(2008/08) Aug 2008

snow74,
yah yah, must train them to hold hand. 50% of the time, yu ze will hold hand when we are outside. if its not crowded place, i will just let him walk around on his own. also teach him how to follow us. he will walk behind and we will turn back to watch him as we walk and call for him.

celyn,

just curious to know, where is your study since one room is for yu ze and one room is for FIL (which will be for #2)? i wonder if i'll ever be able to give up my study if there is a need to next time. it's the room with the most clutter!

brie,

tks for your suggestion. u using lindam also? which model? i dun really see it ard. see lots of safety first and lucky baby gates at major dept stores.

hisstory,

i think J is over protected at my IL's place. he's constantly in the play pen and nope, he's not even allowed to play unsupervised. he's now at a stage when i can't even leave him to play alone in the play pen, sigh. even during evening walks, my FIL prefers to carry or push him in stroller. now i know why he took so long to walk, haha. at home, i let him practice walking as much as possbible but usually follow him from a distance. i'm only more worried if he starts moving things that are on rollers (like fans/ clothes rack) as he's not very stable in balancing yet.

krex,
i use the safety 1st. reason is because it's meant for staircase which needs to be drilled onto the wall. unlike the others eg luckybaby etc which is just "screw" unto the sides of the walls. as time passes, it will loosen and also because as they grow bigger, they may lean onto the gate etc. so it's not suitable for staircases and in fact it is even more dangerous. Those are meant usually for room to room eg prevent them from going to kitchen etc. But even so, must tighten them everynow and then. So the lady at Kiddypalace told me it is not meant for staircases. Then I went to Mothercare and they told me the Safety 1st is meant for staircase, there is a night light and you can set the door to swing in either one direction.

So i think it depends on your needs. I would say the safety 1st served my purpose.

krex78,
mine is a 5 room flat. so got 3 bedrooms + 1 study which i knock down the wall to make my dining room bigger and have glass wall instead to allow lights to come through dining room.

my study room
3438751.jpg

dining room + study
3438752.jpg

behind the plain wall is fil's room. opp that room is yu ze's room. my room is beside yu ze's room.

krex,
I dun use any gate now, but I had used it mainly to confine my dogs in the past and it could withstand rather rough use in my petshop last time. Lotsa dogs big and small, and kids and adults open and close, lean against, push, tried to sit on even, all can tahan. So if properly installed, to prevent a child from entering a room shouldn't be a problem ba. The best part for us was it didn't need drilling as we never meant for it to be a permanent fixture. I don't remember the model tho, sorry. Bought from kiddy palace and kidzloft before... think I've seen at petshops too :p

escalator danger
I've seen some kids get caught at the end of the escalator before - their shoelaces or frills from their clothes (especially for girls) poses a danger there. Worse still if finger, I shudder at the thought of getting stuck in an escalator. I've let him stand on it before, but usually just carry again near the ends.

lift danger
I've lost Isaac for a few minutes before recently because he ran into a lift and it closed before any of us could catch it. The lift went down, with Isaac in it alone, and we all freaked out. We ran down and caught him at B1. Now I use a wrist leash on him, as sometimes he doesn't want any of us to carry or even hold his hand.

barber
I wish I needed to bring Isaac for a haircut. He still has so little hair - from birth!! I hear raves about this place - http://www.curlynspike.com.sg/ like if it's a child's 1st hair cut, they bag the hair for mummy's scrap booking, and they give a cert with b4 and after pix. They also have a catwalk there for the kid to strut their stuff LOL. For distraction, they have playstation, dvd and toys. Sounds interesting huh.

brie,

i went to take a look at lindam just now at kiddy palace and i really like it. easy to use for a suaku mummy like me. curly n spike looks good! i'm also looking for a place to cut J's hair. we recently bought a kid's shaver but have not used it. if it doesn't work out we'll bring him to the barber. any idea how much they charge? i wonder how they do mani/pedicure w/o using alcohol to clean the nails...hmmm...

cat,

tks for your safety 1st review. i prob won't be getting that since i need it to block kitchen access only. btw, can i have access to your blog again? i think u've privatised it?

celyn,

how big is your square area? i think if i upgrade to another place, i need a place with 4 bedrooms, haha. 3 definitely not enough!

krex78,
its only 121/122 sqm. not very big but cos its old flat so looks bigger. those photos are when its newly renovated. now not so neat and clean liao. hahaha...

