(2008/08) Aug 2008

timminbuzz,
the one i saw at mothercare is
http://www.mothercare.com.sg/productdetail.asp?pid=153

maxi cosi one also quite similar to this.

http://www.babytown.com.sg/index.php?sessid=1089095&bg=dark&regid=0&regitmid=0&pagenumber=2&page=product-list&viewregistry=no&ecatid=1555&itmid=12667&regprodid=
is your like this also?

actually the current car seat for yu ze is still big for him and is supposed to last till 4 years old loh. cos his current one is meant for newborn - 4 years old, that's why going to pass this to yu xi and get him a new one loh.

celyn...
yah...more cost effective to pass the newborn one to yu xi. think the mothercare n maxi cosi ones u were looking at only last till 18kg. the one i bought, u can remove the backing of the seat later and it converts to a booster. that's why can last till 36kg. which is at least 6yrs old?

timminbuzz,
where you buy yours? what brand? maybe i can take a look and let him try cos scare too big for my small size boy loh. yours look like the high back booster seat to me. i saw them at mothercare too but too big for yu ze and doesn't look safe for him. hahaha.....

celyn,

i rem i saw a britax booster seat that looked quite comfi and it's almost like sitting in a normal seat already. but hb said dun buy yet since J can still use the current one. looks like what timmin has (can use from 9 mths to abt 4 yrs). the current seat is ok but i find it a bit bulky. if i have to put another child seat at the back, will feel very cramped.

YLN,

hb wants to buy a very compact stroller for J, which we can use for travelling and for weekend outings. our current one takes up so much space it's hard to stuff our groceries in the boot. J doesn't always like the stroller but we make him sit in it when we sense he's sleepy. on weekends, it's hard to get him to sleep and sometimes he ends up having his 1-2 hr nap in the stroller!

krex
wah...J can sleep in the stroller...very good leh...kaer simply hates the stroller...

yln,
how's kaer?

yu ze also can sleep in stroller. he got this loves, hates relationship with his stroller. hahaha....

sometimes, he will want to sit in it. sometimes, he simply refuse to do stay inside.

Celyn
kaer behaved very well in cc today
...teacher said she cried for a while after i left..n didnt cry all the way till my silly mil came to peep at 11am..she saw my mil n cried lor...then i arrived at 11.50am..she saw me .n cried lor..but im quite happy that she didnt cry for very long in cc..she also waved bye to everyone in cc when we left..just that she didnt take her lunch all these few days..but since we have lunch for her at home..its ok lah..
..i hope my mil tomorrow wont spoil the plan tomorrow...

im really quite relieved

krex78,
hi, i dont have anything against christian but just feel that i want to give her a choice to let her choose her own religion in the future when she grows up. if i start sending her to one now, she will just have that value instilled in her already.. and somemore my in law said that both parents have to be christian so that in future other schs that i send her in will be easier.

Snow74,mummynana
i agree with u on letting them choose their own when they grow up tts why i kept quiet when my inlaws raise the topic with me again on sending her to christian based sch. so headache now.. my husband can sense that i am unhappy so he told them indirectly that we know which sch we want to send to. but in actual fact i havent started to source also.

yln,
good to know that kaer is behaving well. its like that, they will cry when the see familiar faces. so tell your mil and sil if they want to go peep at kaer, don't let her see them.

celyn,

saw it at the place i went to service my ameda pump. they sell a lot of bb stuff at wholesale prices, and i happened to see the britax car seat there. i think shld be able to find in mothercare and bb kingdom, etc.

YLN,

J doesn't love the stroller either, but if he's tired enough, we can either put him in there and he protest for awhile and fall asleep, or sleep on dad's shoulder and we put him in. most times, we have to cajole him in. dad also doesn't like him running around shopping malls esp supermarket coz' he feels it's quite dangerous.

rachel,

it's a personal choice, really. your ILs may be right abt parents having to be christian, as they usually give preference to christians when they open registation for the school. if you're not and u want to send your kid to christian sch, then you have to queue together with the rest. i'm sure there are many gd schs out there that are not christian based, so u dun have to be limited by your choices.

Rachael,
I agree with snow and nana, what is most impt is to choose a CC that you like and the teachers there are loving and caring and your gal is happy to be there. I think a good CC will also have the right values. I hope you will find one that you like and your gal loves.

YLN,
Great that Kaer is doing well in school!

Our toddlers cannot use the booster seat yet leh, booster seats are to be used for older kids, i think at least 6yo and above... but hor... my 3+yo has been using it liao.. But definately too young for our toddlers to use. :p

sylvia
i managed to buy XL size...depending on outlet i think..

ya..its great to see kaer trying to settle in too...i hope it doesn't cause her much distress when i leave her @ cc..will monitor too see if she has any different behaviour too..

rona
oh..cannot use booster seat? hmm...ok..so, i have to continue to let kaer struggle in her seat..tsk..how to let her like to sit in the car seat??

