(2008/09) Sep 2008

lanolin: was thinking abt u...our posts crossed.

yes, my DH is back since early this mth. We are most lazy...havent decided on bb's name, haven't bought the bb cabinets, car seat and carrier!! hhaaah! We're sooo addicted to the Games...

I think it's better to bring your own towel lah...do u wanna use HOSPITAL towels that have come into contact with so much germs, lochia, blood, breastmilk ?!!!! Yikes!

Flos: Read your question re rental income. It is classified under "Other Income" for tax assessment purpose.

Bigtoes: The grandparents' relief can only be claimed on the same granparent once. ie if your brother is claiming against your mum, then you cannot claim this relief against her anymore.

rachel: I asked my DH that questions last night too. Will the govt pay u and will your company release u:

i) 8 weeks X 7 days (including weekends & PH); or
ii) 8 weeks X days (excl weekends & PH)

This is critical as Oct-Dec have many PH.

I suppose such questions can only be answered by your own HR bah..

16 weeks Maternity Leave
so its still subject to company's approval..
wonder if my company will be nice enough to start wef 17th Aug or not..
if not, i can't even get the 1st 3 months as i'm still a few weeks away
from the required 180 days of employment..

Flos (flos)
i've encountered the same prob when i went to optical shop to get my spects done..
initially, they refused to check for me but end up, they agreed to do a rough measurement..
turn out that it was 100 degrees more than my contact lenses which i'm wearing now..
so i got them to make my spects according to my contact lenses degree instead..
if u wan, mayb u can follow ur last taken measurements to buy the contact lenses..

Flos
Of course citizens can claim QCR!! It's in that link u posted:

The qualifying child must –

* Be unmarried; and
* Be a legitimate child, step child or legally adopted child; and
* Be below 16 years old or studying full-time at any university, college or other educational institution; and
* Does not have an annual income exceeding $2,000 (including NS pay, but excluding scholarship and similar allowances)

Childcare Leave: I have a question. Does it mean I will get extra 4 days child care leave for this year now?? Hmm.. Then I'll have to include these 4 days into my leave when I clear them this year.

Flos,

It's based on working days. So it's 8 weeks X 5 working days. See MOM clarification for the 12 wks maternity leave (they haven't updated for 16 wks yet).

------------------------------------------

Guidelines for employee to take extended 4 weeks of maternity leave flexibly

The extended 4 weeks of maternity leave may only be taken flexibly with the consent of the employer, and must be completed within 6 months of the birth of the child. The employer and the employee should discuss and come to an agreement before she goes on maternity leave. It can be taken on a stretch of 4 weeks or by working days capped at 24 days to be computed as follows:

4 weeks X the number of working days in the week

Example:
If the female employee worked 5 days in a week, the number of maternity leaves to be flexed is computed as follows:

4 weeks X 5 days = 20 working days

If the female employee agreed to work 3 days per week and take the remaining 2 days as flex maternity leave, the 20 days of flex maternity leave will be consumed by the 10 weeks.

The employer and the employee should also anticipate and agree on an approach to deal with possible situations that may arise from taking the leave flexibly. For example, how the employee's work performance will be assessed when she is on flexible leave, whether she can go back to taking the maternity as a continuous block subsequently, and whether she can bring forward her flexible leave if she resigns or her contract ends within 6 months from the childbirth.

The employer is not obliged to consent to the employee's request to take the extended 4 weeks of maternity leave flexibly. If the employer assess that this will adversely affect his business operations, the employee will have to take the extended 4 weeks of maternity leave as a continuous block immediately after the first 8 weeks.

The employer can work out any flexible arrangement with the employee that best suits the needs of both parties. For example, the employee could, after 8 weeks of maternity leave,

a) return to work on a half day scheme;
b) be on a shortened workweek of say, 3 days

until the flexed leave (maximum 24 days) is exhausted.

Whichever form it takes, both the employer and the employee must mutually agree to the arrangement.

Sick Leave Entitlement during Maternity Leave

The female employee is not entitled to paid sick leave wile on maternity leave.

