(2008/08) Aug 2008

krex
they will see whether ur child want to eat their bf, if ur child not keen then they will give milk if only u request. forget abt the cereal, dun think they will serve. better bring the child earlyto school cos when children cry, children take time to settle too..

yesterday there is this new boy who did not cry in the CC. but today when mummy left the classroom. the boy start to cry and refused breakfast. later, met his mummy in the nearby food centre, mummy complain that if she never step in to settle her child, her boy will not stop crying plus teacher may not bother to feed cos there are other crying kid.

actually saw so far, got many toys to play in the CC. lesson are not followed as schedule just children playing playing only.

Ruixuan
wah..that bad ah? which CC is it? they like not bothered with the kids like that hor?
my MIL also used to work in a CC and always complain say the CC teachers all dun care about the kids...i think have to be very careful with selecting CC..
if u are not comfy with SL being there, i think its best u withdraw him..look for another place where it gives u more confidence

i see. i didn't know there were helpers around too. mine is pre-nursery and only for 3 hrs. i think i will have to do some major rescheduling if i put him in the morning session from 8-11am. he will have to drink milk at 6.45am and have his breakfast at 7am. hopefully by next yr, he will be able to co-operate and not make us late for work :p

ruixuan
sorry har...but was thinking, do u have a way to stop bb from running ard?
cos so far like all bb i saw will run ard de leh, but u said u dun like bb run ard...so if u have a way, do share ya?
thx. =)

Snow
hee... my son dun run much one la.

actually not all teachers are bad. some are good. son attached to a chinese teacher who can honestly tell me abt my son's progress... like he vomit etc.

CC that son is in but maybe i am fussy

i like the CC that son is in
New, very clean, has a dance studio for music n movement, very spacious and overall very inviting. toilet and kitchen clean. prinicipal is nice and can answer our questions. actually 3 person (teachers and cleaner) to 7 toddlers during makan time. got own playground.

Ruixuan
no lah...u not fussy..just that we all have different expectations...so if this CC doesnt meet ur expectations..then maybe u can find one that meets ur expectations...

ruixuan
ya, unless its by character that they dun like to run ard....i thought u have a way leh, then i can dun need to run ard with my 2 monsters every nite liao. big monster run, small monster cfm follow de lor. -_-"

eh....then that cc sounds ok mah, but how experience their teachers are is also very important ya? =)

Ruixuan,
Sounds like the place is great but the teachers? hmmm .. check their background ya? how long they had been in this line? how old they taught before, their qualification. Most impt is see how they manage the kids lor.

Kái's schedule
5-6 am - milk
8ish - bf at CC (he eats quite little i think)
11- lunch then bathe
12 - nap
4 ish - snack & milk i think
6 ish - on way home i give my kids bread, bao or biscuits.
7 pm - dinner
8ish - milk then sleep.

Kai drinks milk at home in the morning.
Goes to Cc, sometimes eat, sometimes dun. The first few days he dun cos not familiar and things he eats are new, drinks (milo) oso new to him. After few days, teacher says he eat quite well.

First day lunch, he ate alot cos he likes the porridge. Heard that the cook is good.

If you are afraid that SL is hungry then ask the teacher to feed more milk but in my CC, they dun allow anyhow feed. Once time over, then prob not but for toddlers, they will give if they are hungry and crying. U must give instruction else they give based on their normal timing.

Running ard during meal. The teacher will ask them to come back, distract them and then tell them to sit at their place. One or two running ard I think ok ba. Kai does that but if teacher talk to him then he will listen lor ...
So does the teacher tell the children to have good table manners and finish their food before playing the toys? or up to the kids?

I think give them 1-2 weeks to settle down.
The kids will get the idea soon enough.

ALL KIDS CRY WHEN MOMMY LEAVES. Kai will do that and then in few mins, he'll quieten down ... but teacher must try to manage him la.

So u can try to get to know the teacher and ask 1 specific one to take care of SL when u leave him. The kid have preferred teachers cos some can manage them some can't.

Dun so quick to withdraw cos both parties need time to get aquianted to each other and perhaps they had too many new children at one time? They did not stagger intake?

Hope that view helps.

