(2008/08) Aug 2008

M2B,
Happy birthday to Mae!

celyn,
It's good that YZ is taking a lot, Cayla is taking 675ml(3x)of milk and 2 solid (1 porridge + 1 cereal)... but hor, her Enfagrow tin says 1 day is 225ml x 2 milk feed only you know!!!

I am doing Velle's 1st bday at the restaurant. They said tat they cannot allow decorations coz it's also open to public. Have u ladies been to any parties where they allow decors at hotel restaurants? Pls advise. Thanks in advance!

I am so envious of u mummies who only feed ur little ones 3-4 times a day. My gal drinks only 120ml per feed every 3 hours since 3 mths old till now. Max can only take 150ml. My gran's giving her porridge twice a day now but she is still keeping to her 3 hrly schedule... Sianz

Hey Mummies
I'm thinking of changing Falisha's FM liao. Now drinking Nan3. After one yr old, what's better ah? Dongle, is Enfagrow gd? I'm thinking of Gain IQ oso. Any comments on that?

rona
mil discharge liao, now in nursing home.
think ttsh also scared of her le, she tried several attempts to climb down the bed when she was there lor... -_-"

Mrs Teng
Wow yr cake looks really nice!
Really very talented!

M2B, Cat
Happy birthday to Mae and Bernice!

Nini
Dun worry normal that their appetite will not be that good especially after they just got well. Darwisyah also lidat.. since her fever a week ago she has not been eating well.. maybe also the antibiotics tend to suppress the appetite.

Rata
I am still pumping once in the office now.. hoping that I can drop the pump in office soon. Cant wait for the time when I no need to lug the pump bag around..! 1 hand carry handbag, one hand cary pump bag, very busy!

milk intake:
jonah's milk intake per day can range from 350-500ml only. so pathetic. but solids wise, his appetite is very huge. he almost always finishes his food and wants more. when we eat, he will also want our food. now his tummy so big and he poos on average 5x a day. dunno whether normal or not.

catering:
i used rasel fusion for jonah's party and was disappointed. their food was decent but they came to collect the food late and we almost had a standoff with them as we had to evacuate the function room for the next user by 3pm. they only came at 4.30pm to collect the trays. won't ever use them again. i attended a friend's wedding a week before and she used lavish dine. i think their food is really gd!

Rata
I pumping 3x a day.. 7am, 3pm and 11pm.
Before that it was 4x... 7am, 11am, 5pm and 11pm
Much as I cant wait to start her on fm, I think I will miss the feeling of bfeeding..

So mao dun.. When you intend to stop?

Krex
Waa 5x a lot leh.. heh. He do it lil a time huh
Darwisyah usually once everyday but when it becomes once in 2 days, become mega poo then very chao... haha

medusa,

u get to pump so late in the morning? i had to wake up at 5am to pump last time. so tiring! very happy to have dropped that pump, and now that i dun pump in the office, easier to get things done. by next week, i shld be able to drop my night pump and i will be able to either sleep early or help put the boy to sleep. last time, had to rely on hb to do it while i pump.

yeah, we nickname jonah "poo" bear. out of 5x, 1-2 would be quite a lot. it looks as if his system didn't digest the food and everything just came out like that. going to ask PD if there's anything wrong with his diet or digestive system.

M2B
Happy bday Princess Mae
!!!

bb food intake
well ... read lots of mommies discussing bout the bb's milk n solid intake.. my gal still dislike solid til now.. only take couple small spoon only lately... She would also want whatever we eat but also only couple of small spoon.. n to think she's almost 1 lehh
Is it ok ?? Milk wise also she's not as big drinker as YZ.
Read YZ can drinks 260 ml liao .. WOW !!

Snow
Ur MIL quite scary uh... Good she's been discharge though...

Sam

No prob
Wah! drool liao... so wat did you have? I'm still hoping to eat their braised pork with bun man!

