(2008/10) Oct 2008

morning all mummies!

curioxete,
u also went to the fair ah... i got the shield and the handsfree at the higher price, since i got the pump too.. think the special price does not apply for the bundle deals.. but u really bought a lot too!!!

we saw the cot too... but just cldnt decide if we shd get that... but the price seems good!!

mousebb,
the handsfree is a thingy with a string that u actually hang on ur neck holding onto the shields n pump.. kekeke, v hard to describe, but i saw it yday when 1 of the partners was expressing milk in the booth.. kekeke... she was sweet to show me!

btw.. hope u feel better.. n maybe u can take some flavoured drinks or juices to make u feel better at the throat too... take care!

Trace,
i dont think my hubby n i will opt to keep cord blood.. somehow, find that its not proven?? but its really up to individuals bah..

everafter,
happy wedding anniversary!! although u have to work, but u can have a celebration tonight !! ;)

the shield is designed in such a way that it is a little slanted... for medela PIS.. i can detach the cup from the pump and insert this shield.. or with the ameda, it can be attached onto the cup of the pump... what the shield does is allow u to sit back n pump.. without worrying of leakages..

lili,
is it?? i tot i read in 1 of the threads that metro is selling the Ergo carrier at $161.xx... think it doesnt come with the insert leh! hmmm.. i also forgot abt it!!

curioxete, how much is the cot u buy? wat u mean by 5-in-1 huh? but they do delivery or not? if not how to take home?

Thanks forest
no celebration leh..my hubby will be working tonight..we only meeting for simple dinner..after which it's hm alone again for me
I got the Medela PIS already..wondering if should get the handsfree and shield..hope wont b sold out..i intend to go on sun leh

anyone attending the anental class at Mt A? I tried to call but no one ans..i have faxed my registration yest..not sure do i hv to wait for their call to confirm or wad?

by the way, how many pkt of newborn diapers should i buy? heard many ppl say outgrown very fast, dun buy too much..so how much is too much leh?

I went to the fair too, saw some interesting educational items like the world book series and a prenatal ed device called "babyplus" which I am tempted to buy.

regarding cord blood banking, what I understood from the brochure is that it can be used not only for the child himself but also his siblings and parents, chances of a match is quite high, but it also means its not 100% la. But I still find it expensive, and the most direct applications are blood related diseases, but there are still so many other diseases around. just my views..

I also went for the fair yesterday. I didn't buy anything at all except to sign up for the Motherhood magazine and Rustic Nirvana massage. The pre-natal massage is priced at $48. Decided to give it a try cos they are quite reputable for their pre and post natal massages.

Wanted to buy a cot but my friends stopped me. They told me to shop some more cos the price that they were offering is quite competitive. My friends are all mothers already so I listened to them lor. Not much strollers to choose from which is quite a waste. Hubby was kinda disappointed cos no strollers to see.

There's a lot of insurance booths and a car booth which I think took up too much space. Could have given the space to more shops then can see and buy more stuff.

Saw the bean sprout pillow. Selling at $15.90.

Diapers: hubby told me not to buy yet.

Breast pump: Was going to grab the medela one already when a friend msg me to say that going to give me hers. Heng ah!

BPA free milk bottles: I saw the Dr Browns ones. But I already bought the Pigeon PES ones from Isetan so didn't want to overbuy milk bottles.

There are baby clothes that are quite cheap and can consider buying. I didn't get any cos grandma told me not to get yet.

So basically, went to the fair and got a free milk container from Friso, 2 bibs from Nestle and 2 Movenpick ice cream. Heehee!

<font color="aa00aa">Thanks, Mummies. Will take good care of myself. Cannot afford to fall sick again since I have 2 babies to take care now. Will see a doctor tonight or tomorrow if still not feeling well. Have to attend a wedding dinner tomorrow night. It's my hubby's cousin wedding.

everafter
Happy wedding anniversary!

forest
Thanks for the description. It sounds interesting! Will try to go down this weekend to take a look!

