(2008/10) Oct 2008

If I already bought a playpen, do you think it's necessary for me to get the playmat from small small world? I see the playmat so cute and my heart itchy to buy but scared buy already never use cos got playpen le. Plus quite ex also although looks like a good investment.

<font color="aa00aa">Mint
Playpen and playmat serve a different purpose. Playpen is to "confine" the bb whereas playmat will be very useful when your bb know how to crawl. For me, my hubby brought 2 sets of fencing from KP to fence up the playmat to serve as a playpen for my boy. Inside there, he learnt to crawl, stand and walk. This is how it look like

1661574.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Hi Mummies,

Wah so many posts over the wkend! hee hee

Cheezel,

Will update yr details tmr when I'm back in office

Welcome Essana!! Enjoy yr stay with us! hee hee

So how many mummies were at the talk ytd? I managed to catch up with Jollyhoppy after the talk

Mousebb,

Wenxuan is so adorable! He muz hv enjoy his one year old birthday celebration!

I oso ordered a cake from PG for my sis birthday and rec'd gd reviews for it! *Thumbs Up*

Lili,

Gd to know that your princess is doing well! Getting all excited now isn't it keke..

Everafter,

Dun worry too much abt the weight gain, I believe most of it will be gone after u delivered! Now priority is baby!

Forest,

We will work hard after the delivery ok, most impt little junior is healthy and hale!

Mint,

Maybe u can cut down on carbo and sugary stuff, take wholemeal/multigrain bread instead of white bread and opt for brown rice instead. If not, cut down on the portion of rice/noodles like what I did

Dun worry too much, am sure u will be fine!

<font color="0000ff">Ytd was a hectic day for us, morning went to gynae clinic to get Q no, din managed to see him till 1 pm *concuss*..then rush to Suntec for the b/f talk and went for the last antenatal class in the evening! Total concussion! hahaha

Was surprised when I weigh myself, I only put on 500 grams and when my gynae did a scan for me, bb was weighing ard 2.6kg at 31 wks!! When I saw the screen, it portrays the EDD at 20/9/08! due to his size..*concuss* but my gynae said we shd still stick to mid Oct.

Consulted him on when is the best time to do C-section if we do opt so. He told us that anytime frm 8/10/08 wah!!
Anyway, for now, he said everything seems ok, shall see him in another 3 wks time and evaluate further!

<font color="0000ff">Dimpletot,

Juz rec'd the Robinsons booklet, they are having a card member preview tis coming wkend

The express avent steriliser is going for $149 as a bundle set.

For those mummies who want to get the Medela Electric Pump, it's going for $249 in a bundle set as well

There's oso 20% on most bb's brands

Mummies who want to do more shopping can check it out..

everafter

I also have very swollen feet. But these 2 days, I just nua at home, my feet went back to its normal size! Wah i haven seen my "normal" feet for a long long time man.

Littlebluey

wah ur biy quite big hor?u confirmed doing c section meh?

<font color="0000ff">Diane,

Most impt is to have alot of rest and keep yourself hydrated to prevent swelling of the legs

My gynae said he's big hmmm...haven really decide see next visit evaulation first..

Littlebluey, am not scared of the weight i'm putting for myself (sort of resign to fate liao, jus work hard after delivery)
but am very scared that my boy will be too big for natural delivery. Wow!! Your boy absorbing well, even bigger than mine!! But u almost confirm abt doing c-section leh..i dont want leh..

Diane, frankly i dont walk alot :p Swollen feets made me very lazy..wkends i usually stay at hm and nua. Now that antenatal class have ended and bought all bb stuffs already, really no plc to go liao..jus rest at hm. Hopefully the swelling can go down, otherwise i got no shoes to wear!! Still gotta report to work for the next 7wks leh!

