(2008/09) Sep 2008

yay. i think i figured out the MIM sling. uing the lying hold/ breastfeeding position. manage to BF him on left boob. now next challenge is to figure out how to BF him in public wihtout 'flashing' myself and to switch sides. if i can succeed i will def join all of u on 20 oct!

l'lcy: but the snuggle hold doesn't keep him in the centre. he always slants to one side!

bigtoes: i also agree abt letting them cry sometimes. yday was a bit mad with my dad cos he was crying...and i was tyring to feed him but he refused to latch. wah lau. sometimes my MIL and dad make it seem as if i m trying to torture my own son by not wanting to feed him. but what can i do if he refuses to latch.nd that is already after i fed him for some time. ur kieran is so guai ...only 8 feeds a day! i still do 12, 2-hourly feeds. u are one happening mummy....all the way to ubin w bb!!! power!

BECO & bb carriers: Can anyone pls advise wher i can view all the brands at one shop?

BOTTLE REJECTION: i think my 60ml of EBM is going to waste cos he refused to drink. thot i cld get my dad to feed him while i catch an afternoon nap. aiyo but my boy just refusedto drink from the bottle. kept crying until i had no choice but to latch him.

flos: i'm short la. 48kg is borderline overweight for me i think. i hope my weighing machine is just lying...and i'm much lighter. i fluctuate between 46.5 -48 kg over days. got sweet craving these days, not to mention wanting to drink cold stuff!

storeberry: i got ur mail but got no time to go sit and analyse...aiyo my head like can only htink of simple stuff.

normlly how do u all heat up EBM? isnt take down few packet from the freezer then wait till baby wnt to drink then pour into the milk bottle to heat up?
and isnt hard to use the sling? i have one at home but havent tried it yet.

hi mummies, my boy just turned 1 month old ytd. I notice that he has not poo poo since ytd afternoon (abt 24hrs from now). Should I bring him to c doc or should I monitor 1st? He's on EBM and FM.

hey ladies,

anyone introduce FM already? i am planning to feed Fm when my and hubby go out and also i am really tired from TBF like 2 hourly.BM also seems to be not enough during these couple of days coz bb is feeding like hourly or one and half hourly shoould be having a growth spurt so cant cope with demand. Am already into 7 weeks .Any recommendations for FM? i heard Friso is not bad

koras: which sling do u have? my mim one takes practice but it is getting easier. i m getting used to it. v useful

prigie: sounds like growth spurt. do u limit feeding time? my frens tell me not to ss they r just using ur nipple as pacifier. me tempted to bottlefeed but he rejected bottle today...oly fed on breasts.

Ava, haha.. I do remember Coachman Inn too! Used to be on the 2nd level, right at the corner!

Flos, I've started neurogain too.

eCreative - Service was good. We ordered the high tea buffet. Food was so-so only.. but portions was huge. Alot of wastage..

gathering in the east-
Maybe we can confirm the date for the gathering when we meet up at lok's place on 20oct.

Flos, sorry for the late reply. I can't go online so often nowadays.
Yep,I already had my manyue. My MIL and mother talked a little but my mother was busy entertaining my relatives who were all sitting along the corridor and my friends were sitting on the staircase, while my MIL's relatives were all sitting inside the house.
I already said that my MIL's house is too small for the celebration. In the end, my relatives all went to the void deck to sit cos it was simply too crowded. I didn't get to talk to them much at all.

sarah
tried cup feeding? finger feeding? try google for these few techniques and see if elisha drinks your ebm, else waste siah. when i bought my ameda lactaline, they gave a few cups meant for cup feeding...can pass 1 to you if you wan, i have a few.

o yah they are slippery at this age lah. ive not tried whatever-that-hold-is...centre positioning on ch yet. but ive seen many mummies doing it...hmmmm...

ch also feeding 2 hourly...

huh, if we are gathering at lok's house, you can flash all you wan there mah. all mummies there..no worries..

bb carriers
dun think they sell BECO at the shops. import from US. think there;s only one distributor in singapore and they do it online..not very sure...

chantelle
if you wan, just give pacifier. some mummies are afraid of speech delay or crooked teeth if you give pacifier..or cavities once the teeth sprouts..i dun give pacifier coz ifi do, it means one more thing to sterilise and wash.

Just came back from the gynea checkup. Aiyoh, i din know my last check up is PAINFUL one leh! The gynea majiam poke a ‘syringe’ inside me to check on me. Damned... it reallie caught me unaware. But i guess it pays off cos he told me tat my recovery is good and i can do all form of exercise. And immediately, i went for a jog just now. Kekke.

Bigtoes, how do u managed to get Kieran to wake up only once at nite leh?? Mine is on every 2hrs basis loh... i literally watched how the nitetime slowly transit into daytime lo.

HEATING EBM
How do u all guage whether the chilled EBM is warmed up to a ‘suitable’ temperature? Cannot be too hot rite cos nutrients are gone??

BB CRYING
Seems like i am not alonewor. My bb has been restless and crying on and off and refusing to sleep for a few hours on a stretch. When it hot he has dozed off, and decided to put him to the bed, he suddenly WAKE up and WAIL again! AIYOH.

