(2008/10) Oct 2008

whitepaper
so exciting! ur bb's head is down ... i keep hvg this feeling my gal is alway in traverse position ie horizontal.

trace
for me, i just hv problems with my nipples... they are forever so itchy.. but i have a history of eczema .. so i guess that will be one reason why i itch so much!

Mommies

My baby is having hiccups everyday now... hic and hic... hahaha... quite funny. My hubby will ask me to drink water when he hics. I told him is baby hiccups, not me lar! I drink water where got use?!

I had been experiencing cramps since last week. Maximum up to 4 times a day. A few times happened when i was driving and that was terrible. Haiz.. very scare that bb will come out so soon. Coz i haven finish buying all the stuff.

There was once when i was sleeping, the cramp woke me up and i was like a worm curled up on my bed. Felt so terrible, but lucky the cramp dun last long and it came back after quite some time.

just missed out whole morning, i cant catch up liao..
wat topic tdy?

anyone mention abt the longan & red dates tea can reduce water retention huh? just normal boiled mah?

<font face="tahoma"> Hi ladies,
i had a scare this morning... bleeding early this morning. rushed down to see my gynae... luckily baby is good. bleeding to due to low lying placenta... gynae said only a small portion still left low.. the rest moved up. hopefully everything will move up soon.

baby is good.. she weighs abt 2.3kg at 31wk+ but she's still in breech.... really hope she will turn else gotta c sect already

Hi busy bee,

I just did the test last fri. You are not allow to eat or drink during the 2 hours waiting time after the glucose water. I was so hungry lo...

Mspiggy, wah ur bb also very good size... 2.3kg... ! U making me drool.. u eat alot of durian??? DUn worry, talk to her and ask her turn upside down... She will know.

Thanks Lynnzee,

So nervous. I am really dreading going for the test tomorrow, so much that my DH decided to take leave to accompany me cos I guess he can sense I am really worried. My acid reflux and morning sickness is bad even with my middle of night meals. Now having to starve for more then 14 hours....gosh i think i will faint!

Purebliss
Oh so your #1 was by Doc Wong too! Yah heard she's good, that why chose her lar

Lennie
I thought he was in transverse position too, but no, he's head down! So maybe yours too!

RibenaLi
Braxton Hicks? Did you ask your Doc?

Mspiggy
Take care! Wow your baby 400g more than mine, even though my EDD earlier!!! Congrats
Think 31 weeks still early lar, am sure baby will turn

Hi MsPiggy,
Hope u are feeling better. Did your gynae say bb is big sized? at my 30+ weeks check my doc said my bb at 1.8kg was on the large side. Plus my urine test showed +1 sugar level so he wants me to take the glucose test.

Are you mommies finding your tummies getting very big and uncomfortable? I feel a strain on my pelvic area and find walking or just turning in bed very uncomfortable already.

mspiggy,
u got bleeding due to low placenta huh.. make me so worry ler, i oso got low lying placenta &amp; is ttly cover de..
ur gynae got said how to prevent bleeding?
but ur baby got good weight, so envy

<font color="0000ff">Dumbo,

I'm not getting a CL becos my mum will be helping me to cook during confinement and I think I shd be able to cope with her expertise.

My DH and myself will be taking care of the bb during that time (day/night). My DH will be taking 2 wks leave to help out and my sis will take leave after his leave ends to help me too

My mum is asking me to take herbs to build up my body strength and immunity during the 1 whole mth of confinement, it's said that as long as I'm on the herbs formula, there's really no need to take traditional confinement food! Anyway, am not really keen in those so called traditional confinement food too, I'm easy on anything hahaha...

As wat some of the mommies said here, your ILs' age are catching up with them so it might be diff to a certain extend for them to help. It wld be good if u can engage a CL if u want, have u discuss with your hubby regarding this?? I think one thing is also to reduce conflicts to a certain extent eventually becos normally during tis time differences will arise...

I've a fren who oso had her MIL to help out with the confinement, ended up it was a quite a "wreck" and she nearly ended up with depression. She oso quarrel with her hubby several occasions becos both MIL and her can't see eye to eye...

Eventually, u nds to weigh the pros and cons, if u muz get a CL, better to do it soon becos I believe the good ones are all booked way mths in advance..

*my 2 cents worth*

Forest:
U feeling better le?

Littlebluey:
Tmr we'll b meeting for lunch. ur lunchie at 12noon? Do rem to bring along my milkbags ah. hee..

Whitepaper:
Wah, its glad to noe u and bb are both doing fine. ur bb so cute, can even leave a bump on ur tum tum.

busybee:
We cant eat anything during the 2 hours interval. Can drink water thou. But got to bear with the glucose drink. Some pple like it some dun. Its gassy and very sweet.

Purebliss

I think the durians will make baby big talk is highly dependent on the mommies... coz I eat alot of durians (favourite) but I didn't put on alot of weight and baby is medium sized. So I think differ from mommy to mommy.

