(2008/10) Oct 2008

Littlebluey,

Since our dear PM knows tat this is going to be a difficult time ahead for spore then y did he purposely leave out 5mths of babies?

All these 5mths of babies r confirmed sporean mah! Somemore they r born at this difficult time lei!

Y upset all pregnant ladies with these annoucements when we r not suppose to be angry now.

So next kid, we really have to wait till after the national rally announce then start to plan liao loh!

<font face="tahoma"> littlebluey,
must note down the points that vanilla wrote... they have no excuse saying that employers cant react to the change coz they already did so in Yr 04!

i will be more than happy to include my name in this petition! </font>

elchwong

i'm aso fuming now! will put my name in the petition too!! was reading around the other thread, all mummies blood boiling too.
i find one mummy comment esp true :

…I understand that they need a cut off date. But I dun see why they need to put it so far. For parents that already delivered, yah, can tell them that you cannot turn back the clock. But there will be maybe almost 10000 babies from now to 31 Dec... these babies how? Dun contribute to Singapore meh? Their parents dun need the assistance to bring up their kids meh?

ya lor..they ought to give very valid reason for making Aug-Dec MTBs angry and Jan-Apr'09 MTBs happy. Afterall, we all conceived and contribute to the population numbers b4 they decided to enhance the pkg!! Argh~~

<font color="0000ff">Mspiggy,

I've noted down all the comments/inputs from Liyan/Vanilla.

Anymore pls let me know!!

I really can't think now! super duper clouded!!

haha... how to stay cool???
Really unfair lor.
If they want, either postpone to 10mth from Aug 08 so it really benefit those that is responding to govt call.

Else, should give it to us NOW. Why announce now and set the implementation date 4 months later?? Unfair.

Also, it would be good if the extra 4 weeks mat leave can be flexible between daddies and mummies.

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+2">Wah Piang! Why announced so early when only effective 1 jan??? The new measures are sucks!!! Why the govt has forgotten those who are currently pregnant? Are these people not important anymore???</font>

one more point to add.....
anyway the previous Baby Bonus Scheme were not fully claimed since our birth rate has not hit the expected level. Govt has aome savings there and can't they be more gracious to allow mothers already preggy like those due after Jan 09 to benefit?

Btw I already written to REACH to vent

Mousebb, wah ur FONT very eyes catchy... BIG BIG BIG.

The baby bonus part I agree... govt not being fair. Those EDD Jan 09 mummies.. they already coming 5th mth pregnancy liao. Like that they entitled and we all not even a single thing. If really want.. all cannot get... make it effective date from May 09 onwards.

<font color="119911">just came back from my meeting immed pop to check status. damn disappointing man. i will add my name to whatever list there is</font>

Below are a few interesting quotes we should high-light when writing to DPM:

"So next kid, we really have to wait till after the national rally announce then start to plan liao loh!"

"If they want, either postpone to 10mth from Aug 08 so it really benefit those that is responding to govt call."

<font color="119911">i also ranted in reach. my points (sorry i not very good at argumentative writing)

By announcing so soon and then setting the implementation date so late, it will surely leave many parents-to-be feeling shortchanged. Furthermore, in the past, the policy had been backdated to include those who had qualified at the time of the announcemnt. Why should this time be different?

Although as PM Lee says, we do not have children for the sake of the financial benefits, but the financial aid will certainly go a long way to helping us out. The implementation date certainly seem to insinuate that people should have babies for the benefit (since we who willingly conceived without knowledge of the upcoming benefits do not qualify for it).

nanny>> agree, by doing this, they are making many feel very "cheated"

In year04, the change may need time for employers to adjust. because it was a major change to the then existing policies.. i.e., the gvt funds the 3rd month of maternity leave... now, since the fourth month also funded by gvt, why need time for employers to adjust?

what i see as changes this time round is that it's merely addition to the existing policies as a "tag-on" not as if it's entirely new policies like back then in Year04, so it shd be easier to implement it and for employers to effect the change even faster since there was already a precedence set it's merely changing the quantity and not the substance of the matter. that's a lousy excuse of MOM to use to say that it's to give time for employers to adjust.

i think it's more logical that they say it's a lack of foresight that Jan09 onwards' mummies to be are pregnant now and that the fact that they conceived even before the national day rally just like mummies to be from Aug-Dec08.

Just read the point on enhanced protection
for pregnant employees (eff 1 Jan 09 also)

Employees will still receive maternity leave
benefits if they are dismissed without sufficient
cause within the last six months of pregnancy or
retrenched within the last three months of
pregnancy

That mean now my boss can still sack me w/o due cause... This should be effective immediately also mah. What if the bosses decide to sack the mummies to be in Dec, just before 1 Jan 09?
!@#$!@#!@#!~@!!@#!@#$!@#$%^!@#$%^&amp;*

Dear mummies, i had not login for a long time, was coming in to see are there mummies like me who felt so dismayed at the "01 Jan 2009" cutoff date!

