(2008/09) Sep 2008

my bb oso don't know how to drink from cup n dun noe how to suck from spout or straw, always spill or choke. end up, we still spoon feed her.

drinking from straw:
When my gal dunno hw to suck from straw, i actually tilt the bottle upwards when she is biting on the straw and somehow she managed to suck liao.

I moved my gal to her room when she is 18mths and bought her a single mattress. She can sleep thru the nites for the 1st few weeks but recently she keep waking up in the middle of the nites and walk to our room to look for us.. *fainted* So nw I sleep with her in her room on her mattress... and her daddy will sleep with us on a foldable mattress.. i missed my own bed!! hehe..

yeh, breadmum. i oso abt to ask for tips to train bb drink from cup. i din see the nid until nw that bb is sick, difficulty to suck full bottle of milk. luckily, she still has appetite for semi-solids. my bb's mouth is very small, how about yours? wonder is that the reason, bb can't clam on to the cup or straw..???

we cross our fingers hoping that our kids due to peer pressure from child care will soon learn to drink from cup, spout or straw:)

i oso want to get tips from mummies how to let bb learn to self feed and which is the right months of age to train? Mine is at 16mth now and again still stuck with 4upper and 2 lower teeth..any advice, pls?

onsansg/breadmum,
When I first started letting my gal try sucking from straw or drink from cup, she always get choke too. My mum then said because they dunno how to control the volume of water sucked up that's why they easily get choked, so we have to control for them by squeezing the straw when they suck and slowly releasing bit by bit for them to suck up. My gal gets choke many times too before she finally learns to control it herself, so don't give up.

Self feed
My gal only has 3 upper and 3 lower teeth with a bit of 2 lower molar showing. Dunno how to self feed by spoon yet. The food she scoops up usually falls off before the spoon reaches her mouth (she always turns the spoon "straight up" into her mouth!). So end up she uses her fingers to pick up the food and I still feed her throughout. Feeding time is a nightmare for me.

thanks, chillicrab for the encouragement. btw, how old is your gal? why do you say feeding time is a nightmare. leh? can share your experience with us?

mine, feeding time is a nightmare as she vomits almost every 2-3times a week in her 1st year. that's why she couldn't gain weight. at 12mth only 7.8kg. now, at 16mth, just 9kg.

my heart will beat with each scoop i feed her. i have to alternate with a spoonful of water to help her wash her food down her throat. otherwise, she will choke with just a wee bit of meat minces or if her tummy is full, but i still don't know how to read her que.. i'll keep feeding until she vomits.

now, at 16mth old, i will keep asking her if she is "bao bao and if bao bao, please tell mummy you are bao bao or touch your tummy". with this, i am able to try minimise her vomitting..

in the first year, i have shed many tears due to my stupidity and greed to keep pumping her food thinking that could help her gain weight.

a bb doc just told me, my bb could have been born with shallow tummy and has gerd, gastric eshophagus reflux. so she will throw out food that cause friction to her swallowing tract. but, this will outgrow as she gets older. i hope so, as my bb gal only manages to gain 200g per month.

onsansg
understand what u mean, vic was quite small size too especially when he was below 1yr old. he's 19 months now n is only 10.3 kg but he's still healthy n well. i also tried to keep feeding him hoping that he'll grow more. there was once when i overfed him n he vomited n i felt so bad. now i'll always touch his stomach to see if i have feed him too much when he starts refusing to eat. if his stomach is feeling full n hard, i'll stop making him finish his food (usually give him 1 bowl of porridge). u can also take note of how much food your gal can usually finish (eg. 3/4 bowl of porridge) then u can always give her roughly that amount. as long as your gal is growing well n healthy n not losing weight then dun have to worry. by now, their weight gain will slow down already compared to when she is a infant.

chillicrab, snowyee, Bigtoes
finally vic has recovered from his fever (sweat!). now waiting for his cough n running nose to recover. hope your little ones are recovering or have recovered already too.

snowyee
have u tot of training P to start sleeping on his own? i took a couple of months to train vic. started by patting him to sleep then progress to just putting my hand on him then to just sitting beside his cot then to sitting a distant away from his cot then to sitting near the door then finally him on his own to fall asleep.

sucking from straw - i 1st tried to teach vic how to suck by feeding him manually with a straw. i use my finger to block n unblock the hole of the straw at one end to slowly release the water in the straw from the other end into vic's mouth n he slowly learnt how to suck then i let him try sucking from the bottle straw.

midnite feed - (http://www.babycenter.com/0_baby-sleep-training-night-weaning_1505721.bc) hope the info from this link will be useful to those mummies who still have to wake up in the nite to feed their kids.

