(2008/08) Aug 2008

Rona,
Yalor, I miss hb leh...although he called almost everyday...Mae calls "papa" when he called, think hb must be smiling away hahaha

RX,
Hope SL settles in new cc soon

Last Sat, brgt the gals to town...went toilet and Mae dashed in and guess what, she put her hands on the toilet bowl...I wana faint when I saw it!!! Then I wasked her hand thoroughly w soap and sanitize them...then I brgt her into the cubicle coz I need to pee, while I peed, she said "eeeee"...faint man!

ICAC

I went to GlenE one to see Dr YY Yip.

Ruixian, so that means the whole team? I tot only Dr Ngiam, Dr William Yip & Dr YY Yip.

That's a big move for them.
So all the SBCC's Dr all not ard nw?

Wah...........

BBM nearly hospitalised............ she vomit non-stop at 4am Sunday, we rush to Mt A 24 hrs clinic. Came back still vomit.

She was very tired n sleepy. even sleeping halfway, she will vomit...... When we distract her n let her watch TV, she was giggling then suddenly vomit again.

Doctor advise to stay, but got advice fm a frd to send if she continue vomiting til today.

Anyway, she stopped vomiting in the afternoon n had a long nap. Then LS non stop.............. but she is still her old playful self, will only complain when she LS.

Still monitoring.

Now still sleep, latch, drink rice water, wake abit n cry, then went back to sleep again.

I think she's also teething 2nd molar.

tried giving her porridge, pasta, baby biscuit... she only interested in koropok leh!! Hahaha!! anyway her a tiny bit, then she nt interested.

Doctor said not to give milk, but dun latch her, she cried even more. Anyway she latch whole day.....

Celyn,

I found the new diaper in old packaging leh. Hahaha!! think their old packaging still nt fin, new stock production already started.

Rata

is it? I like the elastic band esp nw very tight, wont cause mark n easy to stick when BBM runs ard.

Oh......pureen got blue one?

ok...... let me finish my stock then I go n kepo

ruixuan & sylvia
both bb caught the same virus as yu ze ah?
sounds same same leh. =(
hope they recovers soon, u mummies take care too.

History

BBM is like that since 14 mth. must eat what we eat, dunna hers n wanna eat from our bowl, even though same food.

At home, when I eat her, she will sit next to me til almost full. Tab my hand or say MUM MUM. She will walk and run ard til she fin her food in her mouth. Full, then shake head n wave away.

But when I eat, she will still mum mum n point to what she wants.

Now,outside, I will take extra bowl n cut smaller n let her feed herself.

m2b,

mae knows how to wash and sanitise hands? J's hands will freeze when we put them under running water...he only like to touch water but expects us to wash it for him, heh. but if there is no water, he knows how to rub his hands. so funny!

sylvia,
oh no. hope she get well soon. i think there is a strong stomach virus going around. yu ze also very active despite the LS. now LS had stopped. must monitor her closely, fever might come along with it too.

mommies,

any reason why bb might have fever suddenly? my ger just started having rashes, followed by fever... haiz

she has no flu/cough wor...

<font color="#CD3278">thank u all!!</font>
Actually after she was down with severe croup, she recovered &amp; regained her appetite, except for the milk bit. And then last week she was attacked by another flu virus, with the temp &amp; the whole works.

Maybe you're all right, she's still not fully recovered.. We decided to give her her 3 milk feeds during the day, and forget abt subjecting ourselves to agony at night.

<font color="#CD3278">mel</font>
We give her different foods.. Just on Sat I gave her pasta for lunch &amp; mee sua for dinner, wah, she turned down the mee sua man.. All the effort gone in to prepare wholesome food, down the drain

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Ooops! Better make sure, though diff i have to admit, for ur MIL to not deviate fr THE usual practice.

I think if it's at home, I'm not so worried.. Imagine if we were to go out, I have to feed her at home.. Less time for gaigai leh

<font color="#CD3278">ruixuan</font>
Then how do you tackle SL ah?? I somehow not inclined to offer different food, dun want to make it a habit tt there's always an alternative

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Count down to Sat!! I can smell a lovely weekend for you

Mae is sooooo cheeky!

<font color="#CD3278">sylvia</font>
I think i'm too particular liao.. Dunno if I shd relent a little &amp; offer her the healthier options of adult food. Which means I gotta eat those foods!

sylvia
gotta let her drink more water, ls will dehydrate very fast de.
as long as she still got that energy, should be ok.

sam
dr din say anything about why ur gal fever? -_-"
that rashes after high fever is common, dun worry.
it wun be those very itchy kind, after "full bloom" then it will subside le.

yu ze suddenly have fever. 39.1 degree leh. just feed medicine and bathe him in cold water. if still not coming down, going to bring to kk liao. sigh....