hi brie - my E goes to curly and spike for haircut..but haha he terrorises the hairdresser there. when young ok, blur blur will look at them cut, now when they come near to him, the Hi 5 videos dun help, he will scream and even kick the lady. now i am trying to "save" them from his flying kicks by changing his hair to those japanese boy hair style...

must book to make appt. they have a runway which some older girls will holdbrithday parties and do cat walk

celyn,

still bigger than mine, haha.

vanilla,

how much do u pay for haircut? how will jap boy hair style help make him more calm?

hi Krex - haha jap boy hairstyle = longer hair so less haircuts....i paid 20over dollars..ocbc has 5% off. it is rather exp but must admit the styling there better. Once i went to neighbour the auntie just shave and he looks like botak jones. My hb was so angry w me...

just wondering if anyone is using cetephil to bath ur little ones?
kaer was diagnosed with roseola infantum..rashes + fever..so the dr asked me to use cetephil to bath kaer...im not sure can anot...tsk..hmmm..or is there any shower gel that has no smell, no preservative etc..that is safe for ezcema kind of rashes?

YLN,
I used it before. i also use the other brand too. i think catephil is better cos really no fragance added. very gentle on skin. what happen to kaer? is she better?

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
So when J plays in the playpen at your ILs, someone is accompanying him huh? If i dun recall wrongly, it's ur MIL who prefers tt he stays in there coz it's 'cleaner', or did i get it wrong?

Maybe on weekends when he's spends more time at ur place, let him roam abt but keep a watchful eye.. Stop him at the dangerous spots &amp; explain to him, or do like what <font color="#CD3278">brie</font> does, distract, so as not to draw attention to the contraband..

At the end of the day, by a certain age, no toddler wld want to stay in the playpen, so roaming ard can't be helped. So maybe try conditioning J to danger/safe zones.. In fact I think the more exposed he is, the more spatial conscious he is and able to cope with the furniture ard

krex,
i don't have any safety gates at all, right from the first kid. we actually teach the kids how to go up and down the staircase... my eldest is 6yo already and has not fallen from the stairs yet... touch wood! same for #2 and #3. jer can walk up confidently and come down the stairs with some help. he will stand at the top of the stairs, holding onto the railings and shout for help, he won't come down by himself.

YLN,
i have both, sebamed and cetaphil. cetaphil has zero fragrance while sebamed has a little fragrance. cetaphil is ok for ezema-prone skin.

Celyn

I heard before that escalator stop and jam and then not holding the belt will be thrown out, including adults.

For me, I also let BBM get into and get out of escalator. hold by her armpit to prevent her fall. Most of the time, she will want to climb up more steps while moving, or sit the the step when gng down. as to get out, her action slower, so if no one, i will let her take 1st step, then bounce bounce out of the area.

tonite... she even run on the travellator downwards..... when she fall, i grab loh.

celyn

50% hold ur hand when outside. is very gd leh.

i think i hv to find a way to train BBM to follow...........

nw is more like she lead n we follow. if i walk in front, she will complain n sits on the floor.

sometimes will walk.if wakl side by side, she will keep looking at my shoes n giggle...... hahaha!!

Have not been keeping up with the posts. Been abit under the weather. So fast now coming to end if year.

Happy New Year to all!

Celyn,
I also let Chevelle stand on the escalator step when we are out in shopping mall. I was the one who started it.y hb is too protective of her, want to carry her on it.
Chevelle is quite adventurous, she attempts to walk up the steps when she's on the escalator.
If the mall is not too crowded I will let her roam about. At home I also let her roam by herself.

Rona,

same here my girl is quite garang. She will climb up the stairs by herself while holding onto the railings for support. Of course we make sure there's somebody watching her as she does it. She still not v steady in it.

She already learnt how to climb up the sofa bed which is pretty low in height for her.

kaer is not doing well..im surfing the net for more info now..will go see another dr for second opinion..her rashes now have turned into blisters..her hands..toes..whole body all got..the cream the first dr didnt seem to work..kaer only have no more fever..im worried cuz the blisters looked painful n she was itching the whole nite...
..loooking now for a nearby PD ..sigh..

morning mummies.

rata
me gotta work full day today also.

val
hope u are feeling better now.

yln
kaer sounds more like chicken pox ya?
normally this kinda skin medicine will not heal the problem directly, they will only help to speed up the process.
have u been to dr gong in gleneagles kinderclinic?
nynn has problematic skin also, and the med he gave quite good leh.
u take care, hope kaer get well soon.