Mummies who have gone to the Motherhood fair
You all are tempting me!!! Pampers has sales? Is it for NB size only or they have other sizes on sales too? Dont mind to buy those stuffs in bulk cos all these are very high usage!</font>

dimpletot,
u managed to buy the bras from MIM ah... sigh, r they comfortable? i wanted to buy also, but well, no luck.. cos' the sales were busy, and i decided not to wait...

everafter,
no worries lah.. at least got dinner mah... cheer up!!!

the handsfree shd be available.. otherwise u can visit mumsfairy webbie to order too...

forest,

yeah..i went alone cos my husband was overseas..bought so much tt my hands were really tired. ha..tink i should hv forgone the maternity pads n get it some other time since they weren't that much cheaper. only regret not getting the bb sling..o well..

but ya, i tot the cot is quite a gd deal..i've looked at kiddy palace, isetan, bb kingdom, bb hyperstore, OG etc but they r all more expensive and either come with foam mattress only or don't include bedding set. the salesman was telling me he's the supplier..n it's more expensive at dept stores cos they take a cut of 30%. wah.

n trace,

i was like u.. really enthusiastic abt cord blood banking cos i heard of colleagues who signed up..but my husband thinks it's unproven, so not worth spending so much on.

everafter,
normally when they say 4-in-1 or 5-in-1, it means the cot can be converted into a toddler bed..n the base of the cot can be raised or lowered into so that it acts as a playpen..they can remove the side rails n it can also function as a 'sofa bed'. not sure if i'll actually bother converting it, but at least it can b used till bb is rather old. n yes, most places which sell cots include delivery..

<font color="ff6000">everafter,

I didn't see the baby section of john little. not sure whether have or not...

On Cots,

I'm thinking of not buying a wooden one. cos prefer the playpen cum infant bed cum bassinet types. Cos if i buy a cot, I'd prob still buy a playpen that is not wooden.

Mint,

hee, i just went for a rustic nirvana massage yesterday. quite ok. at least they should know what they are doing since they specialise for preggies.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
For a start, I guess 2 pkts NB and 2 pkts S-size should be enough bah. Not advisable to buy too many pkts cos sometimes it also depend on your bb. For my son, he can only use diaper brands like pampers, mamy poko, fitti premium and ntuc. We tried other brands like pet pet, dryers, pureen and nepia before, but all these will give him rashes on his butt. </font>

everafter,

is it u last time ask abt pigeon sterilizer at JL sales? i recei;ed their call said still out of stock. so i just buy at NTUC AMKHUB at $99.00 with free 2 wider neck bottles then also can earn link point

<font color="aa00aa">forest
What is mumsfairy webbie huh? In case i have no time to go down this weekend, then I will order directly from them instead. Thanks!</font>

Curioxete
I'm interested in the cot!!! Which booth ar? Me going at 12noon later!

dimpletot
I'll but both a cot and a playpen
Cot put in room for baby to sleep at night. Playpen in the living room for baby to sleep in the day so that he's constantly within my sight
When he grow bigger, then covert playpen to let him play in a restricted area (so that I don't have to chase after him).

Thanks mousebb
hey, my hubby also got a wedding to attend tomorrow! I guess must b a super auspicious day tomor. 3 of his colleagues having the same wedding date! Oh, 2pkt NB refers to how many pcs? :p i saw pampers NB premium 36pcs 1pkt..so i buy 2 enough?

curioxete, how much is the cot that u bought?

<font color="ff6000">whitepaper,

have your narrowed down on a playpen that you'd like? i have a friend who bought hers from US and shipped over. i think i'll just get a graco one from sgp.

everafter and mousebb,

i heard that nbs can use 10-12 diapers a day! at first thought nepia NB had a lot (60 in a pack)but if really so, then will only last me one week! *gulp*

think for future, I'll buy mamypoko. a lot of friends said they tried everything and that one is the best.

gals,

I have two friends who want to buy me a bb welcoming present (since I'm not having a bb shower). wonder what I should ask them to get. their budget is about $100 combined. was thinking steriliser, but a bit of a funny present. but at least i know i need that, as opposed to clothes and more clothes. any suggestions?</font>

bbgoh, yah i check out Metro, OG, all selling the pigeon sterilisor at $99 now..but i buay gam wan to buy cos during last JL sale at $79 mah

dimpletot,
That's good. I'm also in a bad need of massage and when I saw the promo, I just signed up lor. Desperate liao. Now looking forward to the massage next week. Heehee!

Friso also giving a free tin of milk for mums to be (frisomum). I didn't take cos dun like drinking powdered milk.

thanks gals, vouchers would be practical, but these are my best friends so i think they wanna buy something specific. maybe... one of those exercise jumping things, baby gym or sth.

mint,

aprica is top notch, very light, but very pricey. that's my impression.

<font color="aa00aa">everafter, dimpletot
For some diaper brands, the different between NB and S-size is not much. So it all depend on what brands you are using.

