(2008/09) Sep 2008

hey wingkei

about the leaving you behind when walking, i think its really managing expectations. my DH used to tell me he never holds his gfs hands so i told him im different from the rest. so from when the time we pak tor until now , i have to constantly remind him in the beginning and now after 9 years we still hold hands wherever we go. even like from our car to our apt which is like 3 m away he will automatically grab my hand. i think thats his way of managing my expectations. he prob feels wierd now if he doesnt hold my hand esp now that i am oversized.
maybe you try to keep reminding him that its a small gesture that is not difficult to accomplish and make a fuss over it. it will soon become a habit for both you. Dont fret
we learn all the time during the relationship. sit him down and speak to him as you dun want such issues to strain your relationship

Wingkei, pardon me.. but do you really feel happy with your marriage? Maybe you can find some time to sit down with your hubby and voice out all the things that habouring you.. otherwise, how would you see that your marriage can last for 10/20 years?? Also, I dont understand why your hubby is making a big fuss about you going shopping with your friend! sigh..

Confinement lady - - can anyone advise what is the estimated cost of a CL (not staying with you) for a month?

Infant care center - - is anyone sending their babies to infant care center upon returning to work? Any comments which infant care center is good at Tampines?

By the way, when does GSS ends??

Cloud: I am also thinking of buying the Tollyjoy nappyliner.

Sarah: Maybe I sat down too long liao. Must get up & walk walk for a while.. I like J&J sleeptime baby lotion, smells so nice!

I just collected my spree items from Shazz! It looks good!! And Shazz definitely has GROWN! Kekeke...

Same as bacon&egg & flos, I also don't take family loan (home, reno, furniture, car, bb expenses..) & I know my parents don't have much either... I am supporting my parents since dad not working now but the strain is there especially now bb coming..

Wingkei: Me & DH always walk together, how can he walk in front & I have to catch up to him? I told DH when we were "pak tor-ing" last time that even if we are old & white-haired, he must still hold my hands when we walk..

Ava: that was a good one!! Let him panic!

Lok: I think S'pore don't sell the Pigeon Breastpads in 60s right?

I bought the Pigeon breastpad at Chinatown Ocean store at $8. (36+6pcs). But if its too far then just go to any dept store to buy...

avalyn, thanks will try to check on during wkend.

cloud, $8.90 is discounted price?

re: baby bath
agree with lok that lactacyd is good, i just bought it at guardian, 2 big + 1 sample size for $20 or so, promo pack. tis is recommended by TMC, i used it on my son when he's NB till 1 yr or so.

flos, shd be 36+6 rite..hee, i also never come across 60pc in sg yet.

Rachel Lim, I have asked myself this question many times already. It sadddens me to bicker with my hubby every few days.And the worse thing is that we bicker mostly because of our families. I have tried voicing out all my thoughts before, but nothing seems to work because he always manage to make it such that I end up being the 'bad' person.

Wingkei, maybe try the "bo chap" attitude too and let him have a taste of your feelings.. but I dont see how it can help in the long run... cos if both of you are simply bo chap, then the end result is bad.

Try not to feel bad.. it really takes 2 hands to clap. Doesnt mean that if something doesnt work out right, it's your fault.. So cheer up! Maybe you can focus more on your baby in future and make your life happier!

<font color="119911">Rachel Lim (rac_lim) - think the GSS ends sometime the last week of July. Just appropriate for us, cos we would be 8+ months then &amp; should have completed all our shopping!

wingkei (wingkei) - Seriously, we only have this one life to live...and if you are unhappy &amp; don't see how he can change on his very set ways, maybe you need to consider "alternatives"...perhaps not now, with the baby almost due - but plan ahead? Who knows, a couple of years time, if he is still the same, you might want to consider moving on? This is obviously the last (but sometimes best) option. But a marriage should be a union based on love, mutual compromises (not one-way), &amp; understanding, not one that causes u so much heartache

GSS ends on 20 July but some of the places (e.g. Kiddypalace) end their sale much earlier. Think one of the mummies posted that kiddypalace sale will end in this month. Little Dreamers sale will end 27 June. Mothers Work ended 2 June. etc etc.

wingkei (wingkei): how come you need to watch your diet now? you got GD? how's your baby growing? when is next checkup?

go shopping with your gfs, no need to tell him! hee, tell him you "bumped" into your friend! hehe ... and your kind friend offered to help you carry the heavy stuff!

alternatively, you can gather a list of what items you need, and give Winnie from Cheng Choon to get a quote. If you're ok with the price, place order and she'll deliver to your place. Payment wise, they accept cheque upon delivery.

storeberry: you're blossoming as well ... =)

Think I'm growing so fast I'm feeling the strain liao ... been feeling tired lately

Got this from What To Expect, sharing with all mummies, especially those with sleepless nights!

