(2008/09) Sep 2008

Sasa,
Do u agree with me that no matter how grouchy or super cranky our boy is but once he flashes you with that mega watt smile, out of sudden you will just forgot how "bad" our boy treat us? Haha. I feel like that...
I dunno if he's really "smiling" at me cos sometimes after he pooed, i'll exclaimed "wah u poo again?". then he'll have the wide smile and look at me. I just felt like he's started to smile n understand me.
I cannot imagine if i gone back to work and when my boy came bk from his caregivers, would he still be close to me or not...

<font color="0000ff">Mandy
Agree whole-heartedly. But i've to admit, my boy hasn't flashed mi the super mega-watt smile YET!!!!! juz looking at him makes my heart melt

After going thru so much juz to have him, they are our little precious gems no matter wat they do, how notti they are</font>

hi bigtoes,

thanks on the info on EBM. dr was telling me direct bf best cos emb loses some nutrients. guess i must have misunderstood.

hi sasa,
u must be feeling terrible. maybe u can try to have some private time with bb after work? i don't think i can be a SAHM. my bb also don't know how to smile at me. i saw this article abt bb smile http://www.babycenter.com/404_my-7-week-old-doesnt-smile-yet-whats-wrong_2598.bc

hi bigtoes,
i am envious of your ms. how did u manage it?

hi lok,
heard that ic has good reviews in forum.

hi autumn,
thanks for all the info....still undecided abt maid/ic/nanny. my sis feels that i shd go for ic coz of my character.

lok, autum: woww, they are v far from my house and workplace.

hi goldfish,
hope everything turns out well...may all our little ones be healthy n happy.

<font color="0077aa">LC &amp; Goldfish: Will also be using Lock&amp;Lock container &amp; put boiling waer to sterilise my pump. But don't know whether should bring the Pigeon bottle detergent cos BM is oily...

Goldfish: Glad that Ethan is home! It must be so tough for you! Jia you!

Infant care: If Infant care is really $380 then its worth considering.. But now MIL is here at my place, cannot tell her 8mths later, I am not planning for you to take care of my baby?? Cos I think no stimulation from MIL since she has to take care of my nephew also.

Sasa: I am also afraid that my MIL / part time nanny will not be able to engage my baby. How to tell them must play music, talk to bb? Haiz.. I also feel like not going back to work &amp; to take care of him full-time but finances don't allow..

hi ladies, i need some advice.. my bb only sleeps well when put him on tummy...and i need to peep at him at all time ...i know its dangerous but no choice... only night time he is very tired .. we swaddle him and put him on his back....do any1 have this probelm toO?

<font color="0000ff">Rabbit
Oh yes.. i spend all my time once I go back home on him / talking &amp; playing with him, until he decides to fall asleep. Hb even commented he's amazed at how come I have so many things to say to him.

Hhhmm... How old is ur little one now? Mine is already 2 mths...

Storeberry / Rabbit
You know, i actually TOLD my MIL to tell maid to talk n play with Max more often. Guess wat was her reply? They dunno wat to talk to him about. Faintz!!!!! I realli cannot stand it manz...

Hopefully every nite my session with him is useful.</font>

sasa, storeberry,

sometimes even when our ILs or even our own parents say will engage with our kids, you also dunno what our parents will "tell" the kids. Sekali all the vulgar or other lang which u dun wan your kids to exposed to, and your kids learnt it from our parents or ILs.

That's why i feel it's still good to teach and engage with our kids ourselves. so at least easier to monitor what lang we expose our kids to. I feel like quitting my job and take care of him till he's one yr old then i re-join the workforce...

hi sasa,
my hubby says the same thing when i tell him to talk to bb but he spends all his time carrying her etc except talk. i am an inexperience mum, how abt getting some toys and get them to play with bb? my mil has lots to talk to bb (more than us - the parents) and always tell bb to call her and fil. i think u must be missing your bb very much. i guess i will be like you. mine is now 7 weeks..you may like to go thru the list of things that bb shd do as mentioned in health booklet.

hi jane,
we have the same problem. have been checking but cannot find any solution. some people suggest to me to use the yaolan or pacifier but i have not done it. i am constantly watching her when she sleep and don't quite dare to sleep as well...so can understand how u feel.

hi storeberry, can advise how much is your part time nanny? i called up and they tell me can cost around 1k. it is quite ex.

