(2008/10) Oct 2008

Hi mummies!!
sorry to interupt..
I have a Quinny Zapp for sale.Still under warranty from Robinsons My daughter refuse to sit in it, have to buy another stroller for her. it comes with matching infant seat as well.
(Bright Pink for both )
email me if u r keen.

what do you think?
is it worth it?
Rocio BabyCot with fibrelux mattress + bedding set + Musical mobile + music&light thingy @ $359

<font color="0077aa"> Morinin Ladies!!!</font>
<font color="#7E354D"> I'l alright nw. ytd didn call down to KKH. coz aft restin at hme. no more spottin n contration stops already. ^_^</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Everafter
You slept at 8++ last night? Wow! That's very early. So good hor! I only slept at 12 midnight and woke up at 4am cos my son kept crying for me. He wanted to sleep with me. In the end, brought him to sleep next to me but I cannot go back to sleep anymore. Feeling so tired now! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Rebecca
Glad to hear that you are feeling alright now. Rest more and try not to strain yourself. I know it is difficult esp when you need to look after your gal. Same for me. My boy also needs a lot of attention from me. </font>

Mousebb, although i slpt 8+ but the thing is that i woke up 3times to go toilet and 430am totally cannot fall back to slp! Argh..flip left and right and think my bb was being disturbed with my constant tossing and he kept moving also!

Morning all

<font color="0000ff">Rebecca</font>, tat's gd but better get as much rest &amp; help from others as u can &amp; monitor your condition. Take care.

<font color="ff0000">Rebecca</font> take note of the details of wat happened yesterday. when next gynae visiting, tell ur gynae.

<font color="aa00aa">Everafter
haha! Your boy is doing morning exercise lah!
I'm getting the super firming gel too! Scare my tummy would get flabby...hehe!</font>

ANOTHER $700 million will be spent on new ways to encourage Singaporeans to marry and to have babies. In all, the Government will spend $1.6 billion a year, announced Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

These include:

1) Government matchmaking agencies SDU and SDS will be merged. They now cater to graduates and non-graduates respectively.

By joining forces, they can offer members more activities and choices, and hopefully more pairing-ups, marriages and children.

2) SDU will certify private dating agencies that meet its quality standards. These will be given an 'SDU Trust' mark.

This will give the 'best of both worlds' for those who 'don't want the government to know that they're dating but also want quality assurance', said Mr Lee.

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">3) Childcare leave, introduced in 2004, will be extended from two to six days a year. It can be claimed by either parent.

4) Parents will get one week of unpaid infant-care leave a year, until the child turns two. It can be claimed by either parent.
</font></font>

5) Family-friendly companies will be recognised and thanked publicly. The 'special effort' will be led by the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports and the Manpower Ministry.

Mr Lee applauded those employers that make flexible arrangements for mothers and have positive attitudes.

'When you go, they don't make a sour face and they don't make you feel that a little black mark willl be recorded in your annual confidential report,' he said. 'It makes a big difference. And with a bit of effort and imagination, you can do a lot.'

6) Maternity leave will be extended by another month, giving mothers a total of four months leave.

Like with the third month leave, the Government will pay for the new extra month. It can be taken any time in the first year of the child's birth.

7) Baby Bonus will be increased for first-time parents. Details will be given later.

Financial considerations cannot be the motive for having children, stressed Mr Lee. 'I think if you suggest to a couple that you know I give you a bit of discount, how about having more kids, I think many will be very indignant at this, and rightly so.

'But it's right for us to help women to lighten the burden of having children.'

8) Tax incentives will be improved to encourage mothers to work.

9) Childcare sector to get a big boost.

More centres will be built to give quick access to one.

They will be more affordable because the subsidy for a child will be increased.

Their standards will be raised.

Said Mr Lee: 'Before they reach school, the first six years, those are critical and you want to have the peace of mind that they are being looked after well.'

10) The Government will 'substantially' give support to kindergartens that meet the Education Ministry's criteria.

