(2008/08) Aug 2008

<font color="#CD3278">NiNi</font>
Wah, Braiden has shown a lot of improvement! Ashley decided to play punk with mummy.. Woke at 2+? Then saw me patting her back to sleep, she smiled as if she was ready to play
Patted her for so long until i gave up &amp; went to sleep.. *faint*

Now feeling so tired.. Hb's coming back later, he sms-ed me to say he wld take the night shift tonight, in the event she wakes up *phew*

<font color="#CD3278">rona</font>
My parents wld be taking over.. Hopefully they can manage!

<font color="#CD3278">babyemma</font>
Wah! Ur maid is so daring.. So how now?

<font color="#CD3278">Brie</font>
huh? Milo has caffeine ah? Hmm...

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
What happened? Why did u end up with so much work to do?
My mum also made porridge for Ashley.. Chicken flavoured mixed with pumpkin.. She loved it!

Hisstory,
Ya, your mom also handling many kids when you go back to work right? After coming 6mths, my parents are used to the 2 big kids and Mae liao…

Sob sob, really miss my hb this time coz he is away the longest…yday on leave, went to perm my hair…hahaha

Tim,
Ethan saying mommy and took revenge on your cat?! Your cat won’t retaliate when Ethan pulled its ear?

Catherine,
Bernice is really such a cute and pretty gal! You make me itch to bring both my gals for a formal PS soon! =P

Msapple,
When is the course conducted? And where?

Happy mummy,
Feeling better? Voice returned?

YLN,
Thanks for coordinating. I’m fine with 01 or 02 Aug. =P

Babyemma,
My goodness!!! Your maid hah! My hb’s cousin maid brought bf back home when they aren’t ard too…tsk tsk

Valnsw,
Same here, me also interested in the Sean Lau Photography BP now. =P

hisstory
aiyoo...let me start from the beginning. haha.
7am - pick the boy up from cot and bf. then pump. then feed cereals. then clean him up. then prepare to cook porridge in slow cooker. then change him.
845am - rock him for 2 mins then put him into cot and close the door. then put clothes into machine. then start slow cooker. clean up table.
910am - realised that he was still awake?! then picked him up and rocked for another 2 min and put into cot. this time...he stopped fooling around. i washed up.
945am - woke up. piang! picked him up and got ready to go market. (got to cook tonight...)
10am - go market.
1045am - came home. put everything down.
11am - bf then prepare porridge for him.
1145am - clean him up.
12pm - let him rest and play.
1215pm - rock him for 2 mins then put in cot. then went to boil soup. cos i need to go out later.
yah lor...that's y i only got my 1st break then.

wah...chicken flavoured!! i gave ethan plain porridge mixed with carrot &amp; cauliflower puree &amp; ground ikan bilis. very sweet already! can't imagine ashley's!!!

m2b
that day didn't. that cat also see mood one. if it willingly went to ethan...then watever ethan does also OK. but if ethan went to it...then... BLOODSHED! haha...
ytd ethan got scratched. got blood. and that boy like nothing like that. continue to chase the cat. sigh...

krex
i tink i'm gonna give the 3rd feed @ 5pm. and that will be his future dinner timing. cos he's always looking for a feed then. even tho' i bf @ 3pm!

cocomo, cat
wah...u gals are FULL ON man u fans man!!! cool!! let me know if u're getting anything online. might get 1 for ethan. heehee...but ex or not ah???

Little Twin Star
Lost weight? No leh, ever since CNY, I started gain a bit liao.. No more breastfeeding, that's why increasing in weight..

Did GG have sufficient intake of fluid per day or not... according to my dietician, bbs on solid still need a certain amount of fluid so that they won't constipate..

These 2 days, gave them Baby spinach, pork, potato and white rice porridge for lunch. Both seemed to love it. Finish everything... Cheril took about 10 tbsp and Clara took about 14 tbsp.

Happy mummy
All you need to is to steam the veggie or stew the fruits.. den use hand blender or machine type also can...
There's lots of choices on what you like to puree, it all depends on what your darling like and whether she/he can take it lor. Here's some eg:

Broccoli (may induce wind)
Carrot
Pumpkin
Squash
Cauliflower (may induce wind)
Spinach (I dun puree spinach as it's own, using put in slower cooker just 20 mins before I off the cooker, den blend together with porridge)
Potato
Sweet corn (a small amount mixed with potato to puree)
Sweet potato (may induce wind)
Green peas (but not too soon, probably after 8 months)

Papaya
Banana
Kiwi fruits (no seeds) may cause allergy
Ripe pear
Apple

ACCORDING TO MY DIETICIAN : Always try the new item in smaller amount on first day and for about 2-4 days to look out for signs of allergy before trying out another food type.

