(2008/08) Aug 2008

mrs teng/ cat,

is there egg in bread? i tot dun have, as i dun rem my bro putting in egg when he baked his bread last time. i haven't intro egg to jonah yet leh.

mrs n,

u're really adventurous! curry?!? i won't dare to give that to jonah yet. already he has problems digesting spinach. am going to try for the 3rd time when he's 10 mths old. if still can't stomach it, will save that for when he's one year old. btw, how old was D when u intro toast with butter to him?

Timmin
Re: CLAPPING

Haha.. so cute. My D claps.. but he slaps one palm against the underside of his other forearm!! Super funny.

Re: DRINKING FROM STRAW

Hee.. what a coincidence!! D also started drinking from Pigeon's Mag Mag cup late this week! We recently discovered that the underside of his Tommee Tippee sippy cup was covered with algae!! Super gross.. (wonder how much of bacteria he has already ingested!!) so we threw it away and bought this new Mag Mag cup. He took abt 10mins to get the hang of sucking from the straw.

Agree.. he drinks more with the straw

wendy
haha..ur D so cute!

eeekkkssss...algae! thank God D's got a strong gut to digest all of it and is ok! hee...
me using mag mag now too. it's so cute to see them trying to figure out how to drink from the straw.

Timmin
Ya.. haha.. actually the algae was on the inside of the sippy cup spout! Good thing my hb spotted it.. otherwise.. dunno how long more we would have given him water in that!!

So what other cool meals has E had lately?

History

Cheril did not poo until I gave her the insertion, no choice lor... She 'gak' until very poor thing.. Maybe tml I'll give them one more serving of watercress. See how it is lor.

Yuuri

No need to be my neighbour lah, stay somewhere near can liao. The other option is trying making the food yourself

Krex

Some bread dun have eggs one. Those you see from BreadTalk and Four leaf usually have eggs. Eggless ones are almost whiteish in color. So got to be very careful when you buy it. But dun have to worry, like I've said, the amount is very significantly small compared to an whole egg lor.

Aphrodite

Maybe your baby has stuffed nose, so very difficult to breath and drink at the same time. Like that very uncomfortable lor. Cheril's been thru that when she was 2 months old, was taught to use Sterima nose spray and use nasal decongestor to suck out the muscus before giving her medicated nasal spray. Den after the spray takes effect, the nose will be slightly cleared. Quickly give milk lor.

Vern

Tried making cupcakes again. Took me a long time but quite satisfied with some of them. Glad that I can finally do the imprint liao. Here's some pic.

This's one of my favourite ~ Green Theme

2491346.jpg

Purple theme

2491347.jpg

Stacked on Cupcake stand

2491348.jpg

Plain base ~ Don't quite like it leh!

2491349.jpg

krex,
yah like what sylvia said, my bb J has been taking jiam tou roti for long time already. and he likes the crispy hard skin... heheheee.. but hor, got to give water after that because eating the crust is kinda heaty.

Teeth
bb jerold now has 6 teeth! he luo nua luo nua and then suddenly two more teeth sprouted out from below - one at each side of the two teeth he already had.

<font color="#CD3278">Cat</font>
U're right, today we kept repeating &amp; prompting her to clap..
I think she likes bread quite a fair bit, coz quite fragrant..

<font color="#CD3278">MrsTeng</font>
Wah, u used the suppository on Cheril? Eeew, i hate it.. I used to get it fr my dad

*drools* the cupcakes look really pretty.. Like yuuri, i also want to be ur neighbour leh.

<font color="#CD3278">Timmin</font>
I can only heave a sigh of relief tt she can finally clap, no matter how funny, at least i know she can clap liao.. hahah (note the desperation here)

Singapore Bakery ah? Okieokie, let me go check it out.. My find other hidden gems there!

<font color="#CD3278">Wendy</font>
D is so cute!! What interesting way he claps!

How's his rash now?

Tigg3r

wow wow wow... I am at a lost for words... the candies are from BIY? the wilton ones?

LOVE THE cupcakes stand!

The imprint is very pretty.... fondant as the base? and the sides are piped? hahaha so many qs... wah u make me very excited lei.. I shall go on Thu to check it out!

Wendy,
Wow, D can sip sip already? i also have the mag mag cup ready, but my bb J not ready yet. will try maybe next week lah. he suddenly got a few milestone... so got to rest a bit lah. hahahaaa

Vern

Yeah! should go check it out.

