(2008/08) Aug 2008

Thanks for all the affirmation.

Hisstory,
Did you mention the kid's clinic at Bishan ? Was it you ? Thinking of bring Adel there tonight. His normal PD, Kid's clinic at Sengkang is ridiculously long q. By the time it's Adel's turn, he sleep liao !

Catherine

Tomatoes are typically not recommended until somewhere between the 10th and the 12th month old. One reason is the issue of allergies and the other is bcos tomatoes are rather acidic and may be harsh for baby's tummy. Some parents offer babies tomatoes as early as 8 or 9 months old.

If you decide to offer tomatoes, be sure to cook the tomatoes, this may reduce the acidity and be more gentle on a tiny tummy.

Vanilla_pod

6 months is just the right time to offer solid.. You can offer your baby porridge gradually.. Some babies may not be able to adapt sudden switch from cereal to porridge. My elder gal was only 5.8kg when she was 6 months old.. dun worry, you are not alone.

What I did was the following:

Started with cereal when they were 5 n 1/2 months old.
Den added the organic bottled veggies (Heinz, Healthy Time, or Gerber) to the cereal.
Once they got used to the taste of the bottled veggie, I started giving the porridge with the same veggie. That way, they can't really tell the difference.
Subsequently, when they got used to the texture of the porridge, I begin pureeing my own veggie, adding meat to the porridge, and so on.. All these, done by religiously following the 4 day test rule. Mix n matching of veggie will depend on what babies like lor.. Hope that will help you in preparing hearty meals for your baby. (Note: Give during lunch whenever you try something new. In case baby dun like the porridge you gave, give baby cereal to top up)

I started giving them porridge when they were like 7 months old.

Celyn

Keeping food in the slow cooker should be just fine, as long as it's 70 degree and above. Anything below it can cause bacteria contamination. But serving porridge as dinner that was cooked in the morning to a baby is not my practice. My mum will scold me if she finds out.. I'm more worried that the nutrient of the veggie (eg. carrot n spinach) may have been gone after such a long hour of exposure to heat. Porridge does not work like herbal soup. Herbal soup, the longer you cook, the better it is. For porridge the longer you cook, the taster it is. If it's meat porridge, the longer it's cooked the more 'pu' the porridge but the veggie in it will be less nutritious. That's why some nutritionist suggest to put veggie last when cooking porridge.

mommies,

you have any psychiatrist/counsellor to recommend for prenatal blues? My friend got it leh, cant seem to cheer her up...

HuiCHin's Survey on What Does Your BB Wear at Home?
--------------------------------------------------

1) HuiChin's Falisha
Day: Short-sleeved/Sleeveless romper
Night: Long-sleeved sleepsuit
Bathe / washup at ard 6:30pm onwards.
Change clothes: 2/3 times

2) vone's dawn
Day: short-sleeved romper
Night: sleepsuit
Bathe at ard 7:30pm onwards.

3) celynlee's yu ze
Day: Short-sleeved/Sleeveless top and shorts
Night: same as day
Bathe / washup: ard afternoon

4) NiNi's Braiden
Day: SHort-sleeved romper (very thin kind)
Night: Same, sometimes with pants
Bathe: Twice a day
Change clothes 2/3times

5)Medusa's Darwisyah
Day: SHort-sleeved romper / Shorts with t-shirt
Night: Long pants and T shirt, if raining/cold Long sleeved sleepsuit
Change clothes 2/3times

6)catherine's bernice
day: short sleeve/sleeveless romper/tee&shorts
night: LS PJs. if raining then mothercare's sleepsuit. she doesnt cover blanket to sleep.
bathe: twice a day
change clothes: 2-3 times

7)krex78's jonah
day: short sleeve romper
night: same. only weekends sleep in aircon room with us then wear full body sleepsuit.

