(2008/08) Aug 2008

celyn
i din really read all the post but today is the first day u sent YuZe?

I sent Kai in today. I stayed with him through the day except the part when he took his nap. Tomorrow I will spend half a day and then leave him there after the nap. Then come back end of the day to pick him.

He cried when reality sank in. I oso had to hide here hide there cos the teacher asked me to go and let them handle. He started crying more cos he cannot find my maid. Anyway, they will cry a few more days then once they get used to it ok liaoz.

When we came back after his nap, he was actually vv ok with the teacher, etc. But when he saw me, he came over to hug my legs and want me to carry him .... anyway, i accompanied him throughout.

the part when the teacher told us to go away and he was crying, i was vv tempted to appear but I know it will not work well for him and the teachers. It was until he calmed down that the teacher came and asked us to go over to help and I tot she finished showering him but they barely started! *faint.

Another time was also when he din wan to sleep and kept crying. They couldn't manage, finally came and asked my maid to make him sleep.

Let's pray both of them will adapt better tomorrow. Take care.
Hope tomorrow he will be better cos my maid not going to the CC liaoz.

Yesterday, when Kai was crying I was also very heart pain but I tell myself that it's just part and parcel of it - then ok liaoz. Must be more hard hearted ... then they adjust better cos their crying has no effect for your reaction.

Dun worry too much Celyn.
They definitely will cry, cling on to you, wail, etc etc ... all patterns to show how much u are needed. In no time, say 1 week or so, they will settle in and then they will be nice to say bye bye and kiss. Soon, they will be so busy the moment they step into CC that they forget to give goodbye kiss. Till then, you will be really crying loh.

Talking about reaction. I think the kids love to get reactions from us and hence, all patterns.
I was sooooo surprised that my #1 is so WELL BEHAVED in school. Cos i din go there often due to the fact that he takes school van ... now I am there i see a different him.
Anyway, i notice that whenever I am around, they are like monkeys, noisy, etc but maid says they are much better behaved when I am not around.
Well, kids, that's them isn't?

Anyway, enjoy and think of the good part of CC - they have friends, more activities, learn social skills, etc etc ..... then easier to handle the emo part.

good morning mummies. many kiddo going to cc. No plan to start Jac on that shall wait till next yr then start her on nursery ba.

Rona,
Both hb n I wk near the CC tat I hv shortlisted. Orange Tree Pre-school at Techlink n Hungry Caterpillar at Shun Li Ind Pk. Any1 has any feedback on these 2? OT is jus across the street fr my office. So if I need to stay back n hb is nt available, can pick her n cum back to carry on my wk. If I m on leave, hb can send. Back up is my gran at Punggol.

Morning Mummies, i'm now outside waiting for bus to go eat breakfast. Left my crying baby with the teacher. I told him, i go out later i come back, kiss and walk out. Later will go back to peep at him after breakfast.

morning mummies. =)

celyn, shint, and ruixuan
the teachers are trained to handle such situation lor, dun worry since its the school u gals choosen after some "school search" rite?
the earliest we parent can let go, the earlier our kids can get out of the crying stage and start learning ya? =)
jia you!
(june is my turn to cry liao...hee hee...) -_-"

rata
zynn will goto "xiao dou dou" class, to let her get used to going to class.
so when she really need to attend nursery, she wun use too much time to settle down before she can start learning lor. =P

snow74, u refering to those 2hrs/day de har? dat one mayb 2nd half of the yr coz sch like apple tree onli take in at 2yrs old

Snow74, i'm waiting for bus to make my way back liao but will go peep and not appear. Then go to office there to work. Hoping that i don't see a crying baby when i peep later.

celyn,
Keep it up! We will be cheering u n Yu Ze on!!

