(2008/08) Aug 2008

missysz,
yu ze had been taking rice for very long liao. can't remember when he started off, maybe 8/9/10 months onwards bah. now dinner is definitely rice for him. but yu ze got all 16 teeths liao.

celynlee,
wow, so good! also translate to can eat outside food..haha..for us, we still need to prepare the porridge at home and bring out..(man fan) ;p

Missysz

C & C had been taking rice just before they turn one. But I will cook separately for them. Normally will put one chicken leg over some soaked rice together with a piece of garlic and pandan leave, plus water. Steam for half an hour and give a dash of sesame oil and this will be their chicken rice. If you wan some taste, add a 1/4 tsp of soy sauce.
Sream for 40 mins if you wan those nua nua rice, make sure there enuf water.

As for swallowing straight, it's a habit lor. Clarabelle swallows her food so, we always added her to bite and she will. Got to gradually give him semi-hard food so that he will learn to chew. Start of with boiled potato cubes (cooked long enuf so that he won't choke even when he accidentally swallow.

History

Haha! I understand... over spent during X'mas rite?

hisstory
ha ha...i always did that too, told hb i headache then leave them to her.
but most of the time we will each handle 1 lah. =)

shint
understand, boys are more active.
my 2 "shi wang ge wei shen me" also can sit there talk non-stop for very long de lor, most of the time no need to have audiences.
ha ha....

#1 is a left-hander, and zynn right-hander.
unchangeable de leh, auto #1 will use back the hand that she feel comfy.

sylvia
ya lor, the 1st suspected culprit is the jie jie....must be...ha ha...
its really no joke, last time i thought age gap dun be so near then at least #1 can help me ans #2 when #2 started asking lor.

m2b
ha ha....true lah, can talk is a blessing.
i also always tell them being normal is not by default, u need to be so blessed to be normal.

re: ligation
not full proof, i still have friend got preg after ligation. -_-"
early ligation will ended up early menopause, menopause will cos a women to turn old very fast de leh.
the above was told by my mum and sis, i'm not sure cos i never do ligation yet....hee hee...

missysz
yes, very cute.
normally she will tiled her head a little, look abit emo...then ask "why?", after that stare at u waitng for ans.
ha ha...

zynn eating everything, inclusive rice. >P

mrs teng,
tks for the recipe. u dont update your blog anymore hor..i still pop in to look! you have a fan here! ;) i am starting him on biscuits first so that he will bite them..

snow,
zynn is so cute! i was abt to ask if she tilts her head when she aks "why?" haha.
i read that they will still change their hand later leh..do u have problem guiding nynn who is a lefty? are u or ur hubby a lefty?

Need help! Anyone knows anyone who have Medela Pump In Style and no longer using? I need to borrow the adaptor until I got time to get my adaptor fixed... :p Pls find me in FB... Thanks!

Missysz

Peiseh! I haven't been updating my blogs. Too busy with FB... hehehe. And was also busy screaming at my previous maid whom I just sent back. That woman really drove me nuts.

Hopefully this new miad is okay.. Just that I got to train all over again.

Got another easy recipe for your boy.
I boil tofu macaroni soup for them

1 1/2 Tbsp Baby peas (skin removed den chopped half of it finely ~ this is the fiber for them)
One tube of egg tofu (cubed)
One piece of leg ham (cut into tiny pieces)
2 tbsp cooked Macaroni (use the mini ones and boil separately)
Diced meat from one Chicken thigh. (Boil with garlic for 30 mins to get stock for making the soup)

Method

Use stock and boil baby peas, ham and tofu for about 2 mins.
Add the cooked macaroni and boil another 1 min.
Before serving sprinkle some diced chicken bits.

Trust me, got the greens, protein and carbo all in. And not a single bit of the nutrient is poured away. C & C loves these.

If got pic, will show you next time

mrs teng,
copied and pasted to my msword to be printed out pronto! will include this ingredients for my next grocery run. just came back from cold storage during lunch..i 'jin' boring one..he eat same food everyday :p just differnt from fish or chicken. lol thanks dear!

hi mrs teng - the first post i see is ur chicken rice! Hee hee...me will try this sat for ah boy! u use rice cooker or pot over stove?

Glad u got rid of that blur maid and get a new one!

wah, very busy and the first thing i saw was Snow's on ligation! must scroll back later to see what's going on...

hi gayle - yes u can still have ur periods if ur tubes are tied. When ur tubes r tied, technically sperms cannot swim up to meet ur eggs. But i am not sure if it is 100%....

for me.. tubes are naturally tied
or
?

