(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0000ff">Jelly dear,

Thanks for asking, v v tired tis days, back super achy

How's Rebby? Fever gone?

JJmom,
Phew... heng no one snatching marcus' milk.

Everafter,
use the free backgrounds lah. No need to buy. Cheapo me only use the free background, stickers, etc.

<font color="119911">XY,

so u wearing the or-biang suit? or not wearing!...heehee, either way, i m getting my cam ready.</font>

erm... i have a new plain black swimming costume. But wear liao i look 5 mth preggy leh.

I can lend u my orbit blue brand new suit. u want? Want lah.

JJmom, XY hahaa lucky too no one saw me....Sssshhhhh.......

purple, so clever!!!! she can say "star"? alamak, i feel i am shortchanging my girl, not been teaching her as much things as last time with my boy leh....i better buck up!

mousebb oh dear...did u check with gynae????? no i dun think weight will go back up. somemore u SAHM mom, chasing after ur kids will be enough exercise!

<font color="119911">XY,

how come u r keeping so many new swim suit at home? for viewing pleasure nia huh?</font>

elchwong,JJmom, daisy,

she now keep saying STAR... hahaha... funny... but she dun noe how to call the rest of the family member yet... only call papa, mama, ah ma... mum mum...

my niece who's born in early oct... can call almost all the family member... can say... is it? hahaha

JJmom, haha! u got no reason not to go liao! i called S&amp;S. PROPER swim wear means no bermudas or normal shorts (hygiene reasons), no loose clothing that takes up space and unsafe in the water with small babies. So.....bikini bottoms with tight t-shirt over it is FINE!

XY, u dun need to lend her your orbit swimsuit liao!

ypg, so u going for the 5.30 or 4.30 waterplay? I am thinking of changing to 4.30pm coz I just invited to a full mth party that would be between 4-7pm. if i go 5.30pm one, i need to leave my friend's house at 4.50pm but that time my friends hasnt' arrived yet. if i change to 4.30pm class, i leave clarke quay at 5.30pm can stil rush back to party at 6pm my friends still there. If i change will it be a prob for you?

<font color="119911">Daisy,

u forgot abt the part tat i can't FIT into my pre-preggy bikini ANYMORE

or u 'gay gay' wanna make me say it out here...*cry*

&amp; i also don't want XY's for viewing pleasure only orbit swimsuit =P</font>

have a PRECIOUS MOMENT figurine of a girl with a little kitten and birthday cake.

PRECIOUS MOMENT "Count each birthday with a joyful smile"

bought in june 2009 with receipt. $69

Im selling it for $55, pick up at upper serangoon area. It come with box and receipt as like brand new. thats my best offer.

great as lovely cake topper like this
3022284.jpg
3022285.jpg

kindly email to [email protected]

JJmom,
i have very very nice bikini bottoms to lend u.
It's tie ribbon one. u sure can wear!

No excuses. Now... where is the S&amp;S swim trial list??

JJmom, alamak, i dun rem lah....dun cry *pat pat*, we all the same lah! u know how's my memory like right? nonexistent!

Hhmmm.....then u wear XYs swimsuit but wear another not-orbit t-shirt over? mu ha ha!

ok lah ok lah, u decide kae? heeeee.....

Btw moms going to Stage &amp; Such waterplay. when calling them to check about swimsuit, i also asked them why their waterplay so long (1 hr). they explained that first 20mins will be waterrelated activities like bubble time etc. then prob some time to change (or you can just wear something over swim wear and strip it off then), followed by 30mins of water play itself.

have 2 sets of FISHER PRICE LAUGH AND LEARN ACTIVIY CHAIR for sale.

they are duplicated presents from my daughter's first birthday party.

they retail at $99.90 at robinsons and toys r us.

Im letting it go at $85 each. Both in unopened boxes.

kindly email to [email protected]

do not reply to thread

pick up at upp serangoon area.

3022359.jpg

eelyn,

I got a Nikon D90. Canon 500D was recommended to me when I went down to view Canon 50D becos it's light-weight.

Actually, it went like that: I did my research on Nikon D200, D300 and Canon 50D. Occasionally, I saw some reviews on Nikon D90.

Then I went down to try the cameras.

At Canon store,
Me,"I want to look at Canon 50D."
The Canon sales person (CSP) takes 50D out.
I tried it out amateurishly, trying to figure out the buttons.
CSP,"Who is the camera for?"
Me,"Me."
CSP,"Huh? You ah? Then you should take 500D. 50D too heavy for you."

Then I went to Nikon store,
Me,"I want to look at D300."
Nikon sales person (NSP),"Who is it for?"
Me,"Me."
NSP,"Oh, you ah? You should take D60. D300 too heavy."

