(2008/08) Aug 2008

Yln,
Kes kenna hfmd and was hospitalised for it. It's not your fault lah...just make sure Kaer gets enough fluids. She will be fussy and you will be tired. So do take care.

celyn,
You work for kinderland??

thanks for all the concern...kaer's blisters r getting bad...i just spotted an ulcer in her mouth..
...her tiny fingers are all filled with blisters...so its really quite heart breaking to see that..but one consolation is, despite her blisters...she doesnt seem to be bothered by them..n still manages to get onto my nerves!~..haahaa..ya..she still is as mishievous...n goes around the house shouting and screaming..n knocking n kicking stuff..i just hope her ulcers n blisters dun get worst..
rite now..she is still eating..but im afraid once the ulcers set in..she wont eat..
..n she hates ice cream...one strange child...she dont really like cold cold stuff...maybe she will get brain freeze bah...dunno..so, i gave her a cold strawberry just now to play..

snow,
Thanks for your concern. You take care too!
The new year is upon us soon, so new things to look forward to ya?

Mummynana,
Thanks. I'm having some bad stomach cramps, not sure why it's so painful. Imagine I got this cramps on Boxing Day. Then got another attack 2 days later. Most prob will see a gynae to double check on things.

YLN,
Sayang Kaer. I think it's not easy on her. Maybe now she will eat cos not so many ulcers yet but I heard for those who get HFMD, when more and more sores and ulcers develop in the mouth, it gets harder to eat so you may find Kaer rejecting food. Guess u have to top up with more water.

Yuuri,
Kes got HFMD? How did he get it? I thought he was all ok the last time I saw him.
Not through meeting his cousin I hope...

Celyn,
hehe Chevelle still cannot climb up our bed cos ours is those very thick mattress that's very high for her.
But she still wants to climb up -_-"
If the height quite low, believe she can climb up on it.

YLN,
its ok if Kaer don't wanna eat later if she has the ulcers in the mouth, but you have to get fluids into her - this is very important. so long as she is hydrated, she will recover. and kids do recover very fast one. and its not your fault lah, how do you prevent her catching the virus? we babysit my SIL's HFMD kids a few years back so quite experienced. you can give chilled water - to numb the soreness in the mouth then give room temp watery porridge. so at least she has something in her tummy later.

Valnsw,
Heehee...Maybe there is another lil' one on the way? Tats how I found out I was pregnant wif Anvelle. But watever the case, it is impt to go do a check-up on it. Put a warm bottle at ur tummy when it hurts. Will soothe it somehow.

YLN,
Take care. Sayang both of you....

Last but not least, here's wishing all of you n your family beauty *wink wink*, good health, happiness, success and prosperity for the new year! Enjoy the long weekend... I m going home now. Aat long last.

Mummynana,

Nah... not possible, cos my period just came on Sunday. I had very bad cramps on Boxing Day then next day came the menses...

Yup, wishing you best of health and luck in the New year too!

Hi Mummies~! Long time no come and check posts here liao. SUper lost track. haha...

Happy New 2010 in advance yea!

Any activities/outing going on? Am so bored at home with Falisha.

Val,
Hahahahaha, will be meeting him tmr :p...Kes kenna quite a few months ago lah. 2 weeks after going to ifc...then immediately withdrew him!

YLN

Cetaphil is one of the good recommendation for sensitive skin... I used it from week 16 when I was diagnosed with severe pregnancy rashes... Very bad case, only stopped 7 weeks after delivery... That time is strictly can't even touch strong detergent or even dish washing liquid.

Another good one is Lactacyd the one for infants ~ blue and green stripes on white box (dun get the wrong one which is meant for feminine wash ~ red n purple stripes on white box) This one C & C used it since they were newborn, cos they were prematured, so skins are sensitive.

MummyNana

C & C are still having fever. But there were just as active. Even in the middle of the nite... I'm soooo tired... imagine I got to put Clara to sleep first den got to rock Cheril to sleep... And these all in the middle of the nite. You can see my panda eyes liao..

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Agree with Celyn, at least J doesn't cry to want to get out.. It's gd to have the playpen when all adults are busy or sorts, at least it's quite safe. Maybe when J is more stable with walking, then let him roam more..
Not bad, he can climb down the bed on his own! Gd job J!!

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
*sayang* Kaer.. Looks like she's not terribly affected by the blisters.. You know sometimes adults use watermelon powder (xi gua shuang) for ulcers, do you think it can be used for toddlers?

I think HFMD can be quite hard to prevent from getting, but we try to minimise the chances for tt to happen too.. When our kiddos go for CC, gotta be prepared for them to pick up viruses &amp; germs.. Has she gone for her chicken pox vaccine?

Hope she gets a gd night's rest!!