BURPING
What is the most ‘recommended’ method of burping the bb after a feed? I realized that my burping method is not time-efficient loh. It will take quite a while before i hear the burp. Currently, i am burping him from the back on my shoulder, and lifting him up and down with the support of his armpit and burping him from the back on a seat down position. If there are better ‘position’ to burp, lemme know wor!

sarahmay

my hubby carried her n sing song n rock ker to zz in the arms then slowly put her down in bed...sometimes carine will go to zz on her own after lying in bed for sometime..hopefully can train her to do this...me oso got the avent washable breastpad..not absorbent...tink pigeon still the best...hey..ur supply v good lei..during my Fb got sprays...now only drips..haha

goldfish

i am using the same method as u on burping..still quite ok..if i cant get any burp in 5mins then will stop liao...

burping
actually bf bbs dun really need to be burped unless they have been crying/fussing prior to/during feed. coz no air in breast mah...

Angeline
Yeah, did my pap smear on Thursday. I guess better wait till your staining goes away.

Goldfish
I think what you're describing is a pap smear for the test they did for you at your gynae visit...never done one before? you need to do this annually.

Bigtoes
I'm not too keen on Heartland Mall cos I dont think it is as kid friendly as say Parkway or the bigger malls and it gets pretty crowded. I dont think I can manoevre mty twin stroller around the mall (corect me if i'm wrong about the kid friendliness)...as i said, u are all welcome to come to my place again if it's convenient.

Just got back from another mall...super duper crowded... this time we were out for just 2 hours. we didn't bring any milk bottles, only diapers. Towards the end of my long-deprived sashimi meal, Isaac was fussing a bit, so we had to ask for the bill quickly. Wondering if we should go gai gai again tomorrow.

Bigtoes: Thanks! I am thinking of Great Eastern...Dun dare to buy AIA now!

PUlau Ubin? How r u travelling to Ubin? With the baby in tow? How brave!! Chilli crabs? I just had soft-shell crabs!! YUMS
I hope I'll not cause Issac to hv further breakouts cos I ate the roe too...But at least now I got the steroid cream from my PD
No fear...

This evening, my DH bathed our son for the first time, after chickening out 3 weeks ago. He didn't do very well,
but nonetheless, good try

chantelle: I was at my PD's this morning and saw a 5-yr-old boy with a pacifier and in a sarong sling carried by his 90kg HUGE Indo maid! My DH and I were like shaking our heads and rolling our eyes when we saw how pampered (and silly-looking) the boy looked with a pacifier in his mouth! His mom looked very teacherly, and learned. I wonder why she can allow his son to suck the pacifier at this age!

lilboymom: I also think we need to sterilise the passy very often if baby keeps spitting it out onto the floor. ley chey lah...

Goldfish: Agree with Ava. what you've described sounds like a regular pap smear to me
Unless u r telling me u had never done one in your whole life before?!! Hmmm...

Burping: yeppers, using the same method. I can't seem to lift up Isaac over my shoulders to burp him. My CL does it very well and easily.

SarahMay: If I recall correctly, Mothercare@harbourfront has quite a few brands.
u can view and even try some of them on
Another place could be FFY@paragon. Hv u tried those leading dept stores like Taka and Robs? The recent HariRaya hols came with some great promos, I am sure...

When did u start Elisha on the bottle? Whcih brand r u using? I started Issac on the bottle since Day 3. Initially he found the Avent silicon teat very hard compared to my nipple. After gnawing it for a few times, he got used to it.

Goldfish/SarahMay: Mine is avg 8-10X per day. I dunno if u consider "12am/ 3-4am/ 6am" = 1 nite feed, but so far that's Isaac's nite feeding routine.

HOW I DO IT? Not GF, not any guru's method, just my own method.

I make sure I pull up the blinds when the sun rises to signal to him to "rise N shine". CL will wash him up at around 8am. He gets his morning feed at about 8-8.30am. He will cry for his Brunch at about 10.30-11.30am. After his feed, we have our lunch while he sleeps. After our lunch, it's his turn to get hungry at about 1.30-2.30pm. After his feed, it's my afternoon tea-break and afternoon nap. When he wakes up at about 3.30-4pm thereabts, we feed him. He sleeps till 6pm. We wake him to bathe him before feeding him his 'Dinner' at around 6.30-7pm. Then we have our own dinner. After our dinner, he wakes up at 9.30-10pm to demand for his 'Supper'. We feed him and put him to bed. Sometime past midnite till 1am, he gets his next day's early feed by the CL. We sleep at 12mn-1am. CL wakes up around 3-4am to feed him. When day breaks at about 6am, he stirs again for his early breakfast. After CL feeds him, he sleeps again till it's time to pull up the blinds...so on and so forth...

I express only 4X a day: 1) before breakfast when he is taking his morning bath so that he can drink it after he finishes, 2) after MY lunch so that he can drink it for his afternoon tea-break, 3) after my afternoon nap before his evening bath so that he gets to drink it after his bath , 4) When he is taking his FM S 10.30pm Supper so that when I go to bed at 12 mn, CL can feed him at about 12-1am.

When do I latch? I latch when my let down is severe after I brush my teeth in the morning. I occasionally latch him when he is craving for that pacifier! I will ensure latching is after I've expressed completely so that it is really only a dry passy not a full milk bottle. Every feed is 130ml, zun zun.