I've finally got time to browse thru the posts! I'm like attending to Isaac every hourly...he has been latching on and drinking the orange glucose PD prescribed to him. I'm really dead beat

FRESH BLOOD: I suddenly got fresh blood after starting TBF again. Is that normal?

Qiuling: I missed ur early morning post abt your maid. She is really taking things for granted I can tell! As much as I'd like my maid to take care of Isaac solely, I fret that her hands will not be clean after cleaning the poo, and worry that Isaac will not like her after-housework armpit sweat and BO! In fact, I tried to let her try for 50ml bottle feed and Isaac resisted! LOL.

Anyway, I'm slowly handing over to her the changing of clothes and diapers. She needs to be scolded sometimes. Eg when she was wiping Isaac's poo, Isaac 'merlioned' and in her panic, she used the same dirtied hand to pull out the tissue paper to wipe his mouth!

This morning, there was a miscomm between me and her. I told her 'no toast for me today' after seeing that she toasted my DH's bread. I said I wanted only cold ham &amp; butter (for my sandwich), &amp; no Italian spices pls. So funny...she prepared a butter-coated piece of cold ham on my plate and served me with out the two slices of bread! LOLOLOL.

MOPPING: I don't require her to mop daily either, but she just feels bad not being of any help to M'am, so she wakes up earl to mop my floor. I no longer vacuums my floor cos it'll wake Isaac up... Anyone doesn't hv that problem?

I just finished teaching her how to cook another dish. Aiyo...was complaining to my DH that I'm like babysitting Isaac all by myself, and dictating the recipe and cooking instructions to her from the living room! Told her to jot down step by step when Isaac's asleep, otherwise I've no time to guide her.

NEXT TIME, get a maid before you give birth! Dun end up like me!

flos: could it be that your menstruation resumed? yeah, training a maid is tough but there are pros and cons to getting the maid prior to your delivery versus after. Cos you may have to park your maid somewhere for training while you're at work, if not, it would be maid watching tv at home, while you're slogging away at work before you're due! The best scenario is when you have mum or mil who is at home to train the maid. I think your maid is pretty good so far yah? she sounds promising, just need to have patience!

Sleep training: I'm so happy that the training is working! My boy's crying, whining has cut down to 5 mins and he's sleeping by himself now. I hope this can be extended into his daytime naps too, but his grandparents are sure to attend to him when he cries! sigh ...

rabbit
bbs have it at their foreheads and somewhere at the back of their heads. cuz their skulls not fused yet. so best not to give pressure on these two areas.

Flos
wow, at least your maid understands such complex breakfast making. spices and such...impressed leh...

o yah, to replace vacuum, use the magic mop. thats what we;ve been using after having the kiddoes, though hb would very much want to use his hepa cleaner...

sasa
i went through what you did. i just stopped work and take care of my son full time. but of course, it was easier decision for me then coz he was having major weight issue and eating 'disorder'...

yes whenever im at work, i worry over my boy then. it's like im so half hearted at work, and at home, im only giving my son my 'leftover time'...so pissed one day so decided to call it a day for my work!

wingkei
actually if cost is an issue, many PDs wouldnt reccom you take prevenar if your bb is not going IC or CC. just take it when she needs to go...

Thanks everyone on the sterilisation tip.

LC - i use Pigeon bottles to freeze EBM as well. So far so good.

Baby and i have been alone these last few days, its been tiring and i hardly get to go to the toilet. Just yesterday, when i had to go to the toilet, he wail at the top of his voice. I cannot be bringing him when i go to the toilet mah. I guess we have to live with the wail.

The good news is that my rashes is clearing up. Am so glad i can start on my massage again as my tummy is still big, like 2 months preganant. Anyone with emergency c- sect, started to massage on tummy?

EBM
Flos - blood : better not feed baby with it.
I only know from my lactating consultant that if we express, minimal is 3 hours interval at lest to get the flow. If you had stopped totally, then better to start latching first.Best if you consult the experts though.

sasa,
don't get upset, cos it could be that your MIL/maid really doesn't know what to say or how to engage baby.. maybe u can write down a daily plan of what u would like them to do or say. Such as play certain CD or show flash card to the baby etc. something like that.

wingkei,
like what lilboymum said, u can delay Pneumoccocal jab.. the older the baby, the less jabs he needs so will be less costly. for my boy, even though I send him to Infant Care and now Child Care, I haven't let him take yet. I only intend to let him take the Pn jab after 2yrs old. By then, he only needs 1 jab. But of course, the earlier u let your child take, the earlier the protection starts.

