(2008/09) Sep 2008

ava,
i've got a certain limit to the amt i can use on the supp card. and after paying for the 20k hospital bills for me and cadence, i don't really dare to use much more of his money. so i only used it coz there was discount for that card. i think i will return him the money...

POPPY:

I feel EXACTLY the same as you!!!!!! You are not alone!!!!! Here are some of my experience:

>> pumping 3hrsly too tired => I switched to pumping every 6 hrly so i don have to wake up in the middle of the night, and also give me more time to rest...

>> engorgement: yes it can be hell of a pain. maybe you can try to use hand and express the milk so u can massage all areas of the breast to soften it?

>> CL leaving: i can't imagine myself coping without the CL too, but i can't wait for her to leave cos she bosses over the baby and didnt help me bond with them. So I just be thick-skin and try to volunteer to help/learn whenever i can to practise. You can take this time to ask her all sorts of doubts/questions/tips about baby caring too. Once you gain confidence and get hands-on you'll feel less stressed.

>> waking up in the middle of the night IS DEPRESSING, however the 'good' thing is since baby drinks once every 3 hrs, that's about 2 times at night. I'm depressed at first too cos i'm not familiar with babies too, but as the nights go by it sort of gets into routine

(If baby is fussy during night feed, get someone to help.)

>> Tired&Depressed: take chicken essence everyday, eat well, set aside 1/2hr every morning to get out for some sunlight and stretching exercise (this helped me LOADS) and AWAY from the house, probably during last week of confinement. I actually went shopping nearby just to get away.

>> Lastly, we are all human beings and CANNOT do everything perfectly. If u feel stressed/tired doing something (e.g. feeding fussy baby), pass it to someone else. You may feel VERY GUILTY at first but you have to let go and take care of yourself first sometimes

Sorry if its too much info but hope it helps..

poppy,
fully understand your sentiments. I went thru what you are gg thru now..esp when my CL quit on me after 2 weeks of confinement. It is good to share the load with your hubby at the same time talk to him about how you feel..take a short break (2-3 hours) by yourself and do the things you enjoy..

It is also good to write down how you feel, talk to your close frens or just invite them over to visit you..

It is not that daunting to take care of the little one..you will do v well with some practices..I took about 2 weeks to get used to all the diaper changing, feeding, bathing etc..soon you will enjoy doing them and find satisfaction..esp when your bb is able to goo gaa at you!

<font color="0000ff">What's with the 'chao barbi' term?? So 'nan ting'...

Storeberry
haha.. wat a thing to say to baby..

Flos
So sorry to hear about Isaac's merlion-ing. Glad u are taking things easy and taking time-outs to recharge yourself. Think I would have freaked out if i were u....

hey my boy too!!! he hates being hot. will juz keep crying n refuse to drink his milk if he feels warm...

Autumn
My boy can't stand being warm.. so aircon is one of our greatest saviour..</font>

Dear alabone and ava..

No la.. am really not good at keeping up.. thats why scarlett is still cranky sometimes, if we can stick to routine strictly.. it is said that lots of baby symptoms will go away ..

<font color="0077aa">Ava: T-bone steak sounds yummy!! I miss my steak!

Flos &amp; Sasa: Haha.. Just need to let out so talk to bb lo.. :p</font>

Hi Bigtoes,

saw ur post abt baby Kieran's drinking amount.
so decided to share with u my experience.

i juz bought my baby to KK A&amp;E on Tue.
and doc says i've been overfeeding him.
he's 6 weeks+ and drinking 120ml every 2 to 3 hrs.

doc taught me how to calculate the right amount.
take the baby's weight and multiply by 150.
This is the amount they should be drinking per day.

(my example: 5.2kg x 150 = 780ml
if u feed every 3 hrs, it'll be 8 feeds per day.
780ml divide by 8 = est. 100ml)

so i've decrease his milk intake from 120ml to 90ml now.
he seems pretty fine and is sleeping better now.
his crying gets lesser too.

do check with ur doc k. coz overfeeding is not gd for their stomach.