Xuanting
I was very tempted to shove a pacifier into his mouth but can't bring myself to do it cos I'm not a pacifier person and I have none at home.
So got to let him have his way.

Bigtoes
If you are going to Baby Hypermart, maybe try out the Bjorn too. The Lascal material is very stiff and my friend who tried it said the support is not so good.

My elder girl will only become a cranky terror when she is real sleepy but refused to sleep, that's when she will start to scream for attention to carry her, pat and sayang her.

Sarahmay
I bought my Beco online ($189), the babyonlineshop.com.sg, not sure if there is any retail shop carrying it.

Heartland Mall
Agreed with Ava that the mall it not kids friendly, ground level is like a mad house with all the pasar malam stores. Great World City or Tanglin Mall is good but in town. They have nice nursing rooms and Oomphatico's at Tanglin is very kids friendly and serves yummy organic, gluten free food.

wow - the thread moved so fast, so many posts

my CL left yesterday, one week before confinement is over. She broached the topic and we finally agreed that it was best that she leaves.
One of the causes was that my friend came over and asked if i took chicken wine soup and i said no. So my friend went to my kitchen and started preparing. CL was fuming mad cause she says i did not request and that my friend should not barged into her zone. She basically feels she should be the boss and we must all take instructions from her.

Well, its been a great relief after she left. i spent the entire day cleaning up my kitchen with my mum's help.

Shazz - i totally emphatised with you as my little one is wailing like no tomorrow and i dont know what is wrong. he wails when he pees, poos, hungry and restless. hubby and i are really at wits end too.

Also just to update, i've broken into rashes all over my body and i dont know what is causing it. So i have stopped taking even my red dates drink and am only taking hot water. silly CL still claims that she is not responsibile for my breakouts. Now i dont even dare allow bb to latch. I hope she did not add something to my food causing me to itch so badly. Anyone any advice what i should do? doc just gave me steriod cream to apply but its not helping. Am so desparate to get well :=(

I just sent hubby to buy calamine lotion to soothe the itch. One thing after another and the manyue party is tomorrow. Believe am going to be the worst looking mum due to my rashes. sianz.
plus am really tired.

So many easterners. i stay in Tampines too, (near St 81) and yes and interested to join a meet up in the east. Parkway or TM is fine. Just need to know the date

Goldfish (goldfish1395): according to my Pigeon warmer leaflet, the idea setting for warming breast milk is 40 degrees, if not the precious nutrients will be destroyed.

breadmum (breadmum): good riddance on your CL! Could the rashes be from the alcohol that you took in the chicken wine soup? I understand from my CL that some ladies can't take liqour and will break out in rashes, known in chinese as "fong mo".

Rant about MIL: What is it with MILs and their incessant thing about our baby is hungry, when they see their mouth moving! My MIL kept saying my boy is hungry, he wants milk when she say him munching on his mittens! I may be a first time mother but I know when my boy is hungry, cos he will cry his lungs out and tear the roof down! If he's truly hungry, he won't be looking at her with his doe eyes and munching on his mittens right! argghhhh ... and then when she heard me telling my cousin that the boy was cranky and wailing for no reasons, and how helpless I was that I broke down too, she added that she NEVER let her children cry one. Once they cry, she'll immediately find out what is wrong and meet their needs!! This got my hubby furious and my tears welling up. Hubby gave her a piece of his mind by saying that I already felt helpless enough and what she just said is not helping me but making me feel condemned! MIL was shocked and started to defend herself, blah blah blah about children should not be allowed to cry! I also know! You think I can stand my boy's crying meh? you think I dun want to meet his needs and calm him down? *BISH* sorry, just need to let go of some steam ... I'm already sensing problems brewing even before MIL starts looking after my boy when I start work!

Breadmum - I broke out in rashes too the 6th day after i gave birth. Mine was oni on the legs & hands. Massage lady said i'm allergic to alcohol, ended up din do any confinement at all. Gynae also ask me to stop all confinement food, just to be on the safe side and bath normally, not to use the herb to bath at all. My HB was so worried coz did not take any 'bu' at all. Calamine lotion will soothe the itch, but will make the skin very dry too. Remember to moisturize after the rashes have ease. Now i got a lot of 5 cents, 10 cents marks. Manyue have to wear long selves & pants to cover up.

Shazz- At least ur hb is siding u & gave her a piece of his mind. When my bb jaundice refused to go away, she was blaming me indirectly & telling friends that it was ME who ate too much durains, causing my bb to have jaundice. my hb din even gave her a piece of his mind until i broke down & cry. Oni then he ask his mum to stop her nonsense. and when i came down with rashes, she kept telling frenz that all the rice wine that she made was wasted. it was as though i wanted to have the rashes and escape taking the rice wine she made. And all these while, HB said NOTHING at all.

Ade (littlepea): Poor thing! You must have felt terrible when your hubby didn't speak up for you! *hugs* Hope your marks will clear up, try using scrubs to get rid of the dead cells to lift off the marks.

Shazz
sorry to be a wet blanket, altho I think your MIL's comments about Eamon being cranky and should not be allowed to cry, etc are uncalled for, but if your baby is chewing on his hands/mitts and mouth opening, he MIGHT be hungry. (of course if may be different from baby to baby)

Usually crying v loudly for food means he's VERY hungry and the other signs (chewing/mouth opening) are early signs of hunger.