Flos,
your no-toast story is funny! by the way, vaccuum won't wake your baby if he is sound asleep. initially i also didn't let my maid vacuum. but the other day, i told her to try once and my girl wasn't affected. Just move baby away from the room that u want to vac.

Hi, sasa

It must be heart pain for you.. no sad. hugz hugz!! You have night time to catch up to engage with your baby.. I always talk to my baby cos I know I will have very little time with him afterI go back home.. youjust talk to your baby when ever you can. I am sure your baby will smile at you very soon and nothing is stronger than the bond which mother and baby shares..

swaddling - may I know if any of u still swaddle ur baby to sleep? My baby has heat rash so we don't swaddle him but it doesn't help his sleep as he stretches and wakes himself up due to the space around him....

Does anyone use a sleeping bag type thingy? If so, where do u get one? I need a light weight and airy one so baby doesn't over heat.

I need some listening ears.

I feel very stress and depress. Whenever I think of my CL leaving, I became very grumpy and feel very down. I use to like children alot but now, having a child of my own jus turns me off. the thought of feeding, changing diaper, bathing, waking up in the middle of the night jus make me feel depress. I have never expect i would react this way. up till now, I have not handle my baby myself. What add on to my stress is my 3 hour interval of pumping session. Not enough sleep oso .

It is till yesterday that I had almost 40 degree of engorgement fever. now left breast pain like hell. went see doc and was told that i had inflammation. The pain that I am having now really makes me want to stop feeding BM for my baby.

I have been feeling depress and stress for the past few weeks. wondering what I can do to make me happy again.. dun like to feel so grumpy and sad..

breadmum: Regarding fresh blood, I was referring to my period, not from the EBM!! kekeke

Is that normal?

shazz: is it possible that by the 6th week, our period would resume? I've just started to latch 100% again ytd...what could be the cause of it? I'm wearing pads again!

lilboymom/autum: yeah, it is actually more complicated than that, cos I didn't request for the cheese this morning:p

lanolin: I got mine from FFY. My brand is Halo. Alas, my boy doesn't like sleeping in a sleep sack...But I'm trying to train him to sleep in one, cos his tummy is always exposed to the aircon in my room when his trousers got 'kicked down' by himself.

DIAPER SIZE: just wanna compare notes. What size is your bb wearing now? Isaac's thighs are getting fatter, so I might need to change to Pampers Active BB L size.

CHANGING MILK POWDER: I went to buy Nan HA+ just now and got scolded by DH for switching FM brands when I got home (I went alone). I had to walk back to the supermkt to switch back to Enfalac A+. Was thinking HA will be more suitable for my bb cos its got Bifidus? DH fed Isaac 30ml by 30ml (smaller feeds) of Enfalac and Isaac consumed it without vomitting, so DH concluded it wasn't the FM problem. IT was 1) overfeeding coupled with prolonged feeding (30-45min cos Isaac is fussy drinker) which causes the second half of the milk to turn cold (esp when we were feeding in the malls), hence causing his to suffer from stomach upset...

sasa de mouse: what did ur mom's PD say abt NAN HA+? ur boy is not rejecting it rite?

lanolin (lanolin) : hi, im still swaddle my boy at night..he cant sleep well without...now the problem is daytime he is sleeping on his tummy and tat helps his rashes to clear and he sleeps very well 2.5-4hrs but i have to be there all time .

Rabbit (rebirth) : hehe...i have everything... he doesnt like yaolan ...his 1st few time cry like mad....i need to be there too (yao yao loh, not a good idea) now put him in he sleeps awhile but tummy sleep better... he is using pacifier too... daytime i dun swaddle him .. too hot...his heat rash will be back.

Dear poppy,

I think we are all like you at some pt in time, although I did not have a CL, i did have a MIL.. after the birth of my girl, i became very very posessive, and did not like anything my MIL did, I would complain to my HB and sometimes even cried. My MIL would rock my baby, feed whenever she cries (which caused her to be overfed), get nervous and sweaty whenever my girl cries.. i hated the way she tried to boss over my baby and over me, i felt so stressed that someone is there to control my life when even my own mother don't dare say another word.