I agree with celyn that the teachers will teach the kid to do the procedural stuff.

ie. eat, dun mess up, dun use fingers and use the spoon, put the bowl back to the pail, keep the toys, wash their hands ...
Kai even know how to "keep" his mattress barely few days in the CC ...

after 1st day in CC, he started to self-feed and din ask for paci anymore. until today

Kids are like - Monkey see monkey do .... so if the teacher teaches them well, they learn vv well.

Kai is a little monkey imitating the Gorgor literally EVERYTHING.

Snow,
My #1 runs around alot, he dun walk, he skips around, jumps around ... but Kai, he's more COOL ... he'll sit down to read a book, play a toy.

He'll do those monkey actions when GorGor is doing it .....

So maybe giving them a book, a toy might help?

Shint
what i initial worry is the curriculum too

but after reading this, should be okie..
http://www.family.sg/EDUCATION/2009/08/24/en-us/0000098/article.aspx

HEART OF THE MATTER
In the first few weeks of school, do not worry about what your child is learning from the curriculum. What is vital is that she is happy, confident and developing positive relationships with her teachers and making friends.

These areas must be your initial focus when you are settling your child into a new school, whether it is Nursery One, Kindergarten One or Primary One. If your child is relaxed and happy and looks forward to school each day, then the foundation is set for them to reach their full potential, academically, socially and emotionally.

so far, what i know that after lunch, they will just give milk...

i had enroll SL in weekend class b4 and tot that CC will do like them. but never meet my expectation.

i had measure the PROs and CONs between CC and 'nanny & weekday playground'

found that CC can save $$ and son can social interact better. but cons will be son need to wake up very early, we as couple will lose alot of sleep, tv and self time. scared children laze ard doing nothing...

if nanny and playgroup, pros will be nanny is flexible (last min look after even with my irregular working hours) and will even look after when son is sick, but cons is that son has been looking after by her and he had not been putting on weight. then for cons, definitely more costly with playgroup and nanny.

ruixuan,
when i sign yu ze up for cc, i basically didn't check anything. i don't know about the fees, curriculum, teacher-student ratio.

i select it cos its that the school compound is very big, used to be a primary school. there are lots of greenary, 4 playgrounds within the cc, they also have a place where they keep rabbits that are let free to run around and not in cage. i feel its good for child's growth and development. already we are staying in concrete building, seldom got chance to be with the nature unless we bring them on weekends. but do we really have time to do that on weekends loh.

as to curriculum, as long as its a bit 'famous' cc will do or had been around for quite some time liao then it shouldn't be a very bad loh. teacher-student ratio is fixed by mcys.

as long as he likes school and is happy there, i'm ok liao.

krex78,
don't bother to change his schedule first. maybe you should find out what they do in school first then adjust accordingly. if they do provide breakfast, it will be around 8am too. so maybe you can let j have milk at home then take breakfast in school. in this case, he also don't need to wake up early to just drink milk and eat breakfast at home. and once they goes into a routine, the will adjust themselves to fit in slowly.

shint,
kai so good leh. yu ze didn't have pacifier in cc but come back, he will still take pacifier. but its definitely easier to get him to give you his pacifier now. i'm going to slowly keep them away from him.

ruixuan,
this morning i mention that yu ze 'request' to go cc right. just now when i went to fetch him cos wants to bring him along to see gynae. teacher mention that he is very happy this morning despite him having cough and running nose.

last week, when cc got open house, some potential parents was shocked to see that he is so young and in cc. when principal and teacher told them he is new to cc, they couldn't believe and were surprised to see him adapting so well.

i went to pick him up on fri cos cc call say he suddenly develop full blown rash after lao sai. when i reach, his rash subside liao. i was carrying him to sit on my lap while waiting for hubby to come. then the bus auntie walk pass, going to fetch the other children. yu ze saw her and 'call' for her to carry. he actually say bye bye to me and want to leave with the bus auntie leh. the prinicpal try to carry him, he also don't want, he just hug the bus auntie tightly and wave bye bye to others.

i'm actually very glad that to see him adapting so well to cc within such a short period of time loh. the first 3 days when i start him, i was very scare that he can't adapt well or will take a long time.

Celyn
Yuze is such a darling boy... so loveable.

SL also adapted well in the CC except only when i need to leave.

when I not ard, teacher say that SL will take his bolester and ask the teacher to smell (that is what he did to us also).

SL also happy cos the musical room got a very big piece of mirror and he keep admiring himself.