Need advice
Need you experienced mummies to advise me on how to choose a CC for Anvelle. TIA =)

rata
ya, zynn will go into apple tree 2nd half of this yr. =)
its a 2hrs class, aim to prepare toddler ready to goto pre-school.
they will "teach" simple speech, music, art, and numbers.
i dunno how much they can absorp, but that is what the teacher told me. =P
hee hee....

celyn
ya,peep peep is what most mum will do during the 1st few days.
but dun worry, he will be laughing and playing inside in no time before u noe lor. =)

Mummynana
talk to the teachers there, make sure they are those that u feel comfy to leave anvelle with?
ask about what they teach or food they gave in their class, must meet ur expectation a little?
look at their environment, especially their shower area and toilets hygiene?
bring anvelle there, see if she feel comfy about that place?

after reading all the sch posts, wondering whether to let J try play group in 2nd half of the year or deal with the pain next jan :p

snow74, rata, mummynana,
hhahaha.... saw his class in the playground playing, so i quickly walk another way to hide in the office. peep at him from the office, he is not crying liao but playing happily. phew!!!

after they went back to class, i manage to catch his teacher outside. she says he is doing very good, didn't cry so much unless there is another one crying inside then he will tear a bit but not the loud loud cry. she make him sit facing the window so that he can catch me. hahaha.... :p

i think i can drop and go off tomorrow liao. i'm leaving him here for the whole day and later fetch him and take school bus back. tomorrow, i will send him in school bus again and evening let him go back on his own.

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 25 responses!! I am hoping to get 5 more so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary and confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

celyn
yu ze so good boy, so fast can be independent le. =)
good for ur also, u can go back to ur normal routine very soon liao.

snow, ya appletree need to wait till 2yrs old but now can register liao meh? last yr end i apply they say cannot yet.

rata
i just filled in the application form and "queue up" 2 wks ago nia, but they allow lor. =P
they told me if nothing went wrong, zynn should be able to join them during their 2nd half yr june intake.

anyone sending kid to catholic kindergarten? they dun seem to accept pre-registrations except during their registration period in march.

rata
alamak! 1yr in adv ya? ha ha...
ya, try again lah.
now left only 1/2 yr, think they will keep ur application form in their q bah. =)

snow,

yah now everyday i try to see if there are any reg banners outside the kindi. i scared miss the boat and J can't get in. heard it's a very popular kindi.

krex
ya..i think the catholic kindis only open regisration in march..cuz they want to let their existing students register first..then the left overs...public can register lor..:p

krex
sounded similar to st. james.... -_-"
ya, then u better see see look look everyday.
or can just step in and ask their admin staff when will they open for reg? =P

celyn,
Great to hear that. Yes, they are happy in the CC.

Today, Kai again ran into the CC and trying to bypass the temperature check. I had to grab him back. He hates that part though. Still difficult to get him to open his mouth.

Then he went in so happy to see all the toys. He went straight to the same toy area to play the toys.

Things were ok .... then me and hubby went for breakfast. We came back and found maid near the entrance cos Kai wanted to sit on maid and asked her to bring him outside the class. So the teacher asked my maid to go outside the classroom.

Then he was ok when I went back to peep. Afterwhich, me and hubby went for a movie and I went shopping. Now back to office before I go to pick the kids up.

Called maid (who went home after Kai slept). In fact, the teacher managed Kai all the way and maid did not reappear in front of him. She said only once Kai saw her and started crying but the teacher managed to pacify him quickly. Even for nap time, he was quite good and slept soon after his milk.

Last nite my maid oso din give him his paci. Hope this continues and he'll be paci free soon ;)

So far, it's good for a 2nd day. *Sigh, I forgot to bring my memory card after I downloaded the pics so can't take more pics for today.

Let's hope tomorrow he'll be truly settled into the CC and paci free!

Saying bye bye to the kid in CC

Actually I dun think i wan to say goodbye cos then they dun realise and dun have separation anxiety .... tell them we go off then they will have to react to us rite? else we might be upset if they dun react isn't? haha.
So far, when I go out at nite, sometimes i oso dun say bye bye to Kai. Only to #1 and tell him we are going out and he is ok cos he is old enough to understand.

Not sure if there is any -ve thing if I choose not to say bye bye? So far the 2 days I never did and Kai is ok.

Wanna do a poll and responses for the below question.

Poll
Mommies, What do u think? Should we say bye bye to the kid in CC?

Shint - Just leave when they are happily playing. Saying bye bye will get them more emotional and hence cry and have separation anxiety.