Week 29: Get Some Sleep!
A good night's rest may be just what your tired face is craving, but it's kind of tough to get comfortable with that basketball growing under your nightie. So that your search for slumber isn't in vain, try to optimize your sleeping conditions. Make sure your bedroom isn't too warm or stuffy (with your metabolism racing, you're hot stuff enough). Use a body pillow or pregnancy wedge to help you find a comfy position (or just commandeer your partner's extra pillows — he can have the blankets you're kicking off), and make sure your mattress is firm — if not, have someone slip a board underneath until the baby comes. Still not catching those z's? Enjoy a light snack (no sugar or caffeine, please) or a warm bath before turning in. Relaxation exercises or some lovemaking can also relieve tension, making it less likely that you'll be tossing and turning until daybreak.

wingkei: go shopping with your friend is not allowed? that's really restrictive...

luckily my DH holds my hands at all times, opens car doors for me all the time, hands out his hankerchief when I sneeze, shares his food with me or takes food for me from the lazy susan, etc. kekeke!!!

And wingkei, he also holds his mom's hands, carries grocery bags for his mom, takes food for his mom from the common plates, etc. I've no problem with that leh...

Don't u want your son to do likewise to u next time? Do u want your son to take u to the restaurants next time?

Lok: then it must be the 36+6 pc pk that I got.

wingkei,
just make dates with your gfs or your colleagues (during lunchtime) to shop for your bb stuff. Yr hubby doesnt have to know! or shop online/spree..

maybe, from a diff angle, try treating your in-laws really well (super duper kind!!)...and see if helps in your relationship with yr hubby. When he sees that u treat his folks like yours..maybe he will change his mind about yours. If you are religious, pray..it helps

bath tub,
where can i get nice and cheap bath tub with bath mat/net? Mothercare sold out!

bacon&amp;egg
You are a Mothercare fan! I realise you like Mothercare stuff too.

Baby Bathtub can buy from Kaki Bukit or Baby Avenue at Balestier, with bath mat support. Less than $20.
Think xuanting got hers from NTUC.

yeah, agree with bacon&amp;egg that prayers helps! =)

bacon&amp;egg: someone mentioned she got it from NTUC at AMK hub, same thing that was selling at Mums &amp; Babes. sorry, my memory not recalling who it was and I lazy to check the archive!

Yep, Bacon&amp;eggs:

Me also saw tubs at NTUC AMK Hub. Are u delivering at Mt A? Heard they give away bath tubs for patients who signed up package with them.

mei,
yes!
i work near harbourfront and mothercare has their flagship store there...i go there almost every week!
Just ordered their mattress, door stopper, nite light &amp; hooded towels..they are having 15% disc for DBS cardholder.

Me delivering at NUH. Will check out BB avenue this weekend. thanks gals...

Nepia delivery:
Mommies who are planning to order Nepia online, be prepared to wait for them! I asked for the AM (9-12 noon) slot, but they have since called me twice to say delivery is delayed...suppose to get here by 3pm now. Thank goodness I am working from home today.

Lok/RXMom,
Which insurance co. did you purchase your policies fm ? Can i know the monthly premium amt and the final payout for the endowment plan ?

Millie: insurance premium and payout depends on the parent's age as well. so you may not get the rates that your friends got.

Bigtoes: Oh dear, I was planning to order next week. What did you order in the end? I'm planning to order 1 NB 2 SM and 1 Med

Milk milk,

Do not place your children in a carseat in the front seat. It is not safe as they could suffocate if the airbag is triggered. Children should sit in the rear seats as long as possible.

Maternity Leave

Maternity leave is actually not 3 full months, but 12 weeks, including weekends.

