(2008/08) Aug 2008

mummies, i wan to ask those who use pampers. I never use as i use MP de. wats the diff between pampers active which comes in a box & those in green & purple packaging?

Jac, think both of them "吃軟不吃硬" de lor.

Yesterday see polyclinic doc, said she shld take rice insteads of porridge liao cos her weight still in 9kg and height only 78.5cm, very petite... in low weight & height chart... cham hah...

Halo Mommies!
TGIF! Yey!

Celyn,
Mae oso prefer fish to meat porridge but I will give her meat porridge on weekends when I cook whereas my mom will cook fish from Mon-Fri...must have balanced diet mah...heehee

Mel,
I intro rice to Mae by letting her self-feed and she loves it! So now when we go out for meals, she will have her own rice to feed herself!

Ruixuan,
Good to hear you've found a CC that you like..hope SL loves it there too!

Rona,
Yah I'm absolutely gonna cut down on K's food. Like I say, usually after 15mins he slows down alot and look quite sian. Probably he's had enough but he still will open mouth when we bring the food to his mouth ley...

Mrs N,
How do you cook beef stew?
Hats off to you for handling D alone while you're preggie!

Mel,
Mine doesn't eat rice either...mainly cos we dunno how much rice to give, so end up just stick to porridge :p And he's growth is just fine!

Rat, Yuuri,
Actually hor me oso think her growth is ok at her 19mths, but tis doc keep "emphasise" must feed her RICE RICE RICE... think she wan to stress me!

M2B
Used your method too, she "play" the rice instead of eat rice... haha

mel ocean,
she don't like 'hard' food like rice is it? or its just rice that she don't like? is your porridge the very soft kind? maybe you don't have soft porridge for her and slowly introduce rice? or cos she like porridge as its not so dry? try adding soup to rice so that its not so dry, maybe then she will like.

well, she is still taller than yu ze. :p

yuuri,
rice, you need to give lesser amount compare to porridge. try and error you will roughly know how much to feed.

rata,
i only use pampers active at night. its the purple colour one, sometimes during sale they pack 2 pack in the box. i think pampers is more ex then MP bah. without sale, 1 pc is about $0.50/$0.55. so i stock up during sale when 1 pc is about $0.35. not sure about the difference between pampers and MP though.

m2b,
yu ze only like those cantonese style porridge now, those we have when we eat dian sum. he don't like when i put meat in his home cooked porridge. he wants them separate like us, eat side and porridge separate.

celyn, yes pamper is more ex? wa! promo time so cheap $0.35/pc. how much per pack during promo? MP during promo also $0.429/pc for xl size lei. dat day giant got promo for pampers active those in a box so is like wat u say 2 packs inside coz it put 2x34. spent above $30 can purchase at $28.85 so after calculating is $0.424/pc cheaper than MP so i buy & try. but hor not like wat u say $0.35/pc so cheap lei or coz dats the price for smaller size?

Celyn;

How's Yu Ze? Hope he speedy recover real soon!

Think basically my gal dun like to eat rice, even i cook "soft" rice & added some soup for her, she only wan to drink the soup.

May be i'll try to prepare those teow chew type porridge as u suggested, see what's her respond...

rata,
the price i state is for m size cos yu ze only started to wear L not long ago. haven't calculate for bigger size yet.

mel ocean,
he is still about the same. brought him to sbcc ttoday to see pd instead of gp. spend $124, hopefully he will be better. pd say give him another 5-7 days to fully recover bah. though he is sick for almost 1 week but still active so ok loh, not so worrying. his butt is red due to LS loh, lucky i just bought desitin creamy to standby for #2, so apply for him first loh.

celyn,
aiyoh... faint...

i mean yu ze so cute, still war uniform huh. must have reeeaaalllyyy hope you guys bring him to cc today...

is this your first time to sbcc? you mean the new one right?

rice vs porridge
actually porridge is also very good for toddlers - easy for digestion, so gentle for their tummy. rice got to cook a little softer, not the grain grain kind, cos their tummy still 'soft' mah.

Rata,
my boy just started to wear pampers L size, and yet the L size is still a little big for him.
MP and pampers are both good, but the cutting for MP is slightly smaller then Pampers. Your Jac power leh, XL!

rata

I buy pamper active ( purple n green )during promo n store too.

the box as Celyn wrote is 2 x 38pcs for L size. sometimes during promo is 2 boxes ( 4 pkts)is ard $60. XL size will be ard $65.

another type is pamper comfort L size - $11.95 for 52 pcs. They just change the stick part n more comfortable. XL size is $13.95 , I think is 56 pieces.

eh.............. can I ask... porridge is those very soft n watery type? or teochew style as rice in water?

BBM loves spaghetti, bee tai mak n udon leh. rice as in wet type. nt the usual rice as she will spit all out. consider porridge?

rona

SBCC got new one?

btw.... BBJ just L ar? I thinking to switch XL liao leh. very tight nw, but nw trying to finish up my L diapers n pull up.