In the early weeks, i was pumping every 2-3hrs, feeding every 2-3 hrs.. and i dosed off every single time i pump (had to pump 45mins each time), i was so stressed out and so tired, blaming myself for allowing my MIL have the say in how i take care of my baby... so i ended up doing all the changing, bathing, waking and pumping on my own, i had not slept a wink for 3 nights in a row 3 weeks ago because my girl was crying so badly due to colic problems, and i even got into a heated argument with my HB because we just could not take the crying anymore and my PIL were madly asking whats wrong whats wrong when there is no answer for the crying, i simply snapped..

After crying and slamming my HB, I felt that i must take my life back, and i started to adjust my habits a little.. instead of pumping in the dark beside baby, i took the pump to the study, lock the door and surfed the net while pumping, i also locked the door everytime i feed my baby, i also make it a point to bathe my baby before my MIL wakes up to make sure she get minimal access to my girl, I will bring my girl to my mother's place everytime i could and I would bring her out to the park every chance i got. Once i started to get into a routine, things became better and not so unbearable.. I make sure i read the papers and buy fashion magazines and eat all the bird's nest that were given by relatives to make myself feel like i am still human..

so Pop, try to take it easy on yourself, buy some cabbage for your engorgement, drink more water to flush out the toxins still in your body, sleep whenever the baby sleeps, take more warm showers, baby will grow a little every day no matter how, think to yourself that its only 50 or 60 more days before baby will sleep through the night and your breast milk will start to become stable, and on top of that, baby will start to take solids and not require so much milk anymore, by then you'll be out shopping and bringing baby to babygym for some fun!

Swaddling:

I went back to swaddling 2 days ago, both day and nights during nap times (aircon full blast whole day!!) or when she is fussy, still in the midst of testing if my girl will take to it and settle down.. currently.. cry and cry and cry!!!

She has been sleeping on her tum tum every night and i am starting to worry because i can't make sure she is safe enough since she is able to turn her head left and right now, and on top of that SIDS peaks during 2nd - 4th months! Better not take chances..

lanolin
I stopped swaddling Devon when he was about 2 weeks old as he always struggles out of it. Now I let him wear those buttoned-down one-piece sleepsuit from MotherCare. He doesn't need a blanket &amp; we sleep in air-con room. I place a beansprout pillow over his chest so he doesn't get startled so easily.

I did buy a sleep sack but mine's from 6 months onwards so will only use it then. Got mine from www.thedreambag.co.uk

Flos
I stopped letting Devon wear separates to sleep as he also kicks until his pants drop down like Isaac. Maybe try the one piece from MotherCare? Changing diapers is also a breeze in the middle of the night due to the opening at the bottom area. I got the bundle pack from Mothercare, 3 sleepsuits, 3 rompers, 2 pairs of mittens, 1 pair of booties &amp; 1 hat for only $49.90. Here's how the sleepsuit looks like.

1819038.jpg

Devon is wearing Mamy Poko Size S now.

hi jane and lanolin,
my bb had heat rash during the first few weeks, we swaddle her and let her sleep in aircon. but i try to restrict swaddle to night time with aircon. i m keeping my finger crossed that she will want to be swaddled and sleep on her back at night else i will die of exhaustion watching her. does anyone know if this kind of sleeping pattern will pass?

hi poppy and kymkym,
i feel the same too..and am really guilty for just wanting to get away from my bb (the thought still surface whenever i cannot tahan). kymkym: i can understand that feeling abt mil ;). i feel much better to be able to take care bb on my own. it feels great to be in control but i feel extremely tired. i am trying to do things that i like except my mil is constantly in my house and this really gets onto my nerves (yet sometimes i appreciate her presence, conflicting feeling).

poppy: i feel very scared, stressed and helpless when CL left. but it will get better especially after u goes thru each day and gain confidence.

hi lilboymum, thanks. will take note.

rabbit
Thanks for your compliments on my son.

Yes, very easy coz we just unbutton the bottom part, slot his legs out &amp; change diapers. Much easier than pulling the pants on &amp; off.

Morning, Poppy..
Think positively.. like what Kym said we go thr this at one point or another.. Me have the same feeling as you.. I even cried when my CL was about to leave and we hugged and cried.. and after she left, I have to take care of baby by myself, cook my own meals, and do some housework.. and everyday almost the same routine.. change diaper, feeding, pumping, bathing the baby and patting him to sleep.. it might be hormones in you too that causes part of your depressed mode.. it will take some time for your hormones to be back to normal. try to enjoy all these changing of diaper, latching on and bathing the baby and carrying the baby cos soon it will be over and I am sure you will miss this part of your life.. Smile.. and take care..

