(2008/08) Aug 2008

Sylvia,

Busy marking today. Exams period lah ....

Anyone want to share diaper ??
See the link :

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2440702.html?1242019281

If share more than 5 packets of huggies will be cheaper. I can help collect all the orders and then you guys can collect at my place or somewhere central. Dun dare buy too many as scared Adel may outgrow M size and I have about 5 packs of L already !

Mashmellowm,
How to make cheese sauce for baby ??

Mommies, celyn, ruixuan, rona, june,

me so so busy ....
hairgrowth. yea, it's growing quite abit, dunno it's natural or becos of the tonic. My hubby used but nothing happened, he change to another brand ... i think his hair toor dead oredi. ha.

my baby hair was growing oredi when i used it n i think it might help to make it grow faster ...
i am using both the day and nite one.

Pics ... so low resolution, i nearly go blind .. so i agar agar and pick lor. For the group pic, no choice cos Kai only in one pic and he looks like he's boxing another baby. oops.

Din quite like the hanger one ... dun look vv natural.

the rest of the pics,i think Kai dun look vv nice.

Ruixuan, how much u pay for extra pic?

Not really interested cos i am going for another shoot by Aug ... so can get better shots ba.

*sigh ... damn busy, dunno when i can go for the next gathering! or even online to chat. Now that I have stopped BFing officially ... no reason to log on! maybe i should start again hor? ;)

Still managed a 120ml 2 days ago. And yes, until now ... hmm. prob no more liao.

hashisan,
sorry i forgot to reply u.read the forum briefly ... scan for my nick ... but no time to reply.

me still alive and kicking ,.. but damn busy leh.

shint,
finally see you here. you must be super busy. take care. i think i might have to stop bf soon too. down to 3 pump a day, hoping to drag till yu ze turn 1. 3 more months to go.

finally log in now.. thread seems to be moving quite slowly today.

rona
neck still aching. but better. went for massage yesterday. dono that guy good or not. now still applying the medicated plaster.

krex
bernice eating bread everyday.. every morning she will have like 1/2 slice of bread. we just put small pcs onto her bowl and she helps herself while i eat bfast and read newspaper.. and of cos log in to forum. hahaha

i've given bernice tomatoes too. i cook in the porridge.

mrs N
D is so cute.. i'm going to start bernice on self feeding veg soon too.

YLN
i use claypot for porridge too. but recently i bought a bernas pot cos the claypot cover broke. so probably will switch to that soon. but will also get a tianyu 1.5L to standby. Waiting for the isetan pte sale. only $28 + 15%. normal price is $42.

april
u try and tell us good or not

logging in after a long day and super long wkend in terms of running errands here and there.

Hope u all had a gd Mothers' Day.

Just quickly scan thru.

M2B,
That's a great present that Mae gave u. U must be over the moon ya? ;)

Mrs Teng,
Gd to hear your twins are recovering. Don't worry abt Cheril not loving u. My girl also doesn't give me much reaction when I say bye to her before I go out. haiz...

Catherine,
Looks like Bernice bit u v painful, can see the bitemarks.

celyn,
Saw your videos in FB, am amazed that he can self-entertain. haha. So his quarantine at your home officially over liao right?

hisstory,
Hope by now u're ok liao. Take care ya! I also kena sick, spread over the last 2 weeks.

Anyway, just to rant, I'm so unhappy yday.

First, hb nvr did anything for Mothers' Day. Fine, I knw we're busy doing stuff for the new house, but still saying Happy Mothers' Day is gd right? Nvr say.

Then, before we went out to run some errands, he commented that what I wore was auntie. WTF??? I'm wearing casual but it's not auntie lo. It's those thin cottony top w some tie-ribbon at the front. So I retorted back at him and said, u think u v young meh, u uncle already. Then he knew to shut up. Though I retorted back at him, I felt kinda hurt that he said that, and made me feel damn unappreciated.

Then, went to ILs' place for him to pick up his mails. I didn't go in. But anyway, some 1-2 hrs later while we were looking at furniture, his parents called and asked if wana hv dinner out. I ok. So go back to ILs' place since nearby.

As I went in, I realised his room had this mattress w ABC mat. I was so bloody angry. Those were his niece and nephew's stuff in his room. The day before, I knew that his parents were going to temporarily use his room, cos they were gona fix the roof that was leaking according to him. BUT I did NOT expect that it was his bro's kids' things in there. I was so unhappy, I totally showed black face while we were out eating.

