(2008/08) Aug 2008

Hi gals, this is my first post in this thread. My boy was born on 23 Aug 2008.

I really need some advise, and hope you gals can give me answers

1. If you bring your toddler out, do you still pack his lunch/dinner from home?
2. If no, what outside food is suitable? can our 18mos boys eat stuffs from pastamania, swensen, etc?
3. I'm thinking of briging him for a short holiday, cant bear to leave him leh. So, do we need to lug a travel cooker or bring jar food? Or safe to eat outside food?

Reason is, my DH told me its time to swithc him to table food coz of the convenience. But, being a first time mum, i am a bit anal on his food intake leh, so i need to know what is the norm.

Thanks so much in advance mummies
)))

hi nana,

my boy dun really adapting well,he went in 1 week liao,still crying n dun drink or eat.
so my mum got to fetch him around 3pm.cannot let him stay whold day at cc.
when he at my mum's place,also dun drink milk.only we parents around,he will drink.

he is at My Little Skool at Clementi Central.

mulberries,
Haha I didn't know cannot take sambucus daily! Didn't really read the instructions...heng I don't let him take that often anyway :p I made my choice based on reviews

krex,
I suppose it's ok to take daily, but I feel as if I'm drugging him so I'd rather take as and when necessary

Sarina,
Technically our kids can take whatever we eat...it's just a matter of whether we as parents are comfortable with it. Personally, I do still pack lunch & dinner whenever we need to be out. When we were on holiday, I'd bring baby instant food from pigeon, wakodo, etc. Really no choice, then I'll give him steamboat or something that's not so tasty.
But that's just me

Good afternoon mummies...

Happy New Year to u
It's been quite sometimes din log in liao :p

Hi pol,

Just wanna to check is the Little Skool at CL Ctrl good or not??? They hv a few branches in CL right...Cos probably, not gng to renew maid contract at this yr ba...think to bring my son there to learn n play...

Havent logged in for quite a while! Gong Xi Fa Cai!!! Happy New Year to all the Chinese mummies and babies!

Btw, would you happen to know the date of the upcoming baby fair @ expo?

sarina,

1. i still pack my bb's meals when we go out, where possible.

2. usually, he will eat his packed food first, then have some of our adult food. if he's totally eating our food, i'll order things that are healthy and not deep fried, e.g. soup, grilled fish, sandwich, etc.

3. depends on where u go. if it's a place where u can't trust the hygiene standards or they don't have a kid's menu or can't prepare special meals for kids, then i'll bring heinz bottled food. usually, breakfast is not an issue as hotel buffet is very widespread and u can still control the amt of sugar/ salt in his diet, e.g. give cereal, milk, hard boiled egg, pancake. it's lunch and dinner that's a bit problematic.

i guess if it's for a short holiday, it's ok to let bb eat outside food. i will still continue to prepare home cooked food on a daily basis for my kid at least till he attends school. i find he tends to drink a lot of water when he eats adult food, which means it's full of seasoning.

Hi mummies just popping in to say hi. Hope everone's well and all the babies (or should I say toddlers now) who are sick are getting better.

Have been reading posts but not having enough time to reply 'cos whenever D sees me open my lap top he also wants to have a go at it and if I don't let him he throws a tantrum. So me have to limit my time only when he is asleep at night or in the mornings when my hubby is still around to entertain him.
Potty training is still very slow! But he is more confident sitting on the toilet seat now. Can leave him alone for a bit while I get the bath ready. Two days ago he did a small wee into the toilet bowl! But when I took him off 5 minutes later he did a big wee on the toilet floor!!! Should have been the other way round. Oh well!

krex sorry didn't reply to your question earlier regarding how long I leave D in the bathroom. It ranges from 10 mins to 30 mins depending on how much time I've got. I try to be flexible as I find keeping rigid schedules rather stressful.

How's J getting on with the lids? Did you manage to get the cup yet? If you get him used to drinking from an open cup you needn't have to bring so many equipment with you when you go on holiday.