Poll

Shint - Just leave when they are happily playing. Saying bye bye will get them more emotional and hence cry and have separation anxiety.

snow74 - cannot say bye bye, my gals will cry like shrimp. -_-"

shint
actually u are rite..i dun like to say bye bye to kaer too..whether its @ CC or it i go out or whatever..i usually will tell her to wait for mummy..mummy go work, or mummy go market ..or mummy go somewhere..n i say , 'Kaer , wait for mummy ok?'..then she will nodd her head..then she will know..sometimes..after i ask her to wait..then i will say bye bye..but she knows i will come back shortly..so i think in a way, it lessens the anxiety...im not sure if it will work for me when i put kaer @ CC..cross my fingers..hope it will..

Poll

krex78 - i plan to say "bye bye" if i put J in pre-nursery. i say "bye bye" to him everyday when i leave him at IL's place but even then he doesn't always react. quite unfazed by us leaving. can't say the same if we put him in pre-nursery in a strange environment though.

Shint,
Sounds like Kai is doing really well!

Poll

krex78 - i plan to say "bye bye" if i put J in pre-nursery. i say "bye bye" to him everyday when i leave him at IL's place but even then he doesn't always react. quite unfazed by us leaving. can't say the same if we put him in pre-nursery in a strange environment though.

yuuri - I cannot say 'bye bye'. Whenever I leave K with pil or with my parents, they have to distract him with somethiing while I slip away. If he sees me going off, he will cry hysterically. That day, I got down from the car to open the gate and just for fun, I said 'bye bye' and hb ended up with a hysterical wailing kid in the car

yuuri,

wow, K is so attached to u? J only wails when i get off the car and never come back, e.g. hb fetch me to MRT station to take train sometimes. last time he would cry when hb got off car to pump petrol but these days, he's pretty cool abt it.

Krex,
Yah lor...he sees his grandparents very regularly but he still cries everytime he sees them (cos it means I'm gonna disappear).
If I get down from the car (to open the door, or to pick up something)...as long as I don't say anything, he's fine. But when he hears bye bye, then xiao liao!

Poll

yuuri - I cannot say 'bye bye'. Whenever I leave K with pil or with my parents, they have to distract him with somethiing while I slip away. If he sees me going off, he will cry hysterically. That day, I got down from the car to open the gate and just for fun, I said 'bye bye' and hb ended up with a hysterical wailing kid in the car

celynlee - i always say bye bye to yu ze when he was still at babysitter's place. he is ok with it. he will wave bye bye and even kiss me before i go off and give flying kiss to hubby. i think i will still want to say bye bye to him when i send him off to cc bah. i want him to still kiss me goodbye and say bye bye loh.

yuuri,
wow, he sticks to you a lot hoh. thought see so often should be ok one.

shint,
hahaha..... kai is so cute. yu ze will stand there and wait but doesn't open his mouth to check. only check hand and temp cos he don't understand what is open his mouth. hahahaha.... so no point asking him to do it.

snow74,
i'm also glad that he is ok. i guess if he don't see us, it will be easier for the teacher and him to get the idea. at around 4+, i went back to fetch him and wait for school bus. he was playing inside then suddenly started crying when he saw me. hahaha.....

i didn't let him bring his pacifier to cc so i inform the teacher that he might have a hard time. but i guess he is also tired, he only cried for milk (before the teacher can give him) and after drinking he fall asleep liao without fussing for pacifier. though cc usually give only 1 feed of milk, i told the teacher that he might need 2 feeds. just ask him if he wants when he wake up from nap. if he don't want then its fine.

the big challenge will come tomorrow when he is going to come back on his own by school bus and also mon where he is going to cc on his own. i think mon, i send him off with school bus and take cab to wait for him in school before going back to work. hahaha..... :p

yuuri,

J is the direct opposite. there was one period of time when he was so attached to his grandma, he would cry out for "mama" in the car (literally with tears). and i was so sad "mama" was not me, but his grandma

hello mommies, hows everybody? havent got time to check the forum for the longest time ;p

shint,
when i saw kai's pics in FB this morning, i tot it was your #1. he looks so big boy lor! haa..somemore can feed himself already? didnt manage to see any crying pics (or maybe i missed out coz was using iphone to see the pics) but i had the assumptions that he was having a ball of time in school.

celylee,
aiyo..yuzhe is such a brave and independent boy also cry ah..then i think mine sure cry the roof down. haiz

halo mommies!
so many kids starting playgroup and cc liao...big boys and gals already!

cc - I still rbr the 1st day I sent #1 to cc and how I cried infront of the teacher ;P So paiseh...heehee...think it's me who cannot adjust coz by the 3rd day, #1 was adjusting so well in cc when my dad brgt her...heehee...guess must learn to let go...

for Mae, my parents are against me sending her to full day cc so now I'm contemplating half-day cc or 2hrs playgrp till next year start nursery...just nice #1 goes P1 so my parents will be free in the day.

