(2008/09) Sep 2008

Chantelle, I'm using avent electric pump.

I think most of us have the same prob. Latching baby on for 5mins only and thereafter he rejects, and fell asleep on my breast. Then in another 30mins, he wakes up and wants milk again, latch again for 5mins, reject, and fell asleep. I think it's like a pacifier to him.. very tiring..

Jessi,

Congrats! Rest well ok?

LOCHIA:

I remembered I had it for like 8 weeks for FB (the last few weeks were just spotting). Have to wait for lochia to clear before going for pap smear test or else the results will be abnormal.

Lok

wah... 3 bus stop away? lol.. if weather nt hot den i walk..if nt i'll take bus frm bishan park sec.. frm bishan park sec, hv to take wat bus? 410 white plate, 162 or 52?

btw u make the scholar's brush at KKH?? hw much it cost?

xuanting: like Lok said, the format is T08XXXXXX(Letter).

Lok, wow! your child's BC no is beautiful! My son's got 8's and 6's, so it's quite nice too ;-) At least it's not a string of jumbled nos like mommy and daddy's NRIC.

what is BM jaundice?

How much does the Tai Mao Bi cost?

koras: Yes, I'll continue to wear it till end of manyue then. I think the absorbency of Whisper pads is just too good and therefore too deceiving to the user. Thot I hv very light flow.

breadmum: I wish I'd paid my ex-CL 6 days wages only. After all she came on a Sat and tendered her resignation at 9am on Fri (not even worked a complete Fri). Then I decided that it's better to let her go soon and regarded the extra wages as her 'shou gong' red packet to close the loop. Just dun want a defiant and stubborn CL to live with us for another month.

My current one, undoubtedly very kampong (doesn't wash her hands when switching tasks), is very humble and always apologetic. She is willing t accept my 'lectures' and is extremely hardworking (though always forget to switch off electtrical appliances and room lights). Lesser of the two evils.

chantelle
I'm using the Avent Duo electronic breast pump.

Think my baby love to latch on.. just now he was rooting around even though I just fed him less than an hour ago. I thought he was still hungry so latched him on somemore. When I sat him up to burp him, he puked out all my milk.. must be still too full. Think he only wants comfort suckling.

koras, sorry for the late reply as I couldn't go online yesterday. How's your baby now? Jin Yin Hua is the best for baby as it helps to reduce their heatiness and it's also believed to lower their jaundice level. Well, you are not supposed to give your baby too much of it, just one ounce is more than enough.
Other than that, just plain water for your baby which I see you have been giving. But that does not work as fast as Jin Yin Hua.

breadmum,
i hv a pkt of unopened pureen madame adhesive maternity pads. Bought an extra pkt but my flow is v little so i'm using normal pads instead. Letting go at $6. U keen? Where do u stay? I can pass it to u. Pls sms me at 98270284 if keen.

Nowadays, there's hardly any communication between me and my HB when he comes home after work. The only communication is his complaints about my mom which is making me sick and stressed. Even my massage lady says I am too stressed and overworked. My mom mops the whole house which he doesn't appreciate at all and instead complains that she does not switch off the lights.
Yesterday, he was even so callous as to tell me to tell my mom to pack her things and leave by mid next week as next week is the last week of my confinement. It sounds as if he is dismissing a maid for not doing her job. It's just like so totally unfeeling. And he didn't even mention giving a token to my mom for helping with my confinement. Who's going to cook for me for the remainder of the week then? His mom? He keeps saying that I am so fussy with my food now that his mom doesn't dare to cook for me, but he's even worse with my mom. He will always ask what my mom is cooking before he decides to come home for dinner. And if his mom brought some food here, he will only eat hers and not what my mom cooks. So who's the fussy eater, rite?

breadmum (breadmum): thanks. I use hot compress and massage before every pump. MY LC was Helen at RH, you had her as well yah? Cos what you mentioned is exactly what she told me too.

sorry to hear about your CL and her poor ethics. Hope you're coping well.

Just a general question here. Do your husbands scold you or raise their voices at you if you accidentally spill any sweet drinks? Mine does, and I wonder if this is a normal thing. He ALWAYS scolds or gets angry and raises his voice at me when I accidentally spill any sweet drink even though I will clean it up. Whenever his parents are over and they spill anything, he will just quietly wipe it up without making a single noise. Babies or toddlers sometimes can really make a mess and I wonder what will happen in future should my baby drop food, etc.

