(2008/08) Aug 2008

wow, everyone talking abt holidays. i'm still deciding on mine. is laos or cebu a better place to go? i'm prob gonna stay in some resort that is family friendly.

Today Kai was vv good. WEnt into CC, ran to his fav play area and played for few mins.
Then I asked him to go to his classroom. He walked with me and then when he reached the class, he clinged to me.

Teacher said I so clingy to him oso.
Put him down and then tried to distract him with books, toys. Then shortly I said bye bye and say mama going to work. He looked said, Bian Jui for a while and I saw the crying gonna start.

Then i waved bye bye and went out. Teacher carried him and within minutes he quietened down and just lean quietly on the teachers' shoulder. He should be fine.

Amazing how fast they change their mood. But it's a good thing though. He's faster than #1 in terms of adapting to the new environment. Perhaps cos #1 is also there.

I think no more worries liao.

krex,
I thikn Cebu nicer ... though I had not been to either one

Did consider going there before but not sure abt the kids friendly part.

Yuuri,
Ya, my hb in RSAF but he not macho lah hahaha

Hisstory,
Really hope the 2 weeks will just fly past...yalah, glad Raine is independent now...that day, she switch on the aircon (coz weather too warm) but she never forget to cover Mae with blanket leh...really sweet of her. Thinking of it also warm my heart.

I'm back .. with a new user name.. hahaha. btw this is catherine. hahaha. it's a long story..

Bernice is down with high fever over the weekend. Went up to 39.6. PD say it's viral infection. Throat is red but luckily no ulser. Now no more fever already but got rashes all over. He said it's normal ourbreak after such high fever
will get worse in next few days

re: taka bb fair
dates 10/3 - 28/3

shint
looks like kai kai is doing well in CC. usu they adapt better than their siblings. thats what my neighbour told me. Bernice is still clingy and crying in the montessori sch.. So i kena sit in with her. But probably next week I'm going to talk to the teacher if they cannot handle then I will stop the school cos defeats my purpose in going there if I have to sit in too.

I'm also thinking of going HK. but my hb still ding dong cant decide .. so sian. but i told him April i'm bringing bernice to Perth. He want he come dont want i go. hahaha. I saw Club Med having 2nd pax stay free promo. But only from May onwards. i'm thinking to book for that too.

shint,
are both boys in full day CC now? your maid will do housework at home?

m2b,
i think i saw ur hubby's pics in FB before. looks macho leh and yeah, L is uber sweet to M!

cat,
why did u change your nick? i was thinking which cat until i saw your princess's name. hope bernice is better now.

Cat,
good to hear u are ok. tot what happened to u cos yesterday another mommy told me your profile disappeared!

sorry, i was too busy to call leh ... planning to book holiday which is a week later and now NATAS is jus round the corner.

Still thinking if I shld wait till this weekend or just booked first lor. Everynite i oredi so tired after I settle the kids .... dun even have energy to plan the holiday.

For CC, just say bye bye, see you later and leave bernice there. She'll cry, wail but the teachers will manage. Most of the time it's the mothers who cannot let go and end up sitting in, going back and the kids knows. Next time she kicks up a bigger fuss. Your intelligent Bernice surely knows it ... unless u more "hard-hearted" (like the rest of us!) and just go! I thikn we all do that thát's why the kids are ok cos they know their patterns dun work with the teachers ... hahaha.

Try that and let her cry for a few days ...
U shld change the school if it;'s the teachers who says they cannot manage and need you to be there.

missysz,
Ya, now she vv relax and sing lang liaoz.
but i am monitoring her work cos she shld have loads of time to clean up the house.
also, she cooks and takes over the kids in the evening ... feeding them, bathing them. I only do the reading before sleeping and play.

at nite she still sleep with the kids la.
I dun tihnk i can cope without maid cos they are vv sticky to me .... #1 had always been and now Kai is starting to be vv sticky. Furthermore I have to fetch them to school and back. Tired oso u know

and .... i still need her cos i still wan to go for my movie dates with hubby and play MJ on Fri nites. Plus the meals, handling them at nite, extra helping hands all the time.