Welcome to Pol and Sarina

Sarina I don't pack any food for my son when we go out since he turned a year old. Just bring some biscuits or organix snacks and a water bottle for emergenices. My son is used to eating whatever we eat as that is what we do at home. He doesn't like having different food from us. If he has something different he'll make a fuss and insist on trying our food.
And there is no harm in them eating the same type of food as the adults when we are out. It also makes life a whole lot easier and lighter as we don't have to lug extra 'weight' around. However we just have to keep in mind about the salt content and be a bit more discerning in our choices of food. If it can't be helped and the food is too salty than perhaps try not to have any salt or sauce in the next few meals that you give him to balance things out. Actually this practice of letting your child eat the same food as you is quite common among those who practise BLW (Baby Led Weaning) where babies share in family meals right from the beginning (6 mths).

hi Pinky,

i find it not bad la..u also staying around Clementi?

ya,they got few branches in Clementi,i at Blk 428,come n join me!..hee

My elder boy in there for 1 yr plus liao.

hi Mrs N & Sarina.

mrs n,

still no luck with the cups. i've tried almost all the cups at my place and MIL's, but can't fit any of those.

it's a bit diff to test in the cups sold in stores as they are also pre-wrapped.

the good thing is, J has been very interested to drink from our cup and tumblers, and he's progressing quite well. he's able to sip without water spilling out most of the time, except he can't hold the cup himself and control the flow :p

ah well, i guess i dun mind bringing the add'l straw cup. the diaper bag is a lot lighter these days without FM and bottles.

snow74,
thanks. i'm so tired in office today, keep yawning.

mummynana,
got apply ru yi oil for him. he will also ask for it if he is not feeling well (when he saw the bottle). actually, i ask school to apply for him too but they can't cos mcys rules say no.

sarina,
if i'm not wrong, i stop bringing food out after he is near 1 year or 1 year old. he eats what we eat now, be it at home or outside. to me, their body need to learn to take adult food. to bring or not depend on you loh.

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>
i got from the vitakids at forum. there's also outlets at paragon &amp; united square. not sure abt millenia walk.
think this Sambucol not high in sugar content bah since it's suitable for 1+yo toddlers. anyways Jas don't take any fruit juice or any sweet drinks or ice-cream (she just don't like them, dunno why). so for me i feel it's ok to give that tiny bit of sugar content. keke.

<font color="0000ff">Yuuri</font>
hee i also didn't know initially. coz i was confused with sambucus and sambucol, so did a lil' bit of online research.

<font color="0000ff">celyn</font>
hope yuze is better now. hmm..just curious, do u know why mcys rules say cannot apply ruyi oil?

welcome Pol &amp; Sarina!!

Rdgs to Sarina's qu: ( mine is similar to Mrs N)

1. If you bring your toddler out, do you still pack his lunch/dinner from home?
No. Just eat what we have. will fuss n not eat if different from ours. Sometimes make sure food is from same bowl then want to eat. Even drink too. So in the end, we are careful on what we eating.

2. If no, what outside food is suitable? can our 18mos boys eat stuffs from pastamania, swensen, etc?
Depends on what they like. PD said can eat everything we eat now. If they like, let them have esp now they choose what they eat. expose them to diff taste. Just note the salt content.

3. I'm thinking of briging him for a short holiday, cant bear to leave him leh. So, do we need to lug a travel cooker or bring jar food? Or safe to eat outside food?

I dun bring anymore. Only bring biscuit for 1st few days. If u r worried, just bring a few bb jar. For me, I bought 6 jars ...... end of everytime din even open them. hahaha!

Just my experience.

mulberry, yuuri &amp; sylvia,
thanks, i think he is ok liao. but i still give him small feed and dilute his milk. will still let him take another day of medicine before stopping.

mulberry,
don't know leh. i know teachers are not allowed to give any medicine on their own even though its the very common panadol.

krex good for J. He's getting there!
Yeah our bags should get lighter now. Next task on the list is to get rid of the diapers and changing mats!!!

Stress of being a parent - Quick Survey - help a grad student

Thank you to those who have completed my survey! I have until March 1 to get a few more responses so I can begin my research project. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Robyn Maley

morning mummies.

celyn
glad to noe that yu ze is ok le.

u ok anot?
relax leh, else little celyn next time character also like that leh.

snow74,
thanks, i'm ok liao. just super upset with him this morning. yu ze wake up around 545am to drink milk, so he wake up make milk for him then leave yu ze with me and went over to another room to sleep. since its still early, i try to sleep too so yu ze will continue to sleep mah. in the end, he keep fussing and cry but i just continue to pretend to sleep loh. he roll round in bed, climb over me, sleep on me, trying to pull me out of bed and i just refuse.

when i finally decide to give in and wake up, its 7am liao. i need to get myself ready, pack his school bag, get him ready and leave house by 710am to catch the school bus. its was a mad rush especially this morning when he refuse to let go of me. i had to carry him to do everything.

his school bag was not packed cos we run out of uniform. i bought 8 sets and its still not enough. i have to purposely hand wash last night and hang up to dry. then iron it further at 11pm last night. though iron liao, its still not totally dry mah so i leave it hanging to wind blow till this morning loh.