CRACKING SOUND
sometimes I can hear the sound like cracking from my son's hand bone. its happen when he use too much strength to push or strain.
Anybody encounter this thing ?

been too occupied and tired to post the last few days. can't help but feel as if i'm playing the real life version of Sims – tending non-stop to their hunger, bladder, comfort, sleep, play, interaction &amp; hygiene levels, only now that it's my own baby and i can't pause the game to go to the toilet or eat lunch!!!

i've never been a routine sort of person but i now find myself in need of LOTS of predictability. if dh suddenly slots in an extra activity for the day (eg contractor to come and install/fix something in our newly renovated plc – and i have to supervise them – i get extremely annoyed because it throws me off whatever routine i'm trying to stick to with baby and of course, eats into my v tight schedule of feeding, changing, cooing to sleep, expressing etc. i've just been told contractors are coming again next week. sigh...

flos, wa your maid took you most literally – no toast, only the buttered ham. can't quite imagine that from a filippino; a maid from more ulu places, maybe la. next time u got to phrase your instructions v carefully liao. she doesn't seem to have that level of understanding abt norms here yet.

lc, is that a swear word? it sounds v repulsive leh. why would your mil want to call your bb that?

mandy, my big fat buffalo of a 31-yr-old cousin is still being called "ah boy" now! another one is still being called "fatty" and i'm still known as "monkey" although i'm more like "hippo" now!

puking
flos, Jaws has been puking these few days too. it can't be overfeeding cos she usu pukes during the 80–90ml interval. it's like this sticky glob that goes all the way along her neck onto her back. got to change a few rompers a day too. hope isaac will get better soon. u are a very good mom and you've done very well keeping with this hectic new routine already. must press on k? hugs.

poppy, does your dh know how u're feeling? u got to keep the communication channels open so that you don't continue to feel so troubled and isolated. it really helps knowing that we aren't alone in this new journey although lots of responsibilities still fall back on us as the primary caregiver. coming in to vent helps too. take care ok?

sale
does anyone know if there might be a sale in any of the dept stores now? need to replenish some baby nonsense liao.

Ava:u left your super gals with the maid or hubs? I know how u feel...like last nite, my hubs volunteered to go buy the groceries, but I stopped him, saying I wanna get out of the BF-ing...

T-bone steak! Yums...

poppy: how to overcome depression? I tell myself these hardships can make me lose weight. I've just lost 2 kgs! kekeke...

yun: cracking sound? that sounds so scary!

Isaac's condition: I've reduced the milk intake to half-strength. 60ml every 2 hrs. He is still regurgitating a bit, but not like 'Exorcist' type of projection!!! this amt can make him sleep peacefully for 2 hrs. I've also 'weaned' him off the morning bath this week, which is timely cos he is sick/it is raining all day long.

Kym/Mei: thanks for posting the picture and the explanation. I dun hv a Brest Friend, so I prop up my Mothercare changing mattress, but it's slippery, so Isaac slides down as he fidgets and kicks. I place him in my P3 in that upright position, but he gets panicky when I put him inside...

Bib: yep, but he doesn't like hving that piece of bib constraining his neck. He screams when the velcro fastener pokes at the back of his neck.

Kym; is this your FB? u sound so experienced!! My routine has been upset...I need to re-train Isaac again, cos now there is no fixed routine; I feed when he is able to swallow.

MANICURE for bb: my bb last had his nails clipped by the CL on his manyue. They've since grown quite long. Anyone tried clipping bb's nails yet? I'm quite scared!

xuanting: amid the current recession, leading dept stores are having sales all the time. Robs is having a 20% sale now, without needing the voucher. Taka's sale was a couple of weeks ago. There'll be MORE sales cos Deepavali is coming...hhehe

Hey why do u call your bb Jaws?!!!! What's her name? Hv u registered Jaws' name yet? Without the Birth Cert u can't get your 1st instalment of $750 wor...