Medusa

Thanks for your compliment..

linx
scary hor?
dun it just reminds u of our bb? =P
last nite i saw zynn trying to climb out of her cot, it rings a bell lor.

huichin,
i let cayla try enfagrow & she is ok with it... just started with her 1st tin only... heard NAN3 is good too... dont think i want to try abbott milk unless she doesn't take any other brand... find that abbott consultants are very unprofessional cos they criticise other milk brand... & say this no good, that no good... only abbott ones is the best... other milk brand only tell me the goodness of their brand... pissed off with them man!!! i very angry that she tell me cayla very small for being 8.2kg at 11mths +... i asked her if she is PD cos my PD say 50th percentile wor!!! dare to tell me cayla small because i changed her milk cos previously i used similac for a few months & now changed to non-premium brand... kns!!!

my braiden doesnt like FM... he can accept water in milk bottle/sippy cup but NOT milk... sibeh keow la! i have to SPOONFEED him using a spoon..so angry! At most manage to drown him down with 100ml...cos have to chase him ard the hse! argghhh!!! I give him enfapro n pediasure.. cos he not drinking as much milk as his peers..have to force him liao...

Dongle

Aiyo, wat kind of rep is this? So unprofessional.. Similac's the BEST? Yes! I agree ~ THE BEST TO GET POOR CHERIL CONSTIPATE!!!!. Other den that, they are just another formula milk.

Managed to wean Cheril to NAN HA.. Much much better liao.

8.2kg is alrite for a gal at @ 11 mths... Clara at 12 mths plus only 8.4kg and PD also say ok..

Nini,

my bb A worst, at least braiden let u to spoon feed him, mine got to syringe feed! She refuse to drink milk or water from bottle/sippy cup, every milk feed like war III, sian.....

mel_ocean: ahh!! Some mommies commented I am "cultivating" a BAD HABIT in him. Ask me to keep giving him in Sippy cup till he drinks.

dongle,

how come u talk to the consultants? they call u and try to promote the milk to u is it? i had a casual chat with this expatriate who works in abbott labs when i was preggie and he told me BM is the best for bbs. surprised to hear this from someone who works for abbott. think FM by abbott uses some kind of genetically modified ingredients that are not that good. somemore it's from USA, and USA is famous for having GM foods. that's part of the reason why i want jonah to try fresh goat's or cow's milk, coz' dunno if what they put in FM is good for kids. already there are so many articles saying cow's milk is harmful to human beings...sigh.

nini,

the last time i asked my family doc, he said dun need to force feed bb to drink milk if he rejects. they know how to regulate their own body and will never starve themselves. i was concerned when jonah rejected milk for a period of time after he was sick. even till today, he doesn't drink as much as before but if he consumes about 400ml on average, i'm ok to let it pass. will just plan a more nutritious solids diet for him lor.

Nini, i dun think u're cultivated a bad habit cos some bbs very stubborn de, like mine, tried hundreds, thousands times force her drink from bottles/sippy cup, still reject & refuse to suck.... i also dun know why.... she just dun like milk lor.... the entire family only me got such "weird" bb....

dongle,
i also got pp frm abbott calling me to switch to their fm. gain iq i think. they even wanna send me free samples even thou i told her gg is allergic to cow;s milk n need nan ha. she ask me to try their soy n i told her tat gives gg constipation n gas but she still ask me to consider n their their milk wen gg outgrows her constipation. they really promoting their milk hor

tigg3r,
cheril also nan ha...now u giving stage 2 or 3 liao. i am still giving gg medium teats. i tried to give her the large one yesterday n she was choking on it lei. she also can;t really drink frm teh straw. will suck very hard then release the water n wet her body
dunno how to wean her off bottle to cup or straw

catering:
result frm them being 2hrs late n collecting on time leaving us with 1.5hr to eat only......my catering fee was waved off after we make noise n got teir director to call hubby.
guess it is a bitter sweet ending ba

LTS

Yeah! initially Cheril was on Similac while Clara on Nan HA. They are both on Nan HA 3 now. Clara's on Silicone medium teats while Cheril is on Latex Large Cross opening teats. Cheril drink supper fast one..

I have no intention of weaning them to straw or cups yet. Just let them be... I believe they will eventual want to drink from straw n cups when they see us adult do so.. Felt that it's no point on forcing them lor. Let them progress on their own phase. Iike my hubby, he only stopped drinking from bottle when he was in nursery, and why? becos of peer pressure, classmate asked why he's still on bottle and from that day on. He stopped totally.. I remembered I stopped pacifier when I was like 3 or 4 years old, also due to peer pressure.

