(2008/10) Oct 2008

everafter, i tot the hospital tour will show us wat are the various wards like delivery ward, etc... i am curious how the different rooms look like
but of coz if have to purposely make another trip down, i think i will forget abt it

btw, my baby weighs 337g thou i gain ard 5kg! is this normal? my gynae nber say to eat lesser or control diet though
So i am still happily eating. haha

beary, yah u're right. Hosp tour will bring u ard and show u labour ward and the different rooms as well. When u see the labour wards, i can only tell u one word : SMALL! hehe...

hi Mummies,
im back from the fair.... saw nestle, friso, MIM, mumsfairy, nepia, eu yan sang, drypers, pampers, etc.... funny thing is, also got sell cars!!! cant believe!!!

but i bought some stuff le!!! i bought:
1. Medela PIS, Super Shields and Hands free set from Mumsfairy... its the 2nd last piece for the bundle deal.. buy PIS at $599, if i buy the super shields and hands free.. total is $654.70... i thought its a really good deal and just grabbed it!!

At the same time, i bought the nursing cover.. hehe.. chop chop!!

2. Bought Ergo Carrier... at $154.70.. usual was $182 i think.. At the same booth, i bought a sling.. was given a demo, n i just bought..

Actually i wanted to buy nursing bra from MIM, but it was quite crowded, and the sales didnt entertain me.. so i just decided i'll go to the shops and buy...

for those aiming to buy nepia.. its going at $15/pkt with 4pcs free... i wanted to buy but my hubby refused!!! grrrrr...

hope this info helps!!

oh ya btw... think most offer cash or nets payments only...

for mum's fairy.. it was really sweet cos' 1 of the partners was expressing milk at the booth and she was willing to show me... the hands free and the super shield looks really good... she's so relaxed when pumping!! kekeke... so, i was sold!!

what's disappointing is that there's not much strollers.... thought its quite a pity!!

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

It seems that you got a great time shopping and got yourselves very gd deals!! ^_^

How much u pay for the sling and the nursing shawl? Am keen leh!

Littlebluey,
yaya... well, the fair isnt as big as i thought it would be.. but at least, the demo i got to see, plus the pump, carrier, sling n cover.. kekeek... im a happy woman le!!

oh, for the nursing cover from mumsfairy, its going at $32.90...

As for the sling, i bought it at $40... saw alot of slings from MIM too, but i think it doesnt come padded?? cant quite rem, but this one i bought comes padded, and has a pocket at 1 end of the sling with a zip for u to put things in.. the booth is called BabyB Supplies...

oh ya... i was also cajoled to fill in a form for Friso, and they gave me a goody bag? hehe.. nothing much, just a milk powder container free.. kekeke

Littlebluey,
YA... 1 shot damage today, and all pay by nets... sigh, too bad no cc payment if not at least still can get rebates or points mah... wahahahahah... ;)

everafter, delivery room is small? hmm.. i hope it dun look intimidating
dunno how my tots will be when i am wheeled in there...i mean its just 4 mths away!!!

forest, waa! glad that u enjoyed ur shopping!

good to go on wkdays, i guess wkend will be super packed.

beary,
haha... actually come to think of it, everything i bot is used by me... alamak.. havent bot bb stuff, must be a good mummy n buy this weekend le!!

i just came bk from the fair too! (had to go today cos i'll b gng overseas to visit my husband tmw)

am rather glad i went! i think i went a little crazy..cos i've been waiting to see whether there were any gd buys n restricting myself when shopping b4 this..

i bought a 5-in-1 cot bed (comes with free 7pc bedding n 3" latex mattress), eu yan sang bird's nest, himalaya baby cream and baby oil, nepia and pampers newborn diapers, mittens ($1 ea), side-tie sleeping top, breast pump shields and pumpin pal's handsfree set (special price of $17 for 1st hundred customers), 1 fridge-to-go, maternity pads and "your baby can read" 5-vcd set.

didnt see any capella strollers there, n was tempted by the baby slings, but hands were too full n i was too tired to look anymore..