Besides better-trained teachers, they will get better syllabuses, a higher-quality environment and be better run, so that kids grow up much more confident, said Mr Lee.

This is particularly for those whose backgrounds aren't so ideal at home. 'They will be able to make it in kindergarten and start from a more equal starting point when they go to school.'

11) Financial aid will be given to couples seeking in-vitro fertilisation treatment to fulfill their desire to have a baby.

12) Couples with many children will get more support.

Incentives such as tax relief and childcare subsidy will be extended to the fifth child onwards. Now, they stop at the fourth child.

Said Mr Lee: 'There are not many of them but I hope the incentives will encourage those who can afford it to have more.'

was looking at point 3 &amp; 4. currently we have 2 days of child care leave for both dad &amp; mum. now increase to 6 days. can be claimed by either parents. this part izzit tat fair. for sure as mothers will sure take up the child care leave to take care of the kids. then father leh??

<font color="ff6000">morning mummies,

yup the CNA website says that Wong KS press conference will be held later today... so let's keep our ears to the ground / to the CNA website, so that we know soon when it's implemented. a bit of a downer when I read Today's front page article which starts with "Come next year,..." which suggests that these will only be effective from next year - PUI!

RibenaLi,

thanks for the info abt the wipes with casing! Will get from taka then.

Rebecca,

Glad to hear you are better. Mei2 shi4 jiu4 hao3.

Mspiggy and candle,

hope you are also resting well and bb doing fine! Jia You!</font>

Good morning mummies
Was happy that there are indeed goodies for all mummies...

Mouse bb
agree with you.. the 1 week unpaid leave is totally unattractive!!
SO the bigger Baby bonus is ONLY for 1st baby??
that will be so sad.. they should also increase for 2nd and 3rd bb ma.. cos thats wat the govt wanna to improve rite.. more than 1 bb.

Rachel mummy
Huh? the 6 days is to be shared bwteen mum and dad??
Currently the 2 days FCL is 2 days each rite?
My company is giving across the borad to all staff the 2 days now..
I dun think they will be so generous to give 6 days now to everyone :p

<font color="aa00aa">Rachel's Mummy
I believe the 6 days child care leave is the one that does not require child's mc. LAst night, I was teasing my hubby next time he can use these 6 days go register for our kids Pri 1 enrolment le provided the implementation date is this yr. </font>

<font color="ff0000">cookie</font> ya... i oso too coys will give 6 days. end up every staff will have a lot of leave in a year.

<font color="0000ff">mousebb</font> no idea leh. really got to wait for the press conference.

if implement next year all of us can only entitle for the child care leave &amp; infant care leave nia.

then u mummies who are the 1st time mummies wont be able to enjoy the 4 mths leave &amp; more baby bonus liao.

really hope can back date to 1 aug.

<font color="aa00aa">Wah piang! If implement next year, then they might as well annouce it next year! What for annouce it now and dampen all our spirits! Suck! </font>

<font face="tahoma"> good morning ladies !

now all talks on the rally
all of us really wish will be this yr! those delivering in Dec08 will be lagi BANG if really effective 1 Jan09. </font>

Rebecca
I thik if possible still better to see your gynae soon... in case you are getting early contraction which means your bb might be early if you dun " control" the situation.

<font color="aa00aa">Mspiggy
Those whose EDD in early Jan 09 will also BANG if their babies decide to come out in late Dec 08!</font>

morning.. finally got the gd news of the 4th mth ML. now is hoping they will back date to 1 aug then we all will benefit

btw, got a bad news to share.. ruffles got bleeding and was hospitalised.. doc say she walk too much.. mummies take care ya

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">1 aug 2008 to take effect!!

1 aug 2008 to take effect!!