Hi Tslittleone,
at what month old did you start training vic straw drinking?

how many months does it take you to from training to vic able to sleep independently? your method sounds good.

for past 2 months, i started release night arm rocking my bb and she takes 2-3 hours running around before she dozed off next to me.

last night, for the first time i tried story telling (just blabber anything out from my mouth - my own instantly created story while feeding her milk and let her face at the window). i talked, she listened until her mind gets tired, then i said mummy going to put you down the bed "lie down on the bed, sleep on your pillow, close your eyes, time to sleep", bb for first time so obediently lie on the bed only with short occasionally sitting up. i then gently said, "everyone is so quiet, all want to sleep and black sky (my jargon, night time as she stares out of the window, the sky were black) says, "sleep everybody , so is yuting..". she lie down again and then dozed off.

wow, i felt so jubilant last nite - bb finished whole bottle while listening to my story telling and dozed off, all within half hour. i'll try tis tactic again tonite and hope it works from nowon..

hi, i revert back to 5am milk feeding while diaper changing, since 2 weeks ago when my bb was down with fever.

previously, i weaned her off but she will keep tossing and turning in her sleep, very disturbing and will wake up when i diaper change her at 4am or 6am. it took her 2 hours to dozed off and all of us were pretty tired, even with a milk feed that we hope to make her sleep.

now, when i try dream feeding her at 5am, (night feeding was at 9.30pm), i find that bb tossed and turned lesser. personally in comparison, i feel it's better to keep bb hydrated and the dream feeding is faster than when she is wide awake, because she wants to rush back to her dreamland within 5minutes..

best for mummies to try both methods (wean and restart, to see which one suits you and bb)..

<font color="aa00aa">tslittleone (tslittleone) - Glad that Vic is feeling better! K still has a slight cough, but should recover by this weekend.

onsansg (onsansg) - Good luck with your sleep training tonite
Btw, why do you do a diaper change at 4/6am? Does the diaper not last thru the nite? As for nite feeds, K just suddenly stopped on his own without any training, but he still wakes up once a while (1 time) asking for me to make milk.
Btw on the GERD issue, my nephew used to have that problem as well - took like an hour for his meals, then oftentimes, he would cough &amp; end up puking everything out! Anyway, he grew out of it, so just hang in there!

As for falling asleep on his own, we haven't even tried that! Usually he drinks his final nite feed, then talks himself to sleep (about 30 minutes in total). Hubby sits beside him &amp; just surfs on his iPhone to make sure he is ok.</font>

hi onsansg, i think u can start letting your bb self feed already. as soon as they show an interest in holding the spoon, they're ready to learn (but not ready to complete the task!). try giving sticky starchy stuff like mashed potatoes and porridge, v good for beginners. u'll need to be prepared to CLEAN UP too, but take heart, they'll get better by and by.
btw, we've chatted on another thread before right? abt food too, i think...

tslittleone,
Thks. P has recovered.

Actually my boi can sleep independently but I'm just worried if he cry during the nite, I might not be able to hear as there are a few instances, so hubby also suggest to sleep in his room until he is older. Well, I know not so healthy for me &amp; hubby to sleep separately.

Ongsansg,
ur new sleeping method seems to work well! Hope this new method works well for your gal.

As for vomitting out food, if ur gal keeps vomitting out, can try to give smaller mouthful each time. I know sometimes they tend to vomit out abit if they are too full. There was a time P also keep vomit out his food. I think I had stuffed him until too full, scared he's not full enough. tslittleone is rite. Their weight gain will slow down now compared to last time. oso, don't give too much water before feeding as they might also vomit. Had this experience and it was like merlion kind.

Re:Self-feed
U can start ur gal now. Can get those no mess bibs for them to put on. very useful and less cleaning up as the food will drop inside the bib pockets instead on the floor.

Hi, Morning Mumies.
Long time never drop by.

For those kids just started gg to CC, no worry. think most of the CC had the same sleeping time, the one my gal attend also sleep around 12. My gal bahave different when she at hm n CC. At cc, she will do anything u ask her, like keep her mattress n mattress cover after sleeping, at hm, i ask her to do, she ask me back.