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Where did you go service the Ameda huh?

Wah, J can sleep in the stroller ah... So gd!
Think our toddlers all have this love-hate r/s with their strollers.. And when they get bigger, they wld love the stroller lots more, coz they start to 'complain' of their tiredness.. heheh

If you have the time, you can check out the bb fair at Expo for compact strollers. At the Mattel sale, I saw them selling easy to fold strollers, rather compact at ard $150..

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
*jiayou* Looks like Kaer's doing much better today! Hope she settles down real fast.. Give you one wet kiss before running off to join her peers

YLN,
vv good liao. Kai still wail when I leave ... even when maid is ard ...
I just wave bye bye and TOU YE BU HUI and walk off ...

hisstory,
Exactly. Stroller is a must!
my 4 yo still want the stroller .. the moment he needs to walk he'll say "mama, i am vv tired" " mama, I am vv sleepy" "mama, my legs pain" "my bones are hurting" .... u name it, he has it.

Kai now dun like stroller but soon they will be fighting for it.

Kai is at the stage of carrying liao. He started walking then vv happy, now he has progressed to carrying. Next, he'll want the stroller.
So mommies, dun put it away so soon hor ...

Anyway, it can act as a shopping cart.

thanks for the advice mummies. nx step for me, anybody have recommendations of childcares ard upper bukit timah area? i live at hillview actually.. and am looking at Cherie Hearts.

YLN,
maybe reward system? mine was very used to it since he is in it since born. so now if you want to carry him cos its a short ride, he will still struggle and climb into the car seat himself. :p but when he was younger, we have to just strap him down and let him cry and won't pick him up at all.

shint,
forgot to answer you. my #1 has always like to draw and color, so i don't really have a problem with it. does your Quan like drawing and coloring at all? else you can sign him up an Arts class in your nearest community club to try him for a term? its about $60 for 10 lessons. my gal likes colouring too, i'm waiting to see if she wants to go for Arts class, but no pressure, she's turning four in April. have you start Quan for swimming yet?

rachael,
cheriehearts has their fair share of good and bad points. i feel you still have to go to the cc to have a look yourself and see if you like the place, teachers and the curriculum. I think you can find a listing of childcare at the mcys website.

yln must be quite an exciting and emotional week for you. But it is good kaer is doing well. Ha! Ha! Hope your MIL's 'kaypo-ness' will not upset her at the cc today!

Kaer criedd today when i left her at cc..MIL also there..n kept nagging again...ah yo..kaer crying leh..how? so ke lian leh..etc etc...so irritating lor...next week when she has to drop kaer off..i think she will prob hang around for a long time...tsk..so irritating...

hope later when i pick kaer...i will see a happy girl

im more or less ok with dropping kaer off n even hearing her cry..i also wont cry liao..heehee..so, i think this mummy has progressed too.hahaha

I've a tin of GainIQ 3 (FOr 1yr onwards) 400g to give away. It is a sample tin from abbott.
Expiry date: 13 May 2012.

Self Collection at Toh yi area or Science Park I.

If interested, please email [email protected]

celyn...
i bought mine @ taka fair. the brand is Inglesina. same section as the maxi cosi. i tink this car seat can use till 6yrs. they even have a car passenger seat to demonstrate how to attach the car seat and u can put yu ze there to try. i tried E on the ferrari convertible booster too. but i felt it was too big. he fits very nicely in this Inglesina seat.

i saw another there by The First Years. can use from newborn to 30kg. but it's quite wide cos of ability to put newborn inside reverse facing. but only $199.

timmin
really? wow...very good..E is so good...im still awaiting for that day to arrive

celyn
u must be feeling very much relieved
..less stress hor..

hehe, today Kai oso din cry .. maybe they know it's Friday? TGIF! hahha.

Maybe becos maid was there lor ... but yesterday maid was there he oso cried when I left. Before I walked far enough, he oredi ok liao... haha. Act for me to see only.

hisstory,

tagore lane. can't rem the shop already.

i dun rem bb fair at expo selling a lot of strollers. i tot the one at taka has the most variety. my hb wants to buy the mia moda kind. dunno if they still sell coz' we were contemplating bet. this and the maclaren 2 yrs ago :p

this afternoon, yu ze had his very first parent-teacher meeting session. when we reach, he was sitting with the class watching tv. he saw us opening the door and run to me happily. then start to say bye bye to his friends and teachers. we went to the canteen where the session is held, had some light snack and talk to the teacher. teacher say yu ze is starting to show his true colour. hahahaha..... no longer shy shy, likes to 'talk' a lot and even boss his older friends. will shake his head to say no for lesson time and say playground telling them he wants to go playground. playground is also his favourite word now and one of those the teacher understand him. he likes talking to his older friends and seems like they are able to understand him too. don't know how? but i guess between kids, they are able to.

one of his classmate take a private bus home which comes 10 mins earlier than yu ze's. so once he saw that his friend left with the bus, its almost time for him to go home too. he will then keep looking out for the bus auntie through the window and try to hear for her footsteps. once he saw the auntie, he will start running to the door liao.

in almost a month in cc, my boy actually get 'complaint' from teacher. hahaha.....

timminbuzz,
hmmmm..... maybe i shall drop by taka to see again. last round, totally skip the stroller and car seat portion.

actually, i need them to fit in my car to try and not just on their 'show passenger seat' loh. when i first buy car seat for yu ze, the britax model that i want is too big for our car. we have to give up britax and choose another one. so importantly they must be able to do this for me, if not i won't buy or shall i say can't buy.

yln,
yah loh. i guess he know its useless to pretend liao so no need to act further. hahaha.....