After eating, his dad mentioned that he asked hb's grandma to move in stay with them cos she just got discharged after being hospitalised (Ya, I was there to visit w hb last week at TTSH during the height of the swine flu). But hb's grandma didn't want. Then I immediately said can just hire a maid to help take care of her, and mentioned that she prob wld be more comfortable and familiar w her own home. I even quoted my grandma's case when she was down w stroke.

Reason why I said that cos I knw the moment his grandma moves in, most probably hb's room will be sacrificed, means the 2 kids will shift into his room. so that they can vacate the room downstairs for hb's grandma. Cos old people cannot go up and down the stairs, so she cannot take the room upstairs, means the 2 kids prob hv to vacate from their room downstairs right?

Right up to now, I'm still pissed w hb. He said he got a new bed to replace the one in his parents' house, so that can switch that one to our new home. I was so against it, cos it doesn't make sense to move old bed to new home and put the new one in his parents' home which we hardly sleep in.

And knw what? He can bloody give the reason that the new bed not delivered cos the headboard he hasn't chosen yet?!?!? He thinks I'm some 3-yr old kid?

Anyway, had a huge argumt w hb on this matter. He said it's temporary. I told him why can't the kids sleep w their parents (aka his younger bro & wife).

This whole thing makes me feel like his parents and him set the whole thing up like that.

Cos I kept telling him, he better stand for his rights, else his room will be taken. He always said he told his parents but yday i retorted, he keeps saying it's temporary, but what if becomes permanent that the room is for them?

Sorry for the long rant but am super unhappy and pissed off.

Ya and the worst part is, he still pay for the meal while we were outside. I didn't even get to celebrate Mothers' Day with my own mum and yet hv to spend it w ILs.

Cos the whole afternoon was out. But well, I managed to get a cake and brought it back in the afternoon.

valnsw,
yah yah, quarantine over liao. hehehe.....

'hugs' don't get too upset. man are like that, everything also 'qing cai' and say temp only. sometimes they didn't think further on the issues.

<font color="#CD3278">val</font>
Many thanks for your concern.. I think I'm finally feeling better today. The whole long wkend was spent doing work &amp; resting.. I had fever, gastric flu &amp; then came down with a allergy to sthg, broke in rash all over.. Sianz!!

*hugs* Hope your hb wld come to his senses sooner.. Maybe he doesn't see the need for his rm anymore at his parents' place?

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
Wow, the sauce sounds yummy oredi.. I need to find the time &amp; energy to do so when the sch hols arrive

heehee

hashishan,
Glad to hear u're doing great in your job. Ganbatte ne!

celyn,
I duno if he's qing cai or he's bluffing me. This is not the first time that got something fishy alrdy. I'm so tired of arguing with him. Even the reno part, when what I said makes sense, he also doesn't believe until that thing that I say will happen, actually happened.

hisstory,
The point is, I don't like the idea that his room is being "invaded" by other people, especially his younger bro's kids. I mean c'mon, they alrdy hv a home of your own, why still cling on to ILs and be a leech?

I understand that mb they still want ILs to look after their kids but if they hv their own home, they shd just move out and not encroach into their other siblings' rooms.

Valnsw

Sounds like your HB is getting old liao.. I agree that it doesn't make sense to buy a bed to put in his parents house n use an old one for the new house... It's probably as good as saying he's buying it for his younger brother's kids to use during the day when the room is not occupied..

Forget about fighting over the room thing... it'll only make you angry lor... If hb thinks it okay to forgo room, den let it be... Look forward to your new house... Set some house rules so that your in-laws does not stick their neck in.. Be firm to your hb.. tell him no babysitting of his younger brother's kid in your house.. Tell him your PIL got no say in whatever is done in your house.. Do let them "Ba Zhan" your nest, ya!

Mommies

The thing about "Mother's Day"... it is especially so for those first time mum that yesterday is one of the most important day, just like First Wedding Anniversary... We kind of expected it to be good... I guessed... but chances are it turn out really bad..ya... Lesson learnt, dun expect too much lor...

As for me? I didn't expect much from my hubby... He asked me what I wanted and I replied..."It something you can't give me"... He instantly knew what I'm referring to... "Cheril's Love". Daddy just wished me a Happy Mother's Day... we had the cupcake that I made.. And that's it! But what hurts me most is Cheril... She refused to let me carry her.. In fact, the whole day I shed tears secretly when she ignored me so many times... This is probably the most memorable Mother's Day I'll be remembering... Cause it hurts sooo badly...

