(2008/10) Oct 2008

trace, ya lor... somemore my MIL is the kind that thinks she's always right. sigh! I rather she just see the grandchild once a week and that's it.

forest, have just pm-ed you.

jjmom, mine is also 2.0mm leh. No need to worry lah. Will be fine.

JJmom2008,
If I am not wrong, the risk is calculated base on mummy's age. For my age, the technical risks are 1:518 for Trisomy 21 and 1:876 for Trisomy 13/18, as long as the adjusted risk (simulated base on mum's age and blood test results) is better than technical risk, you are consider in the low risk group. Dun worry too much...am sure your blood test results will come back ok de.

About the NT thickness, think the mummies here mentioned b4, anything <2.8mm is consider fine, so urs is ok!

JJmom,
no worries, my bb neck also measures about 2.27mm... my risk factor was 1:600 i think.. but with the blood test results, it was adjusted to 1:2000+... so, neck thickness alone is not enough to determine on the risk.... hope this info helps..

Thanks ladies, for all the infor. Can relax a bit liao, will wait for the blood test with a +ve mind

mint,
sorry, can u pm me again?? the email acct i used in the past have been deactivated - i havent used it for a loooonnng time... i've just updated it to my regular yahoo acct... sorry for the inconvenience!! :p :p

Dear mommies

just wanna check if it is compulsory to to go through a detailed scan? Am in my 17th weeks. Went to my gynac last night for the daily routine check &amp; he arrange my next appointment with him in June. Non mentioned of detailed scan ;)

Please advise with thanks !

lili,

I am not from singapore bride, also not selling insurance.

If u intend to total bf, I will advice not to take wine directly. Must cook the wine to evaporate the alcohol. Baby with total bf is very easy n fast to feel hungry. sometimes they will want milk again after 1.5 or 2hr. If u really want to take wine directly, must make sure u need to have stanby EBM (express breast milk) or formula milk.

<font face="tahoma"> hi ladies

for my age, normal range is 1 : 577. my adjusted ratio with blood test and scan is 1 : 624. Gynae said bb is normal.</font>

lili: I am staying with my PIL too. Tough life. I used to think by closing one eye on them is gd enuff. But no loh, i have to literally close both eyes and cover further with a thick piece of blanket to survive.

I can only count down to the time our house is ready. That will hopefully be in the CNY of 2008.

forest: I am also tinking of hiring nanny for baby. I dont want to have my MIL care for my baby and I dont want to hire a maid to help my MIL. But no recommendation. Sian...

karen,
tot you are someone i knew.. :p
i intend to BF if possible so prefer not to touch any wine. I have a friend, she had urine infection, in the end can't BF cos' on medicine.

Mrs Chua,
do you mean CNY of 2009? time flies very fast.
about hiring a maid is suggestion by MIL cos' she said FIL wants the maid to take care of him beside taking care of bb. i rather put bb in infant care ... and will be firm on this...

I think it is not easy to stay with Parent In Law. I was staying with my parent in law for a year and have my 1st bb confinement there too. My MIL likes to enter to my room to move my things and furniture w/o my consent and help me to clean my room. And then when i breastfed my girl she just entered my room w/o closing my door and told me nvrmind one she used to breastfed infront of everyone, my brother in law and father in law dun wan see one. Alamak...You wan ppls to see your breast doesnt mean i wan ppls to see mine rite ? after that i shouted to my husband "CLOSE THE DOOR!!!!" when she entered my room w/o closing the door. And alot of conflicts during the confinement. I think i wun let her step in my 2nd confinement....

lili,
your FIL also a bit funny hor, he suggest to do your confinement for u &amp; yet asking for a maid to take care of himself?

PIL :
Anyway my PIL after knowing abt our pregnancy, totally MIA loh. The funny thing is b4 tat they r all so kan chiong abt getting us wanting bb loh since my hubby is the only son. Then now nothing, not even a phone call. Not that I wanna hear from them but juz find these old folks really strange sometimes.

jess,
how about now? you staying with your inlaws too?
i will be moving in to new home this few weeks time, but i think most likely inlaws will come over during confinement period &amp; maybe FIL's sisters.... i will sure be crazy...

i'm a very straightforward person, i will tell MIL / FIL likes / dislikes when i can't stand it anymore (take last evening an example)

We have alot of conflicts in the beginings as well, and i stayed out late (alone) to avoid doing household that time when i can't get hubby's support. I would said, it's only end last year then situation better.

jjmom,
getting a maid in is only before i resume work... (for long term)... :p

also, i don't bother if they prefer grandboy / grandgirl as bb is our child (Hubby is the elder son) they don't like, i won't bring bb to their home so often then.