Re:Catering
So the entire catering was free?

whole day busy with audit and after that went dinner with colleagues and brought yu ze along. came back put yu ze to sleep and bathe, only got time to log in to read the thread.

seems like yu ze is really taking a lot compare to the other babies leh. is it a good or bad sign leh?

fm:
yu ze had try almost all the brands of fm. similac, enfapro, nan, mamil gold, friso and had no problem with them. i have no intention to let him stick to a particular brand. he will take whatever brand that is on sale when its time to buy. currently i have 8 tin of mamil at home cos of their buy 1 get 1 free promotion.

hubby had tried almost all the brand of fm and commented mamil is the best. hahah....

krex78,
5x poo a day, isn't that a lot?

lingling,
yah yah. for the last night feed, he drink a full bottle of the big avent bottle which is 260ml loh. don't know if i should buy the biggest bottle to standby now.

dongle,
which fm promoter did you talk to. why so unprofessional one.

re: milk
bernice has been on enfalac/enfapro + bm all along. was thinking to carry on with their stage 3. But i do also give her whatever samples i have at home too. she's ok with everything. but she drinks only 150ml X 3 or 4 times. quite little i feel.

tigg3r,

y one latex n the other silicon..
gg sucks hard on the medium so i thot i do her a favour by changing to Large but she choke or pluck out to swallow n pluck back in again n finish the bottle within a min which means too big for her liao.
is it time to change to nan ha 3. i look it seems the same

yes catering was free but i paid extra for time extension etc la n the emotional roller coaster i went thru. dunno is this a blessing in disguise or wat

Snow
yup scary.... Aiyohhhhh even scarier reading Zynn trying to climb out her cot... Dohh, cot is not that safe anymore uh... ?

Mel Ocean
syringe feed ? Gosh..... u r one very patient mummy

Krex
Good thing bb J takes solid very well... See my gal, nowadays taking solid less n less n she's going 2 b 1 !! how uh ? I'm afraid she mite lack the nutrients... Yest bought multivitamin 4 her :p
but headache abt the solid

Celyn
WOW, YZ really good leh... good solid intake plus milk intake.. very healthy hor... think this also contributing to his fast milestones.... dun wanna compare but my gal...
how to make her eat n like solid properly uh ?

Cat
N also like that previously, only in the dream feed I usually increase :p but now even day time I just up 180 ml sometimes she's ok sometimes doesnt finish... But then again her dream feed also increase lor.. :p So far only 210 ml though not like YZ yet...

LTS
WOW... hehehe free catering... not bad
But still... P

Dongle
ya lor... I'll talk back for sure :p me n my temper hehehe

OK, I'm the only 1 still in the living room now... every1 else has went 2 the room :p Will go n join hb now... Nite nite mummies...

lingling,
his milestones seems to have slow down leh. hehehe... i just hope all these eating and drinking will help increase his weight. :p

doogle,
aiyoh, abbott losing market share lah... that's why this person pushes so hard. but a few years ago, they are like the top best selling brand in singapore leh. abbott is from states, but the milk is from ireland.

ling,

is she fussy abt her food? maybe can try new cooking methods or give more variety so she gets all the nutrients she needs.

rona,

i tot the milk is from netherland?

I'm also adjusting my pumps. Tried to drop 1 pump in the afternoon yesterday, then felt so guilty because only got 380ml the whole day. Today decided to pump 3x again because I really feel very bad. Thinking I'm crazy!

But lucky for me Isaac seems ok with FM, I give 3btls of BM and 1 btl FM everyday. I think I cannot bear to stop expressing because it seems like that is the only thing that exclusively only I can do for him
But don't pump in the afternoon means I free up a lot of time while he nap wor... then when I come to this part of my train of thought, I'll feel guilty again for having such a selfish thought. Sigh, so irritated with myself.