1 aug 2008 to take effect!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Rebecca
Agree with Cookie esp this is your 3rd one le. Your bb may decide to come out earlier.</font>

I think perhaps.. the 6 days FCL will start next yr.. but bb bonus and ML should immeidate effect ba..
else so dumb rite.. everything start next yr

Actually also scary for the 4 mth ML, for those unsupportive companies might end up sacking mummies who are preg, the other day already read from newspaper of such news.
and what sucks is.. Govt dunno got do anything about such case or not like penalise those company. Cannot condone with companies who sack female employee just becos they are preg.

<font color="ff0000">cheerbear</font> how is ruffles now?? which hospital??

btw, my colleague juz pop. can we preggys visit?? pantang or not??

<font color="aa00aa">Cookie
Excatly. My hubby was saying in future, most companies would likely to employ those older female workers who have already given birth. Those younger ones esp those who just got married would more or less get affected.</font>

Rachel mummy
I just read your RED BOLD..
wow lau.. 6 days FCL also shared by parents..
so actually not much, increase of 1 days for me.
But how Govt or our companies keep track? which parents took FCL.. not as thought both hb and wife work in same company..

The 2004 rally announcement they backdate to 1 Aug 2004, then a lot of people make a big hoo-ha, write petition, etc. So maybe this time round, they will not backdate liao. Instead they will just bring forward to next year lor.

Still no incentive for SAHM leh. I was kinda hoping for that.

icylemon,
Can visit. I visited my friend who popped last month also. Then so funny, when I reach the ward, the nurse ask me if I'm looking for delivery ward. Hahaha!

<font color="aa00aa">Cookie
Govt is very smart. They sure have a personnel system to keep track of both husband and wife who are working in ministry/Stat Board. </font>

mousebb
ya lor.. my hb was somehow very "mad" with govt these areas esp when we read from news that preg lady was sack. tho we dunno if govt really intervene to help or at least bring justice to the preg lady. But feel reall suck when see these kinda news.
From the annoucement, govt is only giving praise to Family friendly companies.. they never mentioned about panelising those companies who are unjust to preg woman.

Re: 4mths ML
All my colleagues told me today if can take 4th 1 shot and BF bb all the way...haizzz.. but still must see my boss happy or not.
perhaps he might bring my apprasial down this year liao.. since he might think I will be away 1/3 of the yr.

<font color="aa00aa">Rachel's Mummy
Can visit. Last year while expecting my boy, I also went to visit my hubby's fren who gave birth. One of my best frens is giving birth next month. I also intend to go visit her.</font>

I think the 6 days childcare leave applies to both parents... as in 6 days for Dad, 6 days for Mum. Coz during the rally, PM says increase from 2 to 6 mah! The 2 days currently also applies to both mah, not shared.

<font color="aa00aa">Actually if I'm still a working mom, I would prefer to use up my 4 months maternity leave at one time cos the first 6 months is very crucial to an infant. It is very useful for mummies who are breastfeeding their babies. </font>

<font color="ff6000">Mummies!!!</font>
<font color="#7E354D">thx for all ur concern. anyway, will be seein my handsome gynae on dis comin thur n oso goin thru a scannin. guess will let him noe wat happen on ytd. but <font color="0077aa">cookie</font> will hve early labour de meh? both my kids was delivered at 37wks old which i still find it too early liao leh.. if dis one were to be more kan cheong den her kor kor jie jie ar.. i jia lat liao lor... it's true that 3rd child will be out early coz the spare part all lose liao ma.. hehe... ^_^</font>

bbgoh,
already ask her to take care liao and ask her dun walk liao.

rach mum,
think she shld be better liao coz she now is hospital under observation but i 4get to ask her which hospital.. sorri blur me :p

if u r pantang then better dun go.. my grandma oso hosptialise but my mum and cousin oso ask me dun go coz scare later "cheong" then not gd.

morning mummies!!

wow.. so much discussion after last night... is the news conference today?? did they state what time??

Ruffles,
do take care!! pls have as much bedrest as possible!

Rebecca,
good to hear that ur contractions and bleeding stop le.. but ya.. rem to inform ur handsome gynae abt it ya!!