(2008/08) Aug 2008

Good Morning, Mommies!

Sylvia,
I wish to change my order to 2 pkts with 1 container can? Thanks!...so how much is that?

Ling,
Yes, I'm so happy that Mae called me! Yday, she was calling out "ma ma" while crawling towards me...so sweet...the simple joy of motherhood.

Krex

Yes, I was the one who mentioned about it.. it's dependent on where the fishes are breed or caught.. which means destiny of the mercury, lead or any chemical in that area..

Of cos, some fishes by nature already got mercury contain in them.

Here an Chart of Mercury Level from the States... did not specify where the fishes were from... but a good sort of comparison.

http://www.cfsan.fda.gov/~frf/sea-mehg.html

Look at the mean from Table 2. for COD (0.095) and SALMON (0.014)... It's a lot of different lor... That's why I normally dun give my gals COD.. And I definitely will not give my gals TUNA (canned and light) ~ (0.118) Of cos, looking at Table 3, you can forget about giving Tuna if you are worried...

Hope that answers your questions.

Mrs Teng,

Can you advise me where to buy salmon? So what fish do you normally buy for your gals?

BTW, saw your gals' pics. They are so adorable!

Mrs Teng,
Good to know that your gals recover! at least you don't have to run up and down now. yes, from the pix, the two loss some weight, but not to worry, they will put on in no time! jia you!

giraffe,
how so when you officially stop work? can shake leg at home or not? how's your back? good also lah, now you can concentrate on the kids and your back and not to worry about work.

Cat,
is your neck better? I actually got a doc that is quite good with stiff neck - actually all parts that deals with nerves etc. not sure if you need or not. His clinic is in bukit merah area. pm me if you need.

mrs teng,

tks for sharing the chart. u also mentioned that salmon are upstream fishes or something like that, that's why mecury level not so high? sorry can't really remember what you wrote already...

oh, threadfin not in the list?

Mrs Teng
thanks for the info for the fish.. wow..
i really dunno.. i not yet started tuna yet on SL

Rona
did u buy additional for the group pic?

mommies,

anyone started bb on pasta, cheese or bread already? how do u cook it and plan it in the menu? i'm running out of items to intro to bb already...i've given almost everything on the food chart except spinach (can't digest), lamb, mutton, cucumber, etc. i read that cheese can put on toast but my son still dunno how to hold his own bread to eat, not to mention put cheese on top! as for pasta, do we cook it with fresh tomatoes? haven't intro tomato yet coz' i read somewhere that it's not too suitable till a bit older. i'm usually quite conservative so i will only intro things like eggs, nuts, kiwi, strawberry, etc. when bb turns one.

Krex,

So far i only gave my ger try bread & biscuit beside porridge. Gave apple juice & banana, at the end she "merlion"... so dare not let ger try others food. phobia...

Me like u, will give my ger egg, kiwi, strawberry & etc when she turn 1 yr old.

krex
i'm currently giving E Bellamy's Pasta Stars. u cook the pasta separately and just put sauce on it. u can put any type of puree too and serve with the pasta. i give E home cooked bolognaise sauce with the pasta. i tink tomatoes are ok and E doesn't have any problems. just de-seed them. cheese is ok too. but remember to look for those with lowest salt content.

hope tat u gals had a wonderful mother's day.
i had a good 1 coz my boy made a card 4 me. he aso gave me a hug, a kiss & said tat he loves me. totally melts my heart.

hi sylvia,
it was nice mtg u guys yday. pity tat we can't chat long coz my gal cried.

pls include my order 4 d bubble tissue. tks 4 showing it 2 me yday.

1) cat 2 pkt + container ( EAST)
2) val 2 pkts (wkday central/novena, wkend east)
3) mashmellow 2pkts (east)
4) Phyphy 2 pkt ( east)
5) blurqueen 2pkt + container (east)
6) vone 2pkt + container (east)
( EAST total: 12pkt + 3 container)

1) snow 2 pkt ( CENTRAL)
2) rona 2 pkt ( WEST)
3) m2B 4 pkts ( wkday central, wkend west)
4) happy mummy 2pkt ( west)
5) sylvia 4pkts (west)
(West total: 14 pkts)

1) queenie 2 pkts + container (punggol)
2) april 2 packets + container (sengkang)
3) Linx 2 packs + container ( Punggol )
4)hashisan 2 pkts ( sengkang)
5) krex78 2 pkts (punggol/ kovan/ city hall)
6) mulberry 2 pkt + container (Sengkang)
7) happie 2 pkt (sengkang )
(Sengkang total: 14pkt + 4 containers)