He's daily intake is about 720ml, and 2 bowls of porridge. But he's still 8.2kg the last I weighed him at 11.5mths. And his 3rd teeth is only cutting thru recently. He's still not interested in other food other than porridge, so I oso never really force it lah. I'm playing by ear, what for stress myself right. Haha

krex,
just checked. from ireland. nan is swiss, mamil from new zealand, enfa from netherlands(?)

ling,
have you tried giving soup? does N like soup? its nutrious.

mrs teng, twin star, krex, cat, celyn, ling, rona,
i was giving similac to cayla then suddenly she dont want so while i went to PD for injection, PD say switch brand so i got friso 2 samples & i gave her & she drank as usual... a while later she again dont want so i happened to go PD for jab again so PD gave enfapro so i gave her & she accepted it... so when the abbott consultant called me to ask if i want gain iq sample, i told her i in the midst of changing from friso to enfa, she tell me friso is non-premium brand, why i give (like as if i cheapo mummy like that) & enfa is not vegetable fats (cant reli rem cos i close my ears aledi)... kept asking me why i change, i told her my gal not taking similac & PD say ok wat... she then tell me off that cannot anyhow change, sometimes baby got no appetite, just give little bit will do... cannot rem her name cos talked to her for over 5 mins in my office so in a hurry to put down aledi... & yes, she kept telling me that they are number 1 in singapore and cannot be all the mummies all salah!!!

plus she kept saying cayla small even though i told her off that PD say she is ok... she even asked what was her birth weight & i told her 3.33kg & then she goes... "there, 3.33kg is not small you know? how come like that!!!" like i did something wrong by changing to other brands... i was damn pissed & told her i very small so dont expect my baby to be big ok... what kind of consultant is that? still arguing with people!!! ban them aledi la...

recently i also received a call from dumex... they asked me what i giving bb & i told her enfa... she just say if need samples she can give & then thanks & put down... never ever degrading other brands...

doogle,
I think this promoter from abbott is very unpro lah. trying too hard liao. and some more pushing during office hours. very irritating.

to me, they are all similiar and as long as our bb likes it, so be it. but i read somewhere that sensitive and asthmathic babies are more suited for goat's milk. my cousin is giving her dd fresh goat's milk after weaning her from the breast.

i also have not given FM to my bbJ yet. dunno which brand to buy. but i like ceyln's thinking, just drink anything that's on sale! the mamil deal is very good, but i didn't get any leh. i will go one more step, i get whatever that give me more savings from johor!
this cheapo mum getting milk powder from jb...

morning mummies

dongle,
yah, whenever i get call from fm brands consultant nobody ever degrade the other brands. only ask if i want to try if i'm giving another brand.

Mrs Teng,
We ordered BeeHoon, Mee Goreng, Salted Fish Fried Rice, Sweet Sour Prawn, Duck wif Sea Cucumber, Sotong Youtiao, Fried Chicken Thai Style, Kailan wif Mushroom, Braised Tofu, Curry Chicken & Yam Paste.

Thumbs Up for the Duck, the Kailan, Curry Chix & Yam Paste. Hee...

LTS

You know lah! that you gals different characters one.. so teats also want different type. Now not so bad liao.. Last time, diapers also different size, different brand. FM also different. That time lagi worst ah.

But now, their eating habit also different. Clara likes all her food mixed in one bowl with all the goodness and aroma in the food. Cheril like it separated. Must be plain porridge, the fish and veggie must be separated too. otherwise dun want to eat. Iike that I very busy leh.. cook every separately (but must have taste one hor), take out already, and mixed everything together and cook further for CLara. Haizzzz.

Mrs Teng,

Yes, the yam paste was completely wiped out even though we had 2 trays & I was so worried there will be lots of leftover. Overall food ok, I find the staples so so & the prawn if deshelled would have been better. Curry Chix was well received by my Hubby, FIL & SIL...

Celyn,

I aso Mamil Supporter, bad thing is I threw away the vouchers b4 letting Yumin try the free sample...

re: small size bb
Yumin only weighs 8kg at 11mth+, in fact, she only grew 800gram for like 22weeks...

sam,
i still don't have yu ze's latest weight. his next appointment is on 11 aug. i think he did put on some weight cos i can't carry him for long. very tired. maybe he is 8kg now bah cos last measure around 7.4 or 7.5kg. hahah....

you going for the aug birthday bash? i have the voucher leh, you want?

Celyn,
I aso can't carry Yumin for long cos she will be turning here/there, struggling alot. Me not going for the bash cos Yumin very scaredy cat, if lots of ppl, she will become hum bao...

Can mail me the voucher? I pay you for postage :p

re: small size bb
tat day my friend commented tt its fine to have small size bb cos at least we dont have to worry abt nafa test in primary school. hee