(2008/10) Oct 2008

Whitepaper
Dunno leh cos he heard from his colleague who did the same test in another hospital that husband can accompany their wife when doing the test. We were surprised also when the nurse told hubby to stay at the waiting area, maybe scared he would faint upon seeing the long needles bah...hehehe

bbgoh
That time when gynae suggest I take the amnio test, I was about 12 weeks plus but the test can only be done at 16-18 weeks. Told my gynae I want to do the test at the earliest date and that was why he scheduled my test to do on wed when I'm around 16 weeks.

whitepaper & mousebb
thanks for ur info.
i m so nervous yet excited for monday check up, another long 3days to go...

i realised aft drinking tomatoes juice, i can do my big biz better..hehe...but of cos w/o ICE!

Tot of going out soon..hehe..gog ikea to help client's find furniture..

Whitepaper
I took the NT scan first and the result was not good cos bb's neck too thick. My gynae has given to instruction to TMC that all his patients whose NT scan result not good have to do a blood test (which then become OSCAR) on the same day. Result came out on the next day but still not good (although much better than the NT scan). Hence my gynae suggest me to do a amnio test. He has asked me and hubby what is our decision if amnio test result still not good and we told him we would consider terminate it. If our answer to him is to keep the bb no matter what happened, he would advise us not to do the amnio test liao.

I had lemongrass tomato corn salad and pesto basil chicken sandwich. and shared peach crumble dessert w colleagues. very yummy.

Trace, u r really a gd mama, always eating healthy.

It's so hot these few days tat I really cannot tahan but take cold drinks =P

Had Jap set lunch, grilled salmon & fried chicken cutlet with rice & miso soup...yummy

I also like fruits & juice more now than pre-preggie. But so many fruits r not suitable for us...

Trace, r u a interior designer? Nice job...

JJmom,

nope, hehe..i am doing exhibitions/events..there's an exhibition next week. client from spain specially requested those furnitures from ikea..so i hv to check if there's any stock available..

For me now, I only takes apples and tomatoes juice.. the rest i dun dare to take..wanted to eat dragon fruit, dunno can eat or not..

Trace,

Dr ho din say cannot take cold drinks rite? I saw him once, he only said stay away from alcohol, deep sea fishes, caffeine and raw food...

Trace, yah loh, I also dunno what fruits can eat & what not. Ask my mom, she also not sure beside those really safe & totally no no 1.

Everyday apple also vy sianz lei so sometime I take kiwi or 1 slice of ripe papaya.

Trace
Most probably result will be out on Monday but the full reports will only be ready in 2-3 weeks time.

Rachel Mum
Have discussed with my hubby if bb is not healthy, we would probably terminate the pregnancy. It's a painful decision but no choice cos we have to think in future if both of us are gone, my boy will have to take the responsibility to care for his sibling.

Wah u mommies have delicious lunches leh! I can only eat maggie mee with some yong tau foo coz can't go anywhere else to eat leh. Doc say must stay at home after amnio

mousebb
Both of us must stay positive ok? We had also decided to terminate the pregnancy is bb is not healthy, though the thought of killing a baby is definitely not good. But I think it will be good for both the parents and the bb.

Fruits - I think all can take except pineapple and del monte bananas. Take all in moderation, even those cooling ones like chinese pears and watermelon. Eating a variety of fruits in different colours will ensure we get all the different nutrients. Don't be too hard on yourselves

Dimpledot,

I din ask him if i can take cold drinks or not. But i realised since i stopped taking cold drinks, I dun hv much back prob..i used to hv back prob before preggie..nw seems much better! Just out of curiosity, y you stop seeing Dr Ho?

JJmom,

I hv stopped eating papaya..

Rachel's mum,

Dunno can eat dragon fruit or not..so i choose not to eat in the end..hehe..

mousebb,

dun worry, everything will be ok!! stay positive!

whitepaper,

u juz did your amnio test and u had maggie mee ar? try to eat something more healthy leh! n dun move too much too..

Trace

Haha... maggie mee is the healthiest in my cabinet le! Just came back from my trip this morning so had no fresh stuff at home! Nvrm leh, tonight then make up for it lor
I'm trying not to move too much...

Trace,

Two friends recommended my current gynae, so after seeing her, felt much more comfy and decided to stay with her.

Whitepaper, welcome back

Take care & rest well at home. M sure your test result will be ok de, don't worry too much ok ;)

Congrats on having a bb boy too. Your boy so cute, wanna wait till he is oversea then grow his birdie...muhahaha

So did u get stuff for bb gal when at oversea?

this morn so farny, i asked Dr Ho if I can go facial n let my beautian SQUEEZE out my pimples..he gave me a stare! and looked at my forehead...

he said extraction is ok..but those stuff they put on our face, there's no report saying dat its safe for preggie woman. But anyway i m gog for facial tmr :p I cant stand those pimples on my forehead!

hi there

Anyone whose baby EDD falls within 10th Oct - 15th Oct 08? My gynac says my EDD falls on 12th Oct..Can't wait to know the gender of the baby..A lot of friends mentioned is girl since is already week 16th & yet gynac cannot confirm.

