(2008/08) Aug 2008

sylvia,
in cc, they use shower head like a home loh. he is used to that at babysitter's place cos she train him mah. then at home, its the same or bathtub loh. now all he don't want. even babysitter says its tough to bathe him now when i drop him off with her at times.

i think i'm also sick. can feel flu, phelgm and cough coming. maybe it will only come in full when yu ze recover and then i can fall sick bah.

yln,
yah, on mc whole of last week. this week, only went back to work on mon then on leave again yesterday and today loh. feel so bad cos rushing for submission in office and my colleague got to cover for me loh.

later when his fever subsides in the afternoon, i will send him over so that i can rest.

waiting for mcdelivery now cos can't go out in the rain with a sick baby. anyway, he is still sleeping.

celyn

u take care!!

maybe yu ze can bath himself nw? maybe is another milestone?

ok.. got to log off. someone is looking for me.

mrs n,

i dun think my MIL forces him to eat but she does have the patience to feed him for one hour if he's fussy about his food! she'll try all sorts of ways to feed him. for me, half an hour is the max and sometimes, when he persistently rejects the food, i'll just end the meal. my MIL gave a very worried look when i did that last weekend during family dinner, heehee.

Sylvia
ya...i can give detention...but my students will always suan me..say i late....so i go for detention lor..hahaha.or they will say give me demerit...hahaa

long time no see no tok. Wanna ask...any suggestions for weekend short classes - those 'enrichment' progs kind? LIke those parent participate together one. This is my 1st time planning for Falisha..so duno where to bring her siah. Last wk trial Julia Gabriel class, but i wanna try out other places 1st. Got any recommendations?

today went to register J for pre-nursery. glad we secured a place. feels very exciting to prepare him for sch next year - how fast our kids grow!

sylvia,
you can also give some probiotics to intro good bacteria in the tummy to fight the bad ones. can get in pharmarcy, lactefort. I got the one from kinder has got more 'ingredients' in them.

good afternoon mummies

Some activities for kids
http://www.thekidzacademy.com.sg/event_highlights.html

sylvia
stomach not gd hor, better dun eat koropok leh.
oily oily ya? =P

huichin
ya lor, come try be our classmate leh. =)

Mattel Toy Moving out Sale at No. 1 Lok Yang

Start 4th to 28th March from 11am to 5pm
Brand includes Fisherprice, Barbie, Hotwheel and many more

I think I'm a moron..when I saw the date, I still thought the sale is next month :p

Another dumb question to ask...is pre-nursery compulsory?

snow

ya.. i know leh. but dun give bbm will keep pointing n cry til she give a bit.. so i used that after she stood there for long long time.

ruixian

lucky the warehouse man sms u leh. if nt, none of us know loh.

tks!!

must think hw to avoid the crowd coz bbm nt feeling well

rona

bbm got natural probiotics leh. so no need to give more liao lah.

just dat this mum has to rem to eat my food, if nt, BM no nutrition.

Yuuri,
Singapore's compulsory education age is 7yo, that is, compulsory education starts from Primary 1 to Primary 6. However, there is a commitee that is looking into progressively lowering the starting age of compulsory education
from seven to five, that is, to K1.

krex your MIL must be very free.
Even half hour is too long for me I haven't got that kind of patience. With D I just let him be, if he's hungry he will eat if he's not he won't so no use making him sit there. Like this evening he was fussy he refused to eat his dinner and it is not b'cos he doesn't like the food. He had the same thing yesterday and ate everything! He kept pointing to the oranges so I gave him one. When he finished that I offered him the food again but he kept fussing around so I just let him go and kept away from the kitchen. If I were to go in there he'll sure come and ask for a biscuit and I wasn't going to give him any!
Guess like us there are some days when they have big appetites and some days they don't feel like eating but on average they eat enough to keep themselves going. They won't go hungry, they're too smart for that!

Can i ask a silly question here? Do u let your little one eating by his/her own? i mean eating porridge or rice.... not snack....

morning mummies. =)

mel
zynn can sit in high chair and self feed, but ended up the floor will eat more than her. =P
so we seldom totally leave her alone to eat by herself lor, will sit by her to guide her.

Morning Mommies!

Mel,
When we eat out, we do let Mae self-feed herself with some rice and dishes...like what Snow said, be prepared for the mess though...heehee

Pol/Snow/M2B;

Thks for the advise, i was wondering when to let A start seft-feed by herself. Let her try before, at the end the whole bowl of porridge spilled onto the floor....

morning mummies

mel ocean,
i give him a small bowl with a small portion to self feed and another bowl for me to feed. he will eat himself and at the same time, i will feed. usually what is in his bowl will have more than 50% on the floor.