I'll up the feeding amt from 60->80ml tomorrow, then 100 on Sun...I fed him with jing feng san this morning. he is calmer today.

LC

tts right man...i got so many flash cards at home n story books...haiz...

kymkym

tts a very good routine u have..haiz...i am still trying to catch my carine's routine..her night time still the same..hopefully can change her body clock over soon..

bacon &amp; egg

online shopping? yes! esp when now got ON/gap/gymboree sale! just ordered from ON in fact..

flos

i cut my carine's nail already...i will get hb to feed her the ebm,while i cut the nails..its easier to cut this way...

MANICURE for bb: I trim Kydric's nail when he's sleeping. Just carry him and cut the nails.

MASSAGE for bb: I tried massaging my baby and changed his bath time to 3pm. Helps to overcome his colic issue as he'll sleep soundly from 4pm till the next day, only waking up for milk every 1.5-2hours.

<font color="119911">Hi mommies, here are 2 photos of Kieran laughing

1820874.jpg
1820875.jpg

Meanwhile, i went to office and shopping earlier today and was out for 8 hours...had terrible engorgement and ended up leaking through my padded bra and on to my dress! Thank goodness it wasn't obvious. Came back and pumped out 300+ml in less than 10 minutes!</font>

Hi KymKym

Your MIL also called your baby that "chao XXX"??? My goodness! I tot only my MIL will do that.. and the thing is nobody, including my hubby find it unpleasant to the ears!! Next time I will just ask her politely not to call my baby "chao XXX".. This morning she came over again and first thing shae said to my baby is "chao chao" (smelly smelly) and my boy instantly cried!

My boy has problem with burping I realised.. sometime I can strok up his back after feed for about 15 minutes and still no burp. Bring him up with his head resting on my shoulder and burp him, he also no burp.. I am worried cos he dun really burp for bottle feed..how? any other suggestion?

Hi, Xuanting

Who knows why she called my boy that? My FIL also called my boy "piglet" in hokkien! I will politely tell them next time to call either the english name or the chinese name and not what "chao XXX", "piglet"..I wouldn't want these term to be called when he grows up..

Hi, Flos

I cut my boy's nail when he is about 1month and a half.. hahaha.. his nails were super long mann at that time. I lazy lor so delay and delay. I did it when he was sleeping.. think u do it in the day where we can see better.. no worries, it is quite easy.

Hi,Angeline

I have just PM you.

Hi, Yun

Does this only happen to baby with english name, Jayden? haha.. cos my boy also have this cracking sound whenver I hold his feet up to change diaper..

flos/isa_belle/springz,
Payment received. Thanks.

MAID:
We are probably going to send my current maid back. After 3 mths, she is becoming lazier and more importantly, has been ignoring my FB (treating him as transparent). Today she has the audacity to eat her lunch (when I don't even have time to eat myself) and ignore Jonas when he's crying whilst I'm stuck with my FB.

Lok
for a three month old maid, she is showing her true colours pretty early...maybe it;s all for the better...

flos
i never used bib on my bbs (both) when they are still young. im always imagining how it will strangle them if anything entangles it. and it seems to easy for their necks to go 'piak'!

mei
CH has exactly the same sleepsuit!yes i agree sleepsuit is easier to change than having pants on the bb. coz can unbutton at the bottom mah, dun ahve to tug and pull down the two piece.but once something is dirtied, and to change everything instead of only the top or bottom...

tell you guys something...
today went out with hb on our own so left the children with my ILs. came back, CH still hasnt finished her ebm, so dun waste lo, i feed.

then while prepping to feed her, i suddenly realise..I DUNNO HOW TO BOTTLEFEED!!!

i mean, how much should the teats go into the mouth??Why is there a suckling sound (you know for bfg you arent supposed to hear the suckling of air sound)? turn the teats round and round still have sound! then push teats further in, still got sound...and after a minute or so realise to my dismay milk is all over CH;s rompers and my arm!cleaned her up and try again...

then i realise i hardly fed cy using bottle! coz he was so cranky and rejected the bottle early on, didnt get the chance to practice bottle feeding on him!!

mother of two i am, and i dun even know how to do somethign so basic!