Hi mummies. =)
just to update u ladies that huggies ultra at expo bb fair goes at 2 for $25, pampers active 3 for $30.
If aiming for the free goodies bag, pls go and q half hr earlier.
Initially I still thought need to q just to go in, reach there 10 mins earlier already q near subway there liao..
Me so tired now, going to sleep le.
Nite nite to all, have a nice dream.

Krex,
The more compact strollers r usually without recline eg. Maclaren Volo. I saw some at Bb Hyperstore tt r quite light n can recline a little so tat they can slp in it. Price is only abt $99 - $180 if I do not remember wrongly.

Celyn/ YLN,
Our kids cannot sit on the booster yet. Boosters r like a platform to seat them higher so that they can put on the normal seat belts. The most cost effective way is to buy a car seat tat u can remove the top portion n b left with the booster alone. However, most such seats r quite bulky. For Celyn, u may have to put Yu Ze in the front seat. I doubt all 3 of u can fit in the back seat.

Rachel,
Pri schools conduct registration in phases. Priority is given to members of certain churches, clans etc. I assume ur in laws r christians? Maybe u can think abt which sch u wan to enroll her in 5 years' time? But I doubt there is any affiliation from kindergarten to pri sch ba... If u came fr a gd pri sch, u may wan to send ur kid there. Gt priority. As for impact on choice of religion, I tink it's fine. I studied in a Catholic school for 10 yrs but it din make me a Catholic.

mummynana,
i will be putting yu xi at front seat cos yu ze will try his way to get out of car seat and disturb hubby if he sits in front. so yu ze will continue to sit behind with me. also when yu xi is about 2 months old when i start sending her to babysitter, hubby got to send her himself in the morning while i settle yu ze with the school bus which is slightly later. but too late for hubby to go to work.

celyn,
Is your baby car seat is the one rear facing? if so, then it dangerous to place it in the front seat.

Snow/Celyn
how many pcs in a pack for pampers?

Carrefour is also having sales for pampers, $59.90 for 2 box. L76/XL68 in a box, for L size, its about $0.394 per pc.

morning mummies

rona,
expo one is L38 pieces, 1 pc about $0.42.

cold storage last week sell $45.95 for 2 pack L60, 1 pc about $0.38.

yes, rear facing. i know its not very safe but like no choice leh. babysitter's one is front facing.

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
No prob.. I still have a while to go but def good to know

Maclaren is def compact.. Happymummy &amp; I have the Daytripper model, but seems they have decided to stop production of tt. It cost $99 at the last bb fair @ Taka

celyn
wow..u happening leh..maternity ps ..sounds fun leh...share share pic on fb hor....

went to east coast this morning..kaer was sooo afraid of the sea and sand..kept saying NO NO NO, shake head and shake hand..keep asking us not to bring her into the water...haha..then she started shivering ..hee..a funny sight..but after 10 mins...she warmed up ..n ok with the sea,...n was bz digging the sand liao...i shld really bring her out to the beach more often..otherwise ..like mountain tortoise like that..haha..

now i having headache..sigh..seems like i shld go out more in the sun too..haha

nana/ hisstory,

wow, another mac laren? i gotta test in my boot though. when i bought my mac laren quest, i requested to test it in my boot b4 buying. apparently the mac laren techno can't fit into my boot.

vern,
its with F8 angels.

yln,
i wanted to take during yu ze's time leh but hubby don't allow. this is gloing to last pregnancy leh, if don't take no chance liao leh. also just 1 month to go only, better quick quick take in case i deliver early then also no chance liao. i sign up and confirm without telling hubby. only told him on fri that we are going for ps today. he still don't like the idea and say i hiao and why must take. i told him, he can don't join if he don't want. i will still go ahead. end up, he say he wants to take too. :p not sure if i will post in fb or maybe selected ones only cos 'hmmmmm.....' got daring photos that i never thought i will take. hehehe.....

need to bring kaer to the beach more often then she won't be scare loh. yu ze will 'chong' towards it one loh.

celyn
wow..really ar...daring shots leh..but i think its good memories lor..i think i will take also if i preggie with #2...

ya..must bring kaer out to beach more..she fair fair...scare the sea..scare the sand..sigh..everything also scare..