Just read the baby led weaning book (I know a bit too late lah but then the book was on sale last month!) and according to the author the reason why babies/toddlers want to eat the same food as their parents is not because they like our food better but its to do with a natural safety mechanism of the child. If the parents are seen eating the same food the child will associate that the food is safe for them to eat too. I think that makes quite a lot of sense.

celyn oh dear poor yu ze! Hope the fever subsides.

Celyn
oh no,hope Yu ze is ok.
Sponge him with water to bring down the body temp.
U must take gd care of urself too.

mrs n,

snow74,
just now, when he came back from school i already find him a bit different. he looks very red and feel hot. so after dinner, i bathe him in cold water and let him sit in bath tub to play water. then feed him medicine.

he refuse to let me sponge him leh. then i stick the fever patch behind his back loh then he keep asking hubby to remove it for him. :p

i use ear thermometer, its 39.1. i use arm pit thermometer, its 38.3. then i put wet towel over his head and let him sleep in air con. just measure wit ear thermometer, its 37.7. don't know how accurate these temp is. will monitor him loh. maybe later wake him up for medicine again. then his milk addict didn't drink and sleep liao. tonight sure wake up for milk.

slyvia, yes blue de is pureen premium. red de is pureen colourful. but the premium like not common so far onli know kiddy palace &amp; giant ve.

Poor yu ze...poor mummy also, it's gonna be a long night! Last time kkh told me for ear, temp above 37.8 is considered fever.

yuuri,
i really don't know how accurate is the ear thermometer now or whether to trust it leh. measure again about 5 mins ago, it show 38.7 loh.

M2B
sometime can faintz cos of their naive and curiosity.

Slyvia
hope BBM is okie.
yah a big move for SBCC
restart everything again

celyn
yz okay? there is a lot of virus in CC..

celyn,
i think ear thermometer is better? i trusted mine a lot. you can give barley water to him too, use chinese barley and boil for at least 45 mins, after boiling, turn the fire down and continue to boil somemore. YOu can drink too. take care

celyn
how is yu ze now? =(
has the fever subsided?

think ear thermometer should be ok lah, most clinics using it.

snow,

thanks. dunno why she suddenly pop rashes, followed by fever. she's ok for the moment. realised as they get bigger, more prone to illness... she was healthier as infant lor :p

Good Morning Mommies!

Hisstory,
Hope Ashley fully recover real soon!
Ya, really looking fwd to this Sat...like so long never see hb liao...

RX,
Yalor, kids hah, sometimes dun know to laugh or cry! =P

Celyn,
Is YZ ok now? Poor YZ and you leh, must rest well ah...ya, cc sure alot of viruses gg ard...hiaz, pros and cons...

Sam,
When the body's temp goes up, it cld be the body fighting certain virus...cld be slight viral infection...

sam
eh...that goes to the theory of the -ve ion. =)
when they are 1st born, their body actually contain some -ve ion.
but as time past, these -ve ion become lesser and lesser...making them more prone to catch viruses.
these -ve works like those ionizer, will nutralise...eh...unwanted viruses bah.
sorry har, me not science student so dun really noe how to explain in detail. =P

but dun worry abt that rashes thingy lor.
if u ask the elderly, they will tell u cos medicine too "heavy" so its detox out from their skin. -_-"
maybe, we cannot say they are totally wrong lor.

m2b
get urself fully recover faster, so this sat can go cheong with hb!
hee hee...

M2B,

Thanks. I aso dunno whatz wrong with her. My mom bot her to doc, but then, her temp already subsided. doc aso dunno what she allergy to... miraclously, her rashes also gone liao, waste of $$$ go see doc... haha

mrs n,

i like the sound of that. maybe we shldn't resist so much when J doesn't want his food next time!

celyn,

hope yu ze is better today. it's quite likely he will fall sick more often now that he's in CC, but on the +ve side, he's building his resistance

sam/snow
oh..got such theory one? but i do realise Kaer getting the sniffs quite easily as well..hope they get stronger as they grow lor..

sam &amp; yln
i read abt it in some books, and think some of ppl ard me do noe this theory also. =)
bfg do helps lah, bfg is a start to help them build strong body mah.
but bfg mum gotta eat healthy food also leh, else i'm not sure how much the bb can benefit from the breast milk ya?
as they grow older, they will outgrow all these kiddos illnesses de.
as long as not very serious kind, dun worry and let them accumulate their own anti-bodies okie?

yln
give kaer more vit c?

Sam,
Glad your ger is ok liao...sometimes the $ to the doc like cannot be saved 1...heehee

Snow,
Yalor, my cough and flu taking ages to recover leh...so sianz...kept me awake at night...thanks, me still taking med, hope will recover soon...