Candy flowers and Butterflies are handmade (not from Wilton or BIY ~ I made my own Gum paste to make the flowers.

Sides are piped.

Imprint on fondant are painted with royal icing mixed with colors.

Like this Cupcake stand because can use for other purposes like putting fruits, canapes or tea treats. This is definitely better den those wired cupcake stand where you can only put cupcakes lor.

History

Yeah! some just don't like those stuff lor.

I had to use if after my delivery, can't my c-section wound is so painful until I dare not use too much strength to push when I poo. Scared that my incision will tear lor. So now, I can understand how Cheril felt lor. She cry until very poor thing leh.

Rona

My maids and my neighbours helped me with the cakes. My hubby also bring it to office for his colik to try.

Mrs Teng,
aiyoh, i really got to move to be your neighbour. or maybe i be your hubby colik?
yuuri and sylvia, next time we should take turns to go Mrs Teng's place to pick up her leftovers!

Mrs teng,

Wow...you can open a bakery liao.

But strange thing is he will drink water, not milk. For the entire day today, he only drink around 6 oz. Really heartpain to see him like that.

Tomorrow bringing him to PD again..see how it goes.

aphrodite

Yeah! better bring him see PD. Just as long as he's drinking water, should be ok lor. Just make sure he gets his Calcium on from his solid. Lots of fluid will keep him hydrated.

Cheril also drink very little milk, porridge also very little. Absolutely not water at all. That's why she's so easily constipated.

krex
like that mr teng said bread without eggs are usu more white in color. These are the basic white bread no eggs no milk. I prefer to give that to bernice. Cos I dont intend to start eggs as yet irregardless if its just a small fraction.

rona,

what's jiam tou roti? french loaf is it?

timmin/ wendy,

were your bbs drinking from spout b4 going on to straw? jonah doesn't like spout at all. think becoz the water doesn't really flow out. tried it myself and it's quite irritating to drink from the spout actually. so most of the time, we spoon feed him water after meals. if he needs to drink in between meals, he drinks from a bb cup. i think he's trying to imitate us adults so he insists on drinking from cup, though half of the liquid falls out of course. now dunno whether to try straw cup or not, or just let him learn how to use the toddler plastic cup. i've wasted quite a lot of money getting those spouts and sippy cups. dun feel like buying a straw cup only to find that he doesn't like to drink from there either.

Tigg3r
Well done on the handmade flowers/butterflies. How to make gum paste? Did you use the new fondant or the phoon huat one? looks yummy yummy!

Am very inspired to bake this week keke... AND to go BIY!

Any remedies for cough besides medicine ?? Adel coughing very long already. Gets very bad at night, about 3 am... cough for an hour and cannot sleep till 4 am last night. Very worried leh, going see PD at night tomorrow cause so busy at work ... sigh..

Mrs Teng,
So whereabouts you stay ah? Your cupcakes are so pretty!!! haha..I come and rummage your leftovers..kitchen stuff I really cannot make it. I nearly burnt down the kitchen trying to microwave a frozen pizza!?!?

Aphrodite,
I faced the exact same problem with my son a week ago!! I see he not drinking, kan cheong send hospital for drip. To check for dehydration, check to see if bb has tears when crying and if lips are wet. If both ok, then baby's well hydrated...and doctors will not be v bothered.

Happy_mummy,
Last time heard people say can rub ru yi oil on baby's feet and cover with socks overnight. But I tried on Kes, didn't work :p Maybe can try rubbing vicks vapour rubs on Adel's chest?

Nite mommies....

waiting hb's flight to take off - fm home :p... Yup, He's on trip again for 2 weeks... Haizzzz

Me in n out forum cos bit tied up with a sick bb n myself now bit better liao

Rona
Congrats !!! yay bb J crawling.... busy time ahead :p

Hisstory
Nice Ashley can clap liao... the way u describe farni leh heheheh

Wendy
Wahhh Power !! D learn to use a straw in 10 min only ??? So smart...

Krex
Me too been giving bb N bread long time ago, no preferance.. whatever we eat :p

Celyn
Great u r ok now
next time got karaoke event like Jio me uh... I also like to go.... good exposure 4 bb :D

Yuuri
Huahahhaha.. farni... wanna kill whining hb uh ? :p but good 2 hear all has recovered

Tigg3r
Wow.... me very late just login now n seeing all the yummy yummy cakes n bread.... I stay quite close with u lehhh :p next time can I b ur guinea pig ? hihhihi

Ruixuan
Phew..... good SL is ok now...

