(2008/09) Sep 2008

wingkei,

look on the bright side, at least ur mum is with u..my muam was so busy with work thats y im really alone during my previous confinement till later. Talk to your mum, made her understand and work together with you. Im sure it will work out fine...just rem to push work to ur hubby when ur MIL is doing the confinement with you. Good luck...

Goldfish, my family doesn't know about all these arguments I have with him, as I don't want to make them worry. And I also worried that to make peace for me, my mom may just give up doing confinement for me and let my mil do it.

Jan Kate, that won't work for me, letting him take care of the baby for a day. Cos his parents live very near us, so it would be very convenient for him to just ask his mom for help.

Flos, my mom has talked about doing the marketing and cooking the confinement food for me. But nothing from his mom's side. I only keep hearing from my HB that his mom has to have a turn doing confinement for me. So I'm not sure if his mom has been talking to him behind my back or he wants to get his mom involved too. Both MIL and MOM are quite similar in health, actually. But my mom is the ONLY one who suggests that she helps me look after at night in case I get too tired. I don't get any such suggestion from his mom. So, how can one not say that mom is the best, rite? That's why I'm regretting not getting a CL in the first place and now it's too late to get one cos I will sure be bombarded by his mom for wanting to get a CL now. My MIL will be looking after the BB after my ML.
Which is why I also don't understand why she would want to fight to do confinement when she will have the baby for the whole day after I return to work.

wingkei,

I think ur MIL and mine quite similar, wanting to take over everything..over estimated themselves..my MIL is also looking after my gal now but am letting my mum to look after my bb this time round.

Hmm..u try to make him challenged u to look after the bb without much help lor..my MIL also live v near us (living with my BIL) of which is only 10mins walk away but some how i know his weakness and he really takes up the challenge without seeking any external help. Pride i think does the trick...

Jen Kate, yeah, I think so too. Really over estimate themselves. I don't even dare to think of what problems I will face once I return to work. My HB says it's his mom's first grandchild so she wants to be involved, but it's also my mom's first grandchild. He's simply so... I don't even have a word to describe. They are even telling me to have the second baby immediately after this first one. I'm definitely NOT!

My HB is also similar to yours. He's really a MCP, so I think pride will do the trick too. But then again, he has said that I CAN'T go out during ML and also since I'm gonna be taking LOA after that. To him, since I am taking LOA, it means I want to take care of BB and so should not go out. So I wonder if I will have a chance to let him take care of BB alone.

By the way, anyone having problem with piles? I am having a lot of problem with piles now and am worried how it will be affected by natural delivery. I dread to think of the pain!

wingkei, why dun you just agree with him to let his mum do day confinement, then secretly plan with your mum about what to do when she is coming over to stay with you for the confinement period? since your mum is staying at your house, by the time she wake up, ur mil comes, its still both of them helping out lo... wad i mean is that just agree with your hubby for his mum do day confinement and your mum night confinement, but then actual fact when the day comes, is YOUR mum doing everything for you. so no more arguments or depression. sometimes men just wan you to agree to what they say, even when they talk without thinking.

What i did was to chat with my mum about what we going to do for confinement, and what to buy and how to care for baby. ytd i even 'bak kat' with her to help me keep secret that when i doing confinement, i will still bathe n wash hair with normal shampoo n body wash with hot water. i not gonna use the chinese herbs to bathe. and asking her not to cook with toooo much vinegar or ginger or sesame oil etc. so i told her to keep my bathing a secret from my hubby n his family side. cos my hubby is telling me NO BATHING & NO WASHING HAIR and surely his mum n grandma will start to nag if they know. i tried arguing with hubby about washing hair n bathing sometime earlier, until i gonna explode. but then i keep quiet already, just make planning with my mum. since hubby(gotta go back to work) n MIL(not staying with us) not gonna be at our home WHOLE DAY, they wont know too much also wad. so i shall do it secretly! LOL!!!

