(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0000ff">Trace,

I dare not drink those bottled chicken essence, the smell of it puts me off leh hmmm -__-"" Somemore my mum was telling me that during my confinement she will need bottles of chicken essence to cook for me, i was like "duh"! ;p

Since my mum knows I dun like to drink those bottled ones, wat she do is she will buy the "lao mu ji" from the wet market and essentially brew to "force" the essence out from it
very pure and very nice but only abit from a chicken so it's very valuable!!</font>

Littlebluey,
u like getting all the "jin hua"...... hahaha.. brew from "lao mu ji"... nowadays.. buy "lao mu ji" not very easy leh.. hahhahahaha....

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

Juz a small tip for everyone, over the wkend if at home nothing to do, can just go mkt and try to get a "lao mu ji" and stew it to extract the essence, cheap good and very nutritious!</font>

Trace, talking abt MIL not bother to make tonic, I juz need to complain...haha, pls bear with me ladies.

My PIL r those super tradition type + my hubby is only son so they have been asking us to have bb. But when my hubby told them the 'gd new' last wk ago, they MIA, no call nothing, not even a congrats.

Juz now, MIL call my hubby to inform her if we r gng back so tat she can boil tonic for me. When I find tat strange &amp; qns my hubby further, he told me tat bcoz she wanted to call some tv guy but call him accidently @_o

So lucky for the tv man if not, me &amp; bb dunno when then have the MIL's tonic wor...

Littlebluey,
Ok noted for hashima.
Yes, thats what my MIL brew for me, the chicken essence! Think she use kampong chicken, is it same as lao mu ji? hee...but my MIL said can use black chicken also.

Trace,
About chicken essence, think those bottle one is also safe for us to drink too lay! Ya, in fact i was quite surprised my MIL brew tonic for me, feel guilty, must treat her more nicely liao! Hee...

Littlebluey, I also don't dare to drink those bottle chicken essence so my mom also DIY using the same method tat u mentioned, can add in the cordyceps &amp; wolfberry
Yummy...

my mil also nvr brew any tonic for me. birdnest is brew when she also wanna eat bah, each time brew birdnest is for whole family de.
tonic not even one loh.. only cook normal herb soup when prepare dinner

so i must learn from all of u get some recipe and brew on sunday when mil not at hom.

my mum not stay in SG so only can ask her cook when i go back indo

<font color="0000ff">JJmom,

Maybe they "man re" ornot??

Call TV guy can accidentally call your DH meh? then wat does it have to do with tonic soup then? hmmm...maybe she's really asking your DH when you all are going back so that she can cook something for you??

Phtanus,

I agree with you, if "lao mu ji" not available can use "kampong chicken" or "black chicken" to substitute!!

Forest,

Normally to prevent the essence from becoming too oily, my mum will wash and remove the skin then she will put the chicken into the pot wif it sitting on a rack and a bowl underneath it to collect the essence, it will take quite a few hours of brewing to extract it out!</font>

JJmom,

haha..wah nw then u inform your in laws ar...

my MIL not so hardworking one..she wun do all these cos she simply dunno hw to do all these

Forest,

My mom's method is also to double boil using pressure cooker. We have 2 trays, the top tray put in the chicken, has holes in the bottom. Place another tray with a little water to cover the wolfberry &amp; cordyceps under the top tray, the chicken essence will flow down to the bottom tray after cook

The trays r placed inside the pressure cooker fill with some water.

Littlebluey,

Mayb since she called wrongly then no choice but to say something abt the pregnancy to her son loh...dunno lah, I also like ???

Wonder she know what tonic to cook for preggie boh, a bit scare scare...hahaha, so ungrateful of me =P

For the first year, think u have to pay upfront around $1200 - $1500, subsequent years would be ard $200-$300 a year if I'm remember correctly.</font>

JJmom, Littlebluey,
wow.................... sounds... difficult.. or rather.. i need those kinda pressure cooker or a tray thingy... must go n check them out... hahahah... thanks for the info!!!

JJmom,

dun bother so much abt MIL..i hv given up hope on mine..she said wanna do bird nest for me..till now i din see her go buy etc...mayb do agar agar for me..

I went for the talk the last round, but wasn't very keen on the idea, becos I heard a fren was telling me that there's no guarantee that the stem cells won't be infected with the disease although it's extracted from the cord blood itself which is suppose to be pure! For eg, a child might develop a certain illness/disease in their childhood years but according to what my fren says, is it guaranteed that the stem cells are not infected prior to it?? It might take years before it actually develop, in that case, is it still useful?? hmmm...something to ponder about of coz am not so sure how much truth is there...</font>

littlebluey,

thanks! i was reading abt it..but not sure hw useful it will...n its ex to keep it. But then if we dun want, they will throw away ..