Morning, mommies.

Haven't been able to log in for days. How's everyone? Now slowly reading thr all the posts I missed.

Cat/ Mrs Teng,
Hw are the gals? Better now? Hope they are all active n jumpy liao.

Krex/ Hisstory/ Celyn,
If you can't find the "holey" fan covers, can modify from those laundry bags tat u use in the washing machine. We couldn't find it in our neighbourhood, so hb cut away the zip portion and used an elastic string to make the elastic portion.

YLN,
Personally I dun like Sebamed. My cousins use it at my gran's. Sometimes I bathe them when I go over to pick Anvelle up, and I find tat it is very difficult to wash it off. I use Mustela for Anvelle.

Valnsw,
Wishing you a spepdy recovery. Gotta get well before the new year.

Snow,
I also wking full day. After wk must rush to hb's family for dinner. nyway, wat's on your FB post? Cannot access in office.

morning mummies

yln,
sound likes she is having chicken pox like what snow's say loh.

sylvia,
yah yah. so we will hold his hand or stand behind him to catch him anytime loh. upon going and reaching the end of escalator sure must hold him.

if i use 2 hands to hold him, he will be walking up or down the escalatr.

train her to follow you with not crowded places first, where you can easy chase and catch her. last time, i will walk in front, yu ze in the middle to follow, hubby follow yu ze. then slowly, we both walk in front and yu ze follow.

when we walk side by side that means hold hand liao.

valnsw,
yu ze knows how to climb up and down my sofa long ago and bed. now he will also hold on to railings to walk up an down of stairs himself.

rata
thx.
ya, i'm feeling lousy cos i believe such things can be avoided...haiz....
we are like working non-stop everyday le, such thing add on our stress.
nvm lah, dun discuss here to spoil everybody's new yr mood. =)

mummynana
nothing lah, nynn hurt her hand lor.

YLN,
I think it might be chicken pox too ... rashes, itching, blisters .... better bring to doc to check ... and tell them possibly chicken pox and they will expedite your queue ... cos it's contagious ma ..
But depends on clinics la ... some oso bo chap.

Only Calamine lotion can be used for the itching ....

YLN,
yah, from your description, sounds like kaer is having chix pox. my gal's cc has one boy 2.5yo gotta it too.

Escalator ... incidentally, i posted a few pics with hubby and the kids "playing" on the escalator. haha.

I am the kiasu one .. i will carry them, hold them,etc ... but my hubby is the super lax one ... can let them go on the escalator themselves .. but not for Kai la. He believes in not constraining them .... but i fear for safety lor but he wins la.

Recently I went to a fren's house and #1 went to the toilet himself and cos the sink was too high for him, he found a stool to stand on it and my fren was like ... how come u let him go toilet himself? so dangerous, etc...

But i always let him go to toilet himself and told him to flush and wash his hands after that. Even the childcare trains them to do so themselves. If he can change his diaper, I'd gladly let him do it.

Talking about diaper ... i know i should train him off the nite diaper oredi but he is a dead log when he sleeps ... i am still not successful in training him to wake up to the toilet at nite. He'll cry if I wake him up and carry him there, he'll oso refuse to pass urine.

Now i am looking at finding some good mega size diaper for him that's like training pants ... cos so exp to spend $1 a day for his diaper ... any solutions ah?? Those mommies who has older children.

Sylvia,
Baby M vv gigglish .. everything she oso giggles ... vv cute ... i oso want a gigglish girly girl too ... ahhh ...

Happy New Year Everyone!!!

YLN,
Kaer sounds to be having chic pox/HFMD, think better get another opinion. My #1 got chic pox but as she was vaccinated at 1yo+, no fever just spots and recovered in days.

Hope Kaer will be ok.