BBM also love CNY cookies n will MUM MUM n point at the ones she wants. if take wrong, will shake head fiercely. dun give will cry too. love ke ro pok!! hahaha!! my cousin gave her one n she kept bringing the container n pushed to him to open for her. :p

BBM takes 15-20mins n will even tab my hand or say MUM MUM when she finished up those in her mouth. usually she will be sitting next to me, sometimes watching tv.

once almost full, she will be walking ard. only when I put in front of her, then she will open mouth. after that... full will shake head n use hand to push away.

if let her feed herself, she will finish wat she want then want to walk. come back n eat a mouthful, then walk .... so the remaining will be finished by me or she will take another 2-3 mouth then stop.

go eat buffet, she is good, coz she comes back for diff food!! hahaha!!

rona, juz change to xl not long la. btw if u use MP giant having promo now for the jumbo pack. ever lowest price since i ve been buying MP for the past 19mths. $20.50 wif 2 free pull up pants.

Sylvia, I got try pamper comfort for her to wear for those short duration like fr late evening after shower 7pm till 10pm (find it lugi to use mp for dat short duration) but is not comfy lei. now use pureen premium (not dat cheap as compared to pamper comfort). is onli a few cents cheaper than MP but better than nothing (promo 12/90 for 38pcs of xl).

morning mummies

rona,
i don't go to sbcc one. this is my third time there only. usually yu ze is sick with common cough and flu, i just let him fight on his own for 2 days. still not ok, then bring to GP. but this time, go GP and after about 1 week still no good that's why bring to sbcc.

yah loh, i think he really love school leh. cos i got no problem changing him into uniform as long as he sees that its his uniform. yesterday, cos he wet his top while drinking water from cup. so i say must change, then i walk to his room to take another top for him. when i come back, hubby already got his uniform on hand. then i ask him to wear what i had, he don't want and shake head and insist on wearing uniform loh. sigh....

sylvia,
bbm need to wear XL meh? so big meh? i got lots of stock for pampers M, can keep very long for #2 liao. now need to look out for S and L to stock up liao.

mel,

doesn't realy matter if she doesn't like rice. as long as she eats something that's pretty gd already. kids these age are very picky eaters. J was really good during meal times in the past but now it's a challenge to feed him. he still loves his rice and bread, so when all else fails, we'll give him that.

rata

pamper comfort used to be not very comfortable. nw they change or modify, so better. if nt, using pamper active very xiong sometimes.

the rest of the brands.. bbm will hv rashes. anyway, using pull ups too.so can switch when she running ard.

celyn

think yu ze has a gd time in sch, so wanna wear it.
gd sign loh.

ya.. she got big bum. maybe gal pah. nw wear L very tight. luckily.. i pamper active L gng to fin liao. I stock up alot last time. nw only worried my pull ups... hope can tahan.

ya... must stock up. but after change packaging, like nt much promo hor. is even more comfortable with the new packaging. the elastic band is very gd.

sylvia,
yah. no problem in getting him to change into uniform, he very happy to change one.

i haven't try the new pampers cos still got old one.

sylvia, when the new packaging the pack i try is bought b4 cny. jac dun like. u tried pureen premium? not the normal colourful one (in red) but the premium one (in blue) is good.

celyn,
sorry sorry ... din mean to say anything -ve abt mommies who send their kids to school though they are having slight runny nose or cough .. in fact a lot of parents do so.
I suppose u all dun have extra help like myself.

I am ok with it but I am concern myself that if i send and then some parents are not happy or if their kids fall sick then i kenna the blame.
Anyway if i no choice i oso will send.

dun worry la ... so long doc says ok and no fever then ok ba.

Same thing for gatherings ... sometimes i oso dun wan to go cos the kid is not exactly vv well ... but some will still bring. Different pple different degree of tolerance lor.

shint,
no no, not saying you are wrong. :p

just telling you that i'm one of the mummy who will still send to cc as long as no fever. hehehe.....

for gathering, i will see how close we are and age of the children and how serious is my child's illness then i decide if i want to bring.

for ur info

Dr ong EK, Dr Vella and Dr koh PK and some other doc from SBCC had moved out of SBCC and open new clinic name ICAC (International Children and adolescent Clinic).

that's mean the present SBCC are run by other new group of doctors (heard is organisation).

i think only Dr chan ky remain in SBCC.

Sylvia,
that's what i mean lah, the old sbcc and the new sbcc (but i should say icac instead).

wow, your bbM is also a power one! my jer only just started to wear L and its lao hong lao hong like that. we let him wear size L cos the M is slightly tight at the waist. I think Pet Pet may have bigger waist, I may get a pack of M for pet pet for him to try if the fit is better.

rona,
thanks. ls not so frequent liao. i start mixing pediasure with his usual milk today. i think putting the probiotic in his milk helps also. but cough and running nose still there. at least now the mucus is clear and not greenish/yellowish liao.

but hoh, he keep asking for milk loh and wake up in the night for about 1-2 hours then sleep again. i want to die liao cos he is sleeping with me.