Can any of u pls kindly let me know 'Dong Yan' is which 'dong' in chinese? 'Dong' as in Winter or 'Dong' as in 'Frozen'? Cos I may wanna get bird's nests later n I noe nuts abt them...=p

Trace, agar agar also must take time to make mah, have also not bah lah...muhahaha

I also don't bother lah, have then eat loh, boh also nvmind but if they don't even ask abt bb, I juz take it tat PIL r not interested in their grandchild &amp; may cut them off any further infor on bb...evil DIL =P

The weekend is here! I just made an appointment to visit the gynea next saturday. Hope everything is good. Btw, the normal check-up, just go for scan to make sure bb is good izit?

Trace,
I was laughing non-stop about your comment on agar-agar. But at least your MIL did offer something. Mine never said anything. If bak kut teh is considered herbal soup, then I did have herbal soup. Haha.

JJmom2008,
Thanks to the TV man, you will still get some tonic leh.
Think I just stick to eating those concentrated birds nest that my hubby bought for me. Oh, I have also been drinking the bottled chicken essence. That's about it.

So nice to have home-brewed tonic. Envy...

JJmom2008, Littlebluey

Thks! Lucky for the explaination else I'd make a fool of myself pronouncing the wrong word in the medicinal hall later...hee...

Pinkimum, yah loh, must ask our bb to thank the TV man @_o

Trace, those colourful agar agar, a lot of work 1 leh...not bad lah, better than nothing

she indeed offered..haha..but issue blank cheque..i oso noe hw to say wor..

anyway i cant b bothered..depend on her i cham oredi loh...think my own mum still the best!

<font color="0000ff">Elch,

Tis is the site you can refer to regarding the kind of "bird nest", u might want to consider Golden/Sliver/White Nest. The most expensive of all would be the Red Nest which is oso known as the "Blood Nest"

A relatively good quality ones would like those I mention of coz, they are further graded as well. Maybe, you can check out "Fu Hua", think sometimes they have some good discount and you may even request for them to throw in one box of "bing tang" get those yellow ones, they are better...

Hope the info helps:

http://www.aboutbirdnest.com/various.htm</font>

<font color="0000ff">A place to recommend for buying Bird Nest would be a shop at Chinatown Point located on Level 3, my mum told me they just specialise in selling bird nest. She told me that their quality not bad

Btw any1 hear of getting our placenta back after delivery to process it into powder form for eating?

Heard from a well known TCM doc tat what she did &amp; she will mix some in her chilrens' milo for gd health.

<font color="0000ff">JJmom,

My mum told me it's gd and she asked me to keep it after birth!! I was like wat??? so gross that piece of big bloody thing! hahahaha lolx

Apparently, if it's stewed for the mum during confinement with other herbs it's suppose to let the mum recover "yuan qi" faster and of coz got beautifying component as well!!</font>

JJmom,

i was just discussing abt this during lunch with my colleague...she said her gynae did ask her whether she wants it back or not..gynae said good for her complexion.

Littlebluey, wah! for stew during confinement, erm...don't think i can stomach tat lah, hear the smell is yucky. Powder form still not so bad.

Trace, yah, it's gd for mom &amp; the bb health.

Anyway there is somebody offering to process it into powder form at a charge, wonder if any1 else interested then mayb we can get a better price?

But the link is in my office, give u ladies on mon to take a look

Happi weekend!

i just bought bird nest from Eu yan sang a few days back. now having 20% promotion. My colleague helped me to choose coz she is familiar. i bought the long ya yan (dragon tooth?) it cost me 270 per teal after discount (6 pcs)! i find it ex but my colleague says its for baby n myself, so just invest in gd quality. N the shop oso tell us the cheaper version cost $100+ per teal is actually those 'loose' birdnest that they pick n paste into a mould. that one has more chemical n the quality not so good. All of them have the same shape.

Btw, another cheaper version n gives equally good benefits is the white fungus. Can buy from chinatown,ard $4-6 per pack. you can boil it with rock sugar n red dates(remove seed) Then drink it like a dessert
can put in fridge to chill oso
suppose to cleanse ur blood, good complexion for baby n bu3 qi4
oso help pple who have high cholesterol
hubbies can drink oso if u boil one pot

Wow, so much talk about bird nest, paso sheng, ginseng &amp; hashima!! My MIL &amp; mum will brew tonics for me but I will need to buy for them to brew cos they not really working so... My mum will cook bird nest, ginseng &amp; paso sheng, MIL will cook hashima or white fugus soup or pig's heart (apparently my SIL says its very good.) &amp; beef.

My mum went to ZTP to buy the birdnest, I think its quite a gd deal, 12pcs of bird nest ( I don't know how many taels) + Gingseng &amp; 6 bottles of bird nest about $300.

I believe many of u have gotten to know the gender of ur babies. I gg to have a baby princess. My mil rather disappointed but who cares!!!

I had a big time problem with CL now. The CL who is recommended by my fren juz told me she dun wanna stay overnite at my place. My EDD is on 27 sept and i was notify so late. a bit angry. If the CL is no staying overnite,i wouldn't want that CL. Then my another fren intro Mdm Yue to me, who runs a CL agency. Anyone heard abt this?

Had anyone use her service b4? any bad or good comments?