The female employee is not eligible to claim for medical expenses incurred in connection with the delivery of her child unless it is provided in the employment contract.

mickey: tks! So that means if my inlaws or parents have that so called OTHER INCOME, I cannot claim my GCR of $3K?

I find the Grandparent's eligibility not too clear: "Not carrying on any trade, business, profession, vocation or employment in the previous year."

That means, this particular inlaw/parent must quit his/her job to take care of my bb lah?

It's slightly diff from Parent's eligibility: " The dependant does not have income (including dividend, interest and pension) more than $2,000 in the previous year".

So if my inlaws possess shares that earn them dividends of more than $2K, I also cannot claim this Parent relief?

Also, it states that the parent must be living with you: "The dependant lived in your household. If the dependant lived in a separate household in Singapore in the previous year, you must incur $2,000 or more in supporting him/her"

But what if we and the baby are living at our parents/in-laws place, does it mean we can't claim Parent relief, even if I'm paying them more than $2K all these months?

Can I claim both Parent relief and GCR on the same parent concurrently? KEKEKEKE!

Seems like the $3K GCR is really hard to claim, esp if your working FIL is already claiming his wife relief (on your MIL)!

<font color="0077aa">Hi mummies, CONFIRMED we will get the 4 mth maternity leave &amp; extra bb bonus!!! Its really amazing! But just that the claiming part, we will only be able to claim that in Jan 09.

Alabone, do take care &amp; relax!

Flos: I also watch the match, yah, too bad. But it was a good fight!

Sri Leo: Better check whether you can receive the baby bonus, any amount is impt to you now.</font>

Childcare leave is not compulsory for some company isit??
Just realised that Hb's company dun give child care leave. Can like tat one ah? Anyone in HR can advice?

Flos: You can claim both GCR and parent relief on the same parent. If the parent does not live with you, the relief amt is a smaller amount.
I'm not sure abt the income qualification to claim GCR though. Yes, "Dividends" is considered as income.

Hi Lok: So Rachel is right 20X2=40 working days to be utilised over a period of one year after the birth of your child. We asked this question cos during certain stretches of periods in the year, the subsequent 8 weeks of ML may coincide with/consists of more PH than other stretches.

Ours will be one such lucky case: Hari Raya Puasa, Deepavali, Haji, Christmas, NY. So regardless of all these 'year-end windfalls', we can still enjoy 40 days?

Ava: I really dunno abt QCR! As a matter of fact, I've not paid SG taxes since 2003 cos I was working overseas (until last yr).

Flos - honestly, after taking a regional job for many years, I am not so familiar with local labour laws anymore. I am quite sure though, that public holidays etc will be "forfeited" when you are on maternity.

My Singapore staff are having a nice time updating the policies while I am grinning from ear to ear.

Re towels - u've got a point there! Ok, will pack my own.

Mrs Yap - Child care leave is a statutory requirement so if your husband is a full time permanent employee, he must be entitled. Unless he is a contractor ... that might be different.

micky ,
u will get the extra 4 days of leave this year ... as well as all mummies who have not cleared the childcare leave .. i have not utilised mine yet .. so i still have 6 days .. keke .. better clear them before AL

Flos ,
Public holidays is taken into account if i am not wrong ,.. unless u break them up by days .. that is 4 weeks = 20 days as what lok updated ..
unless your work os 5.5 days week , then it is 22 days , 6 days week = 24 days .
Also , the GCR , just apply and key in IC , dun think they check so much and the relief is only 3000 i think .

Sri ,
if you experience contractions , better head to hospital first .. just be safe first ..

FLos ,
think the hari raya puasa cannot be counted cos the 1st two months( 8 weeks ) have to be continous ..
the rest of Public holidays , Hmm , i will be having my school holidays , i dun have to bother .

Flos
Re dividend income, i'm pretty sure it doesn fall under "trade, business, profession, vocation or employment"...rather it's "other income". You should call IRAS to check on this!

lanolin
Thanks... ya my hb is a full time permanent employee... but i was flipping thru his employment handbook... did not see any mention of childcare leave lor... was surprised to see birthday leave though... I will make him check with his HR now. Thanks

Storeberry, I enquire oredi.. they said strictly NO bb bonus for single mum unless I marry to the biological father b4 my child turns 6yrs old..

