(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Mint
Bcos I have sensitive skin so many pple advised me not to take seafood during pregnancy.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Trace,

Think it's $18 per claypot wor!

Mousebb,

Crabs are pretty cooling, so some folks say cannot take too much wor..esp if u sensitive skin best to stay away from seafood...

<font color="aa00aa">Rachel Mum
Can change the venue of the gathering from steamboat to seafood liao! hahaha!!!</font>

<font color="ff6000">ooh famous amos - i like their brownies. got fudge in the middle that melts and oozes out.

lili,

I'm christian, so for chinese names not counting strokes or 8 characters. Trying to think of meaning that I like, and words that sound nice. and not too hard to write. not easy thinking of chinese name! but good that my parents and PIL all no comments cos they english-ed.</font>

back from lunch!! what did u all have?? i had mee siam... ;) and its soooo humid.. sweat man... :S

Littlebluey,
yaya.. i will... just back from lunch, and really walked sooooo slowly!! think if mon cant make it.. i'll ask for MC and rest at home too..

Can take crab? or seafood?

Mint, dimpletot
thanks for the info.

We r both catholic. With respect, we ask FIL to choose a chinese name and we don't mind if he go find someone to choose name for us. But didn't hear from him, so we decided to choose ourselves... still thinking about it.

Mspiggy, u like the joo chiat place crab? My PIL's place is ard there but we din go there to eat much coz always vy pack &amp; the ppl there vy rude leh.

My mom like the 'No sign' white pepper crab.

<font face="tahoma"> JJmom,
their black pepper is really nice! SIADUP!!!! I know the lady is quite rude... gotta go earlier to get a seat.

for the food, dont mind bearing with the crowd ! hahahaa </font>

<font face="tahoma"> elcwong and everafter,
i think not all hospitals let us donate our cords coz they dont have the facilities to support.

so far, i know unless you deliver at KKH. the rest not too sure. </font>

i didn't finished my lunch (mee soto) cos' had bak ku tae this morning... vy full now...also good , can control my weight... heeee

Good afternoon ladies,
Am a walking zombie today....*yawning*

elchwong &amp; everafter,
My gynae did pass me the contact for cord blood donation at TMC during my last visit, but i do not have it now. Will check tonight and post the contact here. Hope this helps!

Mommies who ordered beansprout pillows from Siok Chin - She is delivering the pillows to me on National Day!!! I will contact you individually for pickups. For those who indicate collection at AMKHub, will meet you next Sat, 16 Aug at 4.30pm or after our class. Will notify

elchwong, check out the following :
http://www.scbb.com.sg/

mspiggy, all obstetric hospitals are participating in the donation for cord blood.

For mothers wishing to donate their baby's cord blood, please feel free to speak to your delivering physician or you could contact us. All obstetric hospitals in Singapore are part of the SCBB's cord blood donation programme. More specifically, these are:

· East Shore Hospital (ESH)

· Gleneagles Hospital (GEH)

· KK Women's and Children's Hospital (KKH) *

· Mount Alvernia Hospital (MAH)

· Mount Elizabeth Hospital (MEH)

· National University Hospital (NUH) *

· Raffles Hospital (RH)

· Singapore General Hospital (SGH) *

· Thomson Medical Centre (TMC)

<font face="tahoma"> everafter,
i see... 2 yrs back i think not all hospitals participated.

ruffles,
thanks! see you on 16 aug!

Gio,
still having the tightness! trying to relax now.... thanks! </font>

<font color="0000ff">Phtanus,

TMC allows us to donate the cord blood to the public bank?? if so, I dun mind

Mspiggy,

Juz relax or try to walk a bit, hope u feel better soon

everafter,

I did tell my gynae n he asks me to contact scbb...I did send them an email but yet I'm still confused...will paste the email I received from them here in my nxt post to share...

Thank you for your interest and support for the Singapore Cord Blood Bank.

We are pleased that you and your husband are interested to come forward as cord blood donors. Our list of participating hospitals are:-

1) East Shore Hospital (ESH)
2) KK Women’s &amp; Children’s Hospital (KKH)
3) Gleneagles Hospital (GEH)
4) Mount Alvernia Hospital (MAH)
5) Mount Elizabeth Hospital (MEH)
6) National University Hospital (NUH)
7) Raffles Hospital (RH)
8) Singapore General Hospital (SGH)
9) Thomson Medical Centre (TMC)

You may also wish to express your intention for donation to your attending doctor. However, the paper process of donation would still have to be completed directly with the Singapore Cord Blood Bank.