Anyway, i know my MIL, as free as she is, i know she will surely drop by almost everyday. so i will let my mum handle her and maybe find something for her to help out with. in case she cooks anything, we can choose whether to eat or not ba. Take it easy!!!

yan, I think my MIL will also drop by, definitely everyday. But yes, I think you have a good idea there too. Though I think I will just keep my mouth shut whenever he raises this topic. Just let my mom and MIL both help out and like Jen Kate says, push all the heavy work to my HB. I really don't want to worry too much right now.

wingkei - ur MIL if she still drop by still ok.. i still wonder my MIL will she drop by my mum plc a not cox i be doing my confinement there

wingkei: in that case, I suggest that your MIL start taking care during your confinement to let your bb get accustomed to her techniques, her voice, her body odour, her touch, etc. Wait your bb likes your mom's rocking and bathing how?

I can't wait to push my bb to my eager MIL boy! I need her help!!! My mom's hands are full as she has 2 internal grandchildren to manage...

koras, i think if doing confinement at your mum's house, most probably MIL will not drop by so often. cos our own house, is also MIL's son's house, they will feel more at ease to visit on daily basis.

wingkei, your MIL stay v near everyday drop by not strange. my MIL so 'eng' she stay ard 30 mins away i know her pattern one, sure also come everyday de. yes, just agree with your hubby on wadever unreasonable thing he say, and then, in your mind think of a way to bak kat with your mum. you have to let your mum know abt these arguments and what he is suggesting, to let her be mentally prepared. if your mum wan to give in to them, you have to talk to her, let her know that you will feel better if she will help you deal with them and stand on your side. make her your best supporting actress, and u be the leading actress!!! lol! funny way to put it but its the best way to deal with hubbies that are unreasonable with siao siao commands!

actually even though my mum will be helping me out to wash hubby clothes when i'm in hospital, i am now currently started to teach my hubby how to seperate clothings, and the amount of detergent n softener to put for washing of clothes. he is now taking in the infos, and i make it clear to him that it is to prepare him in case of anything. its best that he know how to do it, no matter if by the time he need or need not do it is another matter all together. and although i have already shown him all the baby stuff that he may need to help to buy from NTUC, i have also taught my sis about all the things that baby need to use, in case my mum cant go and get it, hubby or sis know which one it is. so its triple back up. hehe! i'm just a super duper kiasu first time MTB! lol!

jus wan to share tat the taka baby fair had started today till 24 aug.
I jus came back from there. quite alot of good buys. like pigeon got bundle pack which include steriliser, food warmer, 5 milk bottles, one brush & one more item i forgot wat is that, only cost $159 (UP $256). quite worth it if u're looking at pigeon pdcts. Avent aso hve 20% off.

Flos
I didn't use anything at all. The rashes just broke out suddenly all over my body.

My GP told me that some women will experience rashes during pregnancy and it will go off after delivery.. He said I am considered lucky that I got it close to wk 38 since I would be deliverying soon. There are some who got it as early as wk 24 and they got to endure till full term.

TAKA BB FAIR

I went to take a look last Fri after my gynae visit. Nothing much for me leh...mostly toys for older children...

hi jo jo,

they have lots of stuff there. Like cots,playpen,strollers,Huggies diapers,bedding accessories,toys & lots of clothes.

stef&seanbabes (limyg)

you do a lot of yoga? i think u must be very flexible!

wingkei

I think that your HB has no idea what he is in for when the baby arrives. i gave into my DH's wish to only have a day-time CL for #1 and the coping period was really tough for both of us, even though DH took 2 weeks leave to help out. This time around, he made no fuss at all when i said i want a fulltime CL.

what some of the other mummies have suggested is good, that you bak kat with your mum first and then when MIL comes, there is a plan already and you can get her to do stuff like looking after the baby in the morning so your mum can cook and perhaps take a rest in the afternoon since she is staying to help at night. Even if you don't really like your MIL around, the extra help will always come in useful so that you and your mum can rest- important for avoiding post natal blues and producing enough milk. Is your HB taking leave to help too?

Baby Sage, ask doc or the sonographer? hmm... cz last mth & my upcoming checkup (36wks), there'll be no scan.. so wat can i expect on my tis checkup??

skinny pig

What yo have sounds like it may be Puppp if the itch is driving you insane at night, better see your gynae and get some steroid cream to help. don't scratch cos it may scar and switch to non-fragranced showerstuff like Cetaphil or Dermaveen. also helps to stay in aircon room. you can also put ice-packs on the places that itch worst.