Quiling, i headed dwn to hosp few days back oredi.. stayed dere for 3 days lei.. so boring.. but i dilate only for 1cm within tt 3days... if 4cm dilate den doc can induce me...

ahhh... tis is wat MCYS replied to me..

Thank you for your email dated 13 Jan 2008.

2 Under the enhanced 2004 Baby Bonus scheme, a child is eligible forthe Baby Bonus if he or she meets all the following criteria :

a) born on or after 1 August 2004;
b) a Singapore Citizen or becomes a Singapore Citizen;
c) the first to fourth child born alive to the mother; and
d) the mother is lawfully married to the child’s father.As long as a child is born alive (i.e. not a stillbirth), it will becounted as a live birth. Children who are not Singapore Citizens andstepchildren are not considered in the counting of birth order.

3 The Baby Bonus Scheme consists of 2 parts - cash gift and co-savingsin the Children Development Account (CDA). However, please note that theCDA is not applicable for the first birth order child. For more details,you may wish to visit https://www.babybonus.gov.sg.

My DH and I had this unscrupulous discussion last nite:

Those SAHMs who hv own family business...Actually, u can ask/conspire with your businessman Daddy or FIL to hire you for at least 90 days and pay u a dummy salary with CPF (u shd pay them back your salary as it shd be regarded as your "investment capital").

Then if u go get pregnant (hopefully u strike in one try), u can apply for/earn the extra 2 months of salary fully paid for by Govt (capped at $20,000 per confinement for first 2 kids, inclusive of CPF contributions). So perhaps u can declare on paper a gross mthly salary of $8K so as to max out the amount Govt will pay u for the last 8 weeks ML?

Of course, u would apply to get the CDA (u need to invest $6K first), and the $4K BB Bonus.

After your 4 mths ML, which u can tell your Daddy or FIL that u wanna take in a block rather than spread over a year, u can quit your job, upon ensuring that you've gotten all the grants and subsidies.

Oh before u quit from you Daddy's company, if u are 'gian perng' enuff, u can further claim the 4th-6th days of CCL (capped at $500 plus CPF per day), which will be paid by govt too.

What a quick way to make money. tsk tsk...

Hi all.. just want to confirm, i was looking at the revised maternity package at MOM website and i noticed that for baby bonus, 1st child now has CDA? in the past it was only cash gift right?

Karen, i think your company as of now will need to give you the maternity leave. cos govt back date the policy, it state that we only need 90 calendar days of employment before giving birth to be entitled to the maternity leave!! i'm only reaching 180 days on 15th sept and my edd is 24th sept. that's why have been feeling abit stress that the baby will come before that date. but now feel so relieved!!!!!

yan (bbfam)
i'm also reaching 180 days at 15th sept..
but EDD is 10th Sept.. thats y has been very stress..

they did back date the policy but before it's officially under govt law,
it will still be subject to company's approval..
so i think mayb u'll wan to check with ur company to confirm..

i've just asked my HR and they say shld be ok..
such a huge relief..! =)

Maternity Pads:
I just went to Watsons to buy some maternity pads. Sofy is having 20% sale. I used Sofy for my last pregnancy and like it's length. The longest is 35cm!
No leakages at night even if the flow is heavy..

Karen, its under govt law already. just that they have not done all the paperwork lor. actually my boss already giving me the original 3 months maternity leave cos she wanted me to work full time for her. but i just feel abit stress lo.
Now overjoyed for the 4th month!!

CLOUD: CDA is not a cash gift per se. It's a dollar-to-dollar match, meaning u need to deposit up to $6K, so that govt can match up to $6K in your bb's a/c. The cash gift refers to the $4K.

Blackberry: EACH parent will get 6 days CCL. But it's not transferable between u2. E.g. if u used up your 6 days, your DH cannot pass his balance of CCL to u.

Mei, u going to deliver @ KKH ah... wah.. ur EDD same as mine.. if we pop out ard the same day or a day difference, i can drop by to ur ward.. hehehe... btw u'll be taking which Class?? Me B2+...

