like all of a sudden, his movements switched le.... now im so worried... cant wait to go see gynae tom!!

Littlebluey,
really super duper hot!!
wahh... steam cupcake.. eat now lor.. hahahaha...