Aphrodite
me just finished this matter... my bb also couple of days ago didnt wanna drink her milk, prefer water. least urs still like his solid, mine not !! many days diapers mostly still dry cos no proper pee... But lucky me, she still wakes up in the nite so I fed her only that time, diluted to make sure she has more water intake also bought Karvol vaporizer to help her with the blocked nose...Wanna try Sterimar as mommies' sugg here but got no time to really go n find it ..
Now she's better , appetite increased ( need 2 gain back the lost weight :p ) but if she coughs during her drink, she'll stop totally dunna the rest of the milk....

Happy mummy
Heard abt Lo Han Kuo but dunno it's really good or not...

Mrs Teng your cupcakes look too good to eat!!! So sayang to end up in stomach. Should be on permanent display in your house it's such a work of art.

Krex I started D on buttered toast when he was 6.5 mths. Hee! Hee! I think D could be used to the spice as he's probably had loads of curry flavoured and chilli flavoured BM.
Anyway the curry is very mild taste more of chick peas with a hint of yogurt. Did you give Jonah just spinach on its own? Maybe it could be too much?

mrs n,

1st time gave spinach with cereal. 2nd time gave spinach with porridge. portion abt the same as when we use some other veg like chye sim or broccoli. this time will try again and put in porridge. if no prob, will try spinach rissoto, heehee.

Good Morning mummies!

Yesterday let Allivier tried nyonya Kuih, she love it.... but dare not gave too much bcos got coconut milk....

Mrs Teng
Your Cup cake look delicious!

morning mummies
yesterday was sooooo hot day. went sg flyer cos i wanted to eat popeye fried chicken. abit disappointed cos like not very fantastic lei.. then hb say since come already must take the flyer. so went for 1 round. so hot the weather.. the aircon inside also not strong enough... then went carrefour cos wanted to buy baby food... wah.. super crowded. wrong day to go !! never go on a sunday. came back and brought bernice swimming.. she loved it so much. laugh soooo loudly in the pool splashing water at her daddy. hahaha. hb tried to splash water at me to make her laugh but no reaction, then she pat the water very hard to splash on her daddy and kena his face, then she laugh and laugh.. hahaha... revenge !!!

happy mummy
like what ling said can give luo han guo but only one small bit and dilute with lots of water... if u trust TCM go EYS and buy the hong ning powder and give adel. Bernice took 3 bottles and it was ok already. each bottle i split into 2 times, morning and night after meals and give with some apple juice cos afraid bitter. but apparently she took it very well.

mrs teng,
u went to seah lau on sat? i was there on friday..maybe seah was refering to my boy coz his name is quite close to krex's boy. hee..or krex was there too?
btw, ur cupcakes look divine!

celyn,
ouch crack nipples, do take care..seems like reali enjoy the concert

happy mummy,
maybe want rub vicks on the feet and wear socks to sleep? tat time ger like tat doc also say cough medi oli relieve not cure, eventually got to fight through own immune system

mrsteng,
delicious yummy looking cupcakes...

vone, mel,
me also satying nearby meybe can meet up and have a cuppa coffee?? hehe

ruixuan,
how is SL? hope will recover soon..now a lot of bb fall sick...

hi mrs teng...now is my son's turn to constipate after diarrhea for 1 week...sigh! But i dont dare to let him try watercress after his surgery...

for barley, what type u use? The ayam brand (the tin ones) can?

Ur cupcakes look so pretty....next time when ur gals are abit bigger, u can set up online baking and start selling...can be wedding favors!

vanilla,
must use the chinese ones. get from market or chinese medicine hall, ask for chinese barley. They are bigger then the normal holland ones.

wendy
hmmm...didn't try much new stuff this week. hee... tho i tried semolina again. and this time, he took to it! hee... and i tried couscous. and he ate it too. yay!

yesterday...he didn't really wanna eat for all his meals. sigh...

krex
yah...i was using the mag mag spout b4 straw. when i 1st intro-ed straw, E didn't figure it out. sometimes, got to just keep trying every few days. and the 1st staw cup i gave him, it was quite tall...so got to suck more and it was more difficult for him. so i changed to the mag mag one and it's shorter and suck lesser. might be easier for them now till they're a lil' older.

