(2008/10) Oct 2008

Diane, bo bian... our govt very prone to employers one... so they giving the employers time to adjust to all these changes. Maybe look on bright side, bb bonus increase we will get, ML working mum still will get.. only childcare leave starts from next yr?

Taysetsuri, both are girls and fracternal twins.
My first one is boy and he is coming 22 mths old. By then I give birth, will be 2 yr old soon.

Think it's not fair loh, since they implement it on 1st Aug the last time then this time shdould also do the same mah...argh!

Can we also protest huh? Let go to the Npark to book a date for public protest at the speaker corner...hahaha

<font color="aa00aa">1st Time Mummies
Dont be disappointed. At least you gals will still get to enjoy the new benefits for your subsequent pregnancies.
2nd time mummies like Rachel Mum, Mspiggy, Purebliss and myself will not get to enjoy the new benefit at all unless we want to get pregnant AGAIN! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Hmm...maybe come to the next general election, we have to think carefully le... hahaha!</font>

<font color="ff6000"> gals,

if really implemented in Jan 09, we should really write to [email protected] to voice our sentiments. Also write to your MP so that they know our thoughts! At least somewhere to vent. Maybe if enough people write in they will reconsider.

We can make the following points:

Although there can be no perfect date of implementation, it seems more fair for the policy to take effect upon announcement at least. Those who have delivered before the announcement date are less likely to expect the policy to be backdated.

What is the rationale behind postponing implementation to Jan 09? Strictly speaking, if the Government wanted to make a case that the incentives should apply to those who have not yet conceived, then the start should be nine months from Aug 09. Not 4 months from now, since those who deliver in Jan 09 would similarly have conceived already.

Surely mothers-to-be who have heeded the call to conceive even before these policies were announced should not be penalised.

bigflamingo, Taysetsuri

welcome to our fast moving thread!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">re: heartburn
Milk really helps my heartburn. This afternoon after drinking some Magnolia Oat Milk, my heartburn seems to go away liao. Mummies who are suffering from heartburn may like to try this method out.</font>

purebliss

the enhanced bb bonus we will get? thot for our case will still be $3000 for 1st kid wor. Only those born in 2009 will get the new bb bonus..

Dimpletot

yeah yesterday my HB was just saying shld go to MP. But go to MP no use one lar. Not that they will reverse the policy just because we make noise.

Tayetsuri

govt always anounce goodies during NDR and budget speech one. They annnouce the maternity benefits now to entice couples to have kids lor. But too bad they never take into consideration people like us.

<font color="aa00aa">Dimpletot, Diane
Going to the MP also useless lah. Will be wasting our time instead.
Come to think of it, really make me very pek chek! </font>

1 of the mom from other thread said she wrote in to appeal during 2004 &amp; she got it
She had a c-sect in early Jul 04.

Taysetsuri
ya ya.. I really I'm RIGHT..praying hard.

mousebb
agree with you... I confirm close factory liao after this bb so haizz.. wun be enjoying any new benefit.
But to count my blessing at least 3 of my bb will have Bb bonus as compared to pple pregger before 2004, gets nothing at all.

But then again... the date confirmed liao meh?

JJ mom
u so funny... protest in the speaker corner..kekeke

Mousebb, yes I am back home. Hahahah!! Yah, the durian works... but for now I will stop durian. My gynae also dun want the babies to be super big now cos the heavier they are, it will induce preterm labour already. ( Our body tout they are full term babies and ready to expel them out regardless the gestational weeks ) Both add up to 3.2kg++ and yah, i look like a full term mummy, big tummy one... anytime can "pop!"

Hahah!! Dun think I wanna a 4th child after this. Cannot tahan... I told my hubby even govt give me 50K bb bonus, I also won't consider the 4th one. 3 is more than enuff... unless my hubby wants to create an "ACCIDENT"

Diane, heard the bb bonus will increase 5% more than the current one. New amount may be $3150 cash for 1st baby or whatever... Depends on how the ministries see it. From my view, I feel that if they wanna announce now, it had to be effective from this mth or next, otherwise, better keep it in their mouth and announce during dec 08 for Jan 09.