SO far, SL can't tell what he need and i pretty worry for him

So nice to hear that both Yu Ze and SL are adapting well to CC.

I had such a nightmare after K's short stint in Infantcare that I'm not considering CC. But seeing everyone discuss about starting CC, I actually dreamed that I put K into CC....and it became a nightmare! hahaha

ruixuan,
yu ze can't 'talk' too. his way of communicating is action loh. so some common things that he needs i will tell teacher, so when he did teacher knows what he means. like holding on to empty milk bottle thing = wants to drink milk. where he wants to go, he will pull your finger and bring you loh. things he wants, he will keep pointing and eh eh eh loh.

sl can bring bolster to cc? yu ze brings nothing. if he is happy in cc then should be ok bah. do you notice that sl comes back with more things to 'say'? yu ze will 'talk' non-stop when he reach home like trying to tell us what happen in school kind but all in his baby language.

Celyn
will observe tomorrow.can bring soft toy, blanket and also bolester, security object..

Yurri
haha.. u funny gal

RX,
though i have a maid at home but we feel in school Kai can learn alot more things.
Social interaction, independence, new things, new people teaching him, more diverse activities .... his gain is much more thatn being at home.

Such tat, even when he was abit sick on Mon, daddy says wan to send him in cos he'll be bored at home and dun learn things ... i insisted that Kai stay home to rest and also not spread to other children la.

Keep it up and soon all your worries will be over.

thanks Yuuri ... he's adapting vv well. Today he din cling on to me when I appeared at CC to pick him. It was later then he started again .... for a short while. He looks happy being in CC.

celyn,

with J not being a big milk drinker, i think i still have to minimally stick the bottle in his mouth early morning. i dun mind him eating brekkie in sch but i'll have to compensate with lots of other calcium foods after school since his calcium intake is very low (he only drinks milk in the morning). now i dun even have the flexibility of giving him bread for brekkie - give him cereal/ cheerios that have high calcium content. hopefully by next yr he will be more kuai and drink his milk.

morning mummies

didn't send yu ze to cc today cos he got fever, lao sai, cough and running nose. hubby is also down. suddenly lao sai for the whole evening yesterday. there must be some stomach virus going on.

ruixuan,
i didn't give yu ze any cos don't know what is his security thing. maybe its his pacifier but i want to break it. therefore, didn't let him bring to cc. and he is doing fine without it in cc.

krex78,
they have a monthly menu stick on the notice board one but i forget to take a pic of it. if i got go to cc again, i take and let you know.

when i was there with yu ze, he had hard boiled egg for breakfast, kueh balu (maybe its due to cny) for tea and hor fun for lunch.

if you not planning to send j for full day cc, i think his meal won't be interrupted as much except for the breakfast. you can still let him drink milk at home before going to school. you can still plan all his meal from lunch onwards.

shint,
you make me look like a bad and irresponsible mummy leh. i also send yu ze to cc as long as he is not having fever though got cough and running nose. even his teacher say i can send if he is not having fever. :p

If interested, pl PM me.

Huggies Ultra - $14.50
Huggies Pull-up - $14.50
Huggies Dry/comfort - $15.00
Collection at Punggol.

YLN,
you wanna start Kaer huh?

Celyn,
bring both to see the doc. you also must be careful. I think its a virus that is getting into your whole family's system... :p get some probiotic to intro good bacteria in the tummy. give them soft food like porridge water (add a pinch of salt) and no oily food.

rona,
i where got energy to bring both to see doc. the big one is worst than yu ze. yesterday, lao sai whole evening still need me to get him to call him to see doc. he say no strength to drive car then i still have to ask him to call either fil or sil to bring him lah. only then he call them.

at least, yu ze i only need to struggle with him over feeding medicine. if not, he is still as active. if you don't see him cough or his mucus, can't tell he is sick at all. then also need to keep changing his diaper.

also don't know why he keep losing his temper with yu ze. yu ze can't talk only can cry right. he don't want to take medicine so i struggle with him but still slowly synringe feed. can't pump all at one time cos he cough mah. give at 1 shot will cause him to choke right. imagine he is crying and struggling while i feed. of course, can't get all in at 1 time. big one will insist and pump all at once then causing yu ze to choke and cough. when he choke and cough, naturally will like want to throw out right. then big one still don't carry him upright and want to force yu ze to swallow back. i'm so angry then got to shout at him loh. of course once i shout, yu ze cry more cos scare mah. i tell him so many times liao not to pump all at once. he just don't listen.