8)valnsw's Chevelle
night: sometimes short-sleeved romper, sometimes PJs, depending on weather.
bathe: once a day

9)Sylvia's Meredith
day: short sleeve/ sleeveless romper or dress (long enough til the diaper)
night: short sleeve with short pant/ long pant depending on the weather. ( thicker material if cold)
bathe: at ard 9.30am. If go out, then bathe when return.
change clothes: 2-3 times ( after feeding or long nap)

10) Dongle's Cayla
Night: Long-sleeved footed sleepsuit
Bathe / washup : 2 to 3 times a day
Change clothes: 2 to 3 times a day

11) M2B?s Mae
Day: Short-sleeved romper
Night: Short-sleeved rompers with long pants/Long-sleeved footed sleepsuit
Bathe / washup : Bathe once and clean up once
Change clothes: 2 times a day

12) Yuuri's Kes
Day: Short-sleeve romper/Sleeveless t-shirt with diapers
Night: Sleepsuit / Short-sleeve t-shirt with long pants
Bathe / Washup: Bathe twice and clean up twice
Change clothes: 4 times a day

13) Tigg3r's Cherilynn n Clarabelle
Day: Short-sleeve romper with shorts or footed long pants (on cold weather or when air-con is on during nap time)
Night: Footed Sleepsuits from mothercare
Bathe / Washup: Bathe in the late morning and before 6pm. Clean up with cottonball n water during every change of diapers (urine very acidic, sure get rash one)

HuiCHin's Survey on What Does Your BB Wear at Home?
--------------------------------------------------

1) HuiChin's Falisha
Night: Long-sleeved sleepsuit
Bathe / washup at ard 6:30pm onwards.

2) vone's dawn
Day: short-sleeved romper
Night: sleepsuit
Bathe at ard 7:30pm onwards.

3) celynlee's yu ze
Day: Short-sleeved/Sleeveless top and shorts
Night: same as day
Bathe / washup: ard afternoon

4) NiNi's Braiden
Day: SHort-sleeved romper (very thin kind)
Night: Same, sometimes with pants
Change clothes 2/3times

5)Medusa's Darwisyah
Day: SHort-sleeved romper / Shorts with t-shirt
Night: Long pants and T shirt, if raining/cold Long sleeved sleepsuit
Change clothes 2/3times

6)catherine's bernice
day: short sleeve/sleeveless romper/tee&shorts
night: LS PJs. if raining then mothercare's sleepsuit. she doesnt cover blanket to sleep.

7) hisstory's Ashley
Day: Short-sleeved romper/T-shirt with shorts
Night: LS romper with pants/ LS shirt with pants
Bathe: Once/ sometimes twice
Change clothes: 3times

8) Cindy's Kah Yenn
Day: Short-sleeved romper/w.w/o shorts
Night: LS romper (those cover both feets)
Bathe: Once in the morning/ clean her with water a few times depending on the weather.
Change clothes: 2-3times

9)krex78's jonah
night: same. only weekends sleep in aircon room with us then wear full body sleepsuit.

10)valnsw's Chevelle
night: sometimes short-sleeved romper, sometimes PJs, depending on weather.
bathe: once a day

11)Sylvia's Meredith
day: short sleeve/ sleeveless romper or dress (long enough til the diaper)
night: short sleeve with short pant/ long pant depending on the weather. ( thicker material if cold)
bathe: at ard 9.30am. If go out, then bathe when return.
change clothes: 2-3 times ( after feeding or long nap)

12) Dongle's Cayla
Night: Long-sleeved footed sleepsuit
Bathe / washup : 2 to 3 times a day
Change clothes: 2 to 3 times a day

13) M2B?s Mae
Day: Short-sleeved romper
Night: Short-sleeved rompers with long pants/Long-sleeved footed sleepsuit
Bathe / washup : Bathe once and clean up once
Change clothes: 2 times a day

14) Yuuri's Kes
Day: Short-sleeve romper/Sleeveless t-shirt with diapers
Night: Sleepsuit / Short-sleeve t-shirt with long pants
Bathe / Washup: Bathe twice and clean up twice

14) Tigg3r's Cherilynn n Clarabelle
Day: Short-sleeve romper with shorts or footed long pants (on cold weather or when air-con is on during nap time)
Night: Footed Sleepsuits from mothercare
Bathe / Washup: Bathe in the late morning and before 6pm. Clean up with cottonball n water during every change of diapers (urine very acidic, sure get rash one)

re: bb recognising faces
cayla has been like this since CNY... everytime a stranger pick her up, she will cry... worst is that when my brother look at her, she will start crying!!! even when my father or my PIL come over, they must warm up with her 1st instead of immediately picking her up when they arrive at my house...

hisstory,
yup, xin tong but no choice cos nowadays the mummy oso need to bring back the bread... keke... the consolation is that when we wave goodbye, she wave back too

thanks mrs teng - think i will slowly try on porridge - make him get used to it. just went supermkt and bot couple of bottled puree..think will add to his cereal to try. Now i give to him neat...

