(2008/08) Aug 2008

val,
If he doesn't listen to reason, then you just bring gal to your mum's place and that's it. aiyoh, just put your feet down (if one foot not enough) and conclude for him. don't need to wait for his wishy-washy. Does your BIL contribute to the household expenses? Very smart hor, rent out their place and then sponge on your PILs. bo yao nian??

rona,
i think the blind ones also can see they are sponging off.
I mean i duno if they do contribute to the household expenses.
What I heard was that before they had the customary, BIL's wife's mum said BIL had to take care of the household expenses cos BIL's wife has to earn the $ to bring back to her "niang jia" cos still gota support her sisters' education.

But what i see is the woman still can afford to carry LV, branded stuff for herself. So where the $ go to? Plus the way my ILs are, I think they probably waive off that household expenses.

I think all the relatives can tell for themselves, just that is a silent thing, nobody says.

I alrdy pointed their sponging off to my hb but what can he do. He says he knws.
The thing is, it must take 2 hands to clap. If one party wants to sponge off, the other party must also be willing to be sponged off mah...

Anyway, that's why last Sat I refused to go for their newborn's full-mth celebration. I alrdy put my foot down on that. And I also told hb not going to bring bb back to ILs cos I pantang, wana wait til Chevelle turns 1 y.o.
Cos they also nvr turn up for my girl's full mth celebration held at my ILs' place. That even one relative asked SIL (i.e. my hb's younger sis) why BIL is not around.

I really duno how to go about hving the #2 quickly la..

Mb hv to do it during our next trip with just 2 of us alone.

pinky,
I actually allow the maid to nap during day when my bb is napping.
During wkends, usually is me taking care of my girl while the maid does the chores and cooking. When she's done w those chores and cooking then she will take over to look after my girl.

val,
sometimes your PIL also dunno how to say no to them, i 'sort' of can understand that. somemore got 3 kids leh, and if they sold off their flat/apt then if PIL ask them to go, where can they go? Think maybe your PIL also xingruan, that's why taken advantage. Most imptly its your BIL... really...

What was the reason that they didn't turn up for your gals full mth celebration? somemore at your IL's place leh, right at their bedroom door??!!

<font color="#CD3278">Val</font>
heheh, got the guest list but haven't approached to confirm attendance. Better get it out of the way.. hee

Ah, Chevelle's bday can dun invite grandparents (ie ur MIL &amp; FIL)?

Me with a #2??? No lah.. hahah! Gimme 2 more years at least... I reckon most full day ones are called CC, maybe the full day playgrp is just another name for CC.. Nonetheless, so long as they serve the purpose &amp; are reliable, I chin chye. So far shortlisted one, but the waitlist is horrid.. So gotta look out for another

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Aiyoh, dunno why they must wake up.. I've got super puffy eyes

wow..val, u so good to yr maid...u even allow yr maid taking nap when yr bb is sleeping too???? wow sia..i dun do tt to my maid but she can take a short rest having yr kopi

valnsw,

i also dunno how lei, but i am the one waking up to feed him, so u at least get to rest with ur maid doing the nite shift wor. i dun wanna feed him water cos he is oredi very small size lei, dun want to deny his need for milk. lolz.
abt ur sil, i understand how u feel fully, cos am fearful that my mom will get this kinda treatment from my sil when she give birth end of this yr too, ever since she married my bro and stayed with my mom, nvr leave a single finger to do hsework ( not even tidying/sweeping/mopping her own room ) noe how to use toilet, dunno how to wash the toilet bowl...
then when preggie, ask my mom to do her confinement and look after their child..for free? i think so loh ..cos they regard mom as maid...despise her loh ...

fae,
both also unplanned de ? God is good..
i noe and understand what u mean..after giving birth to my son, i feel like i should have given birth earlier, than dun have to worry abt the age factor and more energy to play with them.

pinky,
so cute loh u ..feed water..still gotta wake up rite ?

hi val &amp; hisstory, saw u all at BP forum ordering the bd stuff fm babyterronline...are the items DIY or they will do it for u?

Interrace,
Ya, my son has been like this for couple of mths, waking in the middle of the nite to drink water :p think he's thirsty ba ..hahhaha funnie hor..
told my mum too. she oso says so cute..baby wakes up is to drink milk..my son drinks water.. :p

I'm oso facing the same situation as u..my SIL oso like dat one..damn lazy...always my mum helps her out...my mum oso wrking leh..when i preggie, i oso do the hsewrk on my own, wash toilet, etc...she hao ming leh

Interrace,
actually true leh, my cousin married a vietnamese and within 2+ years, they have 2 kids liao. and this vietnamese bride - does not do any form of housework or cook... she only help to feed her kids when the food is ready. My poor aunt got to cook, clean and wash for them too! and oh! my aunt also need to help her look after the kids, cos she cannot handle two mah.