I'm the opposite, I keep thinking the babies are hungry whenever they root or keep opening their mouths and CL says "but they just fed 2 hours ago"...but deep inside I feel they just need a "snack" of 10-15 mls due to growth spurt etc...

<font color="119911">SarahMay (sarahmay) – sorry, its actually Punggol seafood at Punggol Marina, not Ubin Island!
Wont bring Kieran there to feed the mozzies!!
Anyway their chilli crabs were so-so only. The staff at the restaurant were very nice though – helped us to carry and console Kieran when he was crying cos both our hands were dirty with crab sauce!

Meanwhile, I think he has such a tiring day yesterday evening, he came back, had his feed, then slept 7 hours straight from 8.30pm. Woke up once at 3.30am for another feed, back to sleep, then up again today at 8am for milk, and back to sleep (still sleeping) now after 3 hours. Hehe…waiting for him to wake up so we can bring him to buy his carrier and go do groceries shopping later.

Meanwhile, I don’t think I can ever be comfy Bfign in public. Am too dependent on Bfing Kieran with the Breast Friend pillow already! For trips out, I pack the EBM in an ice-pack, and bring along a themoflask of hot water to warm the milk when he needs it.

SarahMay (sarahmay) – maybe try feeding using the wide neck bottle, where the teat is shaped more like the mommy's boobs? I know Kiddy Palace sells these teats. Might have less bottle/nipple confusion like that.

preggie (preggieblues) - Apparently there is another growth spurt at week 6 so your baby must be going through that now!! Think Kieran is also going through another growth phase – he drank 150ml of EBM at one go yesterday afternoon!

Goldfish (goldfish1395) – my CL used to wake up every 2 hours to feed Kieran EBM as well (12+, 2+, 4+, 6+am). But after she left, we 'trained' him to wake up only once. She has been gone since 3rd Oct, and so far, we have only woken up twice on one occasion.

The trick is to give a full feed at around 10-11+pm, then let him wake up and feed on demand at night. Kieran gets about 130ml of EBM at the final night feed, then usually only wakes up at 3am or so for 70ml. The next feed is around 7+am when I latch on again (We feed EBM at night to gauge his consumption). He can usually sleep for 4-5 hours straight after the full night feed…but last night was the exception – 7 hours straight!

Burping – I also sit him and pat on the back to burp him. Will do just about 10 times and then let him be cos he doesn’t necessarily burp after all feeds. I usually prop him up with a pillow after that rather than lay him flat, and sometimes he would reposit some milk out (which doesn’t seem to bother him but dirties all my pillows).

sunnysunny (sunnysunny) – thanks for the tip on Lascal!
We will go check both Bjorn Synergy and Lascal at Kaki Bukit shop before deciding later.

Ava – gathering for NEL mommies – lets talk and decide where to meet when we gather at Lok's on 20th.

shazz (shazzerlyn) – Ava maybe right, but it depends on your own baby. Like for Kieran's case, if he cries, I eliminate the reasons first – is he hungry? (if it has been 2-3 hours since the last feed, or if he munches on his fingers/mittens); did he poop? (check diapers); is he too hot?
If its none of the above – I will go talk to him, carry him abit to console him, or sometimes just let him wail. Want to train him to understand that he cannot be carried every time he cries – sometimes they may just be cranky or overly tired and cannot sleep. And yes – it is natural for babies to cry to communicate – your MIL is weird.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: Your MIL's comments are uncalled for! Sometimes MILs can be so insensitive! Nowadays I just pretend not to hear when she say things like: "Why baby, you don't want your mummy to carry you hah?" when bb is crying hysterically...

My baby always make alot of noises or cries around 6plus in the morning, do you think its because I always carry him to sleep during that time? I want to break this habit cos I can't be carrying him to sleep every morning when I go back to work. Today I decided to ignore him but he was so noisy in the end I pick him up &amp; lay him on my tummy again! How???</font>

THanks Bigtoes for your rec. Wah! I thot u were so garung as to travel by bum boat to Ubin. So how was Kieran? Is Avent considered a wide necked bottle?

Chantelle: You are lucky your bb accepted the pacifier. Mine pui-ed his out. I think paciiers can be helpful for some babies. Just let them suck till sleep then pull it out. Helps minimise chances of them developing pacifier addiction.

Flos: I use Avent also... But the O+ teat is like super big and the flow is a bit too fast considering he often latches on so when he uses the bottle..the milk just leaks into his mouth. Hey, you know i was one of those kids who sucked their pacifiers till 5. hehe. my parents gave up trying to yank it out of me. My hubby , i just found out recently, was also like me.

Ava: That was what the hospital taught me - if you touch their cheek and they root means they are hungry. I think we all need to learn to trust our mummy instincts.

goldfish: how old is your bb now? mine 3+wks and still about 2 hours. if good, 2.5hrs. think every bb is diff. My PD also said feed on demand. Dun stress la.

Ll CY: Hehe. I dunno how to cup feed. tried to once...difficult! Today again he drank only 50+ml and left 30ml...throw away. then have to latch him on. I think i cannot carry and bottle feed him. He will reject bottle and go for my bobs.