<font color="0077aa">After calculating what karen posted, think my Zane only need about 80ml cos his feedings per day is 10X (based on latching) but if based on 3hourly EBM then its about 100ml. Thanks!

Flos: I am using the rounded sissors to cut Zane's nails, so far so good, as long as he don't fidget too much!</font>

Lok: what's the penalty of returning the maid after 3 mths? I dun mind hving a maid to help me but I really hv insufficient duties for her to do. As such, she is finding things to clean, wash and wipe. That consumes a lot of my electricity and water. I secretly watch her wipe my plates and mugs, and boy! was she slow...

Today, my DH has to ta pao 3 packets of duck rice for all of us cos there is no more meat in my freezer, plus bb can't go out for the time being.

I told her sternly that she has to cook whatever she knows/has been trained for. Just tell us what ingredients she requires, we'll buy them for her. I can tell she is very worried (of my cooking test!) cos she never really cooked in her home country cos she was working as a seamstress in a garment factory. She ate out most of the time, or cook simple meals like cup noodles...

At this point, my maid is still quite zi dong; only when we let her eat before us does she dare to do so.

Like Qiuling, I take my shower in 5 min time,
'cos Isaac will cry the whole house down when I'm briefly out of sight. I also wallop my lunch and dinner in 5-10min, whereas she can take her own sweet time cos she is not required to bbsit.

QUESTION ON MAID's FOOD: Do u buy separate packs of instant noodles, butter, bread, coffee/tea? Currently my maid eats what I eat. She hasn't got the audacity to touch my Crabtree &amp; Evelyn cookies, imported Expresso coffee and cocoa, etc. She will seek my permission to hv er lunch. I hope it stays this way...

WASH CAR: heard from the agent this is not allowd. Does your maid help to wash your car?

lilboymom: what brand is your milk bottle? wide-neck? I find SOME Avent milk bottles leak. Last nite as I was feeding Isaac, I was quite happy that he finished the milk pretty quick. But after that, I discovered his whole rompers was wet wth milk! It happened again just now...

Bigtoes: 300ml in 10min? r u using PIS? That's really a lot of milk u hv there!!! kekekeke....

NAIL cutting: I also hv the round-tip scissors. I'll cut it this weekend. Maybe ask my MIL since she is coming over to train my maid how to cook?!!!

Mei: we seem to have difficulty undressing her in the 1 pc suit so we decide to go for 2.

LC: hee..we seem to be in similar situation. There was once I was pumping and my fil just open the study room door.  Guess my mil seem to sense my displeasure, she tries to make an effort to ring the bell and then open the house door. I am quite upset by her presence (not sure why), I even told her ‘Let me try handling my daughter myself’. I am pretty happy (tiring though) to take care of bb this week as mil is not feeling well (but still at my place).
How abt holding him in upright position for a while?
I don’t think I can be full time housewife, I am missing my freedom a little bit…and I think my husband will be fedup with my daily numerous calls.

Hi storeberry, I also have a mixed hate-love feeling for my mil.

Hi sasa,
Does it help if hb tell the in-law? Actually I also realized that I do not talk so much to bb..only tell her abt her facial features, actions that I am going to take etc…hmmm…guess I better be more hardworking.
Wow..180 degrees..that’s a lot. My bb also does a lot of stretching when she wakes up, drinks milk etc..but so far, maybe less than 90 degrees.

Hi flos,
You sound really stress and should take a break.
Hope Isaac will get well soon.

Hi poppy,
During the first month, I was extremely stressed by breastfeeding and there is insufficient milk (stil does) and bb is constantly latching. I felt so tired and after some advices, I switch to expressed breast milk (more troublesome) and partial latching…this allows myself to have more time and also to enjoy the time with bb. I tried to be like my friends/colleagues who did TBF, but I guess I just have to understand my difficulties and situation and adjust differently.