<font color="119911">skinny pig (skinny_pig) - ur rashes could be PUPPP? See: http://dermatology.about.com/cs/pregnancy/a/puppp.htm
My sister got it also towards the end of her pregnancy, and there is basically no cure, just have to get steriods from your gyne to sooth the itch. It goes away on its own after you deliver.

Sri Leo (sri_leo) - if the baby's head is engaged, ur belly would be 'hanging lower' and if you have been having indigestion, heartburn etc prior to that, then these would also disappear cos your organs are less compressed.
Anyway, best to ask your gyne during the scan...I also forgot to check during my last appnt.</font>

Hi flos,

I tot last wk was the Toys fair or smething like tat?
Today was the Baby fair. I can find alot of bb stuffs leh.

dseptkon, yes, I also believe he doesn't know what he is in for. he keeps saying I'm too overly protective of the BB and too kan cheong. But that's cos I know what I'm in for! No, he is not taking leave to help except for the paternal leave he is entitled to. Ok, I think I need to drive the thought of not liking my MIL around out of my mind so that I can make use of her help, I guess. haiz.... no choice there.

li piggi: Oh liddat ah? Nevermind, happy shopping!! most of the mommies here are done with the GSS BB shopping since May-June!!!

Flos,
Ya i think of the mummies aldy finished their shoppin. Hee me very slow , hvn buy anything yet (&amp; gona pop next mth too) so this baby fair came jus in time.

Hi skinny pig,
Jus wan to let knoe tat i have tat PUPPP rashes in my 1st preg too. It was really bad &amp; it started in my 7th mth. My whole tummy practically cover w rashes. my gynae see aldy aso shake head &amp; he even take a foto of it cos think he never seen so bad b4 bah.
It usually only happen in 1st pregnacy. tats y now my 2nd preg i don hve it (thank god!) it will go away once u deliver just tat may leave some scars behind (tat's y i hvae very ugly marks now). jus bear with it ok?

<font color="0077aa">Lactation consultant: Yah think they will make their rounds. Thanks! Will definitely get their help for 1st time mummy!

Flos: The toys fair ended already &amp; yes now is the bb fair. I don't think I will go down to bb fair, no stamina liao!

Wingkei: Remember when I said "vicious cycle"? Think we can suggest as much suggestions to you as possible but end of the day if you still accept as it is &amp; do nothing, the same problem will come up. I do agree that it not easy to settle but this issue has come up two or three times &amp; its also not resolve? You need to decide &amp; make a stand or else you are going round &amp; round in the pit!</font>

storeberry, yes, I remember that. Well, I thought it was settled. I really didn't expect my HB to bring it up again.

storeberry, me too leh...breathless...cannot shop anymore and compare prices

i am left with the car seat and baby carrier. just ask my ah lao to wing by the Hyperstore one of these weekends to buy them...

wingkei: u shd drag your DH to the fair now!

Hi skinny pig,

I also have rashes in this few days, but it seems like diff with your. because my family members also have the same problem as me.

mine rashes very redness &amp; ichy around my neck, arm &amp; feet.

This morning i went to see GP, he said must be bite by insert, he give me some medicine (PIRITON) to reduce the ichy but i didn't take it bcoz i scared it will effect my bb.

I did ask him, it is the symton to get CHIKUNGUNYA FEVER? (bcoz my block got people kennah dengue fever) i am so worried!!!
but luckily he said i have no fever..

What should i do....haizz... very ichy now!

hi all (sorry to intrude),

i'm selling my Quinny Buzz (3 wheelers) - Sulphur color (apple green)

its Brand New with Local warranty.

Warranty is still not filled as the guy at BBHyperstore said to bring back BB's birth cert after i deliver and warranty will start thereafter.

And it can be reclined totally and allows forward facing too.

Please email me at [email protected] if you are interested.