I will be taking my full ML, clear 1 month of VL, and then apply for 6 months of NPL. Not too sure if the bosses will allow cos this is the second time I am applying for NPL. First NPL was for almost 2 years when i accompany my hubby to the US. :p

But having spent 10 months looking after my FB before going back to work, I think my FB has benefitted from that, and I would want to do the same for my second born too.

Hi Millie,

I don't have the details with me now, and we have so many policies that I cannot remember also :p.

But if you like, I can recommend you my financial planner from Finexis. I prefer Finexis to other agents from insurance companies, cos Finexis is independent, and will recommend the best product available in the market to meet your needs. In a sense, they have done all the comparison of the financial products for you already. They don't charge, since they get commission from the companies. My financial planner is very nice and I have recommended many friends to her already.

Maternity leave is actually not 3 full months, but 12 weeks, including weekends. <font color="ff0000">including public holidays</font> too!

RXmom: u must be working for a stat board at maxwell road? So nice of them to grant u NPL....

RXmom,
I also have one independent planner from IPP. I'm jus curious of which insurance co. tat you purchase ur policies fm and the final payout at the end of 21yrs.

shazz (shazzerlyn) - okie, the delivery guy (or rather - boy - think he was no more than 8-10 years old!) just came by....I ordered 4 packets of S (4-8kg), am sure Kieran will finish these off in a jiffy. Didn't get the NB ones cos I bought a couple of packs of Mamy poko/pampers/Pet2 in NB sizes already.

Hi Millie,

I will have to check at home. But if you have a planner already, you should check with him or her, cos I got mine for my son more than a year ago, terms and conditions are different liao probably...

millie,

shazz is the insurance pro here. Listen to her advice. We bought mainly from GE. The endowment is split between GE and Asia Life (now known as Tokio Marine Asia).

Yeah, right now, I'm focussing on my BB and making sure everything is fine.

Shazz, nope, I dun hv GD but my gynae keeps telling me my BB is slightly bigger than the average and I have to watch my diet. But when I compare my BB's weight with the rest of you here, it's considered small or average. And everyone is telling me my tummy is small, so how can my BB be big? And I'm expected to go straight home after work everyday, so how to bump into my friends?

Flos, I don't mind if he does that for his mom. I would definitely want my baby to do that to me next time too or bring me to the restaurants. But I hate it that he doesn't alllow me to bring my parents to the restaurants whereas he can do it to his parents at his whim and fancy.

bacon&amp;egg, I don't know how much nicer to be to his parents. Like I mentioned earlier, do I need to kiss and hug them when I see them? Heck, I meet them more often than my own parents. I cook dinners sometimes and never object to my hubby inviting them over to eat. My own parents have never come to my house for dinner before. He says I don't talk to his mom like I talk to mine. But I feel that no matter what, it's difficult to talk to your MIL about everything like you talk to your own mom, get what I mean?

bigtoes: i see! I have 148 pcs of NB diapers including all the samples I received from hospital, and the salesgirl at supermarket for Fitti. hmmn, think I'll order a pack of NB to standby, if Eamon outgrows them, I'll change to other sizes. Yes, I think they'll use pretty much of S and M sizes. I better get the delivery to be sent to my in law's place since they're home all the time, thanks for highlighting their poor delivery service! hehe

RXmom: dun worry...i won't tell ur boss u r online chatting with me...kekeke!
Nice exhibition u hv downstairs

Thanks Lok.
Shazz,
I totally agree with Lok and yourself. Btw, education/savings and life policy, which policy do u tink is more impt ? Cos i dun wanna buy 2 many policies at a time and burden myself with the premium ? I understand fm my planner that the premium amt to be paid for bb and a person of age 20 does not vary much, which i oso tink so.
Do you agree ? Pls comment.

Mei: Was small delivery boy wearing Nepia diapers too? LOL

Ava: tks, I'm shortlisting car seats and going to put it down as my WISH LIST. Otherwise, I'm left with nothing else for friends and relatives to buy. They will most likely shower me with fruit baskets, brand chix essence, toys, clothes, etc.