Hi mandy,
My mil also call bb ‘girl girl’..i feel like teling her to call bb by name since she has already got a name,

Hi kymkym,
I agree with alabone, you are detailed.

Hi yun,
I do and I feel very guilty each time esp if it is because of me.

Bigtoes,
Wow u hv so much milk wor....me reali envy !!!

Storeberry,
Which color of Obuba nursing shawl did u buy ? Pardon my ignorance...do u mean the nursing shawl can hold the weight of bb inside ?? Don't need any other thing to strap the bb ??

bigtoes

K has a very nice big smile for u..till now,i haven managed to take any smiley pics yet..mostly sleeping photo...haha

flos

for avent bottles,most prob its because u never screw the top part back properly..take out the top part n try screw it again...it happened a few times to me oso for my FB's time n now...

alabone: eamon is still not quite himself. he wakes up easily from his sleep, usually startled and cries in his sleep. and he needs to be carried all day long! before the jab, we can leave him on the bed or rocker to play by himself for a while, but now he needs to be carried. think he was badly traumatised by the jab!

wow, so nice to be able to go shopping! I shopped for 20mins during my lunch break when I was back at work last week!
Feels so shiok!

Flos -ha ha ha..sorry tot it was EBM.
I totally understand your predicament as my little Ethan has the same problem. The whole day today, all he did was to vomit out the milk fed to him, even when i latch him.

PD has prescribed motalin for him, to be taken for 1 week, and some probiotic as well. Hubby and i are so tired out, so tonight we are taking shifts as bb refuses to sleep on his own. He just wants us to cuddle him. Am so afraid he will choke on his milk when he is puking.

Both Hubby and i also end up changing our own clothes each time he pukes as we also get drenched with his milk and the happiest creatures are ANTS, my laundry basket is laden with army of ants crawling over our clothes, so now i have 2 pails of water, one with bb drenched clothes and one with our clothes.

Its been really tiring and i hope we don't lose patience cause we keep wondering why bb is so grouchy. sigh.
I pray and hope both our bbs will get well soon.

Karen - the info is really helpful. Maybe i am overfeeding as i increased his intake to 100ml, when it should be 90ml.

Shazz - u went back to work already, 2 mths ML over?

breadmum (breadmum): I'm self-employed, no work = no income ;) plus gonna move office soon, so went back to clear stuff, but now only half day basis cos I tried full day but was very stoned cos I'm doing graveyard shift and taking care of baby myself once I get home.

Dear LC,

Ya!!! same!!! MIL calls baby 'chao barbiii' and always goes chao chao, chao chao too!!!!! I find it extremely ...!? Is your MIL hainanese??

With burping.. usually Scarlett can burp fairly quickly the first time around, but her second burp can take 10-15 minutes to come out, if putting over shoulder does not help, try patting firmly with a up-sweeping action with baby sitting on the lap, otherwise, some mummies recommend holding baby on lap in sitting position, hold the neck and swirl baby in a slow circle, if not!! ... feed some gripe water (with spoon).. and hope the air will dissolve @@

Dear Flos, angeline and rabbit..

No la..Scarlett is my first kid.. i am just following the Gina Ford's book, adjusting according to my little girl's demands, i have confidence in the routines because many have said after following her routines, their kids sleep better, faster and their colic symptoms get a lot milder, and I get more time on my hands too!

flos
hope issac is better now!
Maid's food
She eats what we eat most of the time but for breakfast she has her own bread and jam. (I can't be giving her organic bread and wild blueberry jam!)
I also told her she can't have my organic fruits. How I got her to know that she can't have everything we have:
I started off telling her what she cld eat from the fridge, like this you can eat this one. (Meaning: you can;t have others if I dun say so)
Or when we have certain fruits/dessert/etc I set aside some for her: These pieces are for you (Meaning: You do not help yourself as and when you like)
But my maid is quite smart so she gets the point fast and nowadays she is auto on what she can or cannot have. Other than that, she eats the same things we do at lunch and dinner.
She buys her own biscuits and snacks(those filipino types she prefers) but I'll buy her ice-cream, soursop ice jelly etc when we go out, and she's included in restaurant meals (I pick a few or several items depending on the price and let her choose from that range). If restaurant is too ex, I dun bring her along. At food court, I give her $5 and let her buy waht she wants.