And my brother who's a strength and conditioning coach actually says durians are very good for health - with folic acid and full of fibre and nutrients. Hard to overeat on such fibrous food coz they make you full, he says. And the sugar is fructose, which is the first to be broken down by the body to be used - better than other sugars.

So durians are still better than chicken rice or chips
My brother eats alot of durians but is trim, muscular and fit. And he trains national atheletes

whitepaper,
great to hear that your baby is of a good weight and is doing well!! hehe.. u're really well prepared for labour le... hehehe.. i cant help laughing at ur DH comment when he ask u to drink water for ur bb's hiccups!! kekeke...

mspiggy,
got a scare reading ur post.. but was glad after i read on that ur baby is OK! do take care.. and like Purebliss mentioned.. talk to ur bb more!

RibenaLi,
oh dear.. ur cramps seems quite jialat? u taking vitamins with calcium intake? cramps can be due to lack of calcium, cold.. so, do be careful when driving... take care!!

Thanks RibenaLi,
I think I will welcome a sweet and fizzy drink s
since I have been deprived of soft drinks by my DH who is watching my diet like a hawk.

Littlebluey,
Care to share some of your Herb formulas? I am also not a fan of traditional confinement food too. Won't be engaging a confinement lady but will have help from my Domestic Helper and Hubby.

<font color="0000ff">Little Almond,

Tht's the problem lor, the price disparity btwn consulting him face to face and w/o is so great! -_-""

Whitepaper,

So excited for you, u will also be one of the earliest one amongst us to pop!
Take Care..

RE: Benefits

It seems like it would target more at the fathers tis round, paid paternity leave and etc...hmmmm the most is mummies get an additional 4 wks of ML.

Ribena,

Hv to monitor your cramps closely, if it gets more frequent, better seek your gynae's advice.

Mspiggy,

Gd to know that everything is alright, try to have more rest and minimise walking and lifting heavy things
Your bb gal is big at 31 wks
hee hee

Busybee,

Dun worry too much everything will be fine ^_^ Juz relax!

I always take 1-2 hrs to fall asleep each night becos juz cldn't find a right position due to the big tum tum -_-""

RibenaLi,
im still breathless... seems today the breathlessness is with me whenever im sitting down in front of the PC... maybe my boy wants me to pontang today lah.. hahaha... :p :p

Dumbo,

personally i think hor during confinement, u cant shower, cant do this n dat..n if weather is warm, u get frustrated easily..so i would still suggest to get yr own CL..unless its your own parents or siblings asssiting u..

for me, my MIL is against it too..but i told her, u hv to wake up in the middle of the nite, do marketing, take care of bb in the day, cooking n doing hsework..u can cope??? n most imptly i told her, i dun want to hv conflict with u over these things during confinement..so on 2nd tots, she agreed :p

RibenaLi &amp; busy bee,
the nurse only allow me to sip some water if i am really thirsty leh cos the water might affect the results also so i dare not drink lo.. the glucose water i took at kk smells like sprite but totally flat and horribly sweet.

Whitepaper, forest:
I'm not sure if its Braxton hicks or not and did not call gynea coz the interval for the pain is very apart and bb is active. My pre-natal class did mentioned abt this and its normal. I do take calcium with vitamins.

Had tried to minimise in driving le unless boh bian. Had been taking public transport since yesterday and my coll even send me home.

<font face="tahoma"> Hi ladies,
yes my girl is big... i think follows her bro. my son is borned big too and i am big! i never eat a seed of durian for this pregnancy.... i had craving but due to suspected GD dare not take already. hahahaa

suddenly just bleed ard 5am with no pain etc... called clinic's hotline was told to go down to see her at 8am. put on CTG machine... baby's heartbeat ok and I dont have contraction.

after that, gynae did a detailed scan. she said a small pcs of placenta still lying low and that's the reason for bleeding. ordered bedrest till end of this week. cannot carry my son now

oh 1 happy note, gynae did a 4D scan pic for baby. she looks so chubby and looks like my son alot!!!! gynae didnt charge me for that

Whitepaper, ya, my #1 is by doc wong. She sat with me from 8.30pm all the way until 9 plus when my boy pop. Very assuring gynae. Her stitches... thumb up, painless even i dun take painkillers. Can move once the cathera is remove and epidural effect wear off. This rd, she is still my gynae but i dunno how her csection skill is. Heard from my frd that her stitches are beautiful.

This rd she ask me eat durian to beef up the babies. Hahahah! My check up next tuesday. Glucose test.