Vanilla

I use pot over stove. This recipe is msg free lor, not like those from the hawker. Kids sure get addicted and when they know it, they will buck you for it everyday. Where got energy to go buy everyday? And not forgetting the MSG part.

U can also use rice cooker too but will have to be certain amt of rice before u can cook rite? Cos I dun use rice cooker at home. We use microwave oven to cook rice.
Must faster to cook.

Thks mrs teng. Ok I try this sat. Hee her ya lor so I thot I make more n let hb eat too. But think better use pot n see if little terror ok w it.

How r ur 2 darlings?

Vanilla

Those 2 are really very mischievous and super duper naughty. Extremely talkative. Yes, they can both talk nonsense. Can make sentences like ~ "Where are you?" , " Are you okay?" "Nauti, mummy bit bit" , "Nite, muah, see you, bye!" just before going to sleep.

Missysz

Hihi... my son 19 mths++ now...when come to eating rice he tends to choke n vomit loh... he doesn't really chew...most of the time swallow his food...

Mommies pls help me!! im very stress out....my father been telling me not to give him rice coz its very bad for him to swallow without chewing...n sometimes he get choke n throws everything out.
WHAT SHLD I DO NOW??? IS IT normal for them to swallow their food without chewing most of the time???

Jane

It is true that swallowing food with chewing is bad for the little ones. Cos it causes indigestion. Simply by the smell of the stool, you can tell if your boy is having indigestion. One of my twin also swallows her food and her boo boo is so much more smelly den her twin sister. Cos she's lazy to chew.

One way of encouraging him to chew is cooking the rice with more water, making it soggy. Demonstrate each time you wants him to chew. Show him your mouth movement by taking his food as well. At the same time, tell him to chew, be it in english or chinese. I repeated this action over many time to my gal and she eventually figured out what's the meaning of chew. Give soft food in tiny cube form. That will encourage him to chew. I gave my gals biscuits and cracker, each time they stuff everything in, they'll tend to choke, so I firmly tell them to chew in mandarin, eventually they will chew and also repeat the word after me

I mashed salmon flakes and mix it with rice, den roll into tiny balls and let my gals chew ( make sure the rice got to be soggy enuf to stick together) Use a clean plastic, put the rice mixture in the middle, gather the plastic together and wrap up. As you twist the plastic and you'll get a tiny rice ball. Den you show you boy by biting the rice ball. Chew and show the movement of your jaw. Next you take the rice ball and let him bite with his front tooth. Got to train him, babe!

My gals have the habit of drinking soup during meal time, so when they have hard food, they'll usually drink soup to make it chewable for them.

Hihi everybody! Finally can sit down and do nothing!
Think D got diarrhoea. Pooed 4 times and all rather liquidfied! Can't think what he ate as we both ate the same thing. Maybe it's the red chillies in the corned beef yesterday!

missysz, Jane your sons were probably 'gagging' rather than choking. Gagging's a natural reflex to expel food which the body thinks is unafe and is quite common in babies/toddlers who are not used to lumpy food. It is not the same as choking.

Quite a good article which explains the gag reflex and gives tips on helping your child to overcome.

Yln haha! You are not a nightmare parent lah! I think it is reasonable to let the cc know your expectations after all you are entrusting your child into their care.

Mrs Teng long time no see! Glad to know that your maid problem is solved.

morning mummies

mrs teng,
yu ze loves soup. so i make sure i make soup for all his dinner. i really run out of idea of what soup to make for him liao. hahaha.... i always put some soup in his rice so that its not too dry for him to eat.

any idea of what soup i can make other than:
1. lao huang gua pork soup
2. winter melon pork soup
3. sharkfin melon pork soup
4. lotus pork soup
5. potato, carrot, onion, sweet corn, pork soup
6. yong tao fu soup
7. seafood (sotong, prawn, chicken, straw mushroom, scallop) soup

yu ze favourites are no 1-5 and he can eat up almost half or more of those 'gua', lotus, what so ever inside and a small piece of the pork on top of his rice, fish and a bowl of soup.

Mrs N

Thanks! Hope things gonna work out this time.
As least for the better.

How have you been? Pardon me if I've not read it, have you been able to determine your baby's gender yet?

morning mommies!

mrs N,
congrats on your 2nd pregnancy and thanks for the link.
its v useful.

celynlee,
wow, yuzhe's menu is so appetizing lor!

Ceyln

Try the tofu soup I suggested or

1) Watercress soup

2) Amaranth ( aka. Xian Cai or Chinese spinach), minced meat and egg soup

3) Chicken, Chinese yam (aka Huai san) and Wolfberry soup (good for eyesight and replenishes energy)

4) Wolfberry Leaves, minced meat and egg soup (give soup only, dun give the leaves)

5) Mild Chicken herbal soup

6) Black bean pork ribs soup ( C&C's favourite)

Vanilla

Cute? ummm, more like monsters to me.