Meal: I had headache is feeding her. if yestesday she had porridge for dinner, she won't want to take porridge again for today, so i told my mum u can cook differnt food, like today is porridge, tml let her eat rice. Till now she only had 8 front teeth, 4 up n 4 down.
She too want to feed herself, so i let her be, then on n off i still spoon feed her when she feed herself too.
I give her a cup n let her drink by herself, at 1st she will wet herself, after awhile time, she can actually drink qutie well from the cup. so in the beginning, i pour the water to the brim, then i will hold the cup n let her drink, then slowly i reduce the water n get her to hold the cup, so now she can hold the cup n drink on her own.

hi, i managed to get my bb sleep again for the 2nd night with my nonsense blabbering story. hope tis will continue:)

as for diaper changing, we've learnt it the hard way. for 1 year, my bb never had nappy rash (the front genitalia part, not the bottom) on mamy poko with not even need any diaper change in the night.

then, daddy try to cut down cost, let bb use different brands of diapers samples within a week. suddenly, there was one spot on top of the front part. we, inexperienced never thot it as anything and leave it until her vaccination time to show pd.

pd said, it's fungal infection. given fungicort and the rashes spread widely throughout the front part from inner thigh fold to genitalia. went to see doc many times, prescribed stronger steroids like neoderm (burn her skin like charcoal black). so heartpain.

brought to see a bb skin specialist. given antibiotic to clear skin infection, given bethametasone to clear skin redness inflammation. the episode clear and candida rashes pop up widespread again. given daktacort, applied reduce the inflammation faster than fungicort but rashes reappear few days again.

all in all, this took 4 continuous months with bb skin doc teaches us how to clean bb nappy area until he even said, keep bb's private part as bare and minimal as possible - with no or less barrier cream and wear panty, cloth diaper and potty train quick.

we have done all we could and decided to do frequent diaper change and air bb's private part at 12m/n, 3am and 6am for all these 4 cont months. all to no avail until one kind mother from the forum replied to me of her experience.

remedy: internal treatment with probiotic and external treatment with tea tree cream. viola, bb finally recovers. we decided not to stop diaper changing practice at night but reduced the frequency to one change as soon as she falls asleep and another change at 5am, as we can't afford any risk of soiled diapers.

to all mummies who replied to me and generously give me tips - Thanks so much. I enjoy this thread and will still actively participate. Nice knowing all of you.

onsansg
Thanks for sharing your experiences, must be tough on you to go thru all these. My gal is 19mth already. My feeding nightmare compared to your torment is really nothing. I only dread meal times bcos she won't sit there for me to feed her. If I put her in a high chair, she will stand up on the chair. If I strapped her down, she will struggle and cry. So the only way is to chase after her around the house or around the shopping mall (if we are outside) *Sigh* When she's full, she will just "pui" out the food, that's how I know can stop feeding since she won't eat anymore.

I've also tried blabbering lousy stories made up by myself to my gal during bedtime. But I think my story telling is quite bad bcos she'd lost interest after a while and dozed off. Sometimes before she dozed off, she'd even put her hand over my mouth, as if telling me to shut up! So usually I'll sing lullaby songs instead, more well-received. =P Other times if she's still very awake after her bedtime feed, I'll lie with her on the bed in the dark and do a routine goodnight greeting to every member of our families so she knows it's the bedtime routine, example..goodnight Ah Ma, goodnight Ah Gong, goodnight Da Po, etc etc, till goodnight mummy, goodnight daddy, goodnight baby Kate. Followed by total silence, and she'll roll over and fall asleep. Good training too as now she knows how to call each family member..heehee

Tslittleone,Bigtoes,Snowyee
Good to hear that your kiddos have recovered/are recovering! My gal has recovered too, also only left with very slight cough.

hi chillicrab, my bb also don't sit still and stand up at one point of time (just few months back). i on televsion while feeding or give her a small spoon with a toy cup/container for her to poke, poke to keep her occupied. many a times too, she will stood up after a few mouthfuls, then just put her on my lap and feed spoonful by spoonful. this habit will outgrow, u just persist. don't let it a habit for her to run around while eating. try to pre-occupy with a toy phone or a toy cup contain with a spoonful of food, let her play with it.. i don't know if i will face this prob as my bb has yet to reach the 19th month's milestone mark..when did your bb's tis behaviour of running around started.

your blabbering stories are good, at least she dozed off. my voice must be lousy, my bb doesn't like me singing lullaby songs. hehehe..