I was told to introduce 1-3 tsp of Yogurt for Cheril.. Can also take tofu also (but not the egg type)

Huichin
The container is no specific brand (japanese brand) ..got it from NTUC cos it was on sale... quite tight and easy to store in the freezer.. capacity is 70ml but I just put about 50 ml.

Wendy
Yeap! you are so rite about the portion, I thaw it early in the morning in the fridge, warm the entire container (this one that I have quite tight, so no need to worry lor) in not so hot water just before feeding babies.. One container can be finished by both gals, so I dun need to keep... In your case, you may it to finish it within 24 hrs.

Nini
I tried using threadfin, but Cheril just din like it.. so just got to give them pork first.. Probably when they are 10 mths old, I'll use dry scallop for their porridge, now dare not give bcos scared they may be allergic to scallop...

Interrace
Purees are rather simple... I bought the different types of veggie I want and steam at one go... usually supply for a week..

Just cut into chunks and steam them for about 7 to 8 mins or until soften.. toothpick is the best way to test it. Den use hand blender or machine blender to puree them.

Tree Nymph
Yeas, I have thot of using huai san for their porridge... but got to wait lor... bcos still got a list of items for them to test before going on the huai san.. Infact, I wanted so much to introduce ginger and garlic.. already asked their dietician, she say can.

Think will use the huai san and boil together with the porridge , den take out before blending the porridge.. just use the essences, that all

Re: Crawling

Goosh! my gals are starting to crawl fast liao... think it's time for daddy to buy leash for them..

mrs teng
re: crawling
yah...mine too! crawling to main door and kitchen liao! got to keep looking out for him. i told my hb we got to get a leash...cos i tink i got a lil' monkey on my hands. but my hb don't like the idea leh. i told him i wld rather put him on a leash then lose him! but after i typed it out...it does sound a lil' animal-ish? heehee

Hey Mrs Teng
Oh NTUC huh...ok i go see. Hehe..

Re: Purees for BB
Whoa i think i'm the most lazy mummy here loh...so far i only gave Falisha Avocado/Banana/Pumpkin abt 2 times each only leh. Still giving her more cereal and brown rice. DIee...okok i better do like Mrs Teng, steam one shot then store hor. Maybe i steam for 3 days' worth.

If i pureed my vege today liao for eg, and i wanna give bb tmr the same batch(i've seperated into portions), do i still freeze it or store in the normal fridge compartment?

snow, dis morning I was thinking hw lor. can i bath her n me together, coz no extra helper leh.......

i was thinking do i need to bring bumbo seat n let her sit while i bath... :p

Gymboree Gym Gathering
1)YLN (any weekend also can)
2)snow74 (prefer Aug, any weekend except 8 Aug)
3)Linx
4)Valnsw
5)Sylvia
6)fitbaby
7)celynlee (any weekends)
8)dongle (any weekend except 18-19 july)
9)aurora
10)wendy
11)catherine (tentative - depends on final date)
12)M2B (ok if Sat, thanks!)
13)april
14)Megan
15) krex78 (tentative)
16) Hui Chin (tentative)
17) balugu (tentative)
18) Jen (prefer Sun except 23 Aug)
19) Vern (any weekend except 8 Aug)
20) Happy mummy (weekends)
21) cocomo (weekends)
22) missysz (tentatively depending on final date)
23) interrace (tentative)
24) Tree (tentatively depending on final date)
25) Hashisan
26) babyemma(anyweek except 8 Aug)
27) twinstars (anyweek except 25 July)
28) mousse (prefer Sat)

graduated fm toothless club

Meredith officially graduated!

Today I saw her tiny white tooth/teeth edges!

Few days ago, hb already felt the sharp sharp things, but cant see.

But..... today... she hyper active leh. missed her morning nap, and when she finally fell asleep, the mosquito spray started their machine right below... then fully awake ... till now.....

dunno why so happy? maybe no more pain?

Whoaa...hahaa...Samantha, hi-five then! hahaa...

actually i kept dragging cos i'm working fulltime, and it's my maid taking care of my girl at home. So everytime wanna intro new puree, i always wanna do it myself 1st. THen can only wait till weekends. Then weekends always go out. Then NO chance to eat/try. Can die rite!! LOL

i think i will buy small portions and puree and store like Mrs Teng says. BTW can anyone advise me on how to store part i asked just now?

Congrats Sylvia! Ur Meredith graduated liao, so fast leh alotta u! haha..my Falisha still got boh-geh smile...lol

Re: BB 'growling'
Anyone Mummies here experience ur bb making a growling sound? Falisha lurrrrves to make that sound loh...duno y.