Without maid, I thikn my personal life balance will suffer and I;d freak. hahaa.

shint,

i have the general feel that cebu is better for kids also. my only worry for laos is the lack of medical facilities and it being very third world, we can't even drink the tap water there.

cat,

club med having promo for cherating beach. free airfare i think. must travel by 31 march.

yuuri,

the adventurous streak is surfacing in me, haha. no lah, it's just that we went phuket and bali last yr, and i don't really like m'sia, so thinking of some place further. laos came into the pic when i was searching for banyan tree/ angsana resort, and found a nice one at laos. i read abt shangrila mactan resort in cebu in a parenting mag and decided it sounded like quite a nice place to go.

what abt u? any travel plans?

Shint
ya i disconnected my fb acct for the time being. (long story).. got quite a few sms from frens asking what happened.. haha

ya i think next week i will just kiss and say goodbye after dropping bernice off at school.. haha.else i think defeats my purpose of sending her there. The teachers have reassured me that they can do it. so far i only left bernice there once for 1.5 hours leaving half way. Then the next time i went there, wanting to do the same, they had only 2 teachers instead of 3. And maybe bernice remembered I left her the last time and refused to let me out of her sight. haha. i told the teachers before that I wanted to just leave her and go since the beginning lei. maybe the teachers too soft...haha.. will talk to them next week since this week bernice cant go school cos sick. I think also abit more diff to settle in cos she goes in only 2 times a week.

re: Club Med
I think it's the Phuket one. not sure if otheres have sale also

krex,
cherating ah.. fly via firefly.. my hb say propellor plane not safe..haha

re: travelling
there is pre-NATAS sale, NATAS sale, Post NATAS sale.. hahaha.. dono which is better.

missysz
cannot change nick, i registered a new acct with the forum

spend the whole day out, only got time to log in.

shint,
no leh, yu ze don't behave differently at all. this morning, he cried again when i send him off school bus. then i got a friend to see him after she drop her girl, she told me he is weeping in class, not the loud cry. teacher is with him playing toys.

its true that its more worth it to send yourself since you are going the same way. for me, its the opp direction and i need to tie him over my confinement period then can think further.

having his brother with him, kai will feel more secure and easier for him to adapt.

catherine,
hope bernice recover soon. if you really want bernice to adapt to school life, you need to let go. let her cry it out in school and let the teachers handle. she will never adapt if you can't let go and she can sense it.

Krex,
I guess when most pple are planning for trips with kids, usually choose the typical 'clean' places so I thought your choices were very interesting!
Me? I'm going with the safe choice-- will be going taiwan in March. Haven't booked yet though :p

Cat,
Ah..no wonder I haven't seen your hipstamatic uploads for some time now. Hope bernice gets well soon.

Shint,
When I saw the pic of your family at the cc, I also thought Kai was your #1!!

Yuuri,
Really ah. He's big and has a mature look lor.
My colleague commented that his face is bigger than her son who is like going 3 yo and smaller in size than Kai (hers is the small built kind).

Kai's becoming so independent, despite only 4th day at the CC.

Teacher today commented that he's adapting really well. He even drag his own trolley bag for shower time. Teacher says he can remember things after being told once or twice and even drags out his own mattress for sleeping time (something like tat).

I am really happy to see him doing things by himself cos my #1 now still vv sticky to me ..... even wan me to feed him when he knows how to do everthing himself. He will demand all my attention and Kai dun get much. Poor Kai has to learn to be more independent somewhat.

I feel he's more "pitiful" and hence this time I spent more time with him at CC until the teacher says I cannot let go and dun be too clingy to Kai to check on him so often *faint.
Another teacher who taught my #1 since he enrolled told me that Kai is really more independent than #1.

Every nite, i still read to my #1 at least 3 books and put him to sleep (rather, lie down with him till he sleeps). As for Kai, the maid will settle him and he goes to sleep quite fast - if my #1 dun disturb him.