<font color="0000ff">Everafter,

Like you, actually I thot of going natural, but now I'm really having 2nd thots! We just check with my gynae if we really want to opt for Csection when will be the 'safe date' still thinking leh..I'm glad that all the weight goes to him keke

Try to alleviate your legs and drink more water to prevent further swelling. Massage them oso..

everafter/little bluey
my #1 preg was also "almost" Csec....dr adrian say bb too big for my frame, ask me to Csec...but i no wan..my hubby keep telling me that if bb cant come out, will be stress and somemore if go for emergency Csec, then have to pay more for the bill. i almost decided to go Csec ...who knows, bb wanna come out earlier. so end up natural.

little bluey,
ur bb is really big le. 32 weeks at 2.6kg. mine only 1.99kg at 31 wk. what u eat ?

everafter
even nothing to buy, can still go shopping ma. bb come out no more time for shopping liao wor....confinement is even worse. but hubby do bring me out to shop shop once in a while during confinement. even had french fries and fried rice when i'm out. hehe....tat time when i eat the food, i was like in heaven.....cos so sick of those confinement food.

else drink more water to prevent swelling. do some leg exercise, like flexing ur feet.

i didnt have any swelling during #1 time. hope this time rd also no have. so far still ok.

Hello mummies, just came back from Malaysia this afternoon from teambuilding. Sleep the whole afternoon after that.

Btw, how do we know if we have GD? My gyna din do any test for me after the 5th month blood test leh. Only the routine urine test using the test stick

Hi mousebb, the high chair which I intend to get can be use on a sleeping position, it is incliable type. Cos the baby cot will be delivering soon so that of adding this item then no need to hand carry back.

Now with additional ML, can use it when in the living room or kitchen. Baby can be push around :p

<font color="0000ff">Cheezel,

Mine is ard 2.6 kg at 31 wks, I was oso shocked when the gynae told me...apparently seems like I "lost weight" to my bb ;p

I never eat anything special just normal stuff, ate 4 meals a day leh hmmm...

LittleAlmond,

If u failed yr urine test and bb is on the bigger side then most prob your gynae will suspect GD, if not dun worry too much abt it

Hi littlebluey, my bb is only 1.77 kg at 30 weeks. U eat a lot of durian? U bb is gaining all the good nutrition then.

I thought all of us will need to do a test for GD. Gynae also never tell me much. He told me now will be every 3 week see him, follow by 2 weeks then weekly liao

<font color="0000ff">Littlealmond,

Since the last visit, my gynae said no more durians, my DH forbid me to see/smell dun even mention the word eat wor! *bleh* so sad!!

I think the GD test is not necessary unless your gynae call for it.

haha... littlebluey, ur DHlike mine. That time old me that is the last time I can eat durian but last Fri when I went for check-up... he let me eat again. Then ask me I'm not scare bb very big huh

<font color="0000ff">Litte Almond,

At least your DH still let u eat, I dun even get the chance *sob sob* he always said it's an illusion!

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
I guess Dr Adrian has his concern cos at this stage, bb is growing at 200gm or more a week, hence he is worry that your bb maybe too big for natural delivery. Maybe you can eat more meat and cut down on rice and carbo. I'm like you, I like softdrinks and can finish a 1.5 litres with hubby everyday. But since i got pregnant this round, my hubby has refused to buy me softdrink le. I only get to drink when we have fast food. Try to cut down on your softdrink intake.

Littlebluey
Really envy you leh! Your bb's weight gain is very good and you can keep losing weight somemore. How I wish I'm like you! So you and your hubby have decided to opt for c-sect? </font>

hope you hv a good sunday.
Raining almost whole day...good for us mummies but pretty boring. cant go out.

littlebluey
dun worry, different babies hv growth spurts at different period of time.

most important thing is both you and baby are good, happy and healthy.

so happy to know that govt has decided to backdate to when they made the announcement..
but at another forum i was kenna "bang" for joining in the petition..

conversation goes like this:

XX wrote:
see... 1st they say effective date is 1 jan 2009, then some mom to be complain bring forward to 17 aug , now more complains ...
haiz...everyone jsut dun want to lose out to others haiz... i think they have forgot the reason on why they are having the kids !!!