Halo Mommies!
#1 enjoyed the Kids’ Run yday so was thinkg to enroll both gals next year! =P

Ruixuan,
SL better now? Sat and Sun the sun was so strong!!! Brgt Mae swimming and then yday the run, hopefully she will be ok lor…

Valnsw,
Glad your hb is starting to help out more with Chevelle…enjoy your new place!

Celyn,
Haha, I will let Mae sleeps later on Fri/Sat but also not too late lah, maybe 9pm+ but I think her internal clock tuned to 8pm+ must konk liao so cannot tahan anymore…hahaha…yday I woke her up at 7am to bathe her as need to go for the Kids’ Run…she was so blur and grouchy coz still wana sleep…heehee

Hisstory,
Nice to have good shopping loot hor? Yaya, I chanced upon their sale last weekend but didn’t get anything coz just bought a top there the week before…luckily the top I bought not on sale…hahaha

Congrats on Ashley clapping! Now Mae will clap when we sing “If you are happy and you know it…”…very cute!

Crawling – Leopard crawl, dun worry, Mae does that more often and my mom said some kids just leopard crawl instead of their 4s…

Mrs Teng,
Your cupcakes are so PRETTY!

Mel,
I let Mae swims for abt 30mins max now…after that, she slept for almost 3hrs…hahaha...ideal timing is when the water is warm but which is also when the weather is hot (afternoon)...

Von,

i'm staying in Yishun too.. I saw u mentioned Northpoint in ur blog &amp; i guess u probably stay around this area.....

May be can jio Shirley out together lim kopi.... of cos, bring with along Janelle

M2b;
Thks, i'm the kuku mommies still hesitate when to bring my ger to swimming....

Tomorrow will be my 5th wedding anniversary!
Any recommendations for a nice and romantic place for lunch? DH and I hardly have 'couple time' since we entered parenthood...

Vanilla_Pod

Not sure the Ayam brand barley is Pearl barley or Chinese Barley. I use Chinese and boil until it is broken, Say about 45 mins will do. Cooking barley too long will make it very heaty... How you tell is by looking at the urine. Clear means okay, yellow means heaty. Make sure you dilute with water for the first try.

Alternatively, Try apple juice or prune juice.

Reirei

Yes, I'm making my gals' birthday cake. Also be doing daddy's father's day cake too and our up coming wedding anniversary. And thanks for the link you have given, that a good place for me to get ideas. Thanks very much!

Mel_Ocean, M2B, Mrs N, Yuuri, Shirley, Celyn, Ling

Thanks for the compliment about the cupcakes. Haha! maybe when we have the birthday bash on 1st August, I might make send some over.

Missysz

Oh! you went there on Friday hah? They showed you my gals picture issit? They were mentioning about someone who knows me but can't recall the name of hand.

Vern

Gum paste can be made as follows:

1 tbsp Gum-tex
4 cups icing sugar
1 heaping tbsp glucose
4 tbsp warm water

The recipe is actually printed on the back of the Gum-Tex tin. Very easy to follow. Get it from BIY

Krex

If you want to avoid eggs for the first year, then you better avoid those bread with eggs and Pasta tooI Regardless of what kind of Pasta it may be, Sphagetti, Star Pasta or Alphabet Pasta, all these uses egg in making them.

mel ocean
i usu go in the evening.. 5+ depending on the sun actually. lately the sun is setting later. usually for about 30mins, my hb will check once we see her fingers crumple we will go.

Cat

Thks! Seem like bernice enjoy her swimming....
see this coming Saturday's weather, if good(hopefully) sure bring allivier try it out.... don't know she'll like it or not....

thanks rona and mrs teng - just bot some china barley.. will boil them tom and let little boy try...me being ks also bot puree prune...

Mrs teng - is it ok to give chye sim leaves given what he has gone thru? But i cannot find organic ones..just bot those from China...

Mommies who got dissapointed on mother day...

Father's day coming... any idea what shall we do that day so they will feel even pai seh have neglected us ? *evil grin* heheheh

mommies,

after boiling the vege/chix/pork stock for bb's food..the pot of stock will be v hot so can't keep in the fridge immeidately right? will the stock spoil if i let it cool for 2-3 hours? what do u gals do? TIA!