If your Manyue (28 days) is on a weekday, do u bring forward to the preceding weekend so that more pp can attend?

I might hv to bring fwd by 3 days.

My CL told me manyue cannot be later than 28 days.

stef&sean: triple 6, cool! hehehehe!!

Now I know why that parent who wrote in to forum page is so upset. It's like bidding for an auspicious mobile no and car plate no.

stef&seanbabes,
nice number too! Think J has more $ luck than his kor kor --- my grandma i.e. his great-grandma stroke toto with his birthwt.

shazz,
yup, it's the ipamper. It's a bit late to wait till the gathering. Where do u stay? Do u want to borrow it today (or maybe get your DH to pick up from me) and try if it works for u before deciding to get 1? Don't waste the $100+ unnecessarily. Let me know or PM me ok?

Sri_Leo,
All 3 buses will get u to my place. I didn't do it at KKH.

Flos,
It was $168 for a package (scholar's brush + umbilical cord seal.) Got it from Babeszone cos they enclosed a discount voucher when we bought the Manyue cakes from Choz.

http://www.babeszone.com.sg/services.htm

BM jaundice = Breastmilk jaundice.

Caused by substance in some mother's milk that inhibits certain enzyme activity in the baby's liver, leading to a slower breakdown and secretion of bilirubin. This is considered normal and is no reason to stop bfg.

Lok (lok): I got something to exchange from OSIM, so I will exchange for the iPamper. I tried it and I love it. So getting hubby to go and exchange the item for that. Thanks so much for the offer, so kind of you! It's useful for backaches yah?

I am ordering Mac for lunch today...so tired of cooking..any rules of confinement that we cant take fast food during confinement?

bb crying
Kaiden has been "using" my breasts as pacifiers..my hubby thinks i am spoiling him by picking him up everytime he cries and offering my breasts..but he is really loud when he screams..tell me what other ways are there to comfort a crying bb? sigh...

bacon&egg (baconegg): I remembered Mei telling me her CL said can have Macdonalds during confinement! So I had that once when I was out once. Hee, even had Coke! shiokness!

shazz,

OIC. It was lying around like a white elephant (cos it was given as a mothers' day gift for my MIL) until the LC at TMC used a mini-massager to clear my plugged ducts. So I thot of borrowing the ipamper for the same purpose. Haven't used it for massaging other parts of the body other than my boobs!

shazz,
thanks! that makes me less guilty abt eating fast food...ordered a double cheese burger with fries..but they are taking really long to deliver..hmmm..i think my milk supply is decreasing cos of my food intake..been too busy to eat these days..just when u think u r done with feeding, the next feeding regime starts again..

Are u feeling better today? Fever subsided?
To clear clogged ducts, you really have to massage v hard..i remembered the lactaction nurse at nuh massaged really hard for me...v painful..but effective..apparently the breast she massaged seems to produce more milk than the other...i should have ask her to massage the other remaining breast as well...wasted!

Lok (lok): the iPamper is excellent for backaches! it can be heavy for you to place it on your back. that's why the advert for it shows a loving hubby using it on his wife's back! hehe ... I've already hinted to hubby he needs to help me with that. I bet he'll help cos he's tired from massaging my blocked breast! haha

Breastfeeding: Thanks mummies for the encourgement. I shall perserve for as long as I can, at least till next week for the Manyue! and I'll see how, if my milk supply keeps decreasing, it's a sign from my body to stop too. Shall not feel guilty about it as well since I tried my best!

my right breast is soft now but still have some lumps on the inside. But the milk is still not coming forth, still miserable 5-10mls at most after an hour's hot compress + massage + pump!

bacon&egg (baconegg): perhaps can try ordering tingkat? My mum will come over and cook meals for me when the CL is gone. I will also attempt to boil soup in my double boiler and continue with red dates and longan drinks by using the slow cooker. Think good food and lotsa fluids helps in the production of breastmilk.

shazz,
Called Neo garden, they dont deliver lunch tingkat..most of the caterer dont, unless you happen to live near to their catering factory. I might just order dinner tingkat..but lunch is my main problem cos i just dont have time to cook, feed and change diaper..cant multi-task..

Hubby would cook red dates tea for me using slow cooker in the nite. Often i had to steal time (like now in between typing) to cook soup..

Wingkei - I don't think it is normal to be honest for him to be like that. very double standards leh.