pinky,

how u noe ur son prefer water over milk ? U tried feed him milk and he reject but drink water happily ?

why ah ? same case wor, i scrub toilet till give birth lei .... she dun need to do any hsework ever since preggie. got one tub of clothes in front, cannot even lift her arms to fold the clothes, wait till my mom start to fold, then she gei gei "help out" *puipui loh...
they staying with my mom, free lodging, no reno loan,no need to use cpf to pay for flat, why no $$ to give my mom ? i really cannot undersloh..my bro is hopeless..follow the wife pattern *self come first*

Hi Mummies, I have 2 pkt of Mamil Gold Step 3 Samples to giveaway including a $3 voucher. Pickup at Pending LRT at Bt Panjang only. Anyone interested?

rona,

why ah ? I think elderly got to learn to say no also loh,but how to say no when they are staying together and elderly just want a peaceful and harmony ? cannot say anything loh, just do and do till they learn that they have taken them for granted after they leave them. then they will noe how xin ku it is to clean the whole hse izit ?? or they will engage a real maid then?

reading all these posts about SIL living with your mums... I think I've made up my mind to live like my MIL. I stay with her and my FIL. BUT I got to do every thing myself and buy all the grocery and food stuff and electrical appliances. I even need to go do marketing for my own confinement. My MIL does not lift a finger to help out on normal days lor. So next time if any of my kids going to stay with me, they are expected to do the same. I'm not going to be the maid for them... heheheee...

Interrace,
don't know what's wrong with them lor. really suckers lah. the best is don't agree to let them move in...

Share something to give bored mummies a little laugh:

Yesterday i was browsing the taka food fare w my girlfriend. saw some organic products n decided to take a look, thot maybe can buy some organic snacks for evie. so i was looking, looking..tasting tasting. my girlfriend said to me "buy for your daughter la"....then suddenly the salesgirl behind the counter said to me "SHE IS YOUR DAUGHTER? (pointing to my friend who is the same age as me 28 yrs old!!!)...i was stunned for a moment, i thought to myself, is she asking if i had a daughter or is my friend my daughter?? then she said again " THIS IS YOUR DAUGHTER??" at this point i concluded she was an idiot and replied sacarstically "THIS is my daughter??" while pointing to my friend (whose jaw is now hanging open cos she also cannot believe what the salesgirl is asking!)

then another salesguy who overheard her started to shush her to shut-up. i swear she was still clueless as to why the guy was telling her to keep quiet. i think she really thinks my friend is my daughter!!

WAH LAU!! dunno wanna cry or laugh...im still bewildered lor!...so i look 40?? or my friend looks 10?? what the hell man...

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
Manymany thanks!! Shall see u this Sunday! SMS the time k? Generally between 2.30-5pm is gd

<font color="#CD3278">Pinky</font>
Gotta decorate the venue ourselves.. But she might be able to do it, prob at a cost. You may want to confirm if the BP organiser has such a service

<font color="#CD3278">gayle</font>
Haven't seen u ard in a while!!

Man, the woman is prob not thinkign right.. I've seen u fr a distance, no way you look like a mum to an adult.. What utter nonsense!

hi Pinky,

think you can check with BP organizer if they have slot to do for you. I am engaging terror baby and she is offering to do it.

But if you are having the event at hotel, you need to check with hotel on the constraint. Cos i host my son full month party at a hotel and they are very strict abt not able to put up banners or such in the ballroom. I can only bring in floating balloon and balloon bouquet. So you might want to check with your hotel before ordering the banner

gayle,
The salesgirl must be stupid or something! Or is she blind ?

Medusa,
High five ! Adel is also chin-lay learning Malay. Do you children have chinese names ? Adel has a Chinese name following my surname
cause I dun want Chinese teachers to anyhow translet his name into Chinese lor...

Pinky,
My son also wake up to drink water.... i am waiting to see when he will stop waking up ! That is better rite ?

Aug Baby bash
talking about it, its 15 days away liao! fast leh!

Val,
tomorrow you go foto shoot, remember to post some for us to see. i also should book a date liao, think its up to sept right?

my last post for the night before i sleep.

interrace / rona,
for those people who sponge off, sooner or later if they hv their own home, they sure cannot cope one. Cos all along got somebody do it for them.

I won't say I'm 100% proficient in all the household chores but at least I can say that I can take care of baby well enough. As for household chores, I guess I will have to learn once the time comes. At least now that hb and I are living out on our own, he is being trained to buy groceries etc and help out w taking care of the baby. Which is better than his BIL and wife who probably are in their comfort zone with everything done sui sui for them, they no need to worry abt the mundane routine chores.