Sunnysunny: THanks for the link. BUt i really want to try it before buying. wait dun fit then waste money.

Shazz: Old folks tend to be like this. I kena from my dad just that day. I went into the room with my baby and locked everyone out. And tried to calm the bb. I just fed him but he was still crying. My dad said i shd feed him, and that shd top up with milk from bottle. But i didn't think he was crying from hunger. My dad called me stubborn and tt i was bullying my son. DOn't bother abt her comments. You are doing a good job.

Storeberry: My bb refused to sleep after his 4am feed. Aiyo. In the end i was so tired...i think i fell asleep withstill cooing away by my side. I woke up at 6+am and he wanted to be fed. So just fed him and i dozed off again. Haha. Maybe you try to ignore him a little, just talk to him but not carry him?

Weight Loss: I need a new weighing scale. TOday i weighed myself after one cup of milo and i was 46kg. THen after food, i was 47kg. I figured too that the big tummy my masseuse said i had was pre-preg...all that extra flab except now after preg got SM and become extra floppy. Just that tummy looks flat, but fees wobbly. eeks.

Xuanting: Oh! The masseuse said i had a lot of wind cos my back turned reddish after she rubbed me down. Apparently that is a sign of wind. In chinese, i think it is called 'sa1'. Had it all the time even before i was preggers...think too stressed etc. But thankfully she said today that it is much better.

BECO vs ERGO vs BJORN: WHich is the most suitable for bbs from the orthopaedic point of view? Read that some carriers can cause unnecc stress on bb's spine. OH! Found out that FFY website offers discountson bjorn. LIke air is 26% discount or something. selling for 169.

THanks Isabelle. But think i won't be able to get that.

L'l CY: which colour and model of ergo did you get? how is it? is it easy and comfy o use? hot ?

sarah
ergo is for older kids.i got it when my boy was 10mths old. can use up to 20kg or so...for infants, you need the infant insert.

in fact all three are ergonomically proven to be good for bb's back. depends on what you are looking for.

compare BECO to ergo..
BECO has higher back, ergo ends half way. so it depends. to me, it may be less hot in our weather. but BECO is pretty...moiz is the green one...

bb bjorn
think it;s for younger bb and infants. think when bb gets heavier, your back will be more painful. that's what some mummies commented.

helloe mummies..

Bigtoes, I m also a NEL mummy.. if got gathering, can I join? I stay near Serangoon mrt.

re: Burping babies
other than put on the shoulder, or sit-up-n-pat-back, there is another method. A bit hard to describe. U put baby sit-up on your lap.. then hold baby's jaw with one hand, the other hand, hold baby's head/neck from the back. Then u slowly rotate the baby's body in a circle. Note that baby is in a sit-up position. The idea is that when u rotate her body, the stomach gets compressed, thus will burp.. just like u put baby on your shoulder is to compress the baby's stomach. This method was taught to me by another mummy, whose CL taught her.. and it works very well (80% of the time).

quiling/sarahmay, my confinement is the diy sort so i am quite flexible about most things. bb din seem to notice any dif in the bm (and also the indians theory) so i will prolly eat it again if someone buys it for me. :p

sarahmay: dh bought me a mim sling just before his overseas trip too and although i was a little unsure initially (scared might squash bb/contort her little neck/limbs), i'm really quite pleased with it now. my bb seems quite happy to be in it. she seems to sleep a lot better at nite too. i saw yours in your fb pix and u look v confident and at ease with it leh.

leaky breasts
IF ONLY I HAVE THESE! so envious!!!

flos, how come your cl decided to wash your cordyceps? ppl dun normally wash these things till immediately before use rite? she a bit keh kiang leh.

sunnysunny, i was also v iffy abt the pacifier till i read more abt it, and i happen to have a set at home (courtesy of sil who put together a gift pack of bb stuff she has tried and found useful on my niece).

crying mommies
i sobbed like an orphan for like half a day yesterday. over some non-baby, non-confinement related trivial stuff. if that myth abt going blind in our old age is true, maybe i shd go buy insurance to cover myself now? but it's really quite shang1 shen1 and shang1 shen2 i must say, perhaps due to our weakened state during confinement? had the worst headache and developed a cold right after and am still feeling weak from all the exhaustion now.

sleepy bbs
mine has been waking up past her feeding times at nite. she used to fuss at nite but we seem to be getting more of that in the mornings now. she actually slept from 1030pm to 630am last nite. woke up reluctantly when i removed her blankie and swaddle. she's only 3wks old so she's prolly not getting acclimatised to the circadian rhythm yet rite? kind of happy on the one hand (no need to keep waking up) but wonder if there's any cause for concern also (i jumped out of bed when i realised it was already 6am).

wind
sarahmay, u mean sha1 as in gua1 sha1? i used to do that and every time i'm done, i'll look like i've been beaten up cos of the red marks (which eventually turn purplish before disappearing). if gua sha gets rid of wind, maybe i shd go do it again after confinement.