<font color="#CD3278">ruixuan</font>
Thanks! I think i better give a ring to see whether Dr Chan KY is still in SBCC anot

Survey:
Are your toddlers increasingly difficult to feed?

I rem <font color="#CD3278">krex</font> did a survey on feeding at meals &amp; i mentioned tt Ashley's a happy eater.. I think I seriously jinxed myself!

Two weeks after CNY, when she also was hospitalised, she decided to cut off her milk feed before she goes to bed. Giving her milk is like taking her life.. She protests &amp; wails when we feed her milk

And then these couple of days, she's also disinterested in meals. She wld love to have ours
But when at home, if she eats first, it's not so problematic.. Haiz!!

Rona yup hubby went away on work trip to Egypt. So glad he came back at least I can get some time off. D very happy when he heard the door open and practically jumped out of the bath.
Your Jer very funny. D also the same like to steal my food. That day I gave him some sandwiches for lunch but he didn't want the ones on his plate he wanted the one in my hand even though it was the same thing!

celyn ha! ha! Yu Ze is so clever know where to find money.
I also think it's ok for kids to go to cc or playgroup so long as no fever. Most parents in our playgroup bring their kids when they have a runny nose, D sometimes catches a cold after that but it's ok. It is good for his immune system to be challenged every now and then. We can't keep them in a sterile environment forever.

Yuuri for beef stew this is the way I cook it: fry beef with chopped onions, then add in chopped vegetables (i.e. celery, carrots, mushroom, potatoes, tomato), add water (just enough to cover most of the vegetables) and leave to cook on low heat for about 2 hours. I usually marinade the beef first with mixed spice, black pepper, 1 tsp of black soy sauce and pinch of salt (very small pinch). You can also add a cube of vegetable stock for more taste (I use the baby version) but that's optional. Serve with rice or bread or just have as it is.

hisstory I think they tend to go off their meals when they are poorly. Give Ashley a bit more time to recover and I'm sure she'll be back to her usual self.

morning mummies

mrs n,
yah yah. they are like that loh. even though its the exact same thing but what we put in our mouth seems nicer than theirs loh. :p

hisstory,
i think she is still not feeling well bah. that's why she don't really want to eat.

Celyn
Glad to hear Yu Ze getting better!

Hisstory
Me oso think she not fully recover yet, if she refuse to drink or may be u can find another solutions like feeding porridge, cake, bread... etc. She'll be slowly back to her usual routine.

Good Morning Mommies!
Looking fwd to this Sat....

Hisstory,
Ashley fully recovered aldy?

Mrs N,
I like how you say "It is good for his immune system to be challenged every now and then. We can't keep them in a sterile environment forever".

Hi Good Morning

Sent SL to new CC today at 7.30am. cry when handed him to the staff. when to peek at him at 8.30am, he is playing around and disturbing the nursery student. i think SL will do well in the new CC.

Hisstory
yah. my son keep shaking his head when i feed him..

celyn, shint.
SL also kena diarrhoea and flu from CC.

M2B,
Its monday morning and you are looking forward to Sat already!!! I know, your hb is coming back this Sat right?

Ruixuan,
Poor SL. Is he better now?

Hisstory,
Same here, I think Ashley not fully recovered yet, hence no appetite. Jer was like that when he just recovered from Bronchitis. then when he is fully well, he is eating again! His eyes and ears are very alert. Some noise somewhere and he is right infront of the person asking to share the food!

Rona
SL is okie.. see PD on fri and sun
on medication

Naughty or naive?
SL put his hand inside the toilet bowl to "Lucky draw"

hisstory,

welcome to the club! last weekend, J was much better although i think he will revert to his naughty ways again with meals being fed by my MIL this week :p

daddy discovered he was more interested in food when we gave him a spoon to play with the food. occasionally, he would also put the spoon in his mouth (upside down) of course.

then on sat, suay suay our food came and he suddenly wanted what we were eating, so we had to trick him into eating his porridge by putting cranberries on it (our sandwich came with salad which had cranberries in it).

i think the general rule of thumb is - feed him separately from the rest of the family if we want him to eat his food. if he resists, he joins us at the table and eats our adult food.

ruixuan,

haha, J also put his hand in the toilet bowl a month ago. now we're extra careful whenever he wanders into the bathroom. he seems very fascinated with our bidet hose and toilet brush!

Care to take part in this mini-survey and share which CC your bb is in? How much $$$ you're forking out per month after subsidy?

1) BB's Name - CC (Name/Location) - $XX

Thanx a lot!