One day should PILs not be around, I just wonder how they gona cope.

rona,
Keep my fingers crossed that my girl is co-operative. Brought her toys and some snacks to get her attention. Hope to get good shots.

I duno how long the package is valid till but I wanted to do one before her 1st bday anyway.

gayle,
long time no see. too bad we didn't manage to catch each other at my mum's place and your ILs' place. I think that salesgirl damn slow lo... C'mon you definitely don't look old. Is that salesgirl some mei mei who's still schooling?

Maybe she thought you're quite young, like when back in Sec school, we used to "play families", like I will call classmate A my "sister", classmate B my "daughter" etc... That used to happen in my sec school though I'm not part of it.

megan,
u going to the bash? Chevelle can see Titus, one of her fellow 080808 kakis... haha

val,

u live with in-laws or in your own home? well, i guess if your BIL and family want to "invade" your hb's room, nothing much he can do also if your hb has "moved out" of his home. but if you're living with your ILs, then it would be quite ridiculous for your BIL to invade your hb's room!

fae,

i also think it shld be first come first serve. wah lau, dunno why SIL has to give birth so close to mine. we all thought she would never have a kid coz' she was trying for so many years and is quite old already. then suddenly she became preggie and therein starts my nightmare.

Val

no time no see u.

so much PIL prob ar. I think better dun go often loh. coz in the end, ur maid busier there.

Interrace,

mine still have nite feed. Can wake up at nite to hug me or put her head on my body n sit next to me to sleep. hahaha!!

go for the 2nd one. xin ku one shot then wait long then have another one. they learn better with siblings too.

rona, celyn,
Thanks. All schools has got Phase 2A2 right? I remember last time in the forum someone mentioned that one of the good schools does not have sure get in even though is old boy/girl. Not true i suppose.

For #1, I think i am quite slack. The only thing I do with him is to read him bedtime stories and that's all I can afford time for.

For Kai, he gets the other little time when #1 is not hogging me. Poor thing.

Celyn

Bb M is still same. she plays with her food. Bread will tear into small piece n pass back to me to feed her!! or she will take one n feed herself, then the rest will press n press.

Once I put her in highchair n a bowl of her food, she play like fireworks n whole face, body all her food!! Wahahaha!!

In the end.... rashes. :p due to her allegries.

shint

I am the one. coz hv frds sending them to NYPS as alumin.......... but all din get in. plus if u join the alumin, must see when u join,what hv u done when u were in sch, what have u contribute after grad til nw, etc.

but maybe these few years... nt popular, so dun hv this prob anymore?

Sylvia,
u mean that even Alumni oso din manage to get in? but I tot the other mommies here say got no quota ... then how come can't go in leh?

So u mean as Alumni oso must contribute but what constitues contribution that they are satisfied with? I understand that one must sign up some time much earlier before the child is due for registration ... got deadline one.

So did your friends sign up as Alumni after the deadline? and how many of your friends din get in? or was it a super baby boom period?

Dun tell me I got to start signing up and do volunteer work ....

Shint,
Phase 1 is for siblings in same school
Phase 2A1 is for alumni members - got join for at least a year to be counted, however, different shcool got different criteria.
Phase 2A2 is for old boy/old gals.
Up to this stage, usually you can get in, no quota set - meaning if there are 100 old boy/gal all the 100 can get in if there are vacancies.
The balance vacancy from this Phase is then divided to 2 - half for 2B and half for 2C.
2B is for PV, huey guan, grassroot leaders etc. those witin 1km will have priority for getting a place.
2C is for kids with no relation with the school. kids staying within 1km got priority again.

Sylvia,
could your friend mean they are Parent Volunteer of NYPS? For NYPS, you have to write in to apply to be a PV. You will have to tell the sch how you can contribute to the school etc, and do at least 80 hours of PV to qualify for the phase 2B. and the worst part is if the no of vacancy is less then the no of PV, those within 1km will confirm get a place, the left overs will have to be balloted. I think your friend is a PV and couldn't get a place in the school cos they are not within 1km from the school.

thanks rona.
still don't get what's the difference between Phase 2A1 and 2A2?

cos if can get in 2A2 then why need to become Alumni members? and if Alumni members, pay $$. Does that means got to contribute (ie like a volunteer) also?

Now hubby says he needs to sign up as Alumni ... but prob not so soon ... then prob I have to go do those volunteer work is it? *Sigh.

If can dun do volunteer work then good cos I oso dunno where to find time. If must, then bo bian.

morning mummies

sylvia,
heheh.... at least baby m will pass back to you to feed. yu ze will just throw everything on his high chair table on the floor. so not going i need to clean him up, hubby need to clean the floor. usually after 5 mins or less, i give up and start feeding him.

rona,
i only just saw your sms. the eye clinic i go is in ang mo kio but they have lots of branch. i think its under mt e.