Dad took me out for a spin in the car and let me buy my baking supplies to distract me from the thoughts of Cheril... He told me to do what I like lor.. Today, he stayed home just to keep me company.. Appreciate it sooooo much.

Am i right that your BIL still has his rm at ur ILs place? Then tt room shd suffice leh.. Unless ur bro has decided to convert into a kids room for Chevelle &amp; his nieces/nephews, the space shd still be his.. Unless he is really super qing cai.. Hmm

<font color="#CD3278">MrsTeng</font>
*HUGS* I hope things with Cheril will improve really soon.. Ur hb's really sweet!! You shd think of these little happy things to make urself feel better k?

mrs teng,
Hugs. i knw how it feels. You feel hurt when u are unappreciated like that right? Haiz, sometimes I don't elicit that kind of response that I hope from my girl that she shows to her daddy or grandparents. Sigh what to do.
I only hope one day she will be more responsive to me.
Actually end of the day, as long as my girl's happy and healthy, that's gd enough for me too.

Ya, no way am I going to help babysit them. That's what my mum was afraid of, if I were to stay with ILs.

U know what? The day we went to clean up the new place w our maid, ILs came over and esp FIL comment this and that, and directed his comments at me as if I'm the one who decided the design of the house. So super pissed w him.

hisstory,
hb's younger bro still has his room and he has the masterbedroom in the whole house.
Sorry, didn't get your 3rd statement "Unless ur bro has decided to convert into a kids room for Chevelle &amp; his nieces/nephews, the space shd still be his.. "
Ermz, the room is hb's in the first place, his bro should not hv the right to decide whether to convert his room into anything.

To be frank, if ILs decide they wana convert hb's room for other things, we also LL cos it's ILs' house. But hor, like that, then I won't want to go back liao. There's no place in ILs' house for us to go back.

Val
*hugz*

Yah.. i agree with what Mrs Teng's saying.. New bed for new house...

But hor, maybe ur hubby already get used to his old bed..,. the smell and mattress... you gotta to commumicate with him....

but ur new place.. u need to be firm with ur hubby, and others, etc ... PIL and even Nieces and nephews when they visit ur place... or in case they lodge in ur place.

Must communicate and put some rules and regulation with hubby

Val,
Hugs ! I also think dun fight so much about the room. But your hubby say you auntie, i think it is not right lor ! Should just ignore him !

Mrs Teng,
HUGS 2 ! I think your hb's really nice ! That is the best mother's day present a father can give isn't it ? =D

Mrs teng
ur ah lao very good leh..

My SL is very sticky to me on Mother's Day, refused others to carry him
but other day he is okie with everyone.. *strange boy*

Make me have a tired Mother's Day

History

Thanks very much... yeah! I'm trying my best lor.. I notice this whole "Cheril" thing has made me very edgy.. Just little simple things made me snap.. AM I having the Blues again? Felt similar to that of my confinement days..

RE: Preparation for my GALS' Birthday...

I'm planning to make my gals' birthday cake.. so I'll be learning how to decorate the cakes.. In a way, it also keeps me distracted from thinking too much about Cheril.

Never knew it's soooo difficult to handle fondant.. Couldn't do the one I wanted, ended up doing a simple one.. This is a small 6" mised fruit cake.. Will try again and again until I get it right..

Here's a pic of my very first cake.. Not too good but I'm pretty happy with the outcome..

2443492.jpg

Valnsw

Sometimes I wondered whether I did the same thing to my mum when I was a baby, that's why Cheril is doing this to me... I told her that she'll probably feel the same way when she becomes a mum herself.. dun think she heard me...
I realised that I probably hurt my mum when I was younger..

Aiya, in-laws are like that one... they always think we influence our HB and do things that they dun like...

I always pre-warn my HB to indicate certain things, specifically those sensitive issues.. Things that wasn't done by me better tell them... If need to claim credit, must claim... Forsee any misunderstand may occur, better state in advance.. My hb last time very qing cai one... Kena sooo many times from me... soo now he very cautious liao..

By the way, you need any ideas for your new house, do let me know... can give you my 5 cents worth ... hehehe..

Rata,
seanlau same.. before 1 yr old. So i think both sets will be pretty much the same.

Mrs Teng,
gosh! u r such a good cook! ur cake is v pretty leh and u still say not good.