so upset with this whole thing. suppose to rest yet no rest. every night, yu ze still sleep with me on my bed. then i got to wake up to check his temp, sponge him a bit, pat his back if he cough. then he just sleep in another room, like i should take care since i'm not working but i should be resting.

rona
i have been giving kaer multivits for a week or so..want to build up her immune system before i send her to cc..cuz i saw celyn mention she got give yuze..so i wondering if the multivits work anot lor...whether can keep the kiddo ill-free...heehee

celyn
i give kaer in her morning milk..so even if she active, its in the morning..which is fine by me...so, im wondering if the vits r effective mah..happymummy gave to adel n very effective..so..im quite optimistic leh..
..eh..but kaer got running nose...but now ok liao..hmm..but i think i will keep feeding kaer the multivits cuz i think this can help to build long term stronger immunity bah...

yln,
i also give yu ze in the morning leh cos pd say can only give in morning loh. i left it with babysitter to feed and what i get is an active baby at 3am. :p

yln,
hahah.... at first, i don't believe its the multivits cos everyone also take mah. and continue to try for 1 week then we give up. he stop waking up after that loh. :p

fever is not so high liao. still cough and running nose loh. i realise he lao sai after drinking milk but how to not give him milk?

celyn
think it will take time to recover...so tomorrow still no cc for yu ze?
is he taking other foodstuff? like porridge or rice? or also will laosai?

YLN,
I think its effective. I have not started mine on multi vit yet, but my #1, who had been thru a period of weak immunity, took it and his immunity improved a lot. Now all three are on cod liver oil.

Ceyln,
sayang sayang, don't get too worked up. When kid is sick, mummy suffers. I wish Yu Ze speedy recovery! Also your big one, speedy recovery to him too, else how you handle both like that... explain to him that that's what the doc and nurse told you regarding how to feed Yu Ze medicine. :p

Lao sai cannot give milk - gotta stay away from lactose - as this will cause lao sai... you can try soy milk or really cannot, give pediasure since this one has very low or zero lactose. don't give fruits for the moment. sayang yu ze... my jer ganna once too, skin almost tear with the too much cleaning of the butt...

rata,

do u give jac sambucol or sambucus? still can't decide whether to get sambucol or sambucus.

celyn,

if the medicine is not bitter, will yu ze eat if u feed him using spoon? for J, he can take his running nose medicine with spoon but he knows the cough one doesn't taste gd, so we have to force it down his throat. i think one tsp is ok to force down. he doesn't choke...just resist quite a bit and when the medicine is in, he will stop crying shortly.

mommies,

with your kids walking/ running now, do u bring out a first aid box in your diaper bag? i'm thinking of setting up one but dunno what to put in it. is there such thing as kid's plaster or they can use the adult ones? i think zambuk will also be useful rite?

yln,
tomorrow if no fever, he will go cc. he still take other food but not much. i also scare he eat too much, he vomit.

rona,
yu ze will ask for milk one leh. how not to give. he will cry badly if no milk loh. i already dilute his milk and cut last feed from 300 - 180ml liao.

i don't have pediasure at home also no energy to bring yu ze to go buy. so today just have to continue his own milk bah. tomorrow if he still can't go cc, will call babysitter up to bring him over liao. then i can rest and buy pediasure for him.

told the big one so many times liao still don't listen. sigh.... cos i'm tired and want to nap. he also tired except for yu ze. he force yu ze to nap and make him cry so badly. i have to wake up, take over hug yu ze and rock him to sleep. now he is still sleeping. going to wake yu ze up soon if not, tonight can't sleep then i die.

rona
good to hear that the multivits n cod liver oil r effective..i have been giving cod liver oil to kaer for months already..but just started on the multivits only..i think this kind of supplement..must take long term then can see effect hor..
i myself also started taking multivits..but i dun see much effect leh..im hoping to look more energetic and lively lor..hahaha..n maybe a bit more mei mei lor..hahaha..vain sia

krex78,
spoon feed will only work the first time. after that, he knows its medicine liao no use liao. he is on 5 kinds of medicine leh. its a big struggle man. once done, he is ok liao.

no first aid kit for me. at most is wash the wound with water only. if its just scratches, i just leave it never do or apply anything.