Good Price!

li (piggi)

i kena Puppp with this 2nd pregnancy and in week 29 somemore but it is gone now cos i took GNC dandelion root capsules and flax seed oil. my gynae had neva heard of them but lots of US mums have used it. the itch stopped within 5 days of taking the stuff. Vitakids at Forum als sells dandelion root tea which can be drunk instead.

skinny pig
suggest you do whatever it takes to make yourslef comfortable
no point being miserable in these last few weeks of preparing for bb's arrival

wingkei
agree with flos, you should go to the fair and get the cot!

Sri Leo (sri_leo) - how come ur gyne doesn't scan you anymore? Mine scans at each visit, just to show you the position, measure weight etc. Anyway, even if not, I am sure she/he can feel ur belly and let u know if the baby's head is engaged or not.

Sri
I'm also with KKH &amp; my doctor also scans me at every visit.

Skin Problems
For me I have an outbreak of eczema recently... lucky it's a small area on my feet, really darn itchy &amp; dry &amp; I don't dare to use my strong steroid cream.

bathing during confinement
those who are planning to bathe with herbs: how are you going to settle the first 2 or 3 days when in hosp, since hosp prolly don't have provisions for boiling ze herbs?

Flos, dseptkon, sounds like a good idea. But scully I can only go to the fair and drool cos can't buy anything! What's the last day of the BB fair?

singapore cord blood bank donation
those who are donating, do check with your doc if he/she will be charging for the collection. by right they shouldn't cos it's for a good cause, but the scbb lady whom i spoke with told me that she's encountered a few mercenary docs who charge like $500 just for inserting the syringe into the cord (blood drains on its own). do check just to be sure, cos we'll be the ones paying if the doc charges. scbb will coordinate and provide all the nec equipment but they won't be paying for any extra docs decide to charge in relation to the collection.

Rashes
i'm also having rashes since the past 2 weeks but they are only on my armpits. actually not sure if it's rashes cos it's not itchy but it's quite painful when i touch that area or shave my armpits. dare not apply any medication on it, so i just leave it hoping that it will go away soon.

xuanting, i bought those confinement shampoo and shower wash so will be bringing them to the hospital to use. then during confinement will alternate between the herbs bath and the confinement shampoo/shower wash.

Skinny_pig, I had very bad PUPPP (preg. rashes) during my pregnancy in '06. They were all over my belly and wrists and arms. I would wake up at night to scratch like a monkey. In the end, gynae prescribed me some mild steroid cream which did the trick. I developed them in my 15th-19th week and then they came back again in the 26-30th week. For this pregnancy, the rashes only came in the early 2nd trimester, and only some on both wrists, which disappeared after 3 weeks or so.

Btw, Mummies, have u all started developing Braxton Hicks. Been having them more frequently ytd and today. But I will just shift my position, or stand up to walk or go pee, and they will disappear again.

jessi

there's such a thing as confinement shampoo and shower wash?

xuanting

I just bathe normally at the hospital because i know that once i go home, MIL wont let me bathe
in fact the nurses encourage you to shower and keep clean.of course dry hair with hairdryer after that.

Sri, yeah... my gynae scans at every visit. That's how we keep track of bb's growth, weight and position (engaged, breech, anterior or posterior etc).

xuan ting
okie, mebbe this sounds gross. But i din bathe in hosp cos with air con and all, i din feel dirty. But of course i washed my face, brushed teeth and my perineum area where the wound was, in case u're thinking how dirty i can be! Hee hee

ava
my LC Christina Kwek currently charges $160 for first visit(one and a half hours) And less $20 for second visit if within 3 days.
Her hp is 9367 9293 if u need her later on.
But she's quite good. Cos my fren had premature baby who still couldn't really suckle. Yet she helped her do tbf!

storeberry
yes make use of the LCs at the hospital. I was so naive the first time and I thot bf would be so easy. I din even bother to read about it cos I thot the bb would surely know how to suckle. Boy was I wrong! When I tried to latch my bb on immediately after birth, it was so painful! And my bb was screaming away to cos I had to unlatch her. There and then, I just called Christina and she came 2 hrs later. I was just so scared of getting sore/cracked/bleeding nipples cos I din wan! So I'm a firm believer of having an LC.

stef
me thinking of learning pilates after birth, but not sure if i have the time. Where to learn for a beginner like me? Is it ex? I know Powermoves at Bishan Park offers, but I'm sure it must be expensive...