LC, kym kym
dun be too offended by the chao barbi thingy. It's their way of expressing their affection. okie, mebbe i'm biased cos my grandmother (teochew) took care of me when i was young and she wld call me that too! So i have nothing but pleasant memories of that term and occasionally call isabelle that too cos it reminds me of my happy childhood and the close bond i shared with my grandmother (who has passed away). She used to call me "nek nek" too (meaning flesh/meat, I think it meant that i was part of her precious flesh???)
But I hate my aunty to call my gabbie "girl girl". Though I dun tell her to stop that cos she loves me lots and bought me many many things when I was a kid.
But I draw the line on PILs IMPOSING their opinions on upbringing matters on me though. I hate that and I will not budge.
And I will protest if they use obscene terms. Had a grandaunty who used to call me "chao chee lok" when I was young. I complained to my mother. Now that is OFFENSIVE!!!!!!

bigtoes
kieran looks so happy and cute!
U didn't pump for 8 hrs? Careful cos you cld get blocked ducts from that if 8 hrs exceeds your usual interval. This happened to me when isabelle was a mth old and i went out to eat dimsum and missed my 3 hr interval expression! And the silly blocked duct lasted for more than a mth!
This time round I have programmed my boobs to get full at 5 to 6 hrs and super full (engorged) only at 7 to 8 hrs.

isabelle
obscene terms! HAHAAH! I actually call my kids "smelly boos" and "chowchow" as terms of endearment too :p but "smelly" more as "nice smelling" (altho sometimes referring to that baby 'chow sui' smell after waking up and before bathing which I just lurve...crazy mommy hormones maybe...

I also don't like my kids being called "boyboy" and "girl girl" ...even worse "ah boi" and "gerger"...just personal preference as i know some of you ladies here call your kids that...please don't take offense!!

My dad used to call my son "Chicken Leong" as he was quite timid at some things, but Adan protested that he is not a chicken, and he is now called Tiger Leong (my dad even bought a Tiger T-shirt with "Tiger Leong" printed on the back for him! LOL)

Let's see what my daughters end up being called. My dad used to call my sister "little slug"....hmmm.

my baby is back on her sleepy spells again .... been sleeping since yday 12 noon till now, of cos wakes up for milk n bathing. but bsides that is sleeping! is there anything wrong with her? will she bcos hyper-active once this spell is over?

For those stocking up on EBM, how many packets is necessary before we go bak to work? actually i rather express on a daily rather than using frozen EBM.

Isabelle: my grandma used to call me that too! hee, yes, it reminds me of fond memories too. My CL, my mum and MIL all call my son that term too! I imagined if my granny is still around, she would call him that too.

lok , paid using ATM already , trans ref 4084 ...

my MIL also called my FB " chou Pi " and nw called zenneth " chow seng" .. I am okay with it as long as she take care of their basic need like food and cleaniness ... keke .. other than that i think i am okay .. cos my kids still know that i call them by their names and they will of course have a prefernce to what they will be called when they grow up and correct their grandparents .. keke ..