<font color="0000ff">Ribena,

Was abt to sms you, I can't make it for tmr's lunch becos got a lunch meeting, can we do so on Thurs instead???
so sorry! Was juz informed earlier on

Busybee,

I nd to make a trip down to the medical hall to check on the package, my mum told me it's to be taken during the one mth confinement. Apparently, can oso let them know that we intend to b/f so that they can add things in to boost the milk supply. Apparently, my mum said the medical hall is famous for concocting such herbal package for women during confinement but I oso heard it's not that cheap either...*bleh* My DH asked me to take it since he and my mum said my health hasn't been very gd so if I can "bu" during confinement that it will be good for me

Forest:
It is normal for us to feel breathless at this stage esp when the uterus is expanding. Do relax and try to find a posiition that makes u feel comfortable.

Lynnzee:
I drink only plain water during that 2 hrs after the glucose drink coz my mouth taste funny.I see stars when the nurse drew the blood after the 2 hours, really cannot take it. Nearly died from hunger.

Littlebluey,
Are these concoctions of herbs then used to be brewed into tonic soups or just drink as herbal drinks? Can let me know the name and add of the medical hall you mentioned. My DH was thinking of just getting the prepack herbal mixes from EYS to make tonic soup.Thanks!

Littlebluey:
Thurs be fine for me. 12noon?

Everafter:
U there? Thurs we meeting at 6pm at woodlands. I will have new shoe to wear!! yeh!!

litbluey
if you can, send me the details of the medical hall? i also looking for one cos my mom said the same that i should "bu yi bu" and also, i wanna get the herbal bath concoction

RibenaLi,
do take care.. nice of ur coll to send u home too!!
actually, today my breathlessness is worse than usual... normally, i will feel better very quickly.. after i take a few deep breaths.. somehow, today it just stayed.. no idea why too!! but im sure its normal.. so, gotta tahan lor...

mspiggy,
since u've been ordered bedrest.. do rest well for the rest of the week!! and so lucky for u to get a free 4D scan!!

Littlebluey,
wah.. u seem very informed on even confinement matters.. i actually have no idea.. and just leave it to my mum.. :p

Forest
You ordered Mr Ang's cot too right? Yours came already? Mine arriving this Saturday! So exciting! But heard can't "dress up" the cot yet until baby comes home, coz will "invite" some "unwanted beings" to reside in the cosy cot... eee...

Uncomfy-ness:
I think I'm quite lucky... tummy very small... colleague at 5 mths got bigger tum than mine... so no back aches, no swollen feet, and can sleep well too... Just that sometimes I sleep face up coz more comfy... I just heed Mrs Won's advice to prop up my head with pillows

I do feel breathless throughout the day while i m Zzz, workin or watchin TV. According to Dr Adrian, "this is normal"...haiz...i cant sleep well at night too...

Mspiggy!
You got free 4D scan! WAH! so cute, your baby looks like your son! so fascinating!

Purebliss
Am sure Doc Wong's c-sect skills are good. Heard raves about that too

whitepaper,
ya.. i ordered the cot too... mine will deliver end of Aug.. wahhh.. keep me posted when urs arrive hor... hehe.. ya, esp. now 7th month wor.. better be safe!! i havent even buy the cot sheets etc...
jialat...

wahhh... ur tummy is small ahh.. really heng.. i am not joking with u when i tell u my tum tum is like a ball now... hahah.. today, i was sooo heng.. bump into almost everyone from marketing dept.. and everyone just scrutinised me from head to toe!! geez!!

Jess,
indeed it is normal.. not much we can do about it!! hahahahha

forest
yah mine abnormal lah... very small lah. My hubby say don't blame others if they don't give up seat for you... coz they are wondering if you are really pregnant or just had a heavy lunch!!! hahaha...

<font color="aa00aa">whitepaper
Your bb is of very gd weight! It's true that 1st bb better dun be too big cos I heard pple said the 2nd bb's weight will be at least 10% more than the 1st one.

Mspiggy
Glad to hear that you and bb are ok. Better rest more and dun walk too much. Did your gynae put you on bed rest? You gal is of gd weight too. Actually I'm hoping my bb to quickly reach 2kg so if happen to go into early labour, my bb will not consider underweight liao. </font>

<font face="tahoma"> 4D scan is quite amazing! Can see the features very well.

talk to u gals again.. going to rest again </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Oh dear! I only disappeared for 2 hrs nia and there are so many posts to catch up! *panting*! </font>

Mspiggy, take care &amp; rest well. M sure bb will turn after u have a gd rest

Whitepaper, u haven been ard for awhile leh. Must b vy excited tat your boy has turned &amp; getting ready to be born
Yah, abt the cot, some believe not to do any bb stuff during this mth.

RibenaLi, yours is tummy cramp or leg cramp? May wanna tell your gynae abt it juz to make sure?

<font color="aa00aa">Ribena
I also experiencing cramp at my tummy. It's like on and off too. Will check with my gynae when I go for my checkup on this Sat. Feeling quite uncomfortable.</font>

Ribenali, i'm here! Thurs meet u 615pm lah..i knock off at 6pm mah. Better collect fast lor..else collecting spider web liao :p

P/S: I'm already wearing mine!! Same pattern as yours! hehe..