(2008/08) Aug 2008

ceyln,
can you run out while your big one jaga him for a little while? just need to get a small tin. else you stop his milk and feed him porridge and porridge water.

rona,
will go out to buy later cos big one not going out liao. no way to stop him from milk one lah. he just ask for milk again, drink 60ml and lao sai again. even if i feed him other things, he will still want milk loh.

Hi mummies.

Haven't had time to log on for so many days. Kinda miss chatting wif u gals. Ur posts r keeping me company on my train rides to n fro Wk today!

Ruixuan,
Part of the reason I booked a place for Anvelle immediately after visiting Orange Tree, besides the proximity to our offices, is wat the IC said to me. She said tat at the toddler stage, the curriculum is not impt. The child should be happy, eat n sleep well. When she is happy n comfortable in the CC environment, she'll definitely reach her potential academically. At OT, she stresses on teachers showing love n concern for the child. Anyway, it's under Morris Allen n Tien Hsia Lang School so hopefully it's gd.

Celyn,
Pls take gd care. Dun over-exert k?

rona,
couldn't get pediasure just now, so bought the similac soy milk. aiyo, regret big time. so smelly, yu ze only drink 3-4 mouth. luckily i got a gain iq sample pack, make that for him. he drink more but still don't really like. tomorrow must go looking for pediasure liao.

mummynana,
thanks. i will.

Celyn, Krex, Rata,
Thks gals for ur input on milk intake!

Celyn,
Glad to hear dat YZ is adapting soo well to sch.
Hope he recovers soon too..

Celyn,
is yu ze better? if you are going out tomorrow, go to guardian and ask them for probiotics. i can't recall the name now, but ask them for the highest strength/active ingredient. give to yu ze (instructions may put once a day, but you can give up to twice a day) and your big one. this is to intro the good bac to the tummy to help fight the bad ones away.

Ruixuan,
how is SL? You can always request the teachers in the centre to feed SL and to monitor his intake of food. If the teachers are not helpful or unfriendly or just face value, then you can forget about putting SL in this CC.

morning mommies,

would like to do another survey today. do your kids eat well during meal times and do u have to use any form of distraction to get them to eat? e.g. offer a biscuit together with the meal, keep the kid entertained with toys, books, etc.? on average, how long does he/ she take to finish the meal?

morning mummies

reirei,

mummynana,
thanks. i manage to buy it today. i stay at serangoon north.

rona,
got it, thanks.

he lao sai immediately after drinking milk. but really not possible not to give him milk, i cut down his milk amount, dilute his milk liao. i don't give unless he request. he will pull me to make milk for him. cry if he don't get it cos he really want..

krex78,
yu ze will finished his meal before or together with us at the table. so maybe less than 15-20 mins. i don't provide any toys but do on the tv cos i want to watch. hahaha..... so sometimes he will also watch tv and eat or just eat or if he see any toys on the table that he wants, he will request to play with it and eat at the same time.

now i will give him a small bowl + spoon to self feed, then i have another bowl and spoon to feed him. sometimes he will feed me with what is in his bowl cos he is trying to imitate me feeding him.

<font color="0000ff">celyn</font>
last time when jas LS, my PD teach to mix the soy formula with her usual FM, if she rejects soy. maybe u can try that.
hope he gets well soon.

mulberry,
i bought pediasure liao. just now when i open then i realise it looks like soy milk leh. anyway, yu ze only drink 60ml and don't want liao. sigh.....

maybe i shall try mixing both and let him drink tonight and see how.

Hello Mummies

Celyn, take care. Noe this is a difficult period. *Jia-You*

Krex,
1) Do your kids eat well during meal times and do u have to use any form of distraction to get them to eat? We usually keep baby K entertained with toys, books and literally whatever interests him.
2) On average, how long does he/she take to finish the meal? He takes 5-15mins, depending on how hungry he is and how much he likes the food. My son is a pig. He's alr 88cm &amp; 14kg. Many have mistaken him for a 2-3yr old...

Rinku,
My colleague, who used to stay at Queens, sent his daughter to Learning Vision. Don't know where it is, but he highly recommends LV. Hope this helps.