Wow wow seems tat this Motherhood fair is certainly worth gng!! ;p
Hopefully there are still great deals ard since I shld be dropping by on Sat.. ;D

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies
!

forest
Wow! You bought so many things at the fair! Think the PIS is a good buy! Come with hands free set somemore! Any idea how much does a hand free set cost? I'm thinking to get that.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">curioxete
You also bought so many things! Me want to go also but hubby is not keen leh!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies
Seems like my MS is back again. These few days always feel like vomitting again! Also having headache!

wow forest, u really bought a lot! I am gog tmr..to squeeze in the crowds

Mousebb,

u ok? y suddenly got MS again?

yest i am toking to my gf who is preggie too..she was introducing me cordlife ..n nw i m in dillema whether to keep the my bb's cord stem or not..my hubby was asking is it neccessary to keep it?

Mousebb,
yeah, i think i spent a lot last night..gosh. n i hvnt even bought the steriliser, breast pump or bb carrier/sling yet!!

the handsfree set was $17 yesterday (one of the daily specials..look out for the ads in straits times life for the specials which change every day), but i think it'll be $27.90 today..still cheaper than the usual price of $34 tho.

didnt sleep well last night..think i suffered heartburn after waking up to go to the toilet, n cldnt sleep for >2hrs. sigh.

how does heartburn feel ah?? is it a slight burning sensation at the throat/collar area, a bit like u wanna puke?

<font color="ff0000">TraCe</font>, better to keep. i will do so for my 2nd one. 1st child didnt manage to do so becoz of her health problem.

Mommies who are feeling unwell,
please take care yah? Today is Friday already!

Cord blood banking,
Anyone can enlighten me on the approx charges (one time, annual etc.)?

<font color="aa00aa">Trace
Have not been feeling well for the past days liao even this morning also feel like vomitting again.
I din keep my bb's cord for the first one and even for this one, I discussed with my hubby and his answer is still "not necessary". My gf has told me the importance of keeping the cordblood and how it can save a life but my hubby is not convinced lor. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Curioxete
Thanks for the update. Just told hubby I want to get a hands free set this morning. Will try to go down on this weekend.
Exactly. Heartburn is like having a burning sensation at the throat and feel like puking yet cannot puke out. Very xin ku! But if the heartburn is real bad, you can ask your gynae to prescribe some medicine for you. I told my gynae about it and he has given me some medicine.

Rachel Mum
I'm ok but feeling very uncomfortable all over my body! </font>

hi whitepaper,

For stemcord, 1st payment will be ard $1.2k then subsequent year will be $250 w/o GST

For Cordlife, they have 3 packages..
- yearly basis, 1st payment will be $1.4k (now they have promo), Subsequent yr will be $250 w/o GST

- 10 years plan, 1st payment will be ard $3.6k but subsequent year u don't have to pay that $250

- 21 years plan, 1st payment will be ard 5.6k...subsequent year you don't have to pay that $250

apparently at this exh, cordlife having a promo of $300 discount..

will u all b gog for stemcord or cordlife? at 1st my mind was set dat its not neccessary but i hv been reading n request for their brochure etc..n feel its impt..juz like buying insurance..moreover, aft toking to my gf i m convinced! but not my hubby

<font color="aa00aa">Trace
Just had my checkup on last sat and I was still ok then. The next checkup is on 28 Jun, still a long way to go. Din have this feeling during last pregnancy but this pregnancy seems to have all sorts of problems! Haiz</font>.

mousebb,

thanks..i was a bit puzzled, thot heartburn must b around the chest area..but my acidic/burning feeling is higher up leh. haha.. sigh. i think it's cos i ate BK last night after the exhibition..n i probably ate too fast too.

poor thing.. still hv MS? are u taking supplements? i had rather bad MS in the first few mths, until my hubby bought me some supplements..he read that Vit B6 helps some MTBs who suffer from MS. u may wanna check it out?