Huichin,

Hi5
I feel bad leh, cos I haben been hardworking like the mommies here. Ytd my ger choked on the grated pear, then throw up her milk. Sian, till now can't swallow...

huichin,

the growling sound is them trying to stretch as they are growing taller.

so it's ok.

my Meredith still look bog geh leh. coz teeth too tiny liao. Hahaha!!

Timmim

Wah! your's really fast! Mine still not so bad yet... Anyway, it's their daddy's idea to buy the leash... he's not against it. It would be better bcos if both the gals go on separate ways, he'll be in trouble, so he thinks the leash is perfectly alrite. Btw, my hb eat 'kan dang' one , very ang moh pai...

Huichin

It all depends on what time you puree the veggie, if it's less den 24 hrs from the time you puree until the intended time of feeding, den it's ok that you keep in the fridge compartment rather den the freezer. Well! Msapple may have a better idea on how to store the puree...

m2b
aiyo...sure pain! i kena scratched also pain! but i dunno y my boy not bothered by it. haha

mrs teng
my hb also eat 'kan dang' one leh.

brie,

wah must take so many times a day? will it make u hungry? so 1 box can only last a wk? milo got a bit of caffiene cos it contains cocoa but it's quite negligible as compared to coffee and black tea.

timmin,

do u buy ripe or unripe avocados? can't find ripe ones leh. our bbs like always hungry one hor? i can bf him at 8pm and he'll still finish his last feed at 10pm. feed milk at 12pm still can finish 1 cube of puree at 2pm, haha. btw, do u give ethan juice? can give adult ones or must be child juice like gerber?

grounded ikan bilis

anyone know where to buy grounded ikan bilis for babies?

ask me to roast n grounded... think I will burn the hse down. Hahaha!!

FM
is it a must to fin within 1 mth?
y is that so?

at the rate I'm giving.... 6 mths dunno can fin, let alone 1 mth.... :p

krex
my mil has been buying ethan's avocados. but i tink she buys unripe and passes them to me when they're ripe. it's ok to buy unripe. they'll ripe in no time in our weather.

yah lor...always ready for solids! i always bf him till he refuses anymore. then i give solids straight after. he still can eat so much! i'm gonna try 1st 3rd meal later @ 5pm.

i haven't given him juice leh. cos he's taking water well. i dun want to take the chance that he'll reject water after.

sylvia,

i think nestle has cereal or porridge with ikan bilis flavour...if u're a lazy mummy

ethan,

jonah is getting papaya today. wonder if he'll like it...coz' i dun like the taste of papaya, haha.

Gymboree Gym Gathering
3)Linx
4)Valnsw
5)Sylvia
6)fitbaby
9)aurora (anyweek except 25 July)
10)wendy
13)april
14)Megan
15) krex78 (tentative)
16) Hui Chin (tentative)
17) balugu (tentative)
21) cocomo (weekends)
25) Hashisan
28) mousse (prefer Sat)

Gymboree Gym Gathering
3)Linx
4)Valnsw
5)Sylvia
6)fitbaby
9)aurora
10)wendy
13)april
14)Megan
15) krex78 (tentative)
16) Hui Chin (tentative)
17) balugu (tentative)
21) cocomo (weekends)
25) Hashisan
28) mousse (prefer Sat)
29) melmal12

Hey mommies...how do you use slow cooker ah? I just bought one today..not sure for 2 tblsps of 11 grains rice..how much water for porridge and how long to cook. Since there is no timer..i have to off it myself..damn leceh..

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
I think no joke wor.. It's like 1 : 1? And Ashley usually needs someone to sit with her to rock the sarong.. Think lunch time wld be chaos! Got to feed the toddler &amp; Ashley &amp; themselves, and after tt bathe them..

Hb's paying for the perm?? heehee..

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
Wah, sounds like a reallyreally siong morning! Can faint.. Think u wld KO really early tonight!

Not tt sweet leh.. I thought it wld be very sweet, but nopez. Think it was just chicken bones into the porridge &amp; then last min add in the pumpkin to get it softened, so prob didn't pick up the sweetness fr the pumpkin.. I think lah, i dunno how to cook porridge one

Gymboree Gym Gathering
3)Linx
4)Valnsw
5)Sylvia
6)fitbaby
9)aurora (anyweek except 25 July)
10)wendy
13)april
14)Megan
15) krex78 (tentative)
16) Hui Chin (tentative)
17) balugu (tentative)
21) cocomo (weekends)
25) Hashisan
28) mousse (prefer Sat)
29) melmal12

<font color="#CD3278">rona</font>
I dunno leh.. Though of late when she goes ILs place, she wld cry. But if we meet outside, she's okie leh... Hmmm

just came back from career exhibition, giddy till gonna faint soon. =P

samantha
send u mail liao, all cost breakdown and fund tt info inside. =)

yln
hee hee....ya lor, got door gift is also to pacify those toddlers who not involve in gift exchange.
if u want, i also can help source goodies for door gifts lor.