Hi Rabbit

My MIL is also constantly in my house.. And eveytime she came, I just feel negative. am trying hard to think postively for the sake of my hubby cos dun wan him to feel sandwiched.. trying very hard cos certain things she did and said are bad..and she came without calling and there was once I was braless after a shower and want to pump milk and then she was here and yelling outside the door and I have to scramble to put on my bra and open door for her..told my hubby this and guess what my MIL said? She said go daughter-in-law's house why must call?! My goodness! It might be hormonal thingy that plays a part at that point. now I am seeing things more open but still can;t stand her calling my baby "chao barbi" (smelly pig)..

So are you becoming full time housewife to take care of your baby?

<font color="0000ff">Rabbit
I already put a playgym at MIL house for him to play. They have nvr once put it there for him when he's awake. Each time I'm there.. i will try to let him play with it. den PILs will mention "He doesn't noe how to play with it yet lah". Irritated. There muz always be a 1st time rite. If we nvr try, how would we noe??

Flos
Yeah.. perhaps ur menses has resumed??

To give my boy Nan HA was my mum's decision coz of the HA component. hhmm... so far it's ok for him leh. He had stomachache (which i think is colic) twice. Realli noe its stomachache coz his forehead was realli cold. So i'm not sure if its the milk. In fact i think Max prob enjoys the FM more than EBM. Seems to drink FM faster according to maid.

Shazz
wow.. looks like ur training is working...

l'lCY
i hope to do tat too.. but den who's gonna supplement income..
and i think my PIL esp my FIL will surely comment again. Surely say I'm crazy to wanna do that and say it's not necessary de. Den MIL will start to comment, last time oso left her son with the maid, blah blah blah... u noe how businessman think lah..

Autumn
I tot its very natural. Just tell bb things that u see.. or juz talk abt the day. sighz... my FIL once commented he feels so silly talking to my bb, coz he doesnt noe how to respond yet. FIL say "He dunno how to talk yet, i go crazy already", sighz... i dun see myself going crazy by talking to him everyday

LC
yah.. i have onli nite time to talk n engage him. Thankfully he seems to noe.. so he's wide awake when we bring him home at abt 9pm. Technically speaking.. i spend abt an hour or so talking n playing with him every nite b4 he starts to fuss and want to slp. but he onli falls asleep at around 11+ / 12.. aarrgghhh...

Poppy Tay
hugz.. it's juz a phase of getting used to. I used to think like u.. n broke down a few times, coz juz couldn't get used to the hang of things. Perhaps u wanna delay ur pumping to every 4 hrly? den at least u have more time of ur own?

Hopefully ur engorgement is better le. Like what Kym mentioned.. get some cabbage to ease ur engorgement but rem not to put them on for too long k.. else it would decrease ur ss

Mei
Agree with the 1pc suit.. it's so much more convenient and bb seems to be more comfortable in it too.

It does help esp when my boy is like some gymnast when he's sleeping.. stretches like nobody's business. And he turns in his slp. Twice already.. i found that he turned 180 degrees while sleeping... weird boy.. haha</font>

Poppy,
i know if i suggest this, many BF mums will flame me.. but if u think it will help with your sanity, how about u stop BF (breastfeeding/pumping). I had the same dread and depression when I had my first baby.. about pumping etc. I admit I am not perservering enough about BF but things got to a point when i cried everyday.. and I felt that if I ki-siao, it's not going to help me and my baby. After I made the decision to stop BF, I suddenly felt free and a whole lot better. I enjoyed my baby a lot more and I felt more at peace with myself.

You have to make the decision and again, I know it's not good advice that I am giving. But my point is, do what you think is best for you and best for your baby. Don't worry or think so much about others. If u have the determination to continue BF, then seek help medically, massage your breast more, buy cabbage etc.. call and talk to friends and do what Kym suggests.. have a routine. If u think u cannot continue BF, then stop and don't feel guilty.

Happy mama = happy baby

Mei,
I love one-pc suits.. I bot so many of them for my firstborn and I let him wear till he was like 8months old.. hee, now i can recyle them for my baby girl.

Sasa,
our parents generation different from our generation.. last time people don't really talk/stimulate their babies and last time babies are not so active.. so probably that's why your FIL finds it weird to talk to baby.