Millie: education is meant more for a specific reason, and hence they have a specific duration for the plan maturity. Life policy is more for coverage, payment duration, depending on companies and duration, some just need to pay for 8/10/15/20/25 years. But payout wise, it's not advisable to cash out the $$ in the whole life policy if you still want the coverage. The returns for savings/endownment plan is not that great now as the govt is now taxing on life fund returns. Perhaps you can look into an investment linked policy, which offers more flexibility in terms of cashing out $$$, adjusting premium up and down, coverage amount, according to your family's needs. Talk to your adviser and see what he'she recommends. =)

Lok: hee, thanks! it's my rice bowl lah. But I'm offering free advice to you mummies here, not trying to get business from here. ;)

wingkei: i see, if your baby size is normal, then dun have to worry. Just eat as per normal will do then. =) how about taking half day off to go shopping and tell hubby you got them during lunchtime? hehe ... so bad of me to teach you all the nonsense. but seriously, if you dun wanna lie to him, can try cheng choon and do ordering instead of physical shopping.,

mei, crayonshinchan: I caved in and ordered the LG playmat! hehe ... heard there's gonna be a price increase soon, quickly place your order! and then we can share the play yards from cheng choon!

wingkei (wingkei) - how heavy is ur baby now? As long as baby is healthy, the weight doesn't really matter

Shazz - 148 pcs of NB diapers? wow, u are stocking up
Didn't know the salesgirls also gave out free samples.

Meanwhile - nope - the boy wasn't a spokesperson in Nepia diapers, though it was weird to have a little kid make deliveries. Guess maybe his dad was waiting at the carpark &amp; got him to come up to deliver.

shazz
You, you.. bad influence.. Lol. Ok, I go take a look now! Yesterday sew the bear until I forgot to ask my financial minister.

Bigtoes: 148 pcs not alot, if baby needs to be changed 8 times a day, will only last 18.5 days. hee. And I doubt he'll outgrow them so fast, cos the NB diapers I have on hand can last him till 5kg. The Fitti salegirl was at Carrefour, but I didn't buy any, she gave me 1 pc of NB to try. Oh, it's sch holidays, so they bring their children along for delivery.

I just counted, I got 10 pcs of samples for NB and 12 pcs for Small! All from hospital pack, goodie bag when I signed up for the Motherhood magazine at the fair, when I got 1 pack of Nepia NB and the auntie from supermarket! hehe

mei: farnieee....little delivery boy
cute cute.

lok: no lah, i anyhow guess one lah...only gahmen allows staff to take 2 yrs NPL, esp if DH also working for gahmen, tio bo?

rxmom: dun worry!! i dun really bother

last week i went to maxwell mkt &amp; bumped into David Gan, that faggot hairdresser. he was buying the famous fish porridge for his staff. nice complexion he has

haha okie - i went to check. I have 126 NBs from Mamypoko &amp; Pampers, 68 M Pampers from my SIL, 46 (up to 6kg) from Pet2, and 216 S (4-8kg) from Nepia!!! Ok, i did stock up unknowingly as well!

Oh-- i saw David Gan at his salon last week as well (besides the fabulous Indian shop - Mumbai Se)...looks way skinnier in real life.

Mei: I ordered 2100x1400x15 cos I read that alien77 used that size and it fits the play yard he got from cheng choon perfectly! =) but design wise is rather limited for that dimension, so I went with Yellow Bear.

Bigtoes: hee, yes you stocked up unknowingly. But I believe the diapers will be gone in no time! and soon we'll be buying more again.

I'm glad I got samples from various brands so i can try it out. The ones I bought/buying are the tried and tested brands, like Nepia and MammyPoko.

I realised something too about NTUC! I went to 2 different outlets of NTUC at Toa Payoh, and the MammyPoko Newborn 52 pcs cost $18.14 at the TP Hub and $17.80 at the one near the library! Wat a difference!

Flos: my friend just teased me, cos I get a kick/sense of satisfaction whenever I buy stuff for Eamon, be it diapers, clothes or toys. Then she told me, once you're a seasoned mum, you won't get the high/satisfaction anymore, but will start lamenting on the high cost! lolz

Shazz,
Thanks for your explanation. But is it true that the premium to be paid for living policy with the same sum assured and final payout does not vary a lot if to buy living policy for bb at birth or if the child buys later at age 20 ??