<font color="119911"><font size="+2">Happy New Year to all &amp; God Bless!</font></font>

It is my last day in Sg. Will be leaving for the freezer tonight!
Hope everyone will have a nice day.

morning mummies

its first day of 2010 and yu ze roll off my bed and cry. so poor thing, now still sleeping on me (my leg become his pillow) so i can't move. what a way to start the year

i'm going to stop hubby from bringing yu ze over to our bed in the morning liao. cos he will be turning and tossing around and sometimes just happen to kick me. though its not a hard kick but no good bah.

he roll off just now cos i turn my back from him to prevent him from kicking me so didn't know where he was turning to till we heard the sound. good thing is that my bed is not very high. sigh...

hisstory
no she hasnt gone for chkn pox vaccine...

Kaer's starting to reject food n water...i wish i could do more to help her..but there's nothing i can do to help her lessen her pain..i feel so terrible..
i really hope the time flies by quickly so she can get well soon...

YLN

Take it easy, dun stress yourself too much.. Cos Kaer would feel it when mummy feels stressed up.. if she's happily playing and kicking, let her be. That's would keep her mind off all the awful pain and itch. Keep her cool at all times cos body heat does make her itch and cranky. Den it'll probably be difficult to claim her down once she gets cranky.

Take good care and will pray for her speedy recovery.

<font color="#CD3278">celyn</font>
Aiyoh! How long are you stuck with him to your leg?

Is Kaer also rejecting her fav food? Give her anything she likes.. Hopefully tt gives her the hydration and glucose she needs. Still as active? I think i've heard tt the condition shd last between 5-7 days?

You take gd care too... And gd thing ur work only officially begins mid Jan *hugs*

Mrs teng/hisstory
she's not taking bread, which she usually eats alot of it..dinner last nite was non existent cuz the moment food went into her mouth..she cried..so, hb made some milk..which she drank...but she didnt finish her last feed tho..im going make her lunch soon..hopefully she will take some..im not hoping she will finish all..at least a few mouthful will be good...
once in a while..she gets cranky..i think her mouth hurts...so she comes crying to me...have to distract her with stuff lor..now she cannot even go out and play..or get a little sunshine..i feel so lousy..hmm..but i guess the process is like that lor...the PD did mention that there's nothing we can do..just keep her hydrated lor..the blisters..no cream will help..just let it be..sigh..

ya hisstory..thank goodness my work only start mid jan...n by then ..my maid will be here (i hope!)..so i really hope the new 2010 will be all good for Kaer..

hisstory,
i'm stuck with him till about 9+. lucky, the cramp didn't come at that time also.

yln,
at least, she is still active. hope she will recover soon.

*phew* At least she still takes her milk.. How's are her naps and sleep at night? Still okie?
*jia you* not many more days to go.. I'm sure she wld recover in no time with mommy &amp; daddy's TLC

*oops* you kena leg cramp in the morn ah?

hisstory,
i got it one morning when yu ze cried, i try to wake up to see him but before i can do it, leg cramp. wake hubby up, he also don't know to see me first or yu ze. he end up massage for it first and yu ze went back to sleep on his own after a very short cry.

this morning, i can feel it like going to come again but it didn't loh.

afternoon mommies.....
<font color="ff0000">HAVE A GREAT 2010 !!!</font>

nice knowing you all... thanks for all the friendship n support all these times

HAPPY 2010 all mommies, daddies &amp; bbs!

YLN,
Hope Kaer will get well soon...glad she is still active...if she refused to eat then bo bian..just fatten her up after this episode. You take care too ya.

YLN &amp; Yuuri,
Do you know that there are several strains of HFMD...so that means once you got it, there is no guarantee that you won't get it again...just a diff strain...my coll's son kena twice from cc...so sad right?

Celyn,
Mae likes to climb up our bed..especially when she sees jiejie on it, she sure climb up...although our bed considered high, she can do that too...very scared she will fall down at times...

Mummynana,
Yes, there is a combined MMR and Chic pox vaccine but Mae's doc dislikes mixing vaccines as he said it is injecting live viruses into the body and thus will cause fever if combined...so it is always 1 vaccine at a time...

Mae will be gg for the chic pox vaccine next week as she never kena chic pox from #1...then it will be DPT booster and her 2nd jab of pneumoccocal...aiyo like so many jabs to take...

i went for my hand review again today as requested by mom for workman compensation. doc want me to go through another op after i deliver to remove the wire cos he say it very obvious and like will cut through my skin anytime kind. :p

it will be a day surgery under GA. if under GA hoh, can i still bf? i was told to schedule for an x-ray after i delivered then will arrange for op liao.

i don't know if i'm prepared to go through the day surgery so soon leh. especially when #2 is still so young, wonder do what extend can i move my hand after the day surgery. how long do i need to rest again? hmmmm.....