Just a thought. Will childcare be prorated from 17th Aug to 31st Dec? Or will they really just give us the 6 full days in 2008?

All,

I can't find the exact wording on MOM website. During the 12-week maternity leave era, per my company policy (attached below), if u take it all in one stretch, it is a total of 84 calendar days (including Public holidays and MC). I do believe my HR has checked this with MOM.

"Medical absences granted during maternity leave do not impact the maternity leave period that the employee applies for. The maternity leave period is not extended by these medical absence days granted.

Public holidays occurring during maternity leave will similarly not extend the maternity leave period."

SnowWhite, you are totally confused...

From Lok's note, if you are planning to take the whole stretch as a block, 12 weeks x 7 = 84 days (INCLUDES PH and MC).

But if you are breaking up the last 4 weeks (this MUST be discussed with your leaders and agreed upon, otherwise you are required to take it as another 4 weeks block), then you can take 4weeks x 5 days work week = 20days of leave to be taken over 1st 6 months.

This is without the extension of 12 weeks to 16 weeks. So if you want to include the last 4 months (new policy), it'll be the same 20days of leave to be cleared within the 1st 1 year of the child.

yan (bbfam)
its gd tat nowadays companies are kind and good..
coz if not, according to the papers, they might not give..

"Employers will be encouraged to allow their eligible staff to claim the
additional maternity, infant care and childcare leave provisions and extend
the enhanced protection to pregnant employees from 17 Aug 2008; if they do so,
the Government will pay for its share of the additional leave to be taken.
When the necessary legislative and administrative changes are completed,
employers will be required by law to provide the relevant leave options to eligible employees"

anyway, congrats tat ur company is giving u the maternity leave..
so no need to stress already.. cheers.. =)

rachel: I already asked your last question ytd but no one in this thread can offer me an answer.

Will the 6 days CCL be given to u upfront and be 'replenished' once we usher in 2009?

Or will it be valid from your EDD in 08 till eve of your EDD in 09?

Or it officially commences from the date of your return from ML (technically u dun need to take CCL during ML)?

Karen, not good or not. its my boss wan me to take 2 months maternity only. then the remaining 2 months see how i wan to take. cos its year end, my company will be v busy. she need me back ASAP!!

Flos, to your Q1, I guess, since the entitlement is 6 days per calendar year, it'll be 6 days in 2008 (though not sure if this is prorated), and another 6 days in 2009. So it'll be so-called "replenished".

Depending on when you are back from ML, if it's before end of 2008, then you can claim for the childcare leave for 2008 right after ML. However if you only return from ML in 2009 (say eg, if you take a BLOCK of 16 weeks - - which we'll lugi cos of PHs), then your childcare leave in 2008 is forfeited and you can claim for childcare leave in 2009 for 6 days anytime from Jan to Dec 09.

Grace: $5K tax rebate. Yes. To be filed in Year of Assessent in 2009. Yippee!

Rachel: Is there a typo "This is without the extension of 12 weeks to 16 weeks. So if you want to include the last 4 <font color="ff0000">months</font> (new policy), it'll be the same 20days of leave to be cleared within the 1st 1 year of the child."

U mean last 4 'weeks'?

Anyway, I thought the last 8 weeks are to be cleared within the 1st 1 yr of birth. Not 3rd mth to be cleared in first 6 mos, then the 4th mth to be cleared in the first 1 yr, as suggested by your reply to SnowWhite?

Flos,

Sorry if I confused everyone. Under the OLD rules, the flexi 4 weeks (i.e. 9th to 12th week) needs to be taken WITHIN 6 mths.

Under the NEW policy, the flexi 8 weeks are to be taken within 1 year.

The confusion arises because MOM website and my company websites are not updated yet. Hence, you keep seeing the reference to within 6 mths and the 4 weeks mentioned... (I just cut and paste mah)..

haha.. yes yes.. typo, should be last 4 WEEKS, not MONTHS!! :p

Old policy is 3rd month within first 6 months.. now new policy is 3rd and 4th month to be cleared within 1st year of child.