YLN,
The kids will be stronger as they grow older...now #1 seldom get unwell liao...sometimes just slight cough/flu, will just get med from pharmacy and she will recover in time =P

afternoon mummies

thanks for all your concern. yu ze fever subsides this morning but its back again. bring him to sbcc again, given anti-biotic to eat and continue with what he had. at least, LS is ok liao. doc say if with anti-biotic, fever subsides in 2-3 days then could be bacteria infection. if not, it might last another 5 days or so then he might have caught some new virus in cc yesterday when he is back. anyway, was told to keep him at home these few days and don't send him to cc.

might send him to babysitter tomorrow cos hubby will be home late, don't think i got energy to handle him alone for whole day. at least, send to babysitter she can help look after till about 7pm. then yu ze come back and play a while can sleep liao. then thurs, keep him home with me.

i know sending him to cc, he will tend to fall sick easily but i guess in a way its good fighting ground to build up his immunity. at least, give him time to build up now then when #2 comes. can't imagine having to take care of 2 when 1 keep falling sick from cc, another will be too young to catch any virus from him.

myself is also fighting against yu ze's virus now. can really feel the cough and running nose coming. then i can't stay away from him cos he is very teh due to his sickness and also #2 coming.

celyn,
better keep him home until he is well. Then he can fight other virus when he goes back to cc. :p
yu ze - speedy recovery!

Hisstory,
Hope Ashley gets well soon! lots of water - weather is terrible.

rona,
yah, going to keep him at home or babysitter's place for these 2 days loh. to go back to cc or not on thurs or fri, really depends on his condition then.

sam,

Need 5 More Parents to Take a Quick Survey - help a grad student

This is the last time I will bug you about my survey.
I need to have 5 more surveys completed by March 12 to be able to do my study. If you haven't taken it already, could you please take 5 minutes to respond? I really appreciate your help! The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Robyn Maley
University of St. Thomas
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

krex that's pretty much the philosophy of baby led weaning which is basically letting your child take the lead when it comes to food. The reasoning behind it is that the child is more receptive to trying new food or eating their meals if they are given the chance to explore on their own. Most books I have read so far say not to force your child to eat if they don't want to 'cos it may lead to problems with fussiness later on. I guess it is true to some extent. I know of adults who refuse to eat certain foods just because they were forced to eat it when they were children!

yln I think they will get stronger when they get older. Came across this article recently. Kind of interesting!

Celyn take care of yourself too.

morning!!

very rare of me in so early. hahaha!! Wah !! what a big rain! hope everyone is dry n well.

I just change sleeping BBM .. she LS in her sleep.

BBM LS since sun til now. sun n mon were like 30-45mins.......... so busy til I din get to fin my lunch til like 5 hours later. then me down coz i vomit my food out. think due to too hungry? now still migraine coz latch BBM every 2 hours in the nite.

Celyn, she was feverish, so I let her play with cold water while changing her after she LS to keep the temp lower.

snow/M2B,

she dunna water wor........ but I try diff method lah. like inject into her mouth.:p Think she likes to latch only... so maybe it's a gd way to get fluid.

She is getting better. no of LS is reducing. Ytd kept pointing to bread n MUM MUM.

ruixian

yes.. that's a big move n new start.

I know that they even had to tompang in other clinic before they found a new place. The one at GlenE is big. I have to google to find the new tompang place, when I reached there, they change to their new perm venue.

Dunno where, went to lobby and ask, before I can tell them... they already knew where I was gng! haha!!

Think dr r happier too. :p

only thing... cant use baby bonus card. they r applying.

hisstory,

adult healthy food? ya... I was eating it since day one, cook hers with ours together. add salt or other sauce only after taking her portion out.

She like black chicken soup with rice. hahaha!! maybe i ate too much during preg?

Even drink... she will sprout her lip so high to indicate she wanna try. nw hb cant drink soft drink anymore esp coke.

hahaha!!

sylvia,
bbm's LS seems serious leh, every 30-45 mins. yu ze's after every milk feed then i already can't take it.

yu ze don't like to bathe now. i really don't know what happen to cause the change. teacher in cc say they got no problem leh. these few days i bathe him in cold water too without hot water but its a struggle loh. imagine he cried all the way from removing his clothes till he is done. last time, he is the one who refuse to get out of water now he refuse to get in water.

celyn

ya............ so i also 'sick' loh.

so busy changing her.

now she LS, I tell her pom pom or she will tell me pom pom n she goes straight to the toilet n wait for me. if I din go in, she will come n pull me along.

Did u ask the teacher in cc how they bath? temp? or he likes to spray water? or what did they do when they wanna bath him?

must be some things they did that he enjoys.

Mrs N
thanks for the article
.interesting..

celyn
hope yuze gets better soon..u have been on leave for a while ya? with yu ze getting sick ..hmm...u better take care and rest well too...if u cannot cope, drop yu ze @ babysitter's place..then u can rest too..

today rain was riduculous..it usually takes me 25mins to get to work..today..it took me 1 hr...i just got to work..:p...should get a detention..hahah...

snow

ya.. she din eat much, but she will mum mum n point to bread when she wants. so just give.

but she wan koropok loh.............. point n point n cry coz i dunna to give til i give tiny bit.......

her porridge, she dunna . but she ate my black chicken soup n porridge.......

pu pu her too! hahaha!!