and IMHO, they should have stick to the original date of 1 Jan 2009

ME:
honestly if they had not announce during national rally, we current preg mummies would not have make so much noise..
if like the case of 2004 where they had mentioned in dec n implement b4 national 2004 i as a preg mummy in 2003/ early 2004 would have feel LL cos they did say b4 national day so if i miss i LL..
but now tat they annonuced so early of cos most would expect it to b with immediate effect..
but then when govt annouced details but effect so much later later, of cos we will feel unfair..
i'm glad the govt has bring fwd to date they had annouced to public..
but if any mummies who feels that they don WANT the incentives n couldn;t care abt it becos they wanna give birth is their own biz then i urge them to REJECT all the incentives given..
DON take the 4mths ML/ DON take the addtional childcare leave n also DON take the baby bonus..
p/s: i'm giving birth not for the incentives but i still feel i shd b entitled for it since Govt has annouced it and i have not delivered yet.

don mean to offend anyone.. jus my feeling of being a preg mum now

XX wrote:
dun worry we can understand your hormones imbalance you are no diff from those mom to be who complained

so pissed off!

mousebb,
the cake u bought for ur boy is really great!! will be esp. good memories wor!! and its def yummy.. ekeke.. cos' after u had mentioned, i also went Pine Garden to buy the lychee martini cake for my own bday lah.. wahahahha.. ;)

hahaha... yaya.. must ensure my boy follow the "orders".. hahaha.. today, my father also said.. tell your boy to wait for grandpa and grandma to be back.. kakakaka... so funny!!

everafter,
*hugs*.. so we are sama sama... we are those kind who seems to get all the weight during pregnancy lor.. hahah, but u r right, we'll have to work hard at losing after delivery lor..

abt controlling diet, i suppose the suggestions by the mummies shd be good.. cos' so many of them who are taking brown rice all gained v v little weight... for me, i usually eat out, so cant always get brown rice..

mint,
hmmm.. do see how things work out after ur appt with the dietician.. we're nearing the end le.. so, am sure the remaining weeks will work out just fine ya!!! Jia You!!

Littlebluey,
ya ya.. i must also chant to myself.. and remind myself to work hard after delivery.. :p

Littlealmond,
small small world organises the playmat BPs here.. see this thread
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1649853.html?1219586791

Enya,
rain whole day.. very good to sleep!! hahaha..

jen,
no hormone imbalance, got hormonal imbalance also it's good to fight for our entitlement..

rant it out jen.. but think of the 4 grand :D.. and be happy. u should reply, 'ya lor, but luckily thinking of the bb bonus helps to balance out my hormones.'

oh then again, better not. jan - aug 16 mommies will be upset.

is anyone having pubic bone pain while trying to turn while lying in bed? i know it's common and all but i'ld like to know your remedies.. i tried putting a bolster between for support but still have to move slowly and painfully.

thinking of buying a yellowbear bumpermat after seeing purebliss order one in the spree. are the gates surrounding the mat necessary?

I went to taka bb fair to buy car seat for claudia. Got one at $99 can use from new born till 3 yrs old. Rather good deal i guess.

hi Ribena,

was it easy to fix in the car? heavy? detachable as a carrier or strictly as a car seat?

i borrowed an infant car seat from a friend because i needed time to shop around and read around for a good one that will last.

hahaa...i am one of them with insomnia..

must do work till tired then can sleep. I know that it is not good for BB...but boh bian leh...just cannot sleep

yeay

i have company~ do you get these often.. usually i try not to use the computer or watch tv 2-3 hours before bed. it helps with not overstimulating the mind but sometimes it still hits me then i get cranky because there's work tm, bb is swirling around wondering why i'm not horizontal yet. poor girl.. her mother is a nut job and she's about to inherit half my neuroses.

on top of calling MOM, i also sent and email to ask them on the maternity and childcare leave for us who are delivering in october2008.. here's their reply...

"Since you were not able to consume the childcare leave in 2008 as your child was born towards the end of the year, your entitlement to childcare leave will commence from 2009. In any case, the entilement is subject to a maximum of 42 days leave (6 days per year over 7 years) in respect of that child."

so this year is really "either or" unless ur individual HR nice enough to do sth different for u bah..