Sorry to disturb. Paging for evelyn &amp; alice

re: Ginno Food Cutter

had received the food cutter in my mail today. here is the list again:

1. icylemon - collected
2. jellypurin - collected
3. vanilla_pod_2
4. BigFlamingo
5. nickypower
6. evelyn (sept thread)
7. alice (sept thread)
8. springles
9. ypg
10. ypg's friend

Mass Collection:
30 Apr: Cityhall MRT - 1230pm
4 May: Dhoby Ghaut MRT - 630pm

Postage - $1/pc

Please PM me at [email protected] or text me at 90909031 to arrange

hi hi been really busy these few days. hiaz...previous contractor did a horrible job and our master toilet was leaking to our neighbor's. had to get people to come and check where are the problems and rectify it. won't be able to use the toilet for at least a month till it's all fixed up =(

onsansg
I started training vic straw drinking when he's around 10 months. slightly after 1 year old then he's able to suck from the bottle straw. sometimes he get choked at the initial stage then slowly it gets better.

for the sleeping, i started training when he's around 6 months and by 10 months he started to sleep independently. as and when i feel that vic is ready, i'll then progress to the next stage. however initially he cried when i started to go out of his room to let him get to sleep on his own so i'll let him cry for about 5 minutes then i'll go in to comfort him for a while and leave the room then the cycle continues until he stopped crying. slowly i increase the timing from 5 minute to 10 minute and so on until he doesn't cry anymore. this took about 2-3 weeks. really need alot of patience and perseverance. now, if i leave the room, vic will cry only for less than a minute and settles down on his own and there are days he doesn't cry at all.

Hi all mommies here,

Have any of you here put your child @ CC when he is 19th months? Coz i still thinking whether to put him now or when he turned 2 years.

Another issue is that anyway to curb your child fears when going to CC? as my boy is a superb "slow warm up" as he dread of seeing other adults. Have tried to take him to visit the CC but when we are just outside, he cried like hell.omg...even i bring him in, he can still cried till we out of the CC. My heart was so pain to see him all in tears.

Shermie Koh (dolphinger)

I put my gal to playgroup at 19months. She cried for 3weeks. Always the last person to go in. Heartpain see her cry but faster pass her to the teacher and walks away

Shermie Koh
maybe u can try letting him attend enrichment class 1st (eg. kindermusik/gug/d'story club/etc) where 1 parent will sit in with the child. this helps him to get use to classroom environment/teacher/other kids without much anxiety since u r with him before he is really on his own when u send him to cc.

personally would advise if possible to wait till 2yo then send cc coz cc very easy to fall sick. when they are older the immune system more mature.

thanks, tslittleone for your wonderful sharing. i manage to resolve her night sleeps now but still find a trouble getting her dozed off for her day naps. at 17mth old and already only want to nap at 11am, no more 4pm nap..and day nap, still wants to be baby slinged!!

any mummies still use mum-in-mind to sling your toddler to sleep?

<font color="aa00aa">Shermie Koh (dolphinger) - I am starting Kieran on CC next Monday (he turns 20 months today)! He is rather socialble (the type that goes up to strangers &amp; starts conversations), so hopefully he won't have too much issues fitting in....but lets see! Will update mommies on how much crying is involved once he starts! I am sure there would be some, but hopefully not for too many days.

But if your gal is slow to warm up, maybe don't rush to start her till later? And yes, like tslitteone mentioned, perhaps let her try out at some enrichment classes first?

And yes, have to be prepared for them falling sick. Think for the first few months, they would maybe end up spending only 1/2 the time at the CC cos othertimes they would be sick &amp; have to stay home!

Hi tslittleone/jasmine &amp; bigtoes,

thanks a lot for sharing.the thought of thinking he cried reali pains me as his cries will also carry the pitiful eyes looking @ me.

Does those enrichment classes have weekends as i still have to work. Are the fees high?.Me too thinking to send him to cc when he turned 2. But frankly speaking due to my family have some issues thus might need to move out. And if will to move out, i need to think of other alternative for someone to take care of him. Somemore my mil is not in sin as she is a msian. My hubby have mentioned to put my child in msia but i rejected coz for all these while, my child is with me. I cant bear to let him leave me.