Nope...i moved out one month later after my confinement. ;-) My mother is staying with me as she is helping me to fulltime take care my girl *luckily*....now she come to my house once a week to visit my girl. Be frank, she really love and dote my girl. But i just cant stand she insist us to follow her way and method.

I m also a very straightforward person. She wanna to buy "frog" to cook with porridge and feed my girl but we straigtaway said "NO"...and then alot of things lar....i said NO NO NO NO....luckily i have my husband to support....

jess,

children can't eat frog leg? last week, my bro in law was just telling mi my niece ate frog porridge until her legs so active blah blah blah

<font color="ff6000">Lili,

guess what? my own dad also said better to hire a maid to take care of bb and he and my mum can supervise. wah liao. i'm very firm on that, no maid. at most part time maid to do household chores. i'll be home for 3 months at least, so if mum can't cope i'll take care, and maybe take no pay leave after that.

i live near my parents but PIL live quite far. but they quite nice lah. i think we all have good impressions of each other cos we don't live under same roof haha.

jess,

i think i can foresee having some clashes with my own mum over methods of childcare... or just life in general... but really very nice of her to offer to help so I'll try to be a less impatient daughter...

gals,

i went to spring maternity at tanjong pagar today! bought white linen capris and got free lifetime membership yay.</font>

Frog is a very unhygienic "animal" so we forbid to let our girl take it. My mum used to feed me when i was young also...haha...but...since i knew it is unhygienic and alot of bactierials if you din clean well so we dun allow my girl to take it. Old ppls said frog leg help to strengthen bb's leg so they can walk faster...but i dun believe it....

dimpletot
same lor.. that's what MIL said = hire a maid &amp; supervise lor.. but MIL might have to consider to give up her job. I told her if want hire maid, wait till later on when she's time for retirement. I told her - NO money, expense will be higher...

Spring:
Good lei... i will try grap something before it ends the promotion this Sat.

dimpletot,

haha....if your mother doesnt or not willing to accept "modern thinking / method" like us and insist her old method...then i afraid for sure will have conflict. ;o) luckily i have a understanding mother who is not sturbon and willing to accept new method of bringing up a child.

jess,
i would said own/ MIL will have their way in taking care of bb. Is whether we trust them to take care of bb in their own way.

lili_fc,

you are right, i m not totally object all the old methods. But some old method like....boil the bottles once a day instead of steamer...and feed bb (less than 6 mths) with funny funny foods and etc...i cannt accept lor...if bb fall sick, i think mother will be suffer...

i have more trusts to my mother as everything she asks me 1st before do but my MIL ? she will do 1st then tell me...haha...i think i m a bad daughter in law..*my husband also said so..

Hi Trace,

I have it too...it is normal but remember to keep urself clean...as it is very easy to get infection during pregnancy. but when you are about the time to deliver, doc will check again to make sure no infection...This is quite impt as infection will pass to bb during the labour.

dimpletot,
ooohhh... u make me feel like visiting spring maternity too!! btw, when's the lifetime membership promo over??

Jess,

yup, i put panty liner always..n uses low PH soap to wash it...juz feel weird how come still got discharge when i m preggie..

jess,
you are not bad lah, just that can't adopt to MIL method only.
i guess, when things do happen, i will leave to someone who can really helps (be it MIL / mum) else, i will go depression / crazy... that's me..

haha....i think you will be go crazy...as i was "crazy" before....during my confinement...

Hi TraCe,

White discharge is normal,it is due to hormone imbalancy during pregnancy but NOT brown or PINK one k.

lili: yea, hopefully by CNY 2009. I am almost KO-ed by them liao. But I take tis chance to improve on my "ren gong" ie. "ability to tolerate nonsense". :p:p

My MIL also wants the maid in to ensure that she will be ok. ie. Will not faint at home or wat. Dunno her lah.

I am biased but I hope that she will not take that chance to still go out gallivanting leaving my baby alone with the maid.

Jess: Jialat, I tink my MIL will also be the kind who opens up my door if I am able to bf. I rem she used to do that when my hubby's SIL was bf at their house. I think I must remember to lock the door when I bf baby next time.

A lot of things happened coz of the MIL. During our wedding preps, now baby preps. She is all talk only. *shakes head* Say liao my blood will boil man.

i think my mum have no olden methods. it's been so long since she took care of me (that time got my v capable grandma to help her) that she prob got no method liao! which is why i think if can find a good CL i will still want to hire CL.

my mum is a clean freak - sometimes i feel need to be a bit dirty so kids can build up immune system. already the rate at which she uses water and detergent to wash plates after dinner makes me raise eyebrows. dunno how come one daughter and mother can be so different.

but no matter what, easier to get along with mum i suppose. a lot of things i don't say in front of MIL cos dowan to offend her. but with our own mums we not scared lor... our poor mums.

dunno why our parents so keen on being supervisors. It's really quite different having a maid as the main caregiver. just my views lah. I really just prefer to keep outsiders out of the whole process of bringing up my child. if i have to, I will just forgo salary and stay at home.