<font color="119911">morning all!
wow.. so many posts over the weekend! =) glad to know all doing well

lyndx>> what u mean? must clear all 4 month of maternity then can take childcare leave is it?

jen>> dun care these ppl lah. nothing to do with them they oso wanan feel pissed off. i think they the ones with hormonal imbalance. otherwise they juz too damn eng

mousebb>> wow! your house looks huge! hehee, think my place no space for so big 'playpen' for baby ;P will probably stick wif the playpen

pildough>>insomnia, ya i oso get it on and off, but usually will wake up some time in the night. only see if after that can get back to sleep or not. so hor.. haha i become panda mummy liao</font>

Morning Mummies!~~

Mint, dun worry, my sugar level also cross a bit high side... normal count is 142 and I kanna 147. So my gynae says so long i dun cross 150... she dun send me to dietician. Ask me cut off frmo durian completely...

Pildough, me having insomnia since week 26 until now. Eye bags very heavy hahahahah!

morning all!

Littlebluey, your bb got a good weight! my gynae said my EDD is end Sept, told me to standby &amp; pack my stuff liao..

so excited..

Juz_Us, yah my HR told me if i'm still covered under the 4 months' maternity leave then no claim on the childcare leave... the MOM reply also says so apparently leh.. so next year then start the 6 days claim.

i'm trying to plan early so now tot of clarifying these ah.

<font color="119911">lili_fc>>wow! so fast! must be exciting! so u got your letter from gynea already? the one to show hospital when admitted? have u applied ur maternity leave? when should we start our maternity leave har? is it must ask gynea first? or can just start from EDD? aiyo now like all this admin thing, dunno how to go about doing

purebliss, littlebluey>> pat pat nvm, now durian season oso almost over liao. i find the durians now not as delicious le. wait til next year ok? then we can eat all we want again

lyndx
what do you mean "if i'm still covered under the 4mths' maternity leave"... isn't it confirmed? or do you mean your HR not allow you to take all 4mths?

<font color="119911">lyndx>> when is ur EDD? mine is 1st oct. i thot of taking leave starting from mid sept. any idea how to apply for maternity leave? must ask from gynea first issit? or so long we take 2 months in a row can le?

lili>> i think she means if u havent finished taking all the 4 month maternity leave entitlement</font>

Jus Us
Yes, gotten the admission letter from Gynae &amp; also register for Pre-admission at the counter.

I don't think will apply ML now cos' intend to work till delivery. But will ask HR if 4mth can be flexible as i don't intend to clear all 4mths.

lili_fc, i meant in the event by year end, still covered by the 4 months maternity leave (cos everybpdy has different dlievry dates mah) then cannot claim childcare leave.. hmm.. seems like i'm confusing everybody ah ahhaha ;p

btw, i placed my deposit with CH already =) so happy!

Juz_Us, my EDD is 11Oct08.
my case, my HR asked me to fill up the leave form and leave the date blank, pass it to department secretary and then secretary will fill up the date for me when i call them after delivery... no leh no mention at all that must be from gynae leh..

think talk to ur HR different companies could have diff policies ah...

i intend to work till i deliver =)

Jen

haahaa..,yea man those mummies from the petition of Jan to Aaug 08 are damn fierce....i think they are even petitioning to get the govt to revert back to the date of Jan 09. Its a case of if they cannot get wat they want, then we shld not be getting etiher....

<font color="119911">sorry what CH? hey so if i take my 4th month flexi, until oct 2009, then i can only take childcare from nov 2009?!</font>

Littlebluey, Pkum, lili BIG WOAH!!! Ur babies are doing very very well!!
Wah... all cross the 2kg marking already...

Lili, wah.. admission letter. Sept pop? Meaning very fast liao! Excited?

Juz Us, i am also scared of durian already... hahaha!! Morning finally had my Big Breakfast for Breakfast... but only half. Another half, my boy ate it.