Dun worry abt Cheril. Give her lots of hugs and kisses.. will melt her heart and she'll remember tt mummy loves her most.

val,
hugs* yah lor men more qing cai... until make wife vomit blood. But dun quarrel with him over this.. not worth it to hurt ur rlnship over issues over at the ILs. Have a good talk once u simmer down yah.

Hehee.. Reagan oso same as Chevelle. We say he has no 'loyalty' one. Wun cry for mummy at all.

Happy_mummy

Wah! your dad pastry chef ah! CAn introduce or not? wat to learn some pointers from him leh!
Can ask him how to handle fondant... how come always melt one? put soo much cornflour until dry up ... soo difficult to roll leh!

Ruixuan

I use the Precious moment figurine that are sold in the shop... I dun have the Kung fu to do one like that... Cake display dun have such product yet... In fact, a lot of wedding cakes uses the Precious moments' wedding couple figurines... Just got to be extra careful lor.. dun hold properly will slip and break... This one cost me $45 ...

Aor, i did ps wif cheer &amp; tears posted some pic the other time. can refer to fb for more
88 is nit all softcopy return rite?

Paiseh, am quite sei fr lack of gd sleep.. I meant unless ur hb decides, i think it's not nice even for ILs to decide what to do with the rm, inspite it being their house.. It's kind of like ur family when visiting are really guest? No room of your own..

<font color="#CD3278">MrsTeng</font>
*whistles* Very nice!! If you intend to take in orders for cakes, pls keep me in the loop.. I think i want a Precious Moments theme for Ashley's 1st bday.. heheh

Is the cake for ur hb??

Mrs Teng
u work really hard as a mother.. cooking all the nice goodies and bake ur own cake for ur 2 gals... do take photo and show them when they are older... ur 2 gals will really appreciate u, this year Mother's day, Cheril may not understand it, we wait still next year, who know they may kiss u in the morning of Mother's day.

Ur hard work will be rewarded....

Me trying to cope with work and family... so sad. working hours think of SL as i only weekend parent...

Valnsw
dun think too much of ur in law and that room... think of ur new place and it still a matter between hubby and wife... must communicate..

History

If I'm confident enuf, may consider helping friends to make the cake lor... for now... it's only practise, practise, practise..

Hehe.. the cake was initially meant for my HB... and bcos I couldn't do the design I wanted... I rope in the Precious Moment figurine meant for the Gals' birthday lor...

Hope I can do a proper one for our up coming wedding anniversary..

Mrs Teng,
You are welcomed to come to my house anytime as my dad is here all the time taking care of Adel for me while I work ! Just PM me if you need anything, cause it is always good to hear from the horse's mouth. Many of my friends have come to qing jiao him already =D

RX,
Like SL, Adel always eh eh eh ... and even EHHHHHHHHH !! in the middle of a weekday night some more. I super cannot take it at times. But what to do ? We are their mother so have to ren lor ....

Maybe he just misses you and only want you on mother's day. You should be happy that he wants you more than he wants other pp rite ? =D

Ruixuan

SL is cute in his own way, can't expect too much from him lor.. I also envious on other babies and used to compare a lot... But now, I can't be bother liao... let the gals develop at their own phase lor.. Toothless ~ let is be.. Don't want textured food ~ let it be.. Can't call mummy ~ Let it be.... But dun love me ~ I stress liao

Happy_mummy
never been harrassed by anyone before... this time is my son harrassing me.. haha

Mrs Teng
just that my colleagues labeled me as "weekend Mother" and also cannot manage own baby ~ this make me very unhappy and stress too...

cos weekday too free.. and weekend with SL, the house is upside down liao.

ruixuan / happy_mummy,
thks for your concern. seriously, i'm really pissed off w hb. he still doesn't see my points. Had too many disputes w him alrdy.
Think his room will be forgone liao.

mrs teng,
the cake looks really gd. I hv not baked for long time and i nvr baked cake before lo...

hisstory,
no worries la. think u're still tired/sick? hence the blurness hehe.

Ruixuan

How can your colleagues make such comment?

Actually, it's not that you can't handle SL leh..
I think it's bcos he only gets to play with you on weekends, that's why he let his hair loose... play all he wants when mummy is around.. that's why house upside down.. He's happy and having fun lor..

Mrs Teng..