I agonised over the cameras for a long time. Like you, I worried that it'll become a white elephant. I couldn't decide which brand to go for bcos once you buy the camera, it's hard to jump ship liao becos you would invest in the lens and the whatnot later. I read tons of reviews for months. Then someone said in one of those reviews,"Stop reading reviews. Go to the shops and feel the cameras for yourself." And I really did that.

Once I did that, I ruled out Nikon D300, D200, Canon 50D, bcos they were too heavy for me.

So it was down to Canon 500D and Nikon D90. I've used Canon digicams all my life and I have never been quite satisfied with the location of functions. I also wanted to try out a Nikon. I thought it so cool to say,"I've always wanted to have a Nikon." frivolous and shallow as it sounds.

And D90 seemed to be hit with many people. So for once, I follow the herd mentality, altho as usual, the researcher in me read up tons of materials on D90. The fact that professionals give a thumbs up to it made me feel that I can't be too wrong.

I've always like the image quality and colours of Canon dslrs. But I didn't want to dwell on which camera to buy anymore. So I just went straight for D90 in the end.

I did go for a class, which charged $20 for admin, but didn't learn very much. It's just a lesson on the camera itself and how to locate certain functions. There are some basic photography classes but cost more than $200.

From there, I just try and try. At first the images are blurry and my small digicams yielded better images and I was discouraged. I was tempted to chuck it aside. But I remembered I paid more than $2k (I bought into the sales talk to pay for the peripherals and extended warranty) for it. So I was determined to make it work. And someone told me it takes practices. At first not so good, must take a few more times, then with more practice, can kill with one shot. I'm not that good yet, but I'm improving. When shots go blur, at least I know why and not blame the camera for being lousy. And I tell myself Sean Lau will be the last studio I go to - at least not once a year.

Canon and Nikon are both good and you won't go wrong with either. Canon 500D is a good starter dslr. It just boils down to whether you like the weight, the feel of it, the convenience of locating functions and the budget - that's most important. My sister could take good shots with Nikon D200, but she still sticks to her Panasonic digicam becos she finds there's 'no joy' in using the heavy D200.

If there wasn't Nikon D90, I might have gone for Canon 500D. Between the two, I prefer the location of functions of Nikon and the ergonomics.

Did you go to Clubsnap forum? They are a helpful bunch although you have to decide which camera you want on your own.

Oh, another reason I chose Nikon was becos I got 3 colleagues using Nikon. I got to loan lens to try out from one of them. If I'd bought Canon, I wouldn't have the luxury of loaning lens.

Do update me when you've made up your mind.

Stage n Such swim play trial, $15 for 1st timer, $25 for those who went their other trial b4.

4.30 - 5.30pm slot
1 ?
2 tweety
3 XY
4 eelyn - details given
5 joanne - details given
6 mint - details given
7 ?
8 pinkimum - details given

5.30-6.30pm slot:
1 ?
2 ypg
3 ypg friend (Nov mum)
4 chris (pending for confirmation)
5 daisybuttons
6 bibi (Nov mum) - details given
7 ypg friend (Dec mum) - details given
8 ?

Oh oh, mummies, I uploaded the Sean Lau pics liao. If want to see, just add me ([email protected]). I say first hor. I'm a very private person so I'll add Oct mummies in this thread only. Don't feel rejected if I never add you. It's becos if I don't know you, never read your posts here, I'll worry the pics might be misused. I'm very scared of paedophiles la, esp when I'll also upload my elder kid's pics.

eelyn,

I'll put up some pics I take for my kids so you'll see what a dslr is good for compared to a pocket digicam. It's definitely sharper and faster. And colours more vibrant also.

i have decided, will change slot can? Ypg, hope didn't inconvenience you, i can call them up myself to change. coz i figured this timing better in view of the full mth party i have to rush to. also by 6.30pm my girl prob hungry and grouchy!

Stage n Such swim play trial, $15 for 1st timer, $25 for those who went their other trial b4.

4.30 - 5.30pm slot
1 <font color="0077aa">daisybuttons</font>
2 tweety
3 XY
4 eelyn - details given
5 joanne - details given
6 mint - details given
7 ?

5.30-6.30pm slot:
1 ?
2 ypg
3 ypg friend (Nov mum)
5 ?
8 ?

Hi Mummies!!!

Ooh trials fever still on!

So u mummies bot lanterns for yr bubs? Is it time to play yet? I'm clueless abt the lunar calendar.

Lilbluey, u still TSAHM? I know what u mean abt going "insane"!!! Go out more!

Purple, LY is so cute, u got to video it!!!

XY,

I can help u to buy but not enough nos leh..

Swim diaper sharing: size (M)got 11pants
Tweety x 2
bbgoh x 1
Joanne x 2
ypg
XY x 2

anyone else??