Krex,
1) Do your kids eat well during meal times and do u have to use any form of distraction to get them to eat? We usually keep baby K entertained with toys, books and literally whatever interests him.
2) On average, how long does he/she take to finish the meal? He takes 5-15mins, depending on how hungry he is and how much he likes the food. My son is a pig. He's alr 88cm &amp; 14kg. Many have mistaken him for a 2-3yr old...
3) my son MUST sit in front of the tv to eat his food. if not he will walk around the house. v bad habits i know!
he is still a small eater and still v small size. hee

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
1) do your kids eat well during meal times and do u have to use any form of distraction to get them to eat? e.g. offer a biscuit together with the meal, keep the kid entertained with toys, books, etc.?

Ashley eats very well except when she's ill &amp; disinterested. She loves food too much.. No need for distractions, except sometimes she's too sick of sitting there to eat &amp; tt's usually twd the end of the meal

2) on average, how long does he/ she take to finish the meal?
15 at max...

Celyn,
Anvelle doesn't like Pediasure too. Dunno y like tat. She has always been ok when we switched brands n Pediasure is supposed to b for picky eaters so by rite, shld b fine.
Rona,
No confirmed date yet. Juz book place 1st. Earliest will b Apr or May. She will only turn 18 mths on 25 Mar. But all depends on whether my gran is happy wif the arrangement.

Krex,
1) At my gran's, she will walk around, coming back when she finished swallowing each mouth of food. But with me, she is seated down n cannot move around until she is done eating.

2) 10 - 15 mins. She will tell us if she is full.

tks mommies for the feedback.

J used to be a very good eater but i think we made the mistake of entertaining him each time. now if i sit him down on high chair, he will not want to eat until we start taking out all the toys. and even then, he will stop eating once he's sick of each toy *faintz* and my MIL being the very concerned grandma who thinks her grandson will starve if he does not finish his food, will start offering him things like hp, etc. i'm trying to break this habit. for me, 30 mins is the limit and i will firmly tell him no more food if he's not eating. i have a feeling we're feeding him too much anw.

btw, for those who have started getting your kid to self feed, how long will they take before they aim accurately? i dun think J can put his porridge in his mouth with a spoon if i dun guide his hand...

krex78,
i only started giving yu ze a bowl and spoon to self feed after he started cc. i'm not asking for accuracy in self feeding so at the end of the meal, you see food all over the floor around his high chair or himself. its just letting him try loh. sometimes, he will stop using his spoon and start eating with his hand.

if you can't tahan the mess better don't try. its really messy.

that's why, i have 2 bowls for him now. 1 for self feeding, another one i do the feeding.

today, i was in cc during lunch time. there is an auntie sitting behind yu ze guiding him to self feed.

anyway, i have upload his menu in cc in fb. you can have a look. if its not clear, pm me and i email to you.

Can I ask, how much are your kids eating per meal? I think my K can not possibly finish his meal within 15 mins ley!!! He takes a huge bowl of porridge per meal (abt 2 rice bowls) and takes 30-45 mins. We usually on the tv for him...but if outside, he also still will eat without tv.

hi hi...
kept reading but cant post properly :p mostly been able 2 manage FB oni .......

Ur bbs do eat lots n well.... mine still small eater
Toying wit the idea to put her in CC so mayb she got more routine n mite improving her appettite...

Celyn
Hope YZ is recovering now.... if he still ls, mayb u wanna try get Pedyalite to replace his electrolites

Yuuri,
Jer will take his one bowl of rice and finish it around 15mins. then when his sister and brother starts their dinner, he wants to eat again so we ended up feeding him twice and the 2nd time, he can eat as much as the first time. I think this time round, i can see that he is a little rounder. This little boy also loves all the CNY goodies esp the **glurp** pineapple tarts and peanuts!

celyn,
I've a feeling I've been overfeeding him :p Cos usually after 15mins he slows down alot liao but I still keep making him finish! hahaha...

rona,
Wah you let Jer feast on cny goodies! Really want him to put on weight hor? Jer's bowl of rice is full adult bowl?

celyn,
pediasure is recommended by my PD when my kids LS. the taste is a little different from other brands, but should be similiar to Qain. I think its a little sweeter though. But it has very low lactose in it, so good for kids who are suffering from LS. At least it taste better then soy! I think you just kept giving him lah, he cannot take regular milk leh.