Haha.. thanks for the encouraging...
if u really take order for cakes.. keep me in the loop too!! haha... if not, i just order a simple cake for him

wah, so many posts i can't keep up!

tks mommies for the suggestions on how to make pasta. i was reading the annabel karmal cook book just now. i think when jonah turns 10 mths, will give him pasta with broccoli + meat in cheese sauce. meanwhile, will intro tomato to his diet as well. if he likes it then will use it to make pasta sauce. if not, will try the cheese sauce recipe with cauliflower and other veg. according to recipe, can use up abt 250ml of breast milk...hmmm...what a good way to make jonah drink the milk, since he's been so fussy about milk lately!

oh, mrs n, tks for the pics. now i've an idea how i want to feed jonah finger food. btw, is the toast for brekkie and do u give broccoli as a meal or snack? i can't pack any snack time in for jonah...at least not now since he's not drinking his milk well. right now he's taking cereal or yoghurt with fruit for brekkie, porridge for lunch and western for dinner (e.g. potato puree with meat and veg). thinking when to intro those finger food for him to practice feeding himself...if i give just broccoli or carrots it's not filling enough for him and i can't include meat. oh, as for bread, i always read that wholegrain bread is good. book says dun give white bread. but seriously, i dunno if jonah can stomach wholegrain bread. it might make him poo a lot and very full till he won't eat his lunch.

val, pat pat. my mothers' day was also quite disappointing. hb didn't wish me and was quite oblivious to the fact that it was mother's day yesterday! yah, mrs teng is right, even though i thought it didn't matter, i felt sad coz' it was special since it was my first mother's day. was really hoping hb cld do something special or show some appreciation. have been feeling rather down lately coz' jonah seems not to like his mummy very much. and i feel very incompetent since i hardly do the diapering, bathing, feeding, etc. sometimes can't even handle the boy coz' he got his own character already. well, maybe i'll do something really special for father's day to make my hb feel guilty, heh.

hey mommies sorry Internet router down so can't log in tip today. Herald teething and has been crying a lot and I don't even have the chance to take my second shower of the day till 30 min ago and skip lunch cause gotta pacify distract him haiz

Krex will pm u my mobile no anytime u need it

Sylvia will pm u my mobile no and SMS me a/c details or I pass payment to u in person as I weekdays wed afternoon go compass point with herald

celyn/krex: I would also wanna herald not to play while eating but haiz very tough as he will scream thus give in to him first and slowly take away his playing and eating habit plus also thinking what can I do to make him feels relax and enjoy eating he hates to sit in highchair, station walker and roller walker. Prefers to b on the floor crawling

Have any mommies experience teething crying? Got teething gel but seems not working at all. Got 4 brands to try but still screaming and crying. Got 6 teethers plus 1 teether that looks like a pacifier chilled in freezer but he chew till his gum sore I feel and keeps crying. Fed him with ice cube and ice water just now

Any bb refuse warm water for shower? Herald lately refuse to shower with warm but cold. + any ideal the diff with allergy to cow milk and lactose intoralent?

morning mummies

mrs teng,
you really very good leh. the cake is so pretty. can order? hehehe....

valnsw,
no point arguing with hubby sometimes. just warn him that certain things will happen just that don't complain when that happens. that is what i always do to my hubby. anyway, like what hisstory mention, i'm a guest to my parents. they don't have a house, so i don't visit them. we meet outside if need to. i'm only their child when they need $$. sad right but what to do. i see open liao, won't be upset anymore.

ruixuan,
why your colleagues say that? my house is also in a mess whenever yu ze is around. this has nothing to do with weekends parents or not. just that we spend less time with them so we let them have their way more often, maybe its our compensation for 'time lost' with us.

sl eh eh cos he wants to be with you and your love. yu ze will do that also but more to hubby. hehehe....

krex you can include finger food as part of the main meal. For example if you're giving potato puree and meat, you can give vegetable as finger food or finger food as dessert i.e. Banana fingers or a biscuit. When I made marcoroni and cheese, I use FM to make the cheese sauce. Am a bit hesitant with cooking BM. Won't high temperature destroy it's properties? I'll use BM to thin the mixture though.

Hey just b'cos you don't diaper, bathe, feed doesn't mean you're an incompetent mum!

Val hugs to you. Nobody wished me too. But nevermind lah we'll survive.
No use creating war with your hubby as it'll only end up making you feel even more unhappy. You just concentrate on doing up your own place. Think cheerful thoughts.

Mrs Teng nice cake!
kao_drool.gif
You're certainly one talented lady. Don't feel too bad over Cheril I'm sure she'll get over this phase soon. Perhaps she just needs some time to recover after her tramatic experience in the hospital.

Timmin great idea to use purees as a spread!