shazz, ade
haiz... sometime i wonder what's wrong with all these in laws. Making remarks like that! I'm only thankful i din stay with MIl this time round for confinement.
The moment i went back to in laws place to stay the weekend after my current confinement. immeediately bombarded by them and even BIL to bathe my baby in guiness stout foe her rashes! I gave in cos I thot no harm trying once or twice. But if i were really against it, it'll be hell for me, cos even when i din mind so much (since the calendula cream din help), FIL kept repeating so many time to use stout. Imagine if i said no!
And MIL wanted to go buy some mo(4) li(4) hua(1) fr the mkt to squeeze out juice and mix with baby powder n apply on her rashes! Luckily the flower seller at the mkt said not to cos nowadays flowers got pesticides! Heng ah.
Somemore she then went on to listen to the flower seller to use hazeline snow and even bought it somemore. That one I really cldn;t take it and told MIL outright no, I am NOT gg to use hazeline snow on my baby's face. CRAZY!!!
Anyway I used the stout diluted with LOTSA water for 2 days hoping it might work since my SIL's baby got better after using the guiness stout. But it din work! My mum was not very happy i tried the stout though. Took baby to PD weho prescribed some special Mustela cream and rashes r gettting better.

xuanting
take care!

I know some of you hv already chased out your CL or have finshed your contract with the CL...Mine is still here until Fri, cos maid is arriving on Tues nite/Wed morning...

Pls let me rant a little on that CL again...

Remember I'd expressed shock at my son's usage of Pampers per day some time back? Just now, I saw that the nanny had opened 3 packs of Pampers (each pack left with at least a dozen unused pieces!) tucked in one corner of my wardrobe!!!! Initially, I only found 2, so she 'yi yi eh eh' that she forgot that she hadn't finished the last pack before opening the new pack. I was quite cross that she opened the last pack which I'd wanted to sell to my friend who is giving birth in Dec. Now that it's no longer in a MINT condition, I cannot sell it to her.

Then to my shock minutes later as I was tidying up the wardrobe, I found YET another 3rd half-finished pack tucked inconspicously at the farthest corner of my wardrobe, below my Mickey and Minnie mouse and other soft toys!

I shouted at her from my boy's room (she was in the kitchen) why there was a third opened pack! She, as though she was darn guilty, replied very defensively and loudly that she ALSO forgot that she hasn't finished the last pack and hence opened another new pack!

I really buay tahan liao, so I was very blunt and told her why she 'hid' my Pampers and even asked me to quickly buy new packs cos I'm left with only 2 more packs.

At that time (1.5 weeks ago), I did check my wardrobe to see if she was telling the truth cos I was puzzled why my son uses 12 pampers/day. I didn't see those half opened packs that she tucked underneath at all.

How did these 3 opened packs suddenly reappeared?

Quite obviously, she had attempted to hide them from my sight. Out of guilt she offered to buy it for her pregnant daughter. So PY happily agreed to sell her one pack of 36 pcs at market price. Bo chap!

My HB called me a crazy woman taking care of a crazy baby.
That was really hurting. My baby is not crazy!

I was rather happy earlier on when he suggested giving my mother a big red packet for her confinement help. Who knows, he gave an equally big red packet to his mom too, 'yi si yi si', he says. But then, his mom didn't do anything at all. And didn't even buy any confinement herbs for me, etc wheareas my mom did everything and bought everything. If it were the other way round, you think he would let me give MY mom such a big red packet too?

I hope to join u gals this time round!

Gathering in the East
mummy's nick/baby's name/preferred place of gathering
1. stefseansharbabes / Sharmaine / Parkway
2. momoko76/Chloe or Cayden (only either 1) / parkway
3. Rachel / Kydric / TM or Parkway is fine.
4. Avalyn / twins?? / parkway
5. lok/jonas/Parkway
6. lilboymum/ch? CY?/parkway
7. Kym Teo/ Scarlett / TM or Parkway is ok
8. Crayon/Reyes/both places are fine
9. Lanolin / Declan / Parkway
10. Flos/Isaac/Parkway
11. Dmbb/Jilliane/TM or Parkway is ok

Bigtoes,
i dun seem to be able to pump milk to store between feeds. or rather i havent tried coz im quite paranoid that bb will not have enough for the next feed coz he's drinking like almost 2 hourly. when do you pump? do you still latch on? im planning to start storing EBM or intro FM once i start work. Of coz EBM preferred

Xuanting: I think that gua1sha1 thing helps. but not sure. Better check with expert. Hehe. Wah! 3 w sleep so long?!!! But I read that they shd be feeding at least every 4 hours at this age. I wld hope that my bb sleeps and asks for milk every 3 hours. He just did. hehe. You don't want leaky breasts...trust me...i just saw my bedroom floor...milk stain... our clothes kena damp milk patches.
hAve you tried BF-ing in the MIM sling? I only managed for a while...then got hot for him. I dunno how to switch to the other side.

Went out today for another 5 hrs with baby. This time we were at the Taka sale!!! 15% additional for Taka credit cardmembers!!! Bought my comestics, bb stuffs, and makan lunch there
Baby had 2 feeds. FINALLY, got to go window shopping at MNG and Zara to satisfy myself! CLUB MONACO is in SG, finally, but anyway, I'm not interested in the brand.

SarahMay: Taka has Baby Bjorn. $198 before less. Not sure if u hv the Taka card. Anyway, it ends today as ISabelle had said.