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

U bet I'm stil am! hahaha :p

Losing my sanity soon!

Yup! can start buying lanterns alrd realised tis year those battery-operated ones quite limited.. hmmm...

Jelly,

Hope she gets well soon!
meanwhile u take care too..

Jelly,
Hope Rebby recover soon.. U also need to take care ya..

Tweety x 2
bbgoh x 1
Joanne x 2
ypg
XY x 2

anyone else?? If cant get 11 then I'm not going to buy k... Coz I don need that many..

<font color="119911">XY,

I put the T as temp in TSAHM for Bluey coz she will b a SAHM for 1mth...heehee</font>

tweety,

i will take 1 too
hopefully by aduaduck, i will b able to get a swimsuit to go

Tweety x 2
bbgoh x 1
Joanne x 2
ypg
XY x 2
<font color="119911">JJmom x 1 (pls pass it to Daisy? Thx)</font>

rains,
i wan to see leh.. so add u in FB?

busy bee,
thot u buy lantern for ur gal liao?

bluey,
agree that the batt ones are so limited and quality sucksss... buy a cheapo one for shawn and is going going gone soon but lucky is cheapo one hahaha

<font color="119911">Jelly,

hope rebby gets well soon, u take rest too. U off today? steal some sleep when u can yah *hugz*</font>

lantern,
Aiyo, my son received his 1st lantern from my PIL, those super cheena type! Is a "walking" lion dance with "huang fei hong" song! Aiyo, i told hubby i paiseh to hold it with Isaac downstairs, later ppl tot I came from PRC! *pengz*

I will definately get Isaac a nice one next year when he can run around with lantern! This year, sigh...just have to bear with that cheena lantern coz PIL will be ard on 3 Oct, is not nice for me to buy a new one for my boy.

<font color="119911">XY,

u hor...always like to publicly sway me 1 leh *sweat*

let me go home &amp; dig for my old suit to c if they can hold my tummy boh lah...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
Glad to know that rebby is fine.

daisybuttons
No. Have not seen gynae yet. Maybe it is time for me to stop liao. Have pumped for almost 1 year (another 6 more days to go) liao. Hubby told me to stop...</font>

daisybuttons,

Paiseh. Just able to log in until now. I still have not got Chris reply yet. So if u withdraw n she dun want to go, I onli left 4 persons in this group, dunno if still can get the promotion rate or not. So is it possible for u to swap session instead? Thanks thanks.

Or any more taker for 5.30pm slot? The more I know about their programme, the more I am getting excited. Got bubble time, bb to kick water. Sound much more fun than the Aquaduck trial tat I went tat day.

<font color="aa00aa">Phtanus
Your PIL really dote on your son! I bought a thomas &amp; friends lantern for my son and a hello kitty one for my gal.</font>

busy bee,
y cant play? shawn already "abusing" the lantern i buy for him.

phtanus,
i saw the lantern that your boy hv and YES super duper cheena.

<font color="119911">phtanus,

wahahaha...high5! my pil also got an equally orbit colourful copycat hello kitty with moving wings &amp; the song tat i don't even know of. Goes something like : woo la la...oh la la

I m in fact so surprise tat he din get it any earlier tat i asked my hubby abt it &amp; guess what? hubby said his dad must b scared tat i will not like it =P

Then sure enough, tat vy afternoon my pil 'hinted' me tat the neighbourhood shops have started selling lanterns liao. &amp; when i causal said better get something unbreakable coz Nat starts to throw things ard. My pil immediately went to buy, bringing Nat along with them to choose

They even ask me along but i thou let them have the fun doing it with Nat alone lah

Grandparents love...bitter (to us) sweet (bbs)...kekeke

btw they have another toy tat sing 'gong xi gong xi ni', i have headache everytime they take it out &amp; i really feel like dumping without them knowing...argh! bitter...</font>

XY,

S&amp;S swim trial is confirmed for both slots. But I am not sure if I can get $15 for both slots cause now I onli manage got 4 for 5.30pm slot as daisybuttons wish to come at 4.30pm. So I am asking if she can change slot with one of the mummies who are going for the 4.30pm slot or if I can get 1 more mummy to go for 5.30pm slot, problem will be solved. Cause previous agreement with Stage n Such is tat they will give me cheaper rate if I can get at least 5 per slot)

4.30 - 5.30pm slot
1 daisybuttons
2 tweety
3 XY
4 eelyn - details given
5 joanne - details given
6 mint - details given
7 ?

5.30-6.30pm slot:
1 ?
2 ypg
3 ypg friend (Nov mum)
5 ?
8 ?

based on the above, seems to me that there are 7 for 4.30 slot and 5 for 5.30 slot. So shd be ok mah...