2004, the bb package was backdated to 1 aug..n my cousin gv birth on 31st jul, she went to appeal..was rejected!

<font color="aa00aa">Purebliss
For the new benefits, the govt is going to extend the incentives up to the 5th child leh. Hehehe...who knows if you and your hubby create an "accident", you will get another twins again..hahaha!

If the new bb bonus for 1st time mum is going to be just another 5% nia, it is also not attractive at all!</font>

seriously, i think once the govt set the date, they'll NEVER change again regardless of how many pple voice their unhappiness etc.

so no mood to work now!

dun be sad and upset by the article in Today paper on "Come next year..."

I have emailed the paper and also the journalist and this is the reply from them:

"Hello,

"come next year" refers to the fact that the measures are expected to effect next year. DPM Wong will announce the full package and the details this week. I hope that clears it up?

Yanqin"

So cheer up wait for the details of the press conference by DPM Wong today.

All Mummies - Thank you for the big welcome!

mousebb - r u bbgal from Mar 07 thread?

purebliss - so happy for you! A big big congrats! Guess, it is going to be super tough for some of the second time mummies. I am so worried about my boy's emotional's development when the little one comes along. Did you do any special preparation?

Dimpletot - I think u r right...must be really funny to see all of us there at the speaker's corner! But one of the mummies also mentioned that they need to let the employers get "adjusted" too (oh...!!!)

Diane - I wish they did consider us. *still crossing my fingers as what Cookie assumes in her earlier post!* But realiable source really says it is from Jan 09!! Why why.... *weeping*

Mousebb, *touch wood... kanna again and twins again... I tell you lor, I dunno what I will say and i think DH and I will faintz. DH initially wants no.4 but after thinking, he says better dun. Cos now already fear not enuff time for the 3 kids. If no. 4 here how...

Trace... yah.. i will faint. SPEECHLESS :*(

Taysetsuri, my PD says my boy will get some jealousy initially because of the new addition. Seriously, now we preparing him... telling him there are sisters in my tummy... So once a while, I will ask him, do you love love mei meis... he will hug my tum tum and kiss it.
Then my hubby and i will always remind him he is always no.1 in our heart and we love love him. Even now, I try to spend more time with him... He is co bedding with me, even after my delivery, things will not change. The twins will be sleeping in their own room with the maid. My boy will still be with us and slowly teach, let him get use. I am more worried because now have 2 siblings.. not 1 only.

<font color="ff0000">cookie</font> i have no idea. maybe news will announce. now i only hope got insider news to tell us. waiting &amp; waiting for an answer can be damn pek chek.

Diane, what i meant is when it was announced in 2004 did they straight away back date to 1 Aug or after some revision then they backdate? cos weird mah..2004 implementation date got 1 Aug and 1 Oct

sze wai
wow u actually wrote to the reporter! pei fu peifu!

Rachel mummy
Ya.. anyway waited so long, will wait till tonight or even the morn papers tomorrow to see whats the details.
Hmm tomorrow must pop by the kiosk to buy s ST to read!

<font color="119911">this shows that even tho we all know gonna be implemented in 2009, we all still harbouring slimmest hope that we might still be included

hope everyone okay. juz came back from gynae.
Baby is 1.75kg at 30 weeks, big and healthy.

Glucose level is high so hv to eat less sweet stuffs and less rice and noodles.

govt incentives never include us, SAHM. ...we are juz a bunch of useless yellow faced aunties in Singapore society, non tax contributors of the society who do nothing but stay at home, cook, to look after children...sigh.

everafter....

to make 4 months later mummies happy and 3.9months before mummies knock their head against the wall.

Enya, true tat nothing much is done to ease the load of SAHM hor, mayb govt think tat those who can be a SAHM in spore r already consider vy rich leh. Don't need so much help as compare to those staying in 2 or 3 rooms.