I was not online these few days cos school is very busy ... have meetings till 6pm yesterday .. and gosh so embaressed at yesterday meeting .... We haev meeting from 2 pm and discussion in classroom was then carried out. Was told to head back to the LT to continue the mass meeting and by then 430 pm i need to express my milk cos quite long since 12 pm and i dunno how long the meeting was suppose to end .. hmm .. so i escaped out and when to the toilet to do my important business ... what happened was that the principal decided to throw dice to chose the presenting group .. and my group was chosen .. keke.. was in the toillet then and i am suppose to be the presenter .. therfore my gp leader when up to present and announced to 150 teachers that i have imprtant stuff to attend to .. hmm .. so when i came back in the middle of his presentation , everyone turn their eyes on me .. so embarassing ..

for those mummies heading for work ...all i can say is it is so tiring after a week of work ... cos school is full day ( i came home at lunch hour to deliver my expressed milk cos not enough milk for zenneth and he refused FM ) and rush back till 6 pm .. maddening .. cos after that play with FB and put him to sleep by 9 pm .. by the time , i dun even have time/ energy for 2nd bb ... cos 2nd one will be sleeping and i am very sleepy too .. cos school starts at 7 again and i have to wake up at 6 to pump milk again .. super tiring ..
teachers out there .. next week is not the last day man .. we are asked to report to school till 14th nov and principal said to HOD that we are suppose to be busy doing things , else allocate some cleaning up for dept duties for us .. sianZ ..

Lok ,
your maid with u for only 3-4 mths right .. my maid mention it to me that day when we went over. Hmm ,i noticed that when they sit down and eat , they dun care what the kids are doing and they must stop eating immediately to attend to the kids first. overall i just close one eye if zac is still within her sight .. cos cannot be expecting too much from them .. but however if zac ran out of sight she must stop what she is doing .. be it housework or eating and pull zac back first .. that is what i expect at least .. sh eis employed to look after my kids .. house work not priority ..

storeberry (storeberry), breadmum (breadmum)

i'm glad tat the information helps.
but according to the doc, it applies for formula milk.
if breastmilk, baby will tend to wake up earlier for next feed.
so got to adjust and be flexible abit with the amount/time needed.

any remedy to clean baby's tongue? Charlotte's milk-stained tongue is a real headache...super stubborn!! I've been trying to clean her tongue but the residue is still there. Am worried it is milk thrush...cleaned with guaze, fed her water...but still difficult to remove..

hi, kym

my mil is a hokkien and she used to tell people i gave birth to a lan pa kia.. Faintz.........

Sitting upright doesn't really help too.. and strangely, he burp well when latch on and not when bottled fed. but baby fart quite a lot..

Hi, sunrays

u can try putting some salt in the cool boiled water to clean chalotte's tongue. just a little..

Hi, quiling

agree with wat u said abt maid on putting the kids as priorty over housework..

my sil's maid once cooked maggie mee for my nephew who was then 2 yrs + to eat..I happened to be ard and was shocked. somehow i felt there should be some supervision over the maid..

<font color="0077aa">LC: AIyoo. your MIL have alot of nicknames for your bb! But the "LPK" quite offensive!

Millie: I bought the chocolate gerber daisy one. No, the nursing shawl is not for you to hold baby, its just a piece of cloth to cover you &amp; baby when you are BF-ing, you put the shawl over you &amp; from the neck hole you will be able to see baby as well.

Shazz: Zane hasn't been sleeping well yday as well, he hasn't gone for the jab yet.. He gets startled easily &amp; from 5am started fussing till morning.. So tired!

Am bringing baby out later to meet my frens for dinner and if hubby can come back in time to go together, if not I will be bringing baby alone! Excited!</font>

Flos,
I let my maid eat anything in the house cos I only buy cheap stuff.. LOL.. hmm, but my maid eats little and she is not the type who wants to eat snacks etc.. so far my maid has been here for almost a month, and the only thing that i buy exclusively for her is milo cos she only drinks that. she doesn't take coffee or tea.. and told me she seldom take cold drinks. so she also doesn't take all my cold can drinks or fruit juice etc. I haven't brought her out of the house before and the few times we don't cook, we buy those packet mixed-veg rice for her. I have gone out of the house twice so far for dinner, me, hubby and my boy.. we buy a packet of rice for her to eat before we leave.. she stays at home alone to take care of my baby girl. So far so good.

Storeberry,
so funny your last statement.. excited to bring baby out alone! Enjoy your adventure!