Xuanting: where did u go for your Gua Sha 刮痧? I am also a regular Gua Sha patient, though I did it in China, whcih was much cheaper. I want to go for this treatment too...

I also like Cupping (拔火罐). I usually end up having purplish black cup marks on both sides of my spine!!! Like a dalmatian!!! lol

Sarahmay: I'm already using the 1 mth (Size 2) Avent teat cos the Omth+ one is too slow for Isaac. He takes longer than 15min to finish his bottle, so PD told us to change size ytd.

u used the passy until 5? But these days, kids attend school at the age of 2/3, so how can they gnaw on the passy in school?

xuanting: isn't it a blessing if your girl doesn't wake up as often as other NBs?!! Maybe she just had enuff milk, that's all. Is she gaining weight?

shazz: when my boy bites his mittens and roots, I'll feed him with an appropriate amt based on the time lapse from his last feed, and his last amt. My PD told me just feed when he is hungry, and esp after he just pooped.

Bigtoes: u are referring to the chilli crab store at Track 17 of Punggol? Choon Seng? Hey, thanks for your info just now
In the end, we decided to check out BB Kingdom next weekend. My bb feels insecure lying on Peg Perego P3 cos he can't see us! We need to get a stroller that can face us...

Sarahmay, on fri, HB and I went to TM with baby. Like what isabelle said, baby was bjorn-ed.. haa.. reyes seemed comfy and snug in it. HB was the one who was fidgety and kept adjusting and readjusting the straps.. til I got irritated with him.. haa.. cos everytime i turned, he's fiddling with the straps.. seems like a good buy to me albeit a bit on the costly side.. But one thing to take note though.. haa. even though its easy for us to go to toilet with the carrier but how to eat? haa.. anyway we can eat without having to unstrap baby?

shazz, the whole of last wk, my mum couldnt really come over to help as my nephew had HFMD and mum is the main caregiver.. so to be on the safe side, she did not come over much.. only once after her marketing. Luckily hb came back quite frequently during his lunch break and that short 45mins is godsent! And he helps to take care immd when he comes back from work so that I can finish up cooking dinner. (YUP! I dont know how I still manage to cook dinner daily). He's been a great help..

And in laws, sigh.. the first thing my MIL said to me was "脸色很难看.." bah! doesnt she have better things to say? And they are forever worried abt baby not having enough milk to drink. I really wonder why! And why would we want to let our babies cry for no reason? Of course we're trying to find out too wat!

sigh...*hang in there!

I've also started stuffing pacifier into reyes' mouth.. hee.. Aiya it'll either be his hands or pacifier.. I think pacifier shd be cleaner ba.. But like what lilCY and Flos said.. there's one more thing to clean and sterilise lor..

Sarahmay, u are good! you can bf in the sling? I cant even sling him properly yet let alone bf..

I went around looking for nursing shawls and seems like nobody's selling them in the stores. I was thinking nursing shawls will be more economical than nursing tops.. I can still wear my normal tops if I have the nursing shawl.vI need to buy many many nursing tops unless I dont mind wearing the same thing everyday.. haa..

Flos, u are on shopping spree these few days ah? haha.. did u bring out EBM/FM/latch when u are out? The last 2 times when I went out with baby and hb, I brought out EBM cos still not confident enough to bf outside..

And ur CL doesnt seem to have "clean hands" ah..oh well.. just a few days more.. just grin and bear with it ..

preggie, just rem, the more u latch and the more u pump, the higher the supply! If baby doesnt have enough, they'll cry.. so feed on demand... Your hardwork will pay off! And if u are thinking of EBM after u work, u have to start stocking them up earlier in the freezer.. Jia you!

Xuanting.. its our hormones.. cheer up.. things will only get better.. I cried tog with reyes too! haa. when CL left and he was wailing away for no reason.. and as for leaky breasts, u really wouldnt want them lor. I, too, have milk stains on my floor and my clothes and basically everywhere! hahaa... I smell like a stale milking machine

crayon: yeshhhhhh..so deprived! Such beautiful clothes they hv at MNG, but I can't fit into any, unless I buy the L or XL (cos the fitting is very small)

1784414.jpg

I brought along FM &amp; warm water of my desired temp. But ytd afternoon, I BF in the car cos it was an 'emergency situation' (ran out of milk bottles). Today, I made FM inside my DH's car in another 'emergency situation' cos we were already on the expressway and cldn't swop seats with CL who cldn't calm my wailing boy in his Maxi-Cosi!

Also today, I changed his diapers at Ngee Ann public toilet, not the Taka nursing room...it's quite clean and private...Quite an adventure to bring bb out to Orchard. We were walking all over from Tower A to Tower B. He didn't like the food court and basement food hall cos of the smell. We ended eating at the restaurant...

How did u maintain the freshness of your EBM? U use ice-packs and thermal bag?

I also smell like a milking machine. Sometimes, I'll walk around my house without any bras after pumping!

hi crayonshin
yeah i been latching on since day one even when we go out for meals and shopping i bf in the nursing rooms or car. Once i even BF in the changin room at the RObinson sale @ expo hehe. so far so good only the last couple of days bb's been super demanding like latch on every hour. today's slightly better gg back to his regular 2 -3 hour feeds. just wondering when i can pump to store and at the same time make sure that bb has enough for next feed.