Yeeee,
LC, how can ur MIL call ur BB like tat? I already cannot stand my MIL calling my boy "ah boy". why can't they call him by full name? call ah boy very cute mah? nxt time when he 30yrs old, still call ah boy mah????

ya!!! my MIL also calls my baby 'chao barbi', why do they do that!!?? makes the baby become nicer smelling??? (oldies like to say opposite things..)

<font color="0077aa">Lanolin, not swaddling baby when he is about 4weeks old. Cos we did not on the aircon &amp; he perspire alot so decided not to swaddle him.

LC/Autum/Sasa: I also try to talk to bb very often, play music, sing to him, tell stories cos I know once I start work I prob don't have the time.. Sob sob! Today I just did an evil thing by gossiping MIL to baby! Haha!</font>

Mei: Devon looks lovely in that one-piece. I totally agree with u, but given that Isaac is puking very frequently, I need to change his top very very often cos the milk flows down his cheek to his ear to his neck to his collar. In some cases, when he merlions, the projection of his puke is frontal, so I cannot possibly remove the entire MC romper quick enuff.

I'll consider buying that MC romper after he's receovered! THKS DEAR!

Isaac also has the beansprout pillow over his tummy at night. The whole family sleeps in the same aircon room together.

poppy

sorry to hear abt your present state of mind. i was the opp. couldn't wait for my CL to get the hell out of my place!

does ur DH help u out? any MIL/mom/maid to support u?

my DH will be travelling next week, so I pray hard that Isaac will recover by this weekend, else I'm gonna breakdown. felt so helpless and lost just now at 8pm when my 60ml of FM got puked out by him again...wanted to cry then thought i must be strong, else my bb will 'suffer/be neglected' if mommy is emotionally and mentally falling apart!

I've been feeding almost every hr, not 3 hrly anymore. And practically every time, my bb would puke, and this leaves me feeling inadequate, unaccomplished and incompetent as a mom.

So upset I was that I went out immediately after my DH came home (to take over the nite shift) to buy a Magnum for myself
It was really nice taking a slow walk outside my place at nite...I need some rest now...anyway, just come to the forum and rant when u dun feel good...*hugzzzzz* We'll all get by...it's just part and parcel of parenthood.

Storeberry,
haha.. gossip abt MIL to your baby! hmm, but better dun do too often k.. sekali your boy has super memory, then next time he grow up he tell his grandma! :p

re: Aircon
mummies, sorry to kaypoh but i read that quite a few of you sleep in aircon room with babies. my personal view is, please try to minimise aircon for your baby. Aircon is a main culprit to a lot of respiratory problems for small children (coughing, wheezing, sneezing etc.) Also, please remember to always wear socks for your babies..

<font color="0077aa">Poppy: Don't be too hard on yourself yah? if really too painful to BF then feed formula? We are not wonder woman so no need everything to be perfect. I had negative thots about not being a good mum sometime back but had recover from it. Thanks to the advice here! So feel free to come in &amp; rant!

Changing diaper in one peice is alot easier then separates!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Mandy &amp; Autum: Haha!! I only did it today cos couldn't stand that my MIL focuing all her attention on my nephew &amp; ignoring my bb! I was sweeping the floor &amp; bb cried &amp; she can cpontinue carrying my nephew &amp; tell my bb that: "Your mummy is busy, wait hor.." Aiyoo!!! But sometimes I appreciate her being here for me.. Conflicting lor.

Flos: I know its heartpain when seeing Issac merlion-ing. Take care!

My fren just told me need to learn to let go sometimes cos when we go back to work, can't be with bb 24/7.

Flos::::

I am feeding Scarlett Friso Comfort (Enfalac AR also can) for vomitting and colicky babies, you want to try?

I also bought the breastfeeding donut pillow from kiddy palace and i let Scarlett sit in it upright after every feed and when she naps, maybe you can try too!!? She's better now (been 2 days)!