Yuuri,
very hard to stop him taking the CNY goodies leh. he kept Eh Eh Eh and point point point. then if you don't give, he will start to cry. and he knows where to look for the goodies! very jia lat this boy. not trying to fatten him up, i'm actually more worried that he may get too heaty and would hide the goodies! then he will eat with the guests. and give bright bright smiles and follow whoever gave him goodies...

Yuuri,
Its two soup spoon (chinese soup spoon) of rice. for porridge, its more. Yeah, can consider that its an adult bowl for porridge. BTW, the boy doesn't take pork, chix and allergic to fish... so only eggs and veg and fruits...

rona,

so jer doesn't eat any meat with his porridge?

yuuri,

if K can't finish all, then maybe u're feeding too much. i suspect J is eating too much also. sometimes me and hb will go "wah, so much?" and my MIL will say, "no lah, he can finish one". my logic is if the kid isn't interested in the meal after awhile, he is full already.

yuuri,
yu ze also eat cny goodies leh. bbq pork, love letters

rona,
yah, will continue with pediasure first loh.

chinese soup spoon is it those we get when we eat noodle? or those big one to scoop soup?

rona,
You mean 2 soup spoon of cooked rice or rice grains? Jer eats beef?

Krex,
The problem is he finishes it most of the time. But it's really alot! I think he eats more than me!

Celyn,
Wah you another one, let yu ze eat all the heaty food!

yuuri,
hahaha.... yu ze gets whatever good or bad food mummy eats loh. :p

sometimes when i cook winter melon soup, 'lao huang gua' soup, etc, yu ze can eat up almost half the 'gua' that i put in the soup to cook leh. he loves these 'gua gua'. hubby says yu ze eat so much 'gua' will become 'sa dong gua' soon. :p

i don't limit his food intake cos he will shake his head to indicate that he don't want liao. so i will stop.

rona,
yu ze initially also don't really like pork. now he will take a bit of pork that i cook with soup.

yuuri,
cos i don't take beef mah... heheheee...

Krex,
yah lor, he will spit any meat particle out. but i will still use it as an ingredient for the soup so he still get the nutrients.

celyn,
think our boys quite a like in food. he is the ai dong gua at home. ;P

Yuuri,
2 chinese soup spoon of rice, not uncooked grains. else his rice intake prob will beat his dad! that's for first round. then he will take his 2nd round with his siblings, same amount, 2 spoon of rice and veg.

i think i'm coming down with flu soon. yu ze's virus is very powerful. tomorrow, going to get babysitter to fetch him.

rona,
can probiotic be mixed with milk? gp give 1 sachet to drink, i mixed liao put into yakult bottle to cheat yu ze but he can tell leh. drink 1 mouth liao then don't want. best part is that he take the whole yakult bottle and throw inside dustbin like what he used to do when he finished his yakult. can die leh.

yuuri,
i wanted to cook beef for yu ze but don't know how leh.

Rona,
OMG then K is really eating too much liao cos he takes 2 soup spoon of uncooked rice grains!!!!

Celyn,
I use minced beef in his porridge...I also dunno how to cook beef by itself :p Take care ley, don't fall sick!

Ruixuan,
What happened? Thought you were gonna stick it out and see first?

errrr......... I think i m reali overfeeding Jac dats y she take longer than 15mins to finished. Jac take 2 chinese soup spoon of uncooked rice for each lunch &amp; dinner lei *ops*

This week has been so exhausting. Hubby has been away since Sunday. TGIF! Hubby is coming home today and I can finally have a breather!!! Ha! Ha! Hopefully D will get over the bad habits he had cultivated over the last few days. I've been letting him sleep with me when he comes to find me in the middle of the night. Too tiring to bring him back to his room. I tried that one night but he took a long time to sleep and I almost fell asleep while waiting!
Not too sure why every night he must wake up when he used to sleep thru'? Do any of your LOs do this?