Ho mrs teng the huai San Chinese yam is gd for wat? My mil also give E. R u sending both of them for playground? So u can get a few hrs off each day n they cam socialise?

finally have time to read the posts...

Shint
jer also can't decide which hands he want to use yet. he can throw balls with the left hand, then hold pencils with either hands and hit me with his right hand...???

YLN
did you manage to talk to the teacher/supervisor? I don't think you are a monster parent lah, its right to find out what went wrong when Kaer was doing fine before.

Celyn
I also like to give pork soup... My kids have sensitive airways and tend to develop mucus easily so better to drink pork soup.
Once a while i will also give raddish & dried scallop/octopus and pork rib soup. its supposed to clear up the body system.

Morning Rona!

Vanilla

Huai San counter diabetes, diarrhea, kidney defects, coughing and dehydration. It can also cause frequent urination and perspiration. Usually used in conjunction with meats and other herbs to aid digestions, regulate the body's sugar level and control inflammation of the uterus.

Snow,
Your little gal is smart! Jer still cannot talk yet. now can only call ma or mah? papa, jie jie, and my helper's name: Siah...

missysz,
hahaha... mummy only know how to prepare those soup so end up keep repeating them for him. i think he gets to enjoy more variety of soup when he was at babysitter's place. now consider more poor thing liao.

mrs teng,
this mummy don't know how to prepare those that you mention leh. any recipe? do i prepare them like lotus soup? what is wolfberry leave? get from where?

Mrs Teng,
Long long time no hear! miss you lots leh. Good to hear your gals are doing so well!!

BTW, where's the chix rice recipe? I also have been saving up the recipes from the mummies here... heheheee

Mrs Teng,
wow, very tempting to get something leh... is the one the sales lady is holding the same as the one on the bottom on the shelf?

Hisstory,
Aiyo, must be awful to have growling stomach...must take care coz will develop gastric pain easily lor...

Hisstory, Celyn & Snow,
We are relying on external precaution so far...guess that's the safest and at least 0.01% failure rate nia =P

Missyz,
I put on weight easily so bo bian have to exercise...you so slim liao no need

mrs teng,
for the hua san, can it be eaten? or only for soup? i feel my son is so deprived looking at the menus here. :p

m2b,
cannot fit in a lot of bottoms leh..so sian la..few mths after delivery still can wear, now cannot wear..peeved ;p

Celyn

wolfberry leaves can get from market. Ask the stall seller, they will show u.

1) Blackbean soup (same method as your lotus soup)

~ soak blackbeans in water for 20 mins
~ peel 2 garlics
~ Pork ribs

2) Amaranth soup

~ pluck just the leaves, wash and set aside
~ marinate minced meat with little salt and pepper (optional if u dun wan baby to have sodium)
~ Egg (beaten)
~stock or water

Pour stock or water into a saucepan, stir in minced meat. Add the garlic. Bring to boil
Add amaranth. Pour egg in slowly. Bring to boil for about 2 mins.

3) Wolfberry leave soup ~ same method as Amaranth soup

4) Chicken, huai san and wolfberry soup
~ half a kampong chicken
~ 2 tbsp of wolfberry (washed and soaked for a while)
~ dried scallop (washed and soaked)
~ 3 sections of garlic
~ Huai san (20g) can use dried or fresh
~ Water

Cut chicken into large pieces or use dun cut also can
Combine all ingredient and simmer for at least 1 1/2 hours ( I use slow cooker for 4 hours)

5) Watercress soup

~ 1 bundle of watercress, wash and soaked with a little salt, den wash and drain
~ 8 pieces of red dates
~ 1 tbsp of (North and South Chinese Almond)
~ 1 piece of dried orange peel (optional)
~ 3 sections of garlic
~ Pork ribs

Put all together and boil for at least 1 1/2 hours.

All of the above recipes are based on my personal taste, pls adjust according to your preference. Salt are added to taste, so it's up to you how much you want to put.

Rona

My version of MSG free Chicken rice for babies. For Adults, it's a total different recipe altogether.

1 Piece chicken leg (thigh and leg)
1 small section of ginger (optional)
1 section of garlic (whole or minced)
1/2 cup of rice (washed and soaked for 30 mins)
1 1/2 cups water
2 pieces of pandan leaves (tied into a knot)
Salt to taste
Dash of sesame oil

Put rice, garlic, ginger, salt and pandan leave in to a porcelain or metal deep dish.

Add water and put the chicken on top of the rice. If rice seemed to dry or hard, add more water.