Shazz - do what is best for you. I know that BF is good but I think our generation were all brought up on FM and I think we're all doing great and close to our parents etc etc. I actually get turned off by BF Nazis and I think everyone is different.
Don't worry too much. Most impt is still God's protection and blessings!

Flos - I have also heard re 28 days but I am doing on the actual day of his ang mo birth so it is beyond the 28 days. If you can coordinate all the logistics in time, 3 days early sounds good. Gives u the peace of mind

sasa - my milk supply is like urs la. abbout 90ML each time...I'm still supplementing with FM. I was encouraged by my friend though....she said she continued latching her girl on even though for the first 2 months, she had to supplement but somehow, by the 3rd month, she had enough milk to go on TBF! I'll see whether that happens or now.

Chantelle - I'm using the Ameda electric pump.

breastfeeding problems - mine's the opposite. My boy seems to be a bottomless pit. I had him on my breast on and off from 530 to 9pm yesterday (maybe 2 half an hour breaks in btw) and then today, it's from 930am to 130pm (again with maybe 2 breaks in btw) ... he just doesn't seem to get enough. He delatches as if he has fallen asleep and when I try to burp him, he will wake up and crying / rooting for more milk. I gave up today. Just fed him some FM to top up.

It is moments like these when I wonder whether he just wants to suckle and shall I pop the pacifier into his mouth!!!!

lanolin (lanolin): thanks so much for your encouragement!
oh yes, I just rem you asked about baby's baptism. We'll leave it to the child to recieve Christ and baptism when he's older. Hubby and I believe in providing him with the knowledge of God as much as we can, but would like him to experience God himself and decide for himself when he's old enough to discern. Are you planning Declan's baptism already?

Hi, Ladies

Din log in for awhile.. dun have time especially after the CL left..

Very sad now..I have to handle baby and my three meals cos I am not taking outside food as I am BF.. My MIL only pop by to see baby.. Everyone is concerned about baby and not me, the mother who is lacking beauty sleep. I feel life has take a drastic change with baby's arrival and my freedom and personal time have suffered badly

Hello, Bacon&Egg

MacDonalds are ok, just dun take coke or caffinated drinks as it might affect the breastmilk..for crying babies, they may not be crying for milk.. sometimes it is bec of soiled diapers or wind in the stomach. If not, can give a pacifier and remove it after he doze off..

Hello, Wingkei

Is your hubby those who is very particular abt cleaniness? but then I feel not to the extent of shouting at you even after you cleaning up the mess..Try hard to stay positive and dun slip into depression.. more to come after your mum goes home.. whatever it is, you can go back to your mum place if you feel stress and unhappy.. do something which will cheer you up so that your milk supply will not be affected.

<font color="119911">xuanting (xuanting) - guess we hired a CL this time, cos being 1st time parents, we are totally clueless! But next time round, we can do without a CL, especially if Kieran is in playschool by then. And thank for saying that we are a lovely couple!

On post natal massage - nope, not the norm to charge additional for transport - am sure they priced it in already. My massage lady charged me $50 per session (about 90 minutes).

Angpow for CL??
How much is a decent amount to pack? Despite my complains about my CL, she is hardworking and means well. Have packed $208 for her. That should be sufficient right?

Mei (meie) - Kieran is like that as well. Especially likes to nibble on my shirt when I carry him and leave wet patches at the boob area even when he is not hungry. Doesn't help that the CL would say he is hungry everytime he roots.
Hence we are going to get him a pacifier to suckle on once the CL leaves next week.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - so you have to strip and offer your breast everytime Kaiden cries? *pengsan*

wingkei (wingkei) - ur husband scolds you only because you let him get away with it, so he thinks its 'normal' to ill-treat you and your mom!! I used to have an ex-boss who ranted and raved and threw files at his employees as well and picked at people just for the fun of it. But I was firm from the get go and never ever once let him bully me - bullies only pick on those that they think can be bullied.
Give your husband a taste of his own medicine and shout back at him or even slap him around abit to wake him up!! This is not the 19th century and women are not 小女人 anymore!