I am so disappointed and upset! why are mummies giving birth in Sep to Dec 08 being penalised?!!!
If my child is born during this period, does it mean that he does not need to have an education or bonding time with mummies??!!!

This is ridiculous!!!

nanny,
i agree with u.. if the intention is not to implement so early, PM should have mentioned it during the rally.. at least he would have been clear cut from the beginning...

to be honest, i dont see how/why employers needs time to adjust? They knew that their female staff are pregnant already.. and who is going to empathise with the employees who are being left in the cold now?

in fact, i was told by my someone.. seems my co. does not even practise the 2 days of childcare leave now... what is govt doing about it??

i think the least we can do is to pen our tots and email reach as individuals and somebody (as Littlebluey has kindly volunteered) to write a formal letter including all our names for those mummies who want to be in the petition list.

this way, we can make sure that they know (those in REACH) the impact of the policies have made on the large number of pregnant ladies and that we're not just silent SIngaporeans who complain but not voicing out our concerns.

we gotta act fast before they really go legislate it like dimpletot mentioned this morning. I'm going to write to reach now..

<font color="aa00aa">Purebliss
Altho we as SAHMs dont lose out a lot, but still on the bb bonus part, we are lugi leh!

This is a SAD national Day for Aug08-Dec08 mummies! Sad! Sad! Sad!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ENHANCED Childcare Leave
The existing childcare leave is 5 days per child up to 12 yrs old. Out of these 5 days, parents who have kid(s) below 7 yrs old can take 2 days childcare leave that does not a medical certificate. Under the new measures, I dont see it being mentioned anywhere leh? They only increase the childcare leave from 5 days to 6 days which parents dont have to submit any mc. Hence I dont think the ENHANCED childcare leave is attractive in anyway.</font>

<font color="119911">i complain some more in reach liao...they say can use that as a channel, but really, they will read meh? i then dun believe our ministers will go there and acknowledge our tiny little voices. to them $600k oso peanuts what. how can they even understand how much these few miserable k mean to us</font>

dear ladies, there is a meet the people session tonite to see mr lee at:

Blk 322 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3
#01-1928
Singapore 560322

who wants to go?

Phylicia- Dec MTB Thread

<font color="aa00aa">I guess the govt already expecting the big huha liao so no matter how pple going to write, they will not change their change on the implementation date liao.</font>

Hi, we can also write in to Straits Times

The Straits Time Forum editor
Singapore Press Holdings
1000 Toa Payoh North News Centre
Podium Level 2
Singapore 318994

Tel No 63198289

I really think this forward date implementation will just be abused by employers...they have a 5 mths reaction time to sack preggie women and we as employees have no recourse to this cos our labor laws are not as strong as Europe or US to prevent such mispractices.

There is a 'meet the people session' tonite to see Mr lee at:

Blk 322 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3
#01-1928
Singapore 560322

Shall we go meet him &amp; pass him the letter?

<font color="119911">wah if it helps i wanan go leh...haha but damn inconvenient leh. tonight i got antenatal class some more. but pengz if it will work i surely turn up</font>

"Sorry National Population, think there's a typo error with the effective date being 01/01/09. The effective date should be from 20/08/08 because there shouldn't be a difference between 5 months old foetus (01/01/09) and 8 months or younger foetus (20/08/08) right?" All are S'pore citizens and add to the numbers to achieve targetted birth rates right? Why should the 8 months and younger foetus and mummies be shortchanged?"

<font color="119911">vanilla>> if u are sacked 3 month b4 your EDD, u can still sue your employer, even b4 the new implementation. FYI</font>

<font color="119911">carrie>> mabbe govt think 5 month old foetus can still be aborted, but we all no choice liao, sure must bear the baby mah. mabbe that is their thinking</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Purebliss
For those who are working in the Ministries/Stat Boards will know that they have 5 days of childcare leave as long as they have kid(s) before 12 yrs old, think is up to the 3rd or 4th kid. That means if they have 2 kids under this category, they will have 10 days of childcare leave. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jus Us
Agreed with you! I guess that's what the govt is thinking...esp for us, EDD is so near liao. We have no choice but guai guai give birth lor.</font>

<font color="119911">mousebb>>the 2 day childcare leave (<7 years old) is unconditional one, no nid MC. i think the new 6 day leave refers to that too</font>

<font color="119911">i feel what this does is to PENALISE those who genuinely wanna have kids lor.

forest>> ya i contributed some comments there too ;P pls feel free to add on</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jus Us
But how about the one with mc? Are they going to continue with it or are they taking this away?</font>

<font color="119911">mousebb>> no idea, i think that one may depend on company's HR policy liao. govt only mandate certain things.
note that the abovementioned is only for kid <7 yrs</font>