<font color="aa00aa">curioxete
Got this explanation on heartburn from a magazine:
Heartburn is a strong burning feeling in your chest that often happens during the last few months of your pregnancy. It is usually worse when lying down. Hormones cause the valve at the top of your stomach to relax, which allow stomach acid to pass back into the gullet (oesophagus), causing a burning sensation . Avoid spicy and fatty food. Eating small but frequent meals will help reduce heartburn. Sleeping propped up at night and drinking a glass of milk before you go to bed will also help ease the discomfort.

Trace
Will wait for 1-2 days to see if situation improves before calling up the clinic. Thanks! </font>

Beary, dun worry..i think by then your mind probably will be floating away and u got no time to look ard in the labour ward, so no scare

forest, what is the shield for huh? wah..i wonder how does the handsfree looks like? mayb i should drop by this wkend..

Today is my rom wedding anniversary..but still hv to come to work..sianz..

Good morning all mummies
Saw the paper saying that the motherhood ends on sunday...

forest
you bought the Ergo bb carrier for $154.70, does it includes the insert? what colour did you get? what's the booth name?

Metro selling $151.20 (after 20% discount, UP$189). Insert selling $39.92 (after 20% discount, UP$49.90)

Mousebb, do take care of yourself.

wow, thanks mousebb for searching for the description. yeah..most descriptions of heartburn i came across alwiz talk abt burning feeling in the chest, so i was wondering why i didnt feel it in the chest but at the throat =7

thanks for the links, trace!

<font color="0000ff">Ohayo Babes,

Mousebb, I hope u are ok, actually I was going thru wat u felt on Wed! I was having a bad attack of the head and when I came home, puke out everything I ate for lunch/tea!
After that no appetite for dinner. I noticed whenever I hv a headache, MS will follow..*sighs*

Put some medicated oil or take a panadol if really cant tahan and go and zz, it helps

Anyone went to the motherhood fair yesterday?

I went but din buy much because the fair was soo boring. A lot of insurance companies, and educational material companies.

End up buying maternity pads, Nepia diapers and Everflo milk bottles. Supposed to be BPA free.

Gd morning! Wow, seems like there's a lot of gd buys at the exhibition. Am gonna head there tonite too!

Hi mousebb,
Hope u r feeling better.
Me oso think of the cordlife thingy. Wanted to keep it, but huby said wanna donate it to the public bank instead.

Forest

wah u buy so many things ah? Maybe all to your liking lor. We wanted to look for playpens but not much variety lor. Very limited choices. Breast pumps, baby carriers and strollers will be given by friends so i no need to buy. I bought the nepia diapers though. Pampers also have good deals but u need to buy in boxes in order to see the cost savings. But the thing is GIANT is also selling at good prices. So which is why i only buy Nepia. Nepia has free delivery also if u buy more than 4 packs.

I also signed up for the frisomum thingy to get the free milk container. Heehee...

i m still undecided too..

i heard dat if we decided not to keep it and in case we need to use other ppl's (touch wood), it will cost $16k at least..wow..

<font color="ff6000">hi all!

I went last night to the fair too, on the way home. From filling forms, got free motherhood mag (promo gifts for subscription quite attractive but i already have mother&amp;baby mag so didn't subscribe), free purple bag from huggies, bib from nestle...

bought $90 worth of stuff from moms in mind (using the 10% voucher I posted here last night), including 1 nursing bra, 1 tube bra, 1 nursing top, 1 sateen sling.

bought nepia newborn diapers, bird's nest from EYS, looked at pumps, strollers and decided that we still prefer capella to maclaren. also dropped by John Little sale and bought a tankini.
can go swimming this Sat yay.

I'm not going for cordblood banking. heard from stem cell researcher friend that it's not-guaranteed to work. too exp for a non-guaranteed thing.</font>