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - you can try the tingkat delivery company I am using. They will start my delivery next Friday when the CL leaves and they deliver for lunch (food will arrive at 10.30-11am at your doorstep every weekday). I have not tried their tingkat food, but we frequently order their zhi char when we are too lazy to cook on weekends. Food is above average! Not sure if they have limited delivery areas though. The weblink: http://www.lexin.com.sg/tingkat.htm

LC (faintz) - yes, this is a drastic change and life revolves around baby now. I was just looking at the papers on all the happenings during this weekend's F1, and self-pitying that I am missing out on so much.….but hang in there….things will get better as we get more comfy with baby and they become less fragile.
I used to live in Sydney and marvelled at how the mommies also coped with no CL or maid, just went out with their pram and baby (can take the bus somemore)…so if they can do it, I believe we can too! - of cos it would help if places in Spore was more baby friendly!</font>

Shazz
*Hugs* Bf can be frustrating esp if u are experiencing problems...sorry if I missed a posting but have u gone to see doc about the blockage/engorgement esp since u have fever? Or a breast or lactation specialist?

lok
DId liver fn test yest. Gabrielle's jaundice at 11.3, but liver fn normal. So PD says let it be. Just to keep an eye out for pale greyish stools and tea-coloured urine, which is abnorma. How's ur little boy?
And btw, thx for offering ur place for gathering!

alabone
i know i won;t get a good ranking since i MIA whole of Term 1 and Term 4! But I always tell myself that teaching is a vocation and since I like it, i dun want to be affected by ranking stuff, but sometimes of course it's a bit depressing. I'm human after all...

BAPTISM
Gabby's getting baptised on 5 Oct!

Bacon&amp;Egg
Think occasional fast food is fine. It's not like u're having it everyday. Me is gg out for sashimi tonite! I'm so excited abt it!!! Hope u had a yummy Mac lunch!

LC &amp; Bigtoes,
We have our SOP when it comes to Kaiden's crying, diaper check, too warm/too cold check, feeding time check, boredom check, stuffed n need to be burped check..offering him my breasts seems to be the most effective way to ease his crying.. Yeah, bigtoes, I think i have master the art of stripping in the fastest manner for Kaiden..hee..

Will check out Lexin catering...thanks for the link.

isabelle,

I heard abt the grey colored stool. What is tea-coloured urine? (as in what type of tea?). J's urine is like chrysanthemum color --- is that considered tea-color?

Sri_Leo,

Extracted from my earlier post:

It was $168 for a package (scholar's brush + umbilical cord seal.) Got it from Babeszone cos they enclosed a discount voucher when we bought the Manyue cakes from Choz.

http://www.babeszone.com.sg/services.htm

<font color="0077aa">LC(faintz): My CL is leaving in another two days time, I am gonna miss her!! Sob sob!!

I am praying for wisdom to be a good mother!

I pass by the nail shop when I went downstairs to buy something, really wish to do some pedicure!! And my frens are having Korean BBQ on sat, I relly hope to join them...</font>

Bigtoes

Thanks for the encouragement.. I gave birth on 15 August and now I am still not adapting well to the little addition.. hubby is more comfortable than me with the little one. I feel I am just a milking machine that lost out all my personal time ..do i sound like I am not ready for baby?? I always tot I am ready.. Hopefully things will get better as baby grows bigger and oh ya, he is getting heavier each time until my wrists like twisted.. blamed on the brown rice water I am taking. shall stop for the time being.

Storeberry,

sound silly but I cried as I hugged my CL on her last day.. She cried too. Until now, I still miss her. She would call me occasionally and it does brighten up my day.

There are things I want to do such as facial, massages, shopping etc but cannot with baby around. I have not have personal time with hubby.. tat day we went for dinner and I had to pour down the food as baby is giving signal that he wan milk ant time.. so sad

Little Scarlett has been crying non stop on and off one hr already........ anyone's baby got colic too? I gave her gripe water and the PD's colic drop.. and burped her already... doesn't work =((((((((

Happy Birthday Ava!!!!!

(kekeke...saw it in my facebook!!!!)

Enjoy many sweetest moments with the two men and two ladies in your life!!

breastfeeding
just take one day at a time. you'll be surprise how long you'll be bfg this way. dun think so far first...enjoy each moment like it is the last day you are going to be bfg your child...

Confinement
6th day of confinement and im bored liaoz....how do you guys survive one month!!!

can i ask .if let say i using breastpump , and halfway i stop pumpin? can i jus leave it out in the open? perhaps 45mins den continue pumpin again?