M2B,
Yah I know...my hb's nephew kenna countless times liao!

Celyn,
Yikes! Thought your hand totally ok liao :p

yuuri,
yes, its ok liao but still need to remove the wire leh. unless i decide to let it stay with me forever loh, also not sure if i can have that option.

i think after my x-ray then will further discuss to see if i can delay the op till #2 is at least 1 year old loh. sigh....

YLN

I remembered having HFMD (yes, adult can have it too). Had high fever den all the ulcers and blisters started appearing... both upper and lower gums were all swollen. That time in the US... very poor thing also.. On top of the pain, the gums are producing lots of pus.. I got to bite on gauge to squeeze out the pus and blood. Rinse mouth with listerine every hour. (imagine how painful it is?) At one stage, I actually used scissors to cut away the flesh to release the pus. For 2 weeks I could not take any solid. Drank milk for 2 weeks and lost 5 kg.

I'll probably understand how Kaer's feeling right now. Share with you some of my food intake experience at that time:

I couldn't even take Heinz bottled food ~ cos eat liao painful and it taste awful. Took me one hour to finish one bottle of Heinz pear sauce.
I tried cereal, also can't ~ pain
Mashed potato ~ got salt, so make it more painful
Watermelon and orange juice ~ sweet, also painful
Jello ~ sweet, painful too

Only could take milk... So I probably drank several gallons of milk in 2 weeks den I had in one year.

Here's some suggestion :

Mashed potato, one table will do, add into her milk to make a creamy texture. That will help to feel her tummy. remember no salt or sugar.

Go back to puree diet, just as long as the food do not have too much natural sweetens in it, cos it can be very painful for the mouth.

Cook plain porridge den blend it watery. let her drink lor. Got to blend bcos any texture will make it painful for her to swalllow. If she's hungry, she'll take. Just as long there's not salt or sugar in the food, she won't feel the pain.. Basically, need something that is alkaline lor..

That's as much as I can suggest.

Oh I didn't know cramps can hit when awake.. I thought it's usually when sleeping. Did you also get cramps when you had Yu Ze?

<font color="#CD3278">MrsTeng</font>
Thanks for the tips! It's new to me that adults can get infected by HFMD.. I thought rice cereal wld also be okie, since blended plain porridge can help fill the tummy?

hisstory,
can get cramps when awake too. i used to toes cramps when i walk too much with 3" high heels or total flat flats. hahahah.... but i still wear them. :p

i do get them with yu ze, not often. the feeling of coming is more than actual. for this one, only happened once so far. 'touchwood'

YLN
How's Kaer now ?? Hope she still as active as ever.. n still smile n 'scolding' the floor .... I've not much experiencein this but reading thru all the posts make me feel very scary ..
Praying for kaer's fast recovery

Celyn
Gosh !!! another op ? n that also rite after #2 borned ? hmmmmm......understand the concern since bb still need to b carried by the mum most of the time....

MrsTeng
Thanks for sharing.... it's really gr8 new knowledge for me..... freak me out just to read it though... adult so diff, how abt bbs ? Haiiiz

For MMR, I only brought Kai to take it on 22 Dec ... on the 10th day, he had slight fever, let him take paracetomol and he was ok. He puked once .... and today, rashes came out. It's around the ear area ... now seems a little improved.

So far, those who took the MMR ..... did you little ones have rashes?
Any risk for the rashes? or it'll go away.
Kai does not show any sign of discomfort.

Incidentally, Quan oso started having some slight rashes on his bums .... dunno how come. I wanted to spank his backside cos he was misbehaving and then saw the rashes .... no discomfort apparently.

I then said, "ok, then i wun spank your backside since there are rashes" and he said "My hand oso has rashes ..... " ...... so funny.
I din spank his backside la ... and even if I do, oso vv light. He'd ask me to do it again ..... he thinks it's fun! imagine.

Celyn
sigghhh too.... say if u keep the wire there for some times.... like another yr ( :p) will there be any complication ?

Shint
hahahaha, hope Kai is ok though...

shint,
hope kai is ok.

lingling,
i don't know leh. will check again after my x-ray loh. i hope i can drag a bit will #2 is older.

Celyn,
OMG! Sounds scary leh...2nd surgery, my gdness...yalor, if #2 still small then you totally can't move that hand after surgery will be rather inconvenient right?

Yuuri,
Countless times?! Poor boy leh.

m2b,
yah loh. stupid right? when they first operate, why can't they put something that will melt eventually to save me from another round of cut.

History

I also din believe it when they told me I got HFMD.. until today I still believe the doctors there diagnose wrongly leh.. cos my hand and leg okay leh... nothing at all.

Plain porridge got no taste, no salt, no sugar.. less harmful and painful for the blistered mouth. What ever it takes to feel the hungry little tummy.