Krex how long they take depends on how much they get to practice using spoons. Their hand and eye coordination is better if we allow them to self feed as much as possible. Like Celyn says it is very messy at the beginning but it does get better with time. You can put a clean plastic sheet under their chair so that any dropped food can be easily cleaned up or recycled (I usually eat them). It might be easier to make your porridge less runny at the beginning so that it sticks to the spoon. You can load the spoon and hand it to him or leave it on his bowl to pick up on his own.

Yuuri wow 2 rice bowls is alot! He must be very active and burn alot of energy. For D I usually give one spoon (I use a serving spoon the big one) of whatever we are having for dinner. If he likes it he will eat all of it or else he will eat whatever he wants and whatever he doesn't want he'll give it to either hubby or me.
I usually know when he's had enough. If he wants more he will point to the food or if he is full he will play with his utensils or just ignore the food.

You can try cooking beef stew. The meat is usually very tender after slow cooking for a while. Easy for them to pick up and eat with their hands if they want to.

Rona D also like pineapple tarts. When we went to my cousin's house she left some on the table and he helped himself! Nowadays so funny even his organix snacks he wants to choose himself. He will go to the kitchen and point at the cupboard and if I pick the wrong one there will be alot of hand waving and 'nahnahnah'!!
But so difficult to hide things now when they know where things are kept. I tried to hide my keys from him this morning and he insisted on searching my pockets when he saw that I didn't have them in my hands!

Yuuri, Jac 2 spoon of uncooked rice will give approx 3 bowls lei... *ops* same like u Jac take 30mins or more to finished. think i going reduce for her.

Yuuri,
wow! K really eats a lot leh! maybe you wanna cut down a little? i think you can ask him, but thing is he may not know what is full.

Rata,
Jac too?! yah, maybe you cut down a little first.

Mrs N,
good to hear from you! your hb away on buz? yup, good that he is coming back today! hehehehe, same same here, mine here will also do the same, he is greedy at the same time too, cos he also want the peanut, pistachio nuts and what ever that's on the shelf. He has taken ice-cream too. happily sit down with his sister and take from her.

celyn,
yes, you can mix with juice, water, cool porridge water etc. if he may reject, then you put into a spoon with water and put the powder in. so you just need to give him that spoon and that's it, easily to feed. how is he, better today? you yourself have to drink lots of water too and try to rest. get the baby sitter to help out, no choice that your big one is sick and you are heavy with the 2nd one and maybe falling sick too. rest more. where is your work place now?

Ruixuan,
Good that you found one that meet your expectations. SL should get better care here right? Hope he will settle down soon!

morning mummies

rona,
i'm on mc this whole week but i think its more tired then working loh. sigh...

didn't send yu ze to cc today cos hubby took mc today and say want to bring yu ze to see doc again. originally ask babysitter to come fetch yu ze, i also inform her not to come liao.

i will try to buy and mix in his milk bah. when i mixed in cold water, he throw it away loh. sigh....

mrs n,
yah yah, very hard to hide things from them liao. they know exactly where you keep your things especially food. that day, we brought yu ze to see doc. outside the clinic, there is the kiddie ride thing. he climb up and sit. hubby told him no $$, just sit only. he insist in taking hubby's wallet. then he took out the coin from the coin compartment and slot it into the machine himself. but cos hubby got $1 coin and not the $0.50 coin that is required for the ride, it didn't move. :p

yuuri,
yu ze don't like to eat porridge with meat one leh. i try cooking minced pork porridge for him hoh, he don't want to eat at all.

ruixuan,
good.

mOrning mummies

Mummies, can help? How to encourage our little one eat rice? My gal will spit out the rice regardless how soft the rice is.... she prefer porridge, she can finished a big bowl (Ikea rice bowl) porridge within 10-15 mins. But come to rice, she refuse to eat not even a spoon, keep spitting out leh...