Must make a point to spend more time with him, esp the reading part cos I spent more time playing with him (easier).

morning mummies

my friend help me to check on yu ze this morning, she say he didn't cry. hehehe.... but this morning, he throw out his milk. i thought of leaving him at home but scare i break the routine of going to school too fast. so i still send him off, had call up school to inform them to monitor him liao.

shint,
good to know that kai is adapting well in school.

my son also born of Aug 08,jus pop in to say hi to all of them.

anyone of u put your toddler in childcare?
i place my toddler in childcare.

yuuri,

i wanted to go taiwan but hb not keen on all things chinese. he's more pro resort-type holidays since we're travelling with the kid and the only non-resort travel he'll ever agree to is self drive in oz or nz. but since i'm planning my travel in june, oz or nz is out. i'm surprised he didn't object to laos even though i told him tap water can't be drunk there :p i think he's ok with cebu also and i just commented the other day that staying in shangri la mactan cebu resort will be so apt to celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary since we got married in shangri la rasa sentosa 5 yrs ago

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Enjoy your day with your hubby k??

<font color="#CD3278">Cat</font>
All the things about ur FB, SMH acc &amp; even Bernice sure don't sound positive.. Do hope things are going to look up for you

Look fwd to your trip! I think Bernice wld enjoy herself..

Morning Mommies.

Celyn/ Shint,
Happy to hear that the boys are doing great addapting to life in CC.

We were waiting for my gran at her void deck, and Anvelle kept pointing to the LV there and saying skool. When I asked her if she wans to go to skool, she said yes. Hope it will be fine when it comes to my turn. I will be sending Anvelle in Orange Tree near my office in April after we come back from Phuket since the earliest she can start is 25 Mar.

Pol, Welcome!

krex,
my cousin and aunt just came back from laos early Feb, just before CNY.

She commented that she is very surprised that the country is so clean. and when i asked her on bringing my kids there, she told me that it should not be a problem to bring kids there and that the capital, though you have to take bottled water and not tap water. But then again, there's lots of places you don't take their tap water too right? Anyway, she especially recommended Luang Prabang, the ancient former royal capital city, a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1995 to protect the town's 32 precious historic temples, the former Royal Palace and classic French colonial buildings from being ruined by modernity and over-building.

I'm thinking of going there too!

This morning I put him in and when I tried to unpack his milk bottles, he started crying. So I stayed a little while for him to quieten down to eat his breakfast ... and he stopped and clinged on to me. So I had to bid him goodbye, kiss him and said "See you later!" and off I went.

I believe he will ok in few mins' cos I witnessed that yesterday when I left him. He was crying and within minutes, he stopped crying and soon went on with the activities.

Holiday
I've booked my trip to HK liaoz but only brining #1. For Kai, hubby says to bring him to Genting over one of the weekends.

Anyone been to Genting lately? I haven't been there since long long time ago. I dun have good impression of going to Genting .... and esp the journey there. Will he survive the coach ride? ... maybe someone can correct my impression?

Other alternative will be to go to some nearby resort cos he hasn't travelled far yet.

Pol,
welcome.

Yes, I just started my son on CC last week, after CNY. So far, he's adapting really well.

cath,
is Bernice better oredi? take care.
Dun worry, she will definitely adapt well to the playgroup .... esp she is bright and mature. It's whether the mommy can let go
))))) --- applies to myself. hahhaa. Teacher oso teased me on that this morning again cos I was trying to BIO the class after I walked off.

hi pol
welcome

shint,
when you going HK ? I havent cnfm yet. as usual u know my hb very last min one la.. u staying in disney ?

ber rashes came out more today.. now all over body and face
but luckily the PD say it's not itchy but just not pretty loh.. hahaha. but see already very heartpain. she's very clingy and manja loh.. sigh..

hisstory
ya loh.. this year like very suay.. sigh.. must go bai bai already.. tiger year.. fan tai sui

shint,

why not consider some nearby resort instead? i find it more manageable than car/ bus ride to genting.

rona,

u make me want to consider laos again! where did your cousin stay? i read very good reviews for La Residence. the original hotel which i wanted to stay in, which is owned by angsana, didn't have as gd reviews as La Residence. and they can provide private tours and bb meals, so everything was looking very good...until i chanced upon shangri la mactan resort in cebu. i'm also looking at going to luang prabang after all the good reviews about it, but i think some of the activities, like waking up at 5am to give alms to the monks, might be a bit tricky if we have to drag J along :p

hi Shint,

wow..great to hear thatur b adapting well.
I just started 6 days ago.my toddler seem crying,dun wan to drink,eat n nap only 15 mins.