Bigtoes,tat's gd 4 u as your child is sociable unlike mine.sigh...mine somemore still dun knw hw to talk except calling, papa/mama/ah ma/jiejie/nana but he does understand what i said whenever i ask him to do things. Hope that by 2 yrs old, he already know hw to talk.

chillicrab,
My method of feeding same as ongsansg, on the TV so as to distract him. Give him a spoon and pour some poridge on his bowl. Then I spoon feed him with another bowl..

Shermie Koh
I put my boi over to CC when he was 17mths plus. He is the youngest among the group. He cried and was angry with us for the first day when we pick him. After that he's ok. I guess he was in the IFC previously, so can adapt faster bah.

As for talking, I think usually boys are slower then girls..my boi also can speak a few words and understand when I ask him to do things. I think just have to keep talking to him..they are absorbing now.

Yes, the enrichment have weekends classes. You may want to call and find out. The fees ranges around $400 to $500 for 1 term. You may like to attend their trial lessons 1st before deciding.

Shernie,
Most kids will cry for 2weeks, some longer. So if u want to put your boy in CC, you have to harden your heart a bit.. but don't worry, kids will not rememeber de. After the initial crying period, they will be happy cos there are many friends in CC for them to play with.

Bigtoes,
Give us an update on Kieran's time in CC !

Shermie - depends on what type of enrichment classes you want for your boy. Do some homework and check your comfort level of payment before you commit.

Not all are pricy, Zoophonics is one that i think its cheap and good. There are others like JG, GUG that are pricier.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mommies, Autum - am back from Kieran's 1st day at CC! He adapted pretty well &amp; wasn't clingy at all - was participating in class abit else playing with the toys, though a little more quiet than his usual self.Tomorrow &amp; Wed, my MIL will be spending the 1/2 day with him instead, so he should be fine as well. I guess the real test only comes when he is all alone at the CC from Thursday onward!! For instance, there is another classmate who joined about 2-3 wks earlier, &amp; is still wailing away &amp; very clingy to the teacher....apparently quite normal. Anyway, i took a couple of pix of him at CC - posted up on my FB account</font>

Bigtoes,
Saw the photos on FB. Kieran seems adapting well and enjoying himself at CC. I think he should be fine too on thursday as he is quite sociable. Even Pierre now is still clingy to the teacher after 2mths now since he joined CC. Luckily there is a big khor khor always accompany him..

hi snowyee, thanks, she's completely recovered now. do u order from leng leng v frequently too? now waiting for my 4 bottles of sambucol to arrive!

<font color="aa00aa">snowyee (snowyee11) - Which CC is Pierre in? I think K is enjoying CC now, cos its all still brand new to him (new people, new toys) which he likes. Think sometimes, once they realise they would be in CC for good, then they start protesting! Its good that P has a big kor-kor in CC! Think the classmates at K's CC are mainly ok, except for a few naughtier ones (like one that joined yesterday as well pulled my hair, bit the teacher on the shoulder, climbed all over &amp; purposely stepped on everyone's toes!)

Anyway, am looking to sign him up for another CC that is close to my MIL as well &amp; switch him once there is a slot. Should have done our homework before this, cos we basically just signed up for whichever CC was the closest - and which might not be the most well suited.</font>

Bigtoes,
Good to hear that K enjoyed his first day.. yea, the real test will come on Thursday when u all leave him alone. But I think he will cope well. You want to switch him to another CC so soon. Hmm, then there is a chance that he might start crying all over again.. because any new changes is a challenge to them.

<font color="aa00aa">Autum (autum) - Yes! Will update after Thursday on how he copes :p Meanwhile, the other CC doesn't have any vacancies for now (30 in wait list), so most prob going to secure his slot for N1 classes starting in Jan 2011....so will leave him at the present place first. Just hope he wont miss the current friends too much when he switches in Jan.</font>

Hello Mummies!!

It has been a while since my last post here!
I just delivered my #2 early this month. Still adjusting to the new lifestyle, especially once CL leaves.

During this period, I have not been preparing my usual dinner porridge for #1. We fed him the usual confinement food (just plain rice and fish) but he refuses to eat. Haiz.. and he is less sticky to me as compared to the past. I think probably he is jealous that I have been carrying #2.