u must be very tired to wake up at nite like that, but teething thingy is just this stage nia lor.
jia you!

sylvia
congrats on meredith graduation...hee hee...

she can sit down and wait har?
so gd....my zynn sharp bottom 1. =|
but u not worry to left her alone outside meh?
i see if i can kidnap my helper along, if can at least she can help see look see look outside.

snow,

i tot u didnt see my pm nor post. almost wanted to radio for ya... haa... i email u my add wif the txn ref later... how much shd the postage be arh... i trf together...

snow,

hw's career exhibition?

sit dwn.... dunno leh. coz nw put her in bumbo seat... her bottom will come up n dwn so much that gng to topple any sooner.....

no lah. put oso put inside n I bath loh. if put outside... i hv to play peek a boo.... liao. Hahaha!!

ok ok.. if u can get... then I tombang. Hahaha!!

Hisstory,
actually my parents complain more about the bigger kids misbehaving lor...they say Mae just eat and sleep and some entertaining only...whereas the 2 bigger 1s will be up to mischief if together...hahaha

good idea to get hb to pay for the perm huh? get the $ back from him when he is back coz I paid liao...hmmm

Snow,
Why giddy? Not feeling well?

samantha
pai seh, need some time to calculate cos this round many items from diff merchants lor.
u want me to post u ur items ah? -_-"
i try hor....u want registered post?

sylvia
its more on education than career lor.
i just fill in the application form for both IRs...hee hee.....

if u play peek a boo with her sitting outside, think all of us will join her also...ha ha.. =D

m2b
think cos been busy running outside past few days, so till today fell very tired liao lor.
but after some rest, should be ok liao lah.
thx for ur concern. =)

samantha
sorry har...i wrote wrongly my acc no., had resent u my acc no. liao.
think its really time for me to sleep le. =P

snow74,
was juz kidding wif ya juz now... hee

lucky u realise it in time... If not, i aso dunno how to get refund... haa... i will trf tonite... think go normal post bah...

M2B,
I am not sure yet cos she is still looking for a place which is well equip. I will PM u in a short while.

Mrs Teng &amp; Huichin,
Erm this is what I know, puree can be keep in the fridge if it is gonna be served within 24 hrs if not it is better to store in freezer(once the food/veg frozen, cell walls of the food/veg stop producing germ). If you got the time, is best to give freshly cooked food. Like me as a working mom, I cant be at home to cook for my bb for every meal, so I need to get my maid to help. Like for my first maid (she is taking care of my #1), she doesnt know how to handle food at all so I got to teach her and ensure she adhere cleaniness and proper way of handle food and control the fire, so I better be safe and make the puree myself and store it when my girl start solid. This 2nd maid, before I delivered my #2, i trained her to cook for my #1 and ensure she is ok to handle bb food, so now she is the one who cook for my #1 and #2. And every new food introduce, I will cook once for her to see and clearly tell her what to take note and see her cook one time. So those that can be puree in small amount, she make freshly for her, those that are large in portion and the baby cannot finish in one meal, we got to freeze it. Frozen puree which is properly prepared is better than freshly made puree which is not properly handle and cooked right! That is why most of the sources said that if you dont know how to handle baby food properly it is best that you purchase those commercial jar food. Just something to share. You may find out more from other sources.

hisstory
yah man...can't wait to lie on my bed &amp; koon! :D i was chatting with a couple of mummies today and they said the ground ikan bilis probably made it very sweet. you can try that.

<font color="0000ff">snow</font>

IRs? wah... ok ok.

education? then why is it called CAREER exhibition?

Eh........... then i very stress playing peek-ka-boo liao loh. Hahahaha!!

yes brown rice will take very long time to cook. For my I grind first before cook and i mix together with jap rice so it wont be soggy as what you said and also too much brown rice is very heaty. broccoli puree you got add abit hot water to puree to achieve a thin and smooth consistency? I don’t give everything organic. I only choose organic for leafy veg due to the pesticide esp when their liver is still immature. Actually there is two school of thought about giving organic so it all depend on what u think. I look at the the packaging content then whether it is organic or not.

Mrs Teng,
Is not easy for you. *hug*
Not stress urself k.
So what the specialist said about her condition? Did you try to look for afew more specialist and dietician to see what they can do? Does ur baby still active and alert though she nv gain much weight? My girl is only 5.93kg at 6 months, not very heavy also just like my #1.

Nini,
I agreed with you, I also wont intro meat (fish first, pork and chicken will be even later) before 8 month. For me I dont rush into intro as many food as I can. Weaning is all about getting baby to be familiar and make friend with MR SPOON. hee For the first year, milk is still their main source of food and nutrient