Hi cath.

Long time no come in here, hope everyone is doing well. And Happy Chinese New Year!!

Cat,
hopes bernice is getting better now and recover soon

Krex,
maybe you go to cebu first than laos next time? my cousin and aunt stay at the very cheap hotels cos its just both of them, no kids mah. if i were to go with kids, i will also make sure we stay at better hotels.
yeah, maybe not the waking up at 5am to give alms to the monks... some sight seeing, will be good. good hotel so that kids can also just laze around and enjoy the facilities.

rona,

do u by any chance have contacts for gd travel agents? i've always gone with fascinating hols but find their service sucks - they take so long to reply to my emails! misa travel only has rates till end march. if u got any gd travel agent, can recommend?

mummynana,
thanks. yu ze throw out his last feed of milk again. i'm home alone with him and after changing, quickly brought him to see doc. doc say he got wind in the stomach. not to give him full feed but small feed. his stomach does look bloated. tomorrow, must call the school to inform the teacher and get them to feed him medicine. hope he will be ok by tomorrow.

Celyn,
Can try massaging yu ze's stomache to get the wind out. Use your finger tips to 'walk' around his stomache.

i've just received my sambucol from the spree and realised it's for kids above 2 yrs. is it safe to let J have it since he's below 2?

celyn,
ya you can try massage yu zhe's stomache, that is what I did for my girls since infant and it really help. Using paddlewheel,long, I love you stroke, bubble tapping etc

Krex,
Which brand did you buy? The one all the mummies buy is Nature's Way Sambucus for Kids and its for kids 1 year up.

yuuri/ mul,

u're right, i bought the wrong one
didn't know there were 2 versions. how much did you buy yours for? u give your kid everyday? is it good?

Morning, mummies.

Celyn,
Put some ru yi you on his tummy. Will make him feel better.

Cat,
Gd to noe that the rashes are not causing itch. At least she will not scratch n result in scars. Keep her cool so that the rashes go away soon. Sayang =)

Krex,
Misa is known for good ticket pricing but follow up is not really gd. Personally, whenever possible, I prefer to buy air tics n make reservations on my own. I can make amendments easily if required. Go thru agent got a lot of red tape n very slow... Or maybe becoz I m not really a patient kinda person.

Pol,
Which CC does ur little one go to? Adapting well?

nana,

from past hols, it seems that when i bk direct with hotel and buy own air tix, it's still more ex. somehow the agents manage to package it such that hotel + airfare is cheaper as a package. think they have preferred rates or something.

yuuri,

that's a gd idea! i don't really feel comfortable giving him everyday. maybe on weekends only since he goes out with us, haha.

i'm quite confused - so there's sambucol and sambucus. 2 diff brands? all along i tot it was just sambucol and they have one kids version which everyone buys. didn't even know the kids version got 1 for above 2 yr and 1 for above 1 yr.

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>
i got my Sambucol from Vitakids. cost $25. but can get cheaper from spree but need to wait very long time coz always oos.
It's actually recommended to give daily to see the effect. i give daily to Jas. so far so good.

btw, the Nature's Way Sambucus that yuuri posted, it contains Echinacea and Propolis which cannot be taken continously, you will need to have a 2 weeks break after taking for 4 or 6 weeks (sorry i forgot) straight. But it is stated on instruction on the box. hee i'm very forgetful, so that's why i didn't buy it. no time to track Jas take how many weeks and then must rmbr to break 2wks. :p

mul,

ok tks. $25 is still quite reasonable. vitakids is the one at millenia walk is it? i only plan to give J when he's abt to fall sick or when he's prone to falling sick. feels weird to be letting him drink this everyday coz' it contains quite a lot of sugar.