Koras/Snowyee, I also have some disciplinary issues with #1. Lately, he has been very demanding and keep using baby language and point here and there and cry very loudly. We are clueless what he wants and it is only when my hubby decide to bring him out for a ride, then he start to be more ‘guai’.

But I still do not think this is a long term solution. And yes, he loves to cry a lot and it is driving me insane lo. And just yesterday, the preschool teacher called me and told me that he has bitten a little girl cheek and it became red and blue-black. And today, the teacher told me that the parents of the little girl demanded that we pay for the medical bill??!!!

But I admit my son loves to bite, and i am a victim myself… I tried to give him a stern NO NO and tell him cannot bite pple, but well, at his age, I doubt they really understand… I can onie reinforce nia…

So much of bringing up a toodler (with a newborn baby)

i be putting K in nursery 1 next year. have already enroll him but to a church kindergarden near to my parent hse. Well recently not sure how come k keep wakingup like 2-3hrs in the middle of the night thought hehave been sleeping thur the night only at around 16-17months

Hello Goldfish,

Congratulations on the 2nd newborn. Will 2nd one be going to IFC after you return to work? I wonder how u cope with 2!!

My son also bites in IFC (not yet in CC), and it was really a serious one (he bite and refused to let go, and it bleed) that they had to bring the child to the PD... We felt sorry and wanted to pay for their medical bill, but the school is claiming insurance since it happened in school.

So you may wish to check with your school about their policy?

snowyee/Autum &amp; breadmum,

thanx a lot for all your advise. Yup maybe have to reallu harden my heart &amp; hope that he can adapt really fast, If not i really dun knw what to do. Ya, have to do my homework on the enrichment classes for him. Hope it will helps.

hi breadmum, u may try your bb on straw drinking bottle. my gal finally is able to drink from the straw and she enjoys it so much..no training, i just passed her the bottle once i noticed she has started to hold milk bottle independently.

Xuanting,
Tis is the 1st time i ordered from Leng Leng.
Yes, me also waiting for my 3 bottles of sambucol to arrive. =)

Bigtoes,
P is currently attending CC at one of Cherie Hearts Branch in JW. He has been very naughty lately. I think there tend to be a few naughtier ones. P is one of them. =(

Goldfish,
Congrats to arrival of #2. Is a boi or ger?

Ur no. #1 became more demanding probably he wants your attention and is jealous like u mentioned.

Rachel/Goldfish,
Actually my boi will bite when he is angry or got provoked . His preschool teacher told me he bite his classmate yesterday while snatching over a toy. Actually this is not the 1st time he bite his classmate but also got bitten by his classmates. Usually at home, he does not bite me but lately his temper is reali very bad, likes to cry until we have to give in. He's not even afraid when I cane his hand or feet. reali drive me crazy sometimes. I put my hand near his mouth and ask if can bite anot? He shake his head and push my hand away. So dun knw if he understand or not? And keep telling me "I know" "I know". I think they are reali too young to understand and dun knw how to express themselves. Being a parent is reali not easy hor.

<font color="aa00aa">Biting toddlers - hmm, so this is quite common?
Thankfully, Kieran never developed the biting habit. At the CC this week, I noticed that he would just protest loudly (saying "hai yao wan" (still want to play) &amp; tugging on to the toy) when others try to snatch stuff from him. Hopefully, there aren't too many biters around his CC, else quite poor thing. Hubby was saying i need to teach him some self defence!

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - So is the issue with the parents of the other kid from CC resolved? Hopefully the CC insurance would cover the medical bill?</font>

onsansg - okie. I'll try. he has recently taken out all his milk bottles and they become his toys. Perpetually knocking them.

Congrats Goldfish.

snowyee - I spent my entire morning this morning in Jurong checking out kindergatens. Is Cherie Hearts JW any good?
I personally like SFA but loads of Indian teachers and students (not being racial) but the kids actually sing tamil songs in music class. whereas JCC seems run down and at Calvary, the principle was a bit atas and told me to come back next year and feel free to roam around. I feel its a major security issue.

In the end, I checked out Alphabet house at Dublin in Orchard . yes, i travelled. And realised Bigtoes is correct. CC don't allow milk drinking cause they don't want their teachers to leave the kids alone and feel that what they feed suffices. Hmmm..hard time finding a good one.