Celyn,

That's the problem, A play the food instead of putting the food into her mouth, not only mouth messy, the whole attire got to change...

me very "man chang" le especilly only she & me at home... no helper no hb no mil.... whole day very bz only entertain her...

mel,

i think that's how kids learn. we also let J play with his porridge coz' it's the sticky type. he likes to poke poke then sometimes put in the mouth but spoon upside down. if we're feeding him something soupy, then we put some rice on a separate bowl for him to play with. can be a bit messy but if you can't bear to clean up so much later, choose something that has no odour (like rice). i think i'll faint if J splashes tomato sauce on my cushion chairs :p

mrs n,

let's just say my MIL is free enough to fuss over her precious grandson and will do anything to make sure he eats and grows. she's always nagging how skinny he is *rolls eyes*

i agree that kids shld decide for themselves how much they want to eat and i know they won't let themselves go hungry. in fact, i suspect J has trouble sleeping at night coz' he eats too much for dinner (ard 7pm) - my MIL feeds him one full bowl of food and he can take as long as 1 hr to finish! he might be suffering from indigestion coz' he rolls around in bed a lot at night and tends to wake up many times. i'm still trying to associate the link coz' i'm sometimes not ard to see how much he eats for dinner and how late he had it.

mel ocean,
that's how they learn loh. sometimes, yu ze will use his hand to take the rice and feed himself. so sometimes i will tease him say he is a malay. :p

Celyn, haha... yu ze very cute, use hand... if i'm were u, i'll scream like hell liao... hehe

Think from now onwards, me have to learn a bit more patient & tolerate A's behaviour that she will spill/play out the food or even mess up the hse... ren.... ren... ren..

Krex
A oso likes to poke poke the food....

mel
something to take note is...after finish food inside the bowl, zynn will pick up food spilled on floor...i dunno if A did that, but gotta take note lor. =P
maybe its only zynn that is so tum jiak lah...ha ha...

snow74,
hahahah.... yah yah, yu ze will pick up food that he drop on the high chair table to eat too. sometimes even more gross is that meat that he chew and chew then spit out, he will take and put it back in to eat. eeee........

celyn
same thing lor, they like sayang food and dun wanna waste hor? >D
ha ha....

mel
think its a learning stage, gotta observe then guide them correctly lor. =)

yuuri
ha ha....keston so smart! =P

mel,

nt to worry.

I let BBM play with her food. Now if she is really hungry, she can fin the whole bowl nicely without dropping any. ( which I was surprised!)

most of the time, she still drop.

If nt so hungry, she will be feeding us........

as to poke food, think is their instinct to check if food is ok to eat?

drop food........... still trying to teach her not to pick up from floor to eat. usually, she will pass to me to throw.

it's just a messy n interesting stage for us.

Yes yes I am my son's rubbish bin for food. Only dropped food! If the food is still clean, he will never ever let me eat!!!

Sylvia,
Wah BBM can self feed whole bowl! So smart!

Mel I've been letting my son self feed all meals from 12 mths. That was when he decided he wanted to hold the spoon again. At the beginning it was very messy used to have food on the floor. We put a plastic shower curtain under his highchair so that it makes cleaning up easier and some of the food can be recycled on our plates later so no wastage.
Nowadays he's much better hardly any spillage only with occassional littering when I happen to be not around for him to pass the food he doesn't want. If I happen to be around he'll give them to me.

You can try loaded spoons at the beginning for rice and porridge. Just load the spoon with food and give it to them or leave it on the plate and let them pick it up themselves. They will eventually get the hang of it and will attempt to spoon things up themselves. Sometimes they get the spoon the wrong way round and everything falls off and it's messy, sometimes they use their hands and their faces get all sticky and dirty but that's part of the fun and the learning process. I don't have any helper either and while you can really cry over all the messiness it can also be very funny and heartwarming when you see them smiling away and having a good time. If you give them enough practice feeding themselves the messiness don't last for long and one day you'll find you don't have to do much cleaning up after all.

Yuuri I'm also mummy dustbin!

krex I guess your MIL means well. J's only with the granny during the weekdays right? Maybe try a more relaxed feeding during weekends and see if it helps with his sleeping?

mrs n,

last sat he barely ate his dinner and i let him be. that nite, he slept pretty well...woke up only once and the next day he finished his milk and cereal *smirk*

that's what led me to think my MIL is feeding him too much.

yuuri,

J is a clean freak. he will walk ard the house and pick up any litter he sees on the floor! even at home, he will walk into the toilet and pick up the hair *faintz*

Mrs N,
I guess I must really learn to let go and let him mess it up. I always freak out when i see the spoon about to tip over!

Krex,
K also clean freak. Pick up all sorts of invisible dust to give me (thankfully not feed me)! The funny thing is those tiny hair/dust, he will go to the window and throw outside. :p Bigger things then will give me to throw away.