Saying bye bye - Mae seem to be able to distinguish when I'm gg out and when I'm gg work...work, she will wave bye bye to me...gg out, she will wail...funny...

hiaz, hb gg away for more than 2 weeks next Fri...abit sad...he gg away b4 the CNY is over

<font color="#CD3278">celyn</font>
I dunno what I wld do, if I were in your shoes.. But I think you're trying your best, so maybe see how his mood is like?

I do like the idea of leaving him when he's engrossed with sthg, at least he's too immersed to notice your departure?

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Where's ur Hb going to?
Is Mae going to CC/playgrp where jiejie went?

Hi mummies!!
all went back to work?

Snow,

I'm thinking to send BBM when age 2 to 2hr playgroup recently.

I have same prob with Yuuri. Even when I go n buy dinner, walk away fm table, she will wail liao. HB also hv same prob.

That's why need her to attend playgroup, so that she can be adjusted to environment without me. &amp; maybe...... I can stop latching too. :p

celyn

u remind me of my mum.................

she did that when my 1st few days in kindergarten.

then u hv to take gd care!!

yuuri
same same leh!!

Only a few rare times when I sneak out from car to run errand n she playing car, then she din cry, though she knew that i left.

maybe the reason being I din say bye bye?

so the best way for her to stop playing in car, is me getting out n wave byebye. or walk in front for her to see me leaving.............

nana

read b4 that OT is quite good. since it's easy for u or hb near work, then will be a good consideration.

or u considering babysitter?

Morning Mummies, i have drop my crying yu ze off in cc liao. Going back to office to finish off a submission then come back to see him before i go for my off and back home to wait for him. He was happily walking to wait for school bus and happily up the bus this morning. Only start to glue on me when we reach his class, i think he knows. Started crying when i pass him to the auntie.

Poll

celynlee - i always say bye bye to yu ze when he was still at babysitter's place. he is ok with it. he will wave bye bye and even kiss me before i go off and give flying kiss to hubby. i think i will still want to say bye bye to him when i send him off to cc bah. i want him to still kiss me goodbye and say bye bye loh.

MummyNana - I think I will still want to kiss her gdbye. She is fine when I leave her at my gran's place when I go to wk. I will tell her tat Mummy is gg to wk and will be back to fetch you later. But dunno if she will be ok when it's CC and not gran.

Sylvia,
OT gd ah? Den I better go "chop" space liao. The last time I called they only hv 1 vacancy left for 2010. N my colleague is thinking of bringing her M'sian daughter to S'pore n leave at OT too. Maybe I will drop by later to hv a look. But muz bk appt one rite?

Hi ladies, my boy is attending 2hr playgroup too. Today he skipped class cos of fever :-( dunno is it catch fr classmates. So far i've tried to say gdbye and leave, he'll cry for a while, can see he doesn't like it when I leave. I've also sneaked off, and he'll qtn pple where wif his shocked expression and hand gesture. But upset only a while, they told me. Either way he's happy to see me when I pick him up *phew* it wld feel like sneaking off is easier for me, but I still think saying bye properly more appropriate.

Poll

MummyNana - I think I will still want to kiss her gdbye. She is fine when I leave her at my gran's place when I go to wk. I will tell her tat Mummy is gg to wk and will be back to fetch you later. But dunno if she will be ok when it's CC and not gran.

Tree/Rona - say bye bye. Have to tell the kiddo that we are going to leave him for a while and come back to get him. He will have to get used to the idea. Though out-of-sight, out-of-mind, but when they realized you just leave them, they will cry too and will may get the idea that we are abandoning them. At least Jer is like that. He will cry when he realized that I'm gone and when I come back, he will not want to run to me. But when I kiss him goodbye and then leave, he will be happy to see me back and will run and hug me.

Yuuri,
It should be like that. Cos you are with him ALL THE TIME mah. its like 相依为命, so he will cling more to you. You may have more difficulties later when you put him in the childcare/playgroup leh... :p But having said that, it still depends on the child lah.