Sigh...ya that day doc say my son on 3percentile and my PD say he is failure to strive...hear already heart really painful...

sam,
ask your fren's gynae to recommend/ give referral... my SIL got prenatal blues years ago... the psychiatrist was recommended by her gynae... but she only recovered after she deliver..

hello mummies!
understand many of you have alr brought baby to japan. any recommendations on travel agent for tour package to hokkaido? adverse feedback on lousy travel agents are welcomed too!

Vanilla Pod

Understand how heart breaking it can be to see baby not progressing like the average ones. Dun be disheartened.. my elder gal now 9 months liao, still at about 6.3kg only.. As long as your boy is active, happy and very lively... dun be too worried lor.. Just got to put more efforts in preparing the food for him.. dun rush or get frustrated when he doesn't eat much. Forcing him will make him dislike the food or throw up, den whatever goes in earlier would have been wasted lor...

Are you a SAHM? your id looks familiar.. were you from one of the IVF thread?

hi mrs teng..
ya patience is somemore not my best virtue...that day he reject the porridge i was frustated but went and make brown rice cereal plain, he ate that happily...

Me not SAHM but yes is from IVF thread....so fast hor.now ur daughters already 8 mths!

Sam,

u can look for alife counsellor for natal blues. They are expert.

aLife - Counselling Centre
Block 308 #01-165, Shunfu Road, Singapore 570308, Tel : +65 6258-8816, Fax : +65 6258-4339

tigg3r,

eh........ can I ask u something.....

can start porridge right away?

I think hisstory asked before, after that can still continue with cereal? I bought too many packets... one flavour each, but end up... too many. Hahaha!!

sylvia,
my bb boy also can wave back liao. he looks very funny, wave like chao cai mao like that... makes me laugh!

Sylvia,
how long are u going to be there? did u pick up the language there or? you mentioned that your dad also speaks and read jap?

wow !
Babies can wave back ! Cool !

Mrs Teng,
Since cannot eat fish and ikan bilis, maybe i revert back to feed him cereal . He is quite happy eating both.

Hisstory,
In case you miss the previous post, confirm the clinic when you see this can? Thanks =D

sylvia, happy_mummy,
haha... yes, cayla can wave back when we say "bye bye"... my mum also taught her to put both her fist together when she say "gong xi, gong xi" during CNY period...
im teaching her to do "flying kiss" which she has not master yet... hahaha... very fun

<font color="#CD3278">happymummy</font>
I think tt's right... Dr Oh Meng Choo at Blk 116
Hope the reviews abt her are right. I just read fr the Bishan mummy thread, some recent not-so-positive reviews are posted.. Nevertheless, like/dislike is really subjective yah?

<font color="#CD3278">dongle</font>
Oooh, Cayla also can wave liao.. heheh! so cute.. Can't bear to leave hor?? but u're right, need to bring in the dough while we still have a job.. Otherwise how!! Prices of everything keeps going up.. *haiz*

<font color="#CD3278">sylvia</font>
Timmin says okie to still give cereal
So long as bb wants.. Ooh dun forget hor, you ordered some Bellamy stuff thru me
hee
I'm picking up this weekend

rona,

gd leh... u can a living zhao cai mao.

then ur cai will come liao.

I learned here during poly time, but most of the time is self -learn coz of growing up environment and in Japan is forced to speak and think like Japan.

In Hokkaido for 4-6weeks.

<font color="ff6000">mousse, </font>

oh... i will be there during the period.

reminder: is fm 15th Jun - 15th July. U can see rose field n Iris field too. I think about 15 kinds of flowers at that period.

End of summer sales is in late sept leh..... July is on spring items.

<font color="0000ff">hisstory, </font>

yaya... nt a prob. i was thinking to bring to Japan, so shld be in time.

I think I got the pasta? I also forgot wat I bought. :p

Tree
Heheh..char is oso a zhao cai mao..she likes to eat fish too!
Mayb datz why hor my hb striked 4d twice last month leh..
but small amt lah..$20 and $60 i tink..heheh..

<font color="#CD3278">sylvia</font>
*phew* Am so scared tt by the time Meredith may not want the items liao..