Ruixuan,
no leh. I din't have time to go through the pix. That's why i was calling you to ask you to help pick...

mel,

your bb can feed herself the bread? i haven't really tried yet. so far jonah only likes pigeon biscuits coz it can melt in his mouth. do u give bread for breakfast and what do u put on the bread? is 1 slice of whole wheat bread too much?

timmin,

do u still need to mash or puree the pasta? so i can serve with minced meat, broccoli and cheese? pasta is considered wheat so no need to test for allergy rite? which cheese is gd? can't get the low fat one rite? have u tried giving E those cube cheese that kids love to eat?

krex,
I think Threadfin is found in this region hence not on the list. salmon is an upstream fish so their omega is higher, i think. usually fishes with reflective skin has higher mercury level. But I'm not sure if we don't eat the skin will it then cut down on the mercury level?

Mrs Teng,
Any idea? Mercury level is found mostly on the skin right? how about the meat? If we don't take the skin, it should be better?

Mashmellow

I usually buy from fish monger in the wet market... that one debone... so not so troublesome..

Getting fresh one from Meidi-ya, but den again, coming from Japan waters... hummm

Sometimes, I do buy the whole salmon from Carrefore or Giant.... depending on the freshness lor.. but I dun give my babies these.. only for adult consumption.

I've not given my gals Salmon yet, so I can't really tell u where's the best.. Norwegian n Atlantic Salmon should be fine, those from English Channel? may not be too good an idea... Soo... there's no way we can really tell where the Salmon is from... So best option is to give moderate amount to babies... In fact, it's always to give in moderation to babies for any sort of fish that they can eat.. Sorry, can't really give u an good answer..

Krex

No problem, anytime got question, I'll try n help if I can...

Ruixuan

No worries! Dun give SL tuna just yet... maybe after he's older lor...

Krex

RE: Running out of idea for baby's menu
If you dun want to use pasta.... Got a softer option... Use Mee Sua!! Softer n easier to digest..

Just cut into tiny bits.. Sorry, no pic yet... Cos my gals can't take texture food just yet... Aiyo I can't wait for them to take texture food man!

Here's some idea

Ingredient:
Mee Sua (cut into small pieces)

Finely chopped minced meat (yes, those that you minced twice already... chopped further if you want it fine)
or Finely Chopped Fish

Chopped veggies of your choice (eg spinach, carrot, xiao bai cai or cabbage)

Chicken or pork stock
Ikan bilis powder (optional)

Method:

Bring stock to boil, add minced meat and boil for about 10mins
Add the chopped veggies and boil until slightly often (approx 3 mins) , if it's carrot (boil slightly longer)
Add the cut mee sua.. and boil till it soften

Note: Remember not to use too much stock if you prefer the mee sua not to be too soupy.. And if during the process of cooking, if u think it's getting too dry.. add a little water at a time..

krex78,
i have given yu ze 1 slice of white bread as breakfast without the skin part. tomato, i cook it with pasta, he also eat liao. i have given him strawberry (not often), rock melon and water melon too.

krex
no...i don't mash or puree the pasta. the stars are quite small. yup..u can serve with anything u want. as long as ur baby can take the texture.
if jonah is ok with all grains, then no need to test for allergy. i tink those kids cube cheese is catered for older kids. always look @ ingredients list before purchasing. buy the one with least sodium content. go for hard cheeses, like cheddar, parmesan etc.

Rona

You are right that those shiny skin fishes, like Tuna, Batang, Tengiri all have higher mercury den the rest of the fish.. Not too sure if avoiding the skin would help much or not.. I normally dun take skin.. hehehe..

Fishes swimming around the waters of Industrialised countries tend to ingest more chemical that were discard to the sea lor... so those fishes inhibiting in the deep waters will ingest more chemicals like mercury, lead and any other chemicals. That is why most Shellfish have higher mercury level..

Threadfin shouldn't be a problem... If I'm not wrong, should be somewhere the the same range as Groupers n Snappers.

My son today very cute.. i put him on the mattress (on the floor), any time, he move or put his hand out of the mattress, i remind him that he will fall, he will retreat...

will show u a clip..