For newborn, they can poop up to 7-8 times a days esp at the beginning stage. Btw, TMC is using pampers for all TMC babies and so I guess for a start, the safest brand to buy is pampers. However, pampers is quite costly. For my son, after he was discharged from hospital, I used fitti premium for him during daytime. Only when going out and during night time, we will change pampers for him. We will have the habit to change his diaper for him before every feed.</font>

whitepaper,

erm..i forgot the number of the booth.. it might be C10 (?)..but the name of the booth is "Bobo ..." and the salesguy is Mr Ang. yeah..i thot of getting a playpen, but read that cots are better in terms of back support..

everafter,
i bought it for $299. I saw the daily special in the papers, n it said "for first 25 customers only" but just zoomed into that booth to try my luck..n he extended the deal to beyond first 25!
u can try to see if he's still offering tt price today..?

dimpletot,
yeah i read NBs average 6-7pcs diapers a day..that's erm..abt 50pcs a week! thot i'd buy 1 pack of different brands to test n see which one bb likes most, tho i suppose by the time i figure out, i'll hv to change sizes for bb. haha..

mousebb,
the webbie is http://www.mumsfairy.com/

dimpletot,
its better to ask them to buy something u need lor.. i think they wldnt mind giving u a steriliser lah... ;) but the suggestion of shopping vouchers is also good!! kekeke

everafter,
me same as u lor... buay gam buan to buy stroller elsewhere cos JL had 20% last time.. buahahaha...

mint,
Friso giving away tin of milk meh??? i was only given the milk container, n inside, i actually found a pair of mitts.. kekeke.. didnt realise it yday... was given a small cum of Frisomum to try, but wasnt given a Tin leh.. kekeke...

<font color="0000ff">Curioxete,

Seems like u got quite a gd deal for a cot! Hmm, if got time later will pop by and see, a fren of mine told me that Cheong Choon is selling cot for ard $189 so think I still nd to see the quality and etc
Thanks for your feedback!</font>

dimpletot, oh babygym also quite nice..saw fisherprice one at Metro and kiddy palace having sale, but i cant remb how much liao.

Mousebb, yah i heard all frens said how ex pampers diapers are. So most of them only use during night time when bb slp.

dimpletot
I saw some at Kiddy Palace, the one at $109 seems not bad leh.

Curioxete
Thanks for the info! Will pop by to see the cot

Littlebluey,

No prob! wah..$189 would be unbeatable if it came with bedding n latex mattress. u should check for things like quality of wood, teething rail, n the mattress should preferably be holed (to prevent bb fr suffocating if it turns onto its stomach).

in case u need to compare what cheong choon is offering vs other places, i saw bedding sets going for $79-$109 at most places, n latex mattress with holes can cost $65.90 ("hiap guan", from kiddy palace) or $149 ("cheeky bonbon", from kiddy palace).

forest, have leh. After you try the milk in the small cup then they talk talk to you then give the free tin. But I said no need lor. Hmmm.. What time were you there? I was there quite early. There was a queue to go in even before the fair started cos I reached at 11.50am. I didn't queue but went to BK for a drink to wait for the crowd to enter before going in.

dimpletot, thanks for the tip.
Just very confused over strollers now cos alot of friends highly recommend this brand.

<font color="0000ff">Curioxete,

I'm definitely concerned with the quality and etc, tht's why wat u pay for it wat u get!
So tempting later I think I shall make my way down after the checkup hahaha lolx :p DH going to say I crazy le</font>

I am back from my holidays! So many posts to catch up. I will be flying back Spore this Sunday, so gona miss the motherhood fair leh. So sad, see you gals buying so much stuff and I still have nothing for my bb.

Those getting/got the ergo bb carrier, do you get the infant insert? I am deciding between this and the bjorn. The bjorn seems more comfy for young bb but can only be used up to 12kg. Not sure is it worth it to spend so much?

dimpletot,
Is the tankini for preggies or just normal one? I am looking for a new swimsuit, not sure if need to get maternity or just normal one.

playpen,
I am also planning to get one and bring over here. Any good recommendation? What is the price range like?

curioxete,
You can get medicine for heartburn. I was on medication during my first trimester, but I went to my own gastroenterologist for my medication. Before that, I was having sleepless nights. Watch your diet and eat slowly. Don't eat too late, before sleeping.

Thanks, pinkimum

i don't get it that often, this is maybe my 3rd time so far. thanks for the advice..will watch my diet and avoid eating late (yesterday was an exception cos was rather hungry after visiting the exhibition)..

pinkimum,

it's normal one... but it's a bit like a bikini so most of the tum is exposed. i don't care if some folks think it looks gross I'm going to bare my belly hee.

on playpen, I'm looking at a graco one that is usually $300+ but now going for $190.

pinkimum,
Hope you had a great time!
I'm also considering the baby bjorn. Seems more support for the mum compared to the Ergo ones. I saw a mum using an ergo carrier yesterday at the fair. She seems like she was struggling in it rather than being comfortable. Maybe she has put it on wrongly or something but I can't really tell.