1) Bellamy's Baby Rice....Baby's First Food from 4 months) ---- 2

2) Bellamy's Baby Porridge....Baby's First Food from 6 months) ---- 2

3) Bellamy's Brown Rice Pasta Stars....Baby's First Food from 7 months) ---- 1

Let u know again when i've picked up the items..

hisstory,

ok ok. hahaha...... when's the expiry date? maybe can last long enough for 2nd one?? dunno when though. hahaha!!

hisstory,
yup, need to work while i can... if not, out of touch with the working world oso no good... *consolation*

reirei,
hahaha... my cayla is oso zhao cai mao &amp; my HB has strike quite a few times after she came, last sun just strike 1st prize but only $2K la... her Birth Cert no... hehe...her playard is FOC... dun need me to pay liao...
my dad says got bb gal means got gambling luck cos he oso strike when i was born...

how come all the gal gal zhao cai mao bring parents luck but i don't have de le? maybe becos mine is boy boy zhao cai mao so can only scare the money away? hmmmm...

actually hb and me also never buy 4D... hehehee... maybe can buy his birth cert no tomorrow? tomorrow got 4D right?

Medusa: hope u get well soon! r u fully BF? dr said ok to breastfeed when having stomach flu?

Happymummy: poor boy. get well soon, Adel..

Sylvia: u and fam used to live in Japan?
I am thinking of going there in Aug.. but then the sale is neither here nor there, ah? so either in Jul or end of Sep is the best.. hmmm.
the cereal, u can give Meredith for breakfast. I still give cereal to Misaki 2x a day, and 1x porridge at nite .(cereal is enriched with iron ).

Mrs Teng: very glad to have u here in this thread! thank u for sharing everything about cooking. learn a lot from u.

Fitbaby: I saw Trudy pic in white dress. soo beautiful and adorable.
kapan nih mau ketemuan.

Fitbaby and Brie: I think if we use the voucher we will still have to e prepared to spend $250 to buy the soft copies. dont think we will take pics for 2 hrs and bring home only 5 pics (as in their package entitlement..hehe)definitely we weill be tempted to get more?
but then its not cheap ya?

Catherine: according to book best to give tomato a bit later, but I started giving it to michan last week , just a little. she's ok with it.

Nini: sayang Baiden... yes this phase will pass..no matter how bad it is, it will pass.

Vone: last time your old maid quit because her contract had finished?
once u feel something is not rite (altho there's no proof ) I agree with u , its better to change the maid.

Dongle: not easy to say good bye to Kayla everyday, yeah. the bigger she is the more difficult it will become.
so smart she can wave bye bye

Sam,
the HT Barley cereals better to mix with brown rice cos if eat it alone can be quite cooling... my boy zhao cai mao ate too much and started to cough when we first started him on solids.
he is ok now liao.

Sylvia,
See that you are getting packed and ready to go! so how? who is taking care of your Meredith in Japan? **me! me! me!**
hehehee i can bring meredith and jerold to pluck flowers... hahaha

rona/hfgaga,
thanks... this was taken when she is 2M+ or 3M+ old, when i was still on ML... hee

rona,
my mom give her barley alternate day leh. is HT brown rice yummy cos my babe dun like the brown rice with si shen... which i tasted is awful too :p

Sam,
My brown rice powder is mixed with si shen, ginseng and jap rice powder, and i mix the HT barley with it and it. i think the barley cereal is a little sweet so the mixture is just nice.

rona,
i bought the moon or izzit rabbit brand de... its tasteless lor, no wonder my ger dun like :p

this is my babe now... ruixuan, her daddy bought her the lilac bumbo...
2328813.jpg

re: baby chairs

my ger has this tendency to raise her legs high high then crashed down on the end of the baby chair. does any bb do this as well? me worried she injure her ankle leh, anyone knows where to get bubble wraps or any cushion to lessen the impact?

hashisan,
haha... my mum taught her all the actions... my colleague was telling me that her daughter cry &amp; scream everyday when she goes to work... cannot imagine the day...

rona,
keke... yup, tomo got 4D...

sam,
your yumin super duper cute... so young can make so many funny faces liao... kekek...

Dongle, Tree
Haha..mayb zhao cai mao is a ger..so it doesn't work when a boyboy tries to be one..:p
Dongle, Char's zhao cai skills still v amateurish..not powderful enuff..datz why oni can do 'xiao cai'...hahah..