Sunrays,
My friends told me u can buy a type of solution from chinese medical hall to clean baby's tongue. I m not sure what is it called.. but u tell them u want to clean baby's tongue and they will know what is it. Think it's a few dollars a bottle. But i have never used that before for my elder boy and don't think i will use it for my baby girl too.

We normally just wrap a small wet towel around our finger and clean the baby's tongue. Most of the websites say baby's tongue is self-cleaning.. so maybe don't have to clean too much bah.

quiling/isa/autum/lok: thks for your feedback. At the food court, I let her pick her stall, I swipe the card and make her queue for her own food, while i go order my own food...I told her to always bring along her own mineral water bottle, cos beverages can be costly in orchard area.

So far, I hv let her cook my nongshin, nissin and other more 'expensive' instant noodles. should i segregate my instant noodles too?

She has been washing and washing and washing non-stop, as soon as someone finishes using a mug, a glas, etc....my mil scolded her for wasting our water when she could've waited for all plates &amp; cups to be ready for mass-washing.

I offered her my ritter chocolates ytd and she loved it!!! i hope she doesn't finish up all my ritter sports in the fridge!

autum: leave her alone w/ your bb girl??

LC: Now become 'lan pa kia'?????????????!!!!! she is really 'traditional'!!!!

Ava: i also dislike ah ger, ah boy!

Angeline: We did screw the cap properly. maybe it's just that onecap? hehe...

sunrays: i use sterile gauze wrapped around my finger to clean his tongue. I also hv the chinese oral wash (small yellow box) Autum talked abt, but i dun use it.

flos

hmm..wonder how to explain...hmm...i oso thought i screw properly liao..but it will still leak...most prob is the 'alignment'? parts? haha...just recrew again..so now norm after i make the milk,will turn the bottle upside down once to see if it leaks...

hi mummies ,
back from gymboree ... yah .. the sibling gets free trial lesson from 0-6 mths .. hmm .. so if nearer to the date we want to organise private lessons , hmm some might need to pay ba ... maybe in december/ january when teh little one are big enough ?

Maid ,
i let her eat everything in the fridge .. as long as she is hungry.. but she is consious of her figure and weight .. and she always say she ate too much .. "kind off we over fed her ".. haha .. she is single and says she plans to get married after the two years here .. so guess she might need to slim down .. i told her looking after my zac will slim her down .. keke ..

Flos - from the posts, u seem to be sounding better. Hope it continues on an upward trend!!! Glad u had a break....a magnum sounds good!!

Poppy / all mummies - I understand the frustrations / mummy blues. I am rather pragmatic about things ... if I have to go out, will supplement his one meal with FM (I don't have enough EBM). I am also not fanatical with having to wash / sterilise things....for my pump, I only sterilise once after my 2 pumping sessions at night.

For me, putting him to bed at night is about the toughest part of the day. It took us (btw my husband and I) 2 hours last night. It's our practise session as our CL is leaving tomorrow.
Really have no life. I can foresee that post dinner, that's our ritual - trying to put him to sleep. sigh. It's such a departure from our "carefree" life as a couple. No TV ...can't even read a book as we try to put him to sleep in his own darkened nursery.

Maid - I also let her eat everything leh. Brought her along for farewell brunch (for CL) at french restaurant today as well. I think maybe dinner out for her once a month is ok? Our aim is to try to go out mostly without her (but with the baby).

Let's see how that plan pans out.

Used the nursing bib and pilko P3 for the first time. Quite successful I must say. Gives me more confidence re bringing him out. Another outing tomorrow for my friend's birthday lunch. I hope all 3 of us can enjoy it.

kymkym - I am also trying to put the baby into the routine but sometimes he just refuses to sleep at the nap times. He gets most cranky at bed-time (ie around 7pm)....
Last night, he was cranky from 8pm to 10pm and finally my husband held him to sleep for half an hour before we could put him down on his cot.

Has anyone mastered how to put baby down into cot without waking him up again?