<font color="#CD3278">nana</font>
ur hb is very ingenious! My place is still okie, won't need the fan covers.. Mainly using ceiling &amp; wall fans
*phew*

<font color="#CD3278">sylvia</font>
Oh woah, bb M is really testing the boundaries.. I think after awhile, she also won't be keen in the fan.. *cross fingers*

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
Ouch!! Hope Kaer recovers real soon and *shoo* all the itchiness away

hisstory,

yup, i think that's why he's gotten so used to someone in the playpen that he can't play on his own. yest, my MIL even commented that J was walking and crawling about on the floor (outside the playpen) and she quickly went to get him a change of clothes before putting him for a nap *faintz* when J gets home, i let him explore my room while i change and he knows how to get down from our bed already. yest, he was happily opening my drawers and got his fingers caught while closing them but he'd just make some noise and ask me to "save" his fingers, after which he will start playing with the drawers again, haha.

YLN,

hope u're getting the strength and help u need to manage kaer...hope she recovers soon. i use gaia coz' it's organic but not sure if it's suitable for kaer now. i find it very mild and does not irritate bb at all. it does have a smell though (i think lavendar).

nana,

i haven't even begun to look at fan covers. i think i'll spend the long weekend looking for things to safe proof my home. need to get extra sets for my ILs place also coz' they have a lot of wooden furniture with sharp corners. i think ntuc xtra might have those corner bumpers, drawer latches, yah?

m2b,

chicken pox is not part of 6-in-1 jab rite? i was looking thru J's records and i dun rem seeing any chicken pox jab for it. how old before he can take the jab? many kids i know are having the pox now so tot of letting him take the jab when he next visits the PD (in end jan).

MUmmies

im so sad..Kaer's got the HFMD ...

sob sob..i feel kinda rotten now...like i didnt take good care of her...

her blisters r bad n its all over her body..
..PD said her mouth's all red..will soon prob break into ulcers...SOB ..
..i feel so heartpain...i prob will go get cetephil to bath her..so as not to irritate her itch ...sigh..what a dec holiday..

YLN
*Sayang* Kaer, how's she now? Hope she'll recover soon.
My nephew got HFMD 2 mths ago &amp; hospitalized for 3 days... he totally can't take anything incl milk.... cos his mouth full of ulcer!

YLN,
sayang Kaer, hope she is feeling ok and recover asap, must be very uncomfortable for her...you take care too... *hugz*

krex,
my mum is also very protective of bb and try to "lock" her in the playard the whole day cos she say she cant allow her to roam because my house got a lot of steps and she can wonder off to the pool if the small gate is open... after i come home, i will allow her to roam around &amp; she is so happy to play with the DVD player, climb the steps, play with the fridge magnets and pinch the dog, pull the dog's ear etc... she even put dog food in her mouth when we were not watching too... but i feel she has to grow up in normal home environment rather than in playard... maybe if my maid can help to jagar her more, she will have more freedom to roam the house...

the kids clinic will recommend you the MMRV which is MMR + chicken pox in 1 jab... cayla took hers 1 month ago...

yln,
sayang kaer, hope she recover soon. its not of any fault of yours, don't blame yourself ok.

krex78,
chicken pox is not within the 6 in 1. its an exta jab. yu ze took his at 15 months.

teach j to be careful and how he should prevent his finger from getting caught. after a few times, he will learn. yu ze learnt his lesson the hard way too. hahah.... in the beginning, he will open and not close them. now he knows how to close them safely liao.

actually, i think j is very guai leh. he can stay inside playpen to play at this age. yu ze will be screaming his lungs out and wants to get out or even attempt to climb out liao. no way to keep inside at all. its not easy to keep him in there when he is young not don't even need to think.

YLN,
dun reproach yourself coz such viruses cannot be prevented. She can get it anywhere. My ex-neighbour's kid never go school but go playgrd oso kena. She'll be ok soon...give her chilled milk and vanilla ice cream if she can take it. U take care too.

Nana and Krex,
can take the chic pox vaccine anytime after 1yo...Mae has yet taken hers as her sis kena so doc recommended taking after 3 weeks instead...actually I was hoping Mae will get it from #1 but seem no. Chic pox vaccine is optional jab not compulsory.

krex,
U can get the child-proofing stuff in many places e.g. Kiddy Palace, Ikea, Baby Hyperstore, etc. even Diaso. Think NTUC Xtra shld have ba.

YLN,
Sayang Kaer. Hope she recovers soon. Try to give her more fluids. N dun reproach urself. It's not ur fault tat she caught the HFMD. Juz take gd care of her now.

M2B/ Dongle,
Can take the Chxn Pox jab with MMR? I intend to bring her for her jab in Jan, at 16 mths.