Steam over middle heat for about 30 to 40 mins. Den remove pandan leaves, garlic and ginger. Remove chicken and dice into small pieces (for babies)

Dash sesame oil and mixture the rice well.

morning mummies.

missysz
ha ha...think when u see her emo facial expression, u will laugh even more. >D
last nite she wasn't feeling well, so klkk inside her cot.
when i told her to sleep, she asked me "why?".
she point to her cheek and said "itchy itchy", then i understand her teeth pain. -_-"
funny rite? ya, she likes to make and see ppl laugh.

we tried almost everyday to change this left-handed chix liao, but till date to no avail. =(

rona
she where got smart? think most of the gals here can talk better than her liao leh. =)
last time #1 at this also dun do q&a de, she only like to say "i dun want".
no worries about boy, they dun talk so early lah.

m2b
my hb and i too...external precaution till now still ok lah...ha ha...*touchwood*+*cross fingers*

actually both missysz and u figure very nice lah, dun debate liao okie? ha ha....

Rona

yes! it's the same.

Got another model which my hubby say they still got stock, but can't remember how much. But he's definitely sure it's less den USD 200.

The one on the bottom right corner. 13 by 7 by 4

The one on the top right corner, think will be also available. Soft leather. Slightly bigger.

3776077.jpg

Missysz

The huai san can be eaten but not too much. Just mash it or chopped finely and mix it with the rice or porridge .

M2B

Thanks! Peiseh leh...

rona
i didnt managed to talk to the teacher this morning as i dropped kaer off at 8.15am, and the teacher and supervisor not there yet...only another 2 teachers there..i already asked the teacher in charge to call me later..so, i will speak to her..

Registration for Pre N
i managed to get a place for kaer in the kindergarten this morning...i hear parents were queuing at 7am to get the early session slot...when i got there @ 8.30am, left only the 2nd session, from 11.30am to 2.30pm...better than nothing..
..just need to adjust kaer's timings again next year..haha...poor thing..
i never knew parents were so kiasu..(haha..talking abt myself also)..go at 7am to get q number!..

hi mrs teng - ur chicken rice -- u mention put in porcelain bowl - so it is like double boil style is it? sorry har..me so blur

thanks for the huai san tip..sounds good for E.. will try make the soup for him!

i just spoke to the teacher in charge..the whole story falls in place...to cut the story short...it was my MIL who has been spinning tales...the situation wasn't that bad as MIL described...kaer didn't vomit ..she just pui out the food ..didn't cry non-stop...just intermittently..in fact..i realised the 'terrible stories' all stopped since wed when i got the teacher to write down what kaer did in cc..for the past 3 days...including today, kaer was really good already..she cried but only for a short while..n the 3 days..she participated in all the activities and play..n ate also...
so then i realised it was MIL who was trying to make the situation look bad to discourage me from bringing kaer to cc..so, i m quite glad the teachers wrote the facts in the comm book..mil also realised she cannot cook story anymore after i get comm book..so, for past 3 days..everything was ok..

oh..n the asking of mil to bring kaer back part...teacher said was all becuz it was time and since mil was there, it was just a normal statement to make...ie. she can bring kaer home already..i believe it was prob just the tone that was interpreted wrongly..

sigh..so, the nightmare was my MIL...teacher said perhaps mil too insecure abt leaving kaer in cc..so she like that..but at least now i know both side of story..n mil also know i will keep in touch with teachers..so she had better stop her stories..

yln
ha ha...so, its the granny that is having seperation anxiety? =)
at least now u not so worry liao lor.
but still gotta continue observe awhile, cos u cannot 100% believe the teacher also ya?

snow
i still need to observe but now i think i also kinda warn the school that they better not try and be funny cuz mil will tell tales
..so, its one stone kill 2 birds lor..i think the teacher is more careful now also :p

yln,
good to know that you know the whole situation better now.

mrs teng,
thank you for your detailed receipe. tonight better go back and copy down then yu ze can have new kind of soup to drink next week liao. hahaha.... today, cooking lotus soup for him again. :p

huai san cannot eat too much means what huh? eg. i cook about a 30cm lotus right, yu ze can finished about 15cm of it alone leh. so roughly how much can i give him if he like to eat leh?

Celyn

That one I really not too sure.. maybe not more den 1 cup serving kua! got to ask those vegetable seller or those from the chinese medical hall. If you pass by yu ren sang, check with them the limit.

My loots at the Croc shoe sales. Was too late and most of the good stuff gone liao.

3777329.jpg

yln
smart move. =)
but think think hor, maybe ur mil suddenly become quite free when kaer not at home so have more time to "imagine" bah... =P