somehow i manage to rush and get 2 of us ready in 15 mins and quickly carry him and 'run' down to wait for school bus. i reach there just in time for it. then i took a cab to work, don't know what get over me. i just feel super upset and started crying. then i send off a super long sms to scold hubby for not waking me up and cos the mad rush. i ask if he forget that i'm pregnant and i need to rest too. he is tired so am i. and does he remembers that i'm going to be due in 2 months time. he can don't take care of me now but at least settle yu ze for me. if he can't handle yu ze now how are we going to handle 2 later.

celyn
understand ur feeling, its going to be more tiring if #2 is here.
but maybe at that point of time, ur hb is just too tired to remember anything bah... =(
cos its not easy if he dun have enough sleep everyday ya?

its normal for preg women to get super emotional suddenly lah, as long as dun stress urself can le lor...think ur hb must be feeling very bad now.
u gotta take gd care of urself when u need to rush ard w/o sufficient rest hor.

8 sets of uniform still not enough ah? 1 day only need 1 set rite? -_-"

Good morning Mummies

Gong Xi Fa Cai to all mummies &amp; toddlers here... How's everyone?

Celyn
Hugs! Dun get angry la, chill down.... man is the most insensitive creature in the world... try talk to him as now u're preggie &amp; needs lots of rest. At the meanwhile, get him to look after YZ.

snow74,
he call liao but i refuse to answer his call. he sms to say sorry liao.

yu ze wear 1 set and bring 2 set (1 to change after bathe and another as spare) daily. so in fact, he wear 2 sets daily. i already inform them that i want o buy another 8 sets liao. even towel, i bought 5 new ones for him suppose to last 1 week yet i don't have towel today. don't know why like that.

mel ocean,

Good Morning Mommies!
Hb flew off this morning...feeling abit sad though...but I know I will be ok in awhile...my gals will be there

Celyn,
Cool down ya? Your hb aldy considered very very good liao leh...so doting towards you and YZ. Cheer up, its Friday.

Cat,
Hope Ber recovers soon. Mae having some cough now too...wondering if she will be ok for class tmr.

Missyz,
Hehe, I surely won't consider my hb macho leh...
How you getting on?

Hisstory,
It was a short date on Wed for us...ydy reached home 9pm+, hb had settled the gals to bed...he made egg mayo sandwiches for us as breakfast today...

celyn
have a gd nice meal later, and let everything over bah?
like what mel said, man is more insensitive type.
dun let kids affect ur relationship, cos next time they big liao all will fly away de leh...end up its still ur spouse that will be with u lor. =)
relax, and rest....deep breath...xi...hu...

wow...then u gotta wash till siao leh.
agree with u, better prepare at least 1 whole wk of uniforms.
incase rainy days how rite? all not dry. -_-"

celyn
*hugs*..smile lah..weekend is round the corner..*hugs*
my hubby also bo hiu me one..well..im not pregnant..but man sometimes just dun feel like us..i think we tend to think more and ask why more often..n now ur hubby already smsing u to say sorry..think he realised he overlooked your concerns already..i think ur hubby already very good liao ..considering all the things he help u do for yuze...u see mine..i think will become white hair demon liao..go crazy lor..bo hiu everything..

celyn
*hug* i think its the hormones acting over.. just breathe in breathe out.. relax

M2B
thanks. bernice still having rashes all over. but lesser already.. sigh.. we havent been to school for a week already. she's tearing the house down already.. haha

hi celyn - take care gal... how abt buying a dryer? I have a dryer cos in rainy mths loads of clothes cant dry in time... it helps + w a little baby coming.. the last thing u want to worry is school uniforms not dry.

celyn,

hope u're feeling better now. regarding clothes, can try this:
1) wash all his clothes daily or every 2 days using light cycle and hang to dry so he always has enough to wear and use.
2) wash all this clothes 2x a week and use dryer.

my MIL actually washes J's stuff everyday, which i find too intensive, since he's not even schooling or anything yet. as for me, i wash his stuff only once a week and hang overnight to dry. only use dryer for our clothes coz' we wash on fri/ sat and iron on sun. clothes must be dry on sun to iron, else we use dryer lor.

pol,

m2b,
yah, not upset liao but hoh, i still refuse to answer his call. make him guilty. :p

snow74,
yah loh. that's why i requested for another 8 sets liao. good thing is that XS is too big for yu ze so can last longer. i can't imagine buying 16 sets of uniform and end up it can't last and i have to keep changing. 1 set is about $15 leh.