Forest - promo over on 11 May - only at Tanjong Pagar mrt hor.

dimpletot,
if financial allows, i guess i will still prefer to work than stayed at home. haha

Now, have to save more to put bb in infant till 18mths put bb in our company here... have low fee.

Jess, u nt bad daughter in law la... like my MIL dunno act know... lagi jialat. My mum dun want to help me too much cos I am staying with my in laws so she think later they think she Kaypo or what.

Now the thought of me doing my confinement in my new house is so happy... at least i have my own breathing space. My mum also feels more comfortable to come over because in laws not ard.

In Laws relationship always complex, esp if under the same roof.

next time my kids get married i will insist they don't live with me hahahaha.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Ladies,

On MC tdy, got a very bad headache since ytd afternoon, head was still achy tis morning so DH asked me to take MC for tdy muhahahaha ;p

Trace,

Sometimes, I will have white discharge too heard it's ok as it protects the bb frm bacteria and etc..

Everafter/Phtanus,

If yellow discharge and smells abit, then might be some sort of fungal infection, if so, best to check with your gynae and they might give u something to insert to clear the infection

u gers r juz staying with MIL or FIL..i m staying with my MIL &amp; sis in law n her daughter! duhz!!! my sis in law quarrelled with her MIL so run to my plc to stay with her ger..my plc is a place for refugee..haha

Littlebluey,

Once, Dr Ho collected some discharge sample for testing..he said its norm..n gave me antiseptic to wash..

TraCe (tracee): thanks for the article, make me think twice about drinking cold drinks now..

Today weather is good! At least its raining lo..

Aiyoo.. I also scared of MIL's conflict when she shift over when bb is born.. And my BIL is going to bring his one yr old kid over to our house for my MIL to take care too. I am not sure how she can handle but she says she can.. We shall see how, if not I will stayed at home more to take care of my own bb. My MIL treats me well now but living together its a different thing altogether... And she wants to know everything so I am afraid will have conflicts...

dimpletot, lili,
okies okies... see if i can go during lunchtime.. if not, will ask hubby to go with me tis sat maybe...

for me, i used to have alot of conflicts with my MIL too.. but she had a stroke, and since then... she's in a nursing home... however, my sis in law like to bug my hubby and say things to him... so, i hope she doesnt interfere too much when i give birth too... we have generation gap, and i really dont like her too much... she even called my hubby n said she kept some towels so we can use for bb next time... but to me, i wld rather buy my bb towels myself.. n buy those that i like.... :S

storeberry,

welcome! hope it helps..

Dimpletot,

yes,hubby at his own plc..but came to my plc to stay over the weekend..they juz purchase their own flat..dunno when are they moving..mayb sept/oct...

<font color="0000ff">Wah tdy alot of posts on staying wif ILs, having a maid and putting bb in infant care!

My DH told me that to place a bb/child in his co's childcare centre will cost $1.5k I was like huh?? So Ex!! and the price is after subsidy fr staff!! -_-" I said your co only cater to those who can pay bah, those lower rank staff how to afford? diaoz...

Regarding maid, most prob will never get one becos of all the horror stories heard...like some of you said before, it's all abt luck in getting the right maid

My fren recently told me a horror story abt her cousin's maid. Apparently, her cousin wld give her maid $2 everyday to buy small pcs of fish to cook porridge and feed her daughter. Then happen one day, the grandma was free and took her granddaughter down to buy fish when they came about an aquarium, the little gal was very excited and went it. Naturally, the grandma thot her granddaughter likes to see fishes but soon after the boss of the aquarium ask her if she's here to buy tube flex worms?? The grandma was like "Huh?? No one rear fishes at home, why buy worms??" Then the shop boss told the grandma that the maid always bring her granddaughter down to buy $1 worth of worms!!! to do wat? to cook porridge for the little gal to eat! so gross!!!

Later they checked the maid luggage and found out that she got alot of $$ slashed away!

Aiyo, terrible de wor! *tsk tsk* so evil!!

Of cos, there were more stories along the way and my fren said she will never want to get a maid, no matter how hard if worse come to worse juz quit and be a SAHM...</font>

littlebluey,

this incident sound so scary!!! but come to think of it..$2 buy wad fish huh? where got so cheap fish?

Littlebluey,
hope u feel better soon!! must sleep more!
OMG... ur maid story sounds so horrible!! my current part time maid also told me... if i wanna get a stay in maid, its better that i get someone mature, n not someone who is young... those mature, and more experienced ones... r better n more responsible...

my problem now is.. even my current part time maid is leaving... sigh.. i cant cope with housework... n i hate ironing!!!!! :p