The Singapore Cord Blood Bank is a non-profit public bank initiated by Singapore Health Services (SingHealth), the National Health Care Group (NHG), the Children's Cancer Foundation, Club Rainbow (Singapore) and other charitable donations. We raise our own funds for the cost of processing and storage of donated cord blood units. We do not charge for the collection and processing of donated cord blood units, however, not all cord blood units can be stored due to our stringent storage criteria. The donated cord blood unit is also not reserved for the specific family or individual's usage. Our standards are based on international public cord blood banking protocols where the highest and strictest standards are used, as these units are made available to the individual requiring a life-saving stem cell transplant. As such not all collected cord blood units would meet these stringent criteria.

We have also strict criteria for donation to ensure that all units collected can meet safe medical standards for transplants. Our consents from mother and family are obtained from the 32nd week of gestation and before admission to the hospital for delivery. The process could take 45 mins – 1 hour, inclusive of a detailed and sensitive medical history questionnaire. This questionnaire includes lifestyle, sexual history and family medical history of both baby's mother and father. The process would be required to done in a quiet area, away from the public to ensure confidentiality for yourself and your family. We are also unable to conduct home visits due to the sensitivity of donation.

If there are any other queries or need for clarification, please do not hesitate to contact me. Alternatively, you may wish to contact our coordinators at 6394-5012 for an appointment or you may wish to provide us with your contact for us to contact you.

Best regards,
Charlene Han
Corporate Relations Manager
SINGAPORE CORD BLOOD BANK
c/o KK Women's &amp; Children's Hospital
100 Bukit Timah Road, Women's Tower Basement 1,
Unit OB60A, Singapore 229899
Tel: 6394-5011 DID: 6394-5017 Fax: 6394-5013

Littlebluey,
Ya, my gynae passed me their brochure with the contact no, ask me to call them, said they will arrange to meet up with us and make necessary arrangement ard 32w lay! We still considering lo.

Any good PD to recommend ard Jurong area? Need to confirm with my gynae on next visit lay.

Littlebluey,
ya lor.. i kena tempted by all of u eating mee siam!!! hahahaha..

mspiggy,
do take care.. lay back on ur office chair for a while and take a breather.. hope u feel better ya!

Phtanus, elchwong,
donating cord blood to the scbb.. thats interesting! i didnt know.. :p can consider hor.. hmmmm...

<font color="0000ff">Icylemon,

Shd be Dr Anne Chong Su Yan hahaha, got the surname wrong ;p

"Anne's Baby and Child Clinic"
Blk 214 Jurong East St 21
#01-433
Singapore 600214

Tel: 65667216

Littlebluey,
Thanks a lot dear! Which one better huh?

dimpletot,
Do we need to get those sterilized cotton balls? Or normal one will do?

i siao liao. guess wat was my food intake within 2hrs.

i had lunch at 1pm. korean bbq chicken set from food court. came back ofc at 2.10pm. i started to sit down &amp; eat a slice of pandan cake, 2 kuehs. 3 fishballs &amp; 3 pieces of chicken nuggets from OCK.

i m still feeling hungry!!

<font color="0000ff">littlebluey</font> oh is near my house! another car park along the same road.

is she good??

<font face="tahoma"> ladies,
am feeling better now... no more tightness. seems like braxton hicks

re : cotton balls
my frd used to clean baby's bottoms instead of wipes. damp with boiled water then clean their bottoms.

i never try though... too lazy </font>

Hi Phtanus
Where are u delivering? is there any PD that your gynae recommend or near to your gynae clinic?
I think the reason for PD is to standby your delivery and also check bb he/she arrive to ensure all are well.
1 week after delivery, mum and bb will need to review by gynae as well as PD.
SO to me, it's good if PD and Gynae is near by so no need to rush.
Both my gynae and PD is in Mt A, so make the 1st visit very convenience cos no need to rush, esp will be BFing , bb might be hungry anytime so no need to travel is best..thats my thought.

My Regular PD is not the one at Mt A whom see my bb during his birth, tho I like him but he is too far and too popular. SO I got to PD near my place.