Rona

Zucchini is the dark green skin cucumber (sometimes layman call it Japanese cucumber for making maki)

Veggie stock

Boil carrot, celery n sweet corn.. some moms put onions also

Ruixuan,
jerold too, not a lot of pics i think. how much do they charge per pix? din't know can buy back all the pic... but the pic is quite small, i also cannot see which one is better. Had a glance and that's it. told fenny to help choose for me in the end...

Krex, no la, i got to put the bread into her mouth, she simply lazy pick up anything from bowl. 1 gave her less than 1 slice cos my ger can't finish....

ruixuan,
your hubby very funny leh. cannot see well so buy back all... good one!

have you been busy? wanna pass you something...

rona,

zucchini in NTUC is yellow skin cucumber leh.

very expensive compare to normal cucumber. i rem is like $2++ each.

rona
yeah...like wat mrs teng said, zucchini is e dark green skin cucumber. there's yellow zucchini too. if u go to e supermarket, they'll label it accordingly. but i tink japanese cucumber is another type of cucumber? not sure. saw in ntuc finest that it's another type. dark green too. but looks a lil' different.

veg stock..
like wat mrs teng said
for me, i put in any type of veg. turnip, cabbage..watever. haha and boil for a couple of hrs.

timminbuzz,

oooo

din see the organic label, so like wah...... $2++

I know cucumber is consider liang stuff, but zucchini?

Mrs Teng

Thanks for the advise.

I am also cooking pasta stars for my gal. This morning i cooked it with zuichinni and tomato in cheese sauce. yummy!

krex/ mommies,

when i have no time to prepare the pasta sauce, i will just heat up some jar food-like HT's farmhouse country veget or Heinz organic butternut pilaf. Then mix with the pasta stars and voila!

went to orchard rd just now..hmm..good..not many people..wanted to reserve some clothes from isetan mphosis, but darn..they dun allow last pieces to be reserved..so prob have to go doen on thur and see got luck a not..

i bought a Tanyu claypot to boil kaer's food ..anyone using claypot? the sales person say this is good claypot (?) and no toxic stuff in it..so wont emit any ..dunno true a not also leh..

past 3-4 days..kaer has been having slight diarhorrea..a bit more watery than usual poo..and about 3-4 times a day..did throw up some milk but not alot...i wanted to bring her see dr..but not sure if should go cuz kaer seems ok...except for the diahorrrea part..no fever..maybe just wait and see...

krex first time I gave D pasta I use fresh tomatoes. But too much work lah have to remove skin. I didn't de-seed (the book I had didn't say to do it). But the next round I just use chopped tin tomatoes. Check label to see they don't have added salt. Pasta sauce for babies you don't need the whole tin just about 2 spoonfuls. I also add cheese to make pasta sauce. I use mild cheddar as it's less salty.

Besides baby pasta which is small and not necessary to mash, I've also used marcoroni which need a little bit of mashing.

For bread can't remember who told me this but it is better to use white bread rather than wholemeal for babies as it is easier for them to digest. I think it was the facilitator for the babies group I go to that told me this which is probably why the centre always serve white bread during snack time. When I first started give D toast I usually cut them up into thin strips. Easy for small hands to handle.
2442190.jpg

This was taken over a month ago. I give him bigger pieces now.

I've also started giving D broccoli and cauliflower florets to feed himself.
2442191.jpg

It can be quite messy though as he likes to play with the vege as well.

Timmin is zuchinni and courgette the same thing?

Hee! Hee! I don't make vege stock for pasta. Too lazy! I just chopped vegetable (red, green, yellow peppers, onions and garlic and whatever I can find in my fridge) and fry them in olive oil, add tomato and then blend coarsely. Grate cheese, stir into mixture and then add pasta!

mrs N
yes. i tink they're the same thing.
oh...D looks so happy feeding himself! i'm hesitant to let E feed himself cos i tink i'm not ready for the mess. heheh...but will let him take toast for brekkie tmr. i can spread fruit puree on them right?

Sylvia,
Thanks! I have transferred to you.

Mrs N,
Your D looks so CUTE!
I also let Mae self-feed at times but not when I'm lazy to clean up...heehee

YLN,
You monitor...Our PD said above 8 times diarrhea then go see him...hahaha

M2B, mel ocean
ya..i suspect could be teething..her upper teeth showing abit white white, besides the 2 upper ones that are out liao..but im thinking how can have 4 upper teeth out together? not sure the sequence..but will monitor her ..sigh..