My routine is this:
Feed Times
7.00am-8.00am 120ml
10.30am-11.30am 120ml
2.00pm-3.00pm / 2.30pm-3.30pm 120ml
5.00pm-5.45pm 90ml
6.15pm-7.00pm 90ml
10.30pm-11.30pm 120ml
3.00am-3.30am/4.00-4.30am 90ml

Bath / Wash up Time
8.00am-9.00am (BATH)
5.45pm-6.15pm (WASH)

Nap Times
9.00am-10.00am Day
11.30am-2.00pm / 2.00pm-2.30pm Day
4.15pm- 6.15pm/ 5.00pm- 6.15pm Day
7.00pm-10.00pm/10.30pm Day
11.30pm-3.00am/4.00am Night
3.30am/4.00am- 7.00am Night

Play Times
10.00am- 10.30am
3.00pm- 3.45pm/ 3.30pm- 4.15pm

Offer Water
9.00am 20ml
3.45pm/ 4.15pm 30ml
1.00am/ 5.00am 20ml

Been putting her on this routine for 2 days since her puking and crying, seems to work for now! less cry, less puke, more settled, maybe you can try too!?

Scarlett is 7 weeks and 4 days old, 5.4kg, swaddled for every nap and sleep, water temperature is 40 degrees for all feeds and water offers (i buy heinz pear juice and mix water 20ml to 20ml juice), i use pigeon peristaltic nipples M size, burped twice every feed, one feed is 1/2 hr, will reheat FM if gone cold (once only), also got a suspension medicine from my PD for her puking which she takes twice a day

tsktsk...What's this 'chao barbi' term of 'endearment'? let's be politically correct here in this public forum leh...

lok: hv u got my payment yet?

kym: breastfeeding donut pillow? how to make bb sit upright?

autum: but my son is a sweat king!!! he gets agitated when he is in discomfort and will not drink his milk or snooze...

sasa: i think my menses is here...

bacon: thks!! i hope i've been a good mom too, a less adventurous mom!!! 2 more weeks to his 6-in-1 jab...

storeberry: well, just ignore her comments... my PIL's place has a few of my SIL's son's 12R photos on display, and toys...i dun really care if they dote on the other baby...my bb has my DH and me to love him, that's good enuff!

My 2 Pts to always think about when baby CRIES!! In Priority order:

1. Hungry
2. Tired/ Wants to sleep
3. Too hot and stuffy
4. Wind in tummy / Wants to burp / Wants to regurgitate
5. Heat Rash / Diaper Rash / Skin tear
6. Tummy upset (Forehead will feel damp and cold)
7. Nose block / Nose full of bloogy
8. Constipated and wants to poo poo
9. Feels insecure / Wants to be picked up

the pillow has a hole in the centre, just place your boy in it, swaddling helps to ensure baby does not slide downwards, so aids baby in sitting upright

Flos
Don't be too hard on yourself.. I'm sure Isaac will get over this real soon.

Have you tried putting a bib on him to minimise the milk flowing down his collar?

Think Kym meant something like this, although for me, I'm using my maternity pillow to prop him up.

1819962.jpg

helllo all! hb is away for 10 days so it's been more tiring! anais gv me a fright yest nite by screaming at 3am n cldnt breathe properly, with lots of saliva bubbles coming out of her mouth...luckily she calmed down when i turned off the aircon n her nose cleared up...

poppy
as many moms here hv said it's good to take a break from baby n duties if u can, n gve yourself a break (don't stress yourself out) too. it;s easier said than done. but try.

today, i went to united sq by myself to eat a t-bone steak, ben &amp; jerry ice cream n just walk around. **shazz** i finally bot that skip hop duo double!

of cos i missed the girls but it was a good 2 hour break.

ava,
i totally know wat u mean. yesterday, i left cadence with my mum n broght jared to orchard with me, then met up with my hb n dumped jared with him n i went off for my long overdue pedi at snails! felt sooooooooo recharged. then met them two n had lunch, hb went bk to work n i continued shopping with jared. spent so much money on hb's supp card!!! heheheh. was wanting to buy n buy coz havent shopped for myself for soooooo long!

flos,
sorry to hear abt issac's merlion-ing episodes. it must be real taxing on you. you're doing a great job taking care of him n i'm sure he'll be well soon. *hugz*

kymkym,
i realise that you are v good with routines. i must learn from you n be so disciplined.

shazz,
is eamon back to his usual level of activity?

alabone
lucky u...i assume ur hb pays for your expenses on his supp card? I'm not in that position...

kym
Yeah very detailed routine. I only have a bathtime to night routine, not a day one, altho the girls are quite consistent on their own...

Flos
Still merlioning? or is the TBF working?
My "menses" was some spoting, then nothing...so dunno if considered a proper period or not...so fast this time. With FB I got menses after 4 months only!