Hi breadmum

U are also looking for CC in jurong? me too! just got a job and now my gal is with my mum in JW. And how is Alphabet house? Once in my list coz HB working nearby but dropped coz i felt it will be inconvenient for my mum to fetch her in event both of us need to work OT

I only went to mulberry at JE swimming complex, u been there before? any mummies got any feedback on this CC?

Bigtoes, my gal is also a very sociable gal and will say hello to anybody she sees.. she adapts well in playgroup (I sent her to 2hr one). On her first day, she even say bye to me like asking me to leave.. but as time goes by, few weeks down the road, she started to say "bu yao" (No) when i told her im leaving and teacher has to coax her and distract her.

Btw, nw tat im back to work, she started to look for me and keep crying.. last time when she is 18mths, i left her with my mum and went BKK for few days, and she is ok.. nw even i went bathing, she will cry.. so heartpain whenever i call home and hear her crying

<font color="aa00aa">rlrenn (rlrenn) - Hmmm....i guess your gal realised that that she has to be at playgroup for good, and its not for a couple of days of fun only? Kieran is adapting well so far in his 1st week in CC. His is a full day session but my MIL is taking him back around noon these couple of days. Yesterday was his 1st day alone, and he was already asking for extra breakfast &amp; lunch from the teacher (meal portions are v small). Also came back singing the entire "Are you sleeping" song which he most prob learnt yesterday
I am hoping that he doesn't suddenly not want to go to school like your girl. And for your case, hopefully she will settle back in soon! Maybe they go thru happy/unhappy with school phases?</font>

hope you dont mind me joining the discussion

hi shermie, my gal is also like that..head bow so low when she meets strangers.
i am also thinking abt cc..still quite lost.

hi rlrenn, congrats on your new job.

hi goldfish, congrats on your 2nd bb. Hope to get some of your bb dust soon.

hi bigtoes, K is really v adaptable. My gal does not like to chew her food and will go on hunger strike. this will be one of my greatest worry in cc.
hi r

Me..me ..me too looking for a cc at Jurong area.. Had been searched almost whole Jurong west but all FULL.
Only Gracefield at kang ching road is available, but its far from my staying place..

I am up at this weird hr cos pumping milk!!! Yikees… I am back to the old lifestyle once again! :S
My #2 is also a boy, so I have 2 boys at home! Many pple have been telling me to try for a daughter but I guess there is no 100% guarantee that the next one will be a gal lo. Hope next time my boys are MUMMY’s BOY. Keke

Rachel, that is an interesting point! However, my sch does not file for insurance for this particular case wor. Probably next time I can casually raise this up again!

Snowyee, I oso feel that it is not easy to be a parent as well. Esp at this stage whereby u talk to them, dunno they ‘register’ or not. Just hope that they can master their speech ASAP manz. I marvel at how fast Bigtoes’ Kieran speech is picking up lo.. Amazing leh!! :p

<font color="aa00aa">Rabbit (rebirth)- Maybe start ur gal on a 3 hour/day session first, or go with her for some wkend classes where u sit in as well? Then she won't feel so lost being alone when she starts full day CC? I was also worried that K wouldn't have enough to eat at CC, but i guess the worry was unfounded. The teacher said he talks alot &amp; eats alot! And yes, i weighed him last nite &amp; he gained 0.4kg this week alone! No wonder he is looking chubbier.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - Hope u are doing well with no. 2! Boys are good - think they are closer to their mommies?
Ahh...i do miss nursing! Loved just sitting there &amp; losing weight! I have sinced gained back about 3kg
Don't miss the engorgement, hassel in making sure i had a place to express every 3-4 hours, &amp; waking up every few hours for nite feeds though...but of cos it is all worth it for our babies!

On mastering speech, i think it helped that i talked to K alot when he was a newborn - like just random chatter, telling him what i was doing etc...so maybe all the words registered? Try that with ur 2nd boy &amp; see if it makes a difference? It does help when they can express themselves earlier, cos they can tell you want they want &amp; there is way less frustration on both ends.</font>

hi mummies, haven't come on board for awhile, been really bz with different things and finally everyone in the family have recovered from all the cough, running nose and fever. hope all the sick babies have fully recovered too.

goldfish
congrats for your 2nd boy!

bigtoes
so glad that K adapting well to cc

vic next jan 2011 then starting pre-nursery, m also worried about him crying. now whenever vic sees me or daddy going away to somewhere, he'll want to follow and cry for us.