Flos, Ava... keke.. i never done a pap smear before wor. Keke. But i was under the impression pap smear as the name goes is to smear something inside wor, should not be tat painful wor.

Bigtoes, how do u gauge ur bb consumption for the final night feed? Do u prepare like 150ml of milk and see how many he can drink and that will decide the feed amt? How abt daytime feed? Do u revert to ur normal feeding schedule? Currently, we are doing a 2.5hr feed, and that applies even for nite feed. We will wake up every 2.5hrs to feed the bb even the bb din fuss wor. Wonder whether is that ideal method or not? Do u gals stick to a fixed feeding schedule or onie feed on demand? Feed on demand means feed when cry rite? Erm...will that make the bb feeding amt go chaotic cos of ‘over-hunger’? Ermm..

Flos, u never fail to entertain me with ur tales of ur CL. Keke.. bt of coz, i am sure u dun find it amusing at all.

Wingkei, why ur hubby address u and bb crazy leh? He said tat in a joking tone??

Ava, Flos, Bigtoes: ahh ... it could be he's hungry! But hor, when I was at MIL's place yday, it was just after his feed. Today, we popped by in laws' place after church. The nursery teachers fed my son even though when I deposited him, I just fed him 90ml of FM at 11am. Then they fed him again at 1150am! Ahhh ... they overfed him! Thank God he's smart enough to reject the last 20ml so he gobbled 70ml, which is a total of 160ml within an hour! Then when we reached MIL's place, he was cranky again, this time, was sleep deprived and he kept crying and crying. 1st thing she said was I think he's hungry! I was like, cannot be! He was just overfed during the last 2 hours! Then she tried her hand at pacifying him, haha ... even she can't pacify him and he was still crying away! Guess what she said in the end? He must be feeling uncomfortable, that's why cry. I also know! Am trying my best to find out what's the problem too and troubleshooting as well, right before her eyes! Then she concluded, must be got wind in stomach. ARGGHHH .... I also know it could be a cause, that's why fed him with Infacol and put ointment and massaged him tummy, to which he cried even louder!

My friend comforted me, it could be due to his 6th week growth spurt and he's going through growing pains! She mentioned her baby also like that during the 3rd and 6th week and had alot more during the next 6mths too. It's hard to imagine that, cos her baby is such a darling, with no temper and easy to take care of type.

Crying with baby: haha ... After crying with him twice, I'm finding it a comfort, sort of an outlet for me as well. I guess it's the same for babies, crying is an outlet for their frustrations.

Crayonshinchan: wow, you still can cook ah, I have to hurriedly take showers and go toilets when I'm all alone with my boy! I have to depend on my mum or hubby to settle my food issue these days cos the boy wants to be carried alot! sigh ... my hubby also said I smell of milk! haha, said that's my current fav perfume!

Flos: your CL is so "chao kwang"! at least mine was abit smarter! hehe, she told me my boy outgrowing the Huggies Ultra liao. But I can tell that it still fits well, in fact better than the rest cos no leakage and doesn't cut into his skin. Then she offered to buy from me the unopened packet, how to take money from her right, so I just offered to give to her lor cos she wanted to buy it for her granddaughter, who's having a baby girl in Dec. One of the hampers I received had a few packs of Huggies Ultra NB too, but I didn't give that to her, passed them to Ava's twins instead! keke ... I didn't tell my CL about it of course! But I did give her alot more things after I unwrapped the hampers, all the infant baby clothes which I doubt my son will wear, and it's too hideous for me to give to my friends!

THOSE WITH MAIDS...

Since my bb's manyue on Wed, I've gone out 5 times with him plus the CL to various makan places. I have been paying for CL's share of food &amp; beverages consumed at diff food courts to restaurants at the malls. E.g. her bento and drinks at Sakae Sushi last nite cost me $15 already, and today's set lunch at Delifrance cost me $12.

I dun really mind paying for her cos she is a short-term helper. After all she is leaving on Fri.

But it suddenly dawned upon me this afternoon that if I take my Filipino maid out with me in the future, am I supposed to 'belanja' her lunch/dinner, etc? Being foodies aka gluttons, we have a tendency to eat at restaurants during the weekends. Does it mean I've to order another main course, another cup of Starbucks coffee or another McDonald's set meal for my maid who can eat anything under the sun, like us Chinese? It looks quite bad if she merely sits there eating nothing and taking care of your baby.

Anyone with maids can advise me what to do? Do u ask them to cook at home and eat first before going out? Dun want to seem so stingy and discriminatory, but cost does matter in the long run!

<font color="0077aa">Flos: I think we are supposed to "belanja" the maid when she is out with you. Or who have maid can comment?

Your Cl really have alot of funny ideas!

Xuanting: Yday I also cried when my hubby didn't managed to come home for 2days liao.. Hormones at work again! Haiz!

Today accompany MIL to see doctor with hubby nearby &amp; exactly at 8pm (3hours after last feed) like an alarm clock, Zane started crying &amp; fussing! So have to "kalang Kabo" &amp; rush home...

Wore the MIM sling but feel that bb's legs are squashed inside &amp; when we got home, his right arm like very red, don't know if no blood circulation inside the sling?</font>