yln,
i know i shouldn't complaint about him but this morning i really can't take it loh. editing my sms for about 10 mins before i send it out. hehehe....

cat,
i think so too.

vanilla pod 2,
my house got no place for a dryer liao. my washing machine is the top open kind. then beside my washing machine is my chest freezer and my normal fridge, don't think can squeeze another dryer there loh.

krex78,
i'm not the one who does the washing. hubby is the one who throw it inside washing machine. yu ze don't have enough clothes to wash every 2 days lah. his daily clothes are 2 sets of uniform, i set of home clothes and a towel only. on mon, we just wash 1 full load of #2's clothes then on wed, yu ze throw up so end up washing bedsheet our ourself instead of sending it out. so no place to wash and hang up anymore clothes loh. usually hubby will wash every 2-3 days to clear our laundry basket. its now super overflowing liao.

celyn
ur hubby good hor..do laundry for u...mine dun even know how to operate the machine leh..cham...heehee..i can imagine u editing the sms many times to get a perfect one..so u forgave hb liao?

celyn,

you'll be surprised how my MIL diligently washes J's clothes each day, even if it's just 2 clothes, 1 bath towel and a few other face towels
my kitchen also small, so we bought front loader washing machine and beside it is the dryer. would have been even better if we cld stack, like what most ppl do. i've found it very useful coz' i'm usually very lazy to hang up on teko, so used it quite often b4 i had a maid. now hardly use unless raining and no sun to dry clothes.

celyn
u sounded ok liao, gd. =)
dun play the "game" too long wor, dun forget ur hb also very tired de hor... =P
cheers!

ha ha....cannot imagine if u only wash his uniform during weekend, 16 sets of same uniform hanging outside.
ya, must at least can wear 2 yrs...else u gotta buy another 16 sets next yr, cannot imagine. -_-"

snow74,
hahaha... yah, when we first wash his uniform the teko only got his uniform.

krex78,
you mil good leh. we not so hardworking.

yln,
yah, not angry liao lah. but tonight got to tabao dinner back cos this morning he didn't help me to put the ingredients in the pot to cook soup before he leave the house. by the time i wake up no time to cook soup loh.

i teach him how to use the machine. :p

celyn,

nah, she's just fussy. sometimes i pity my maid also coz' she has to do a lot of extra work because my MIL is religiously clean when dealing with J!

Krex78, i guess there are pro and cons to it bah. I'm now rushing to yu ze's school cos teacher call saying he got bad rash.

u can have this metal shelf and put dryer there..so it is like on the wall...haha i think my description is v bad.

I wash everyday for our clothes and bb's clothes...if too many clothes no space to hang then i use dryer.

vanilla,

ya i know what u mean. but i can't put my dryer up coz' it's blocked by a pillar. just a case of poor design

wah, how u tahan doing laundry everyday? it's like doing housework everyday...xian.

hi krex78 - bo pian..have to do or not not enough space to hang dry then use dryer=higher elec bills..

minimal i do like 2 loads a day..sometimes more.. i just pity my neighbours cos the machine sound just goes on if i do 3-4 loads...

i buy the dryer cum washer ..so just 1 machine..save space

washing clothes still ok..ironing is wah piang!

vanilla,

wah, how come you got so many clothes? i have abt 6 teko poles and it can take 1 week's worth of clothes. then for bb, i wash another day lor.

is the 2-in-1 machine/ dryer gd?

i've hardly touched the iron - hb used to do it and now my maid :p

Hi Mummies, i'm admitted in kk now for contractions. In delivery suite for monitoring, just like before when i had yu ze. Hopefully, baby can wait and don't come out so early. Sending yu ze to babysitter's place.

Celyn,
baby is supposed to due only in April? aiyoh! hope its a false alarm... nevertheless, let us know!

As for the uniform, hmmm, if i were you, heeheheee, i will just let yu ze wear home clothes! you just pack the home clothes as spare ones. i only have 4 sets of uniform for my gal who is in full day child care... heheheee... If not in time to take the school bus, you can just take the cab and send yu ze to school then you continue the journey to your office. take it easy, relax relax...

still let us know!

Morning Mummies, thanks for all your concern. I'm back in normal ward at 12+am. Didn't get to sleep till near 3am due to backache and neckache. Take panadol and finally slept but got woke up by the opening and closing of door by the nurses outside my ward. Cos of this last minute admission, we downgrade to b2 in case of any complications. Didn't get to see gynae cos we can't choose gynae for this class. Doc say it could be due to my vomiting, diaharea and fever that cause the contractions. It was 3 mins apart when i admit. I might be able to be discharge today if no more contractions.