Old wives tales say there is a seasonal period for boys and gals...Am not too sure about it

Trace, I also have a few pimples on my forehead lei but I m too tired to bother abt them YET...hee hee.

I m still always feeling vy tired, any1 like me too?

Oh! & there r also a few pimples my back too

mousebb, when can u know the results?

i oso did blood test for down symdrome on 24 april. now oso very scared of the result. so far NT scan shows everything ok. but still scared.

ok all mummies,

I m gog ikea liao..
aft dat gog to eat their salmon n chicken wings! yummy!!!

Have a great weekend!

Dimpletot
Doc Wong was recommended by my SIL who gave birth to the 2nd piggy baby of the year at TMC (and she got upgraded to suite and got $$$ and freebies!). So far I thought Doc Wong is great! She really empathises with what I'm going through and even calculate the time to call me while I'm overseas so that she doesn't wake me up from sleep due to the time difference. Not easy considering she's always so busy! When's your next appt? Mine on 16 May, dunno if can see you there?

JJmom
Yah naughty boy hor, tried to cheat me into believing he's a girl! Luckily didn't buy any bb stuff yet so far. And it's cold in Europe now so the clothes are mostly quite thick for SG's weather

TraCe
I'm lucky so far *touch wood* - no pimples, maintaining my complexion from pre-preggie. My colleague who's expecting a boy had a terrible outbreak! Pple say having boys will make your complexion worse, dunno true or not.

Trace,

Yah i find Dr Ho too zero-risk. think i'll be quite sad if i continued with him. he even said aromatherapy oils for massage can harm babies. i was thinking, then how come some delivery suites allow during delivery? and he also pooh-pooh-ed my vitamins, saying you can't believe the labels cos not proven that it's true. wah if i continue doubting everything until personally proven by him i'll be quite miserable. so figured doc wong had a much more reasonable attitude towards pregancy, and i can have a more relaxed pregnancy not stopping myself from everything.
just my thots lah.

Whitepaper,

yah i think she's really sweet to her patients! she even emails them and i have heard her taking hp calls when she's attending to me and sounds very patient, even tho I'm sure some kan cheong mummies call her direct for very minor matters (like are you open on Sat!! that's what i heard).

I've been having an awful breakout on my back! thankfully it's not on my face, that is relatively ok... :p but my back is like a war zone. hubby helps me to put dermalogica pimple gel.

Dimpletot, thanks!
I have updated the worksheet

Rachel's Mum,
Good to hear that u and ur little gal had recovered!

whitepaper, recently i got 3 pimples pop out all at one shot! hmmm, could mine be a boy? haha

Diane, i think the scan that my doc asked me to do at TMC when i am 20-22 weeks is the NT detailed scan? he say can see baby's fingers, facial details etc...i oso blur liao. so far my doc oni do normal scan everytime i go to his clinic. the oni test i do a few days back is the triple blood test: test for HIV n DS for both mum n baby. n he says if the clinic dun call me its good news... so i am praying they dun call me!

Have any gals done ur detailed scan? how long it take n is it painful? thanks!

btw, today i start wearing maternity wear to work! but hor, on the train, still no one give up seats leh! haha
Hopefully when tummy bigger, pple will be nicer to me

yeah!!! Tomolo is weekend liao!!!

Pimples - will drinking alot of water help? At least it cleanses the system? I drink 500ml of water after brushing my teeth every morning, followed by emptying my bowels after that. Had been doing that since young. Maybe mommies with pimple breakout can try?

Beary

Not sure if yours a boy coz I'm expecting a boy but no pimples! But everything will be revealed during the detailed scan.
From what I know, detailed scan is also an ultrasound scan that you do at every visit, just that they are using a better equipment, so can see clearer. I had a pseudo detailed scan before my amniocentesis today and saw that the machine is so clear and can see the nose, the lips, the bladder, the spine, the blodd vessels in the umbilical cord, the kidneys, the liver, the heart, blood flow in the baby... quite fascinating. And of course, can see my boy's birdie clearly too

<font face="tahoma">Hi ladies,
just back from my gyane's clinic. everything is good... now 17 week. cant tell gender yet coz baby is crossing legs... forget to "remind" baby to co-operate hehehee

bb now abt 18 cm</font>

Mspiggy
Congrats!!!

Rachel's mummy, Belle
Not muct symptoms, I did not have much cravings except that my pre-preggie obsession with titbits disappeared. And used to love you tiao with porridge but not anymore, hate the you tiao. And yes had very bad morning sickness at 8th to 10th week. Vomit and vomit. Otherwise, I think I'm experiencing what all preggies are experiencing?

wow whitepaper you are getting me really excited abt my detailed scan during my next appt on 23 May! much later than your next appt tho...