Mummies!
just came back from bb's one mth assesment. He has put on 1.5kg and grown 6 cm since birth! m relieved coz i am on TBF and was always worried that bb isnt getting enough. im glad i persisted.
so mummies, dun give up .... just keep feeding when bb demands thats what i do even if one hourly or two hourly. Dr says he's at healthy level but coz he's got breastfeeding jaundice will have to monitor and may have to do a blood test 2 weeks from now

Lanolin,
i have the same pblm. bb seems like he's always hungry. but its just that he will latch on sometime 10 mins or even 5 and then go off to sleep and demand for more in maybe an hour. makes me feel like im 7-11 . haha
i asked the dr about it she says it okay but if you dun want to give the pacifier just let him suck your finger coz he may just want to do some comfort sucking

Kym,
bb is colic so dr says that for colicky babies, must burp in between breasts. Also after feeding must not let him lie flat down for at least half hour coz of acid reflux and to let him sleep slight upwards at an angle. My bb prob has a more serious colic problem coz PD says he inherited.
daddy's problematic tummy.

wingkei - itsok. today just bring my boy to see a doc as his face and forehead have a bit like pimplelike and rashes. doc told me do not let baby drink water as there is a lot of water in the milk powder.

bacon&amp;egg- sometime i does that too. as my boy keep crying and doesnt want to sleep, i ofter my breast to him then he drink a while and goes to sleep hehe.giving him the real pacifier also doesnt helps. he will spit out as there was any taste on it.think i will have the main problem as you if i going to take care my boy before finding myself a job. lunch hard to go down to buy alone. Think after taking care of him, feed him, burp bath, doesnt have much time to even rest also

LC- isnt ok to take cheese. coz my mum say scared later eat le when feed breastmilk will affect.

l'l CY - surf the net or sleep. during confinement i din even have time to watch tv.except thur channel u 9.30 show.

seem memory getting worst after giving birth. hard to remember things. even his milk time i need to jot down .

l'l CY (lilboymum) : agree with you to take one day at a time when it comes to breastfeeding. Am adopting that approach now! MS: have have lor, don't stress myself out over it! keke

Confinement: I got by by sleeping alot! haha ... I'm blessed to have a good CL that I can trust my baby with. As for the rules, I got by too by cheating here and there. Thank God my CL allows me to use the fan! If not I'll surely melt into a pot of fats! Her cooking is good and have variety so I'm still not bored of confinement food yet! The only thing I really miss is having seafood! I love seafood and now they're telling me I have to avoid it for 50 days at least cos they contain toxins and is bad for my body which is recovering from the delivery. I've also been taking my baths at my own timing, without my CL's knowledge! haha ... that's how I get by! haha ... and before I know it, it's coming to an end next week! yippee!

Ava: no, didn't see LC or doctor cos the last time it happened, I saw LC at RH and I just did what they did the last time and self-medicate with Panadol. That's what my gynae said too the last time I went for check-up.

Hi, Preggie

Who is your PD? My PD which Mount A assigned me is superr busy and I have to source for another one..the current one never ask me to go back for one month assessment and din ask me whether I will wan to go for 5-in-1 jab or 6-in-1 jab for baby.. even Hep B second jab, my baby haven take yet..

May I know what assessment did the PD do on your baby?

preggie,

Wow, that's very good progress! Keep up the good work!

LC,

I can empathize with u cos that's exactly how i felt initially when i had FB. Like u said, it will slowly get better as they grow older. Don't fret, you will definitely be rewarded later on with the close bond u share with the bb.

For me, cooking 3 meals for myself (despite TBF) was not on the agenda. I just ordered tingkat for dinner. For lunch, it's usually very simple stuff (porridge, oatmeal, noodle soup, sometimes sandwiches). For household chores, ask your hubby to help at nite/during weekends or if u prefer, engage PT help. If someone u trust offers ocassionally to take care of bb for u, take up the offer! Come into the forum and talk to the other mummies. U will soon learn that u are not suffering alone..

During weekends, have couple time with your hubby. I'm sure your ILs and parents are more than happy to help out for a few hours. Remember to take care of yourself as well (and not have your life just revolving around the bb).

Thanks Lok.. I guess I will need to re-priortise again.. for the Tingkat, is there MSG? can I have the contact? PM me.. thanks.

LC
yes life does seem to revolve around the baby now! such a change from before when u can be your own person. take heart though, sooner than u think, ur baby is going to be sittting, then walking and then he won't want ur cuddles etc animore
so try to enjoy this time when u're ALL he's got haha
btw, for your hands, you might want to think about using pillows or getting a brest friend to support cos otherwise u can get carpel tunnel-like syndrome. i got it for my FB cos he was so heavy and the doctors eventually had to prescribe painkillers and Voren cream and i ended up wearing a wrist brace to carry baby!

happy birthday ava!