(2008/08) Aug 2008

morning ladies. =)
ai yo, all those bb so cute...
all so big liao hor, still remember the last gathering all still small small only.

hisstory
thx, now can't do anything but keep sending application letter lor.

ya, go hk during early dec shd be very nice.
but hor, clothing there not suitable for s'pore lor.
think u would prefer to push or carry her, cos like that u all can walk faster and save time mah.
hee hee....even my 3yr old gal still walking not that fast leh, althought sometime she can run lah.

catherine
bo lah, both of us are s'porean.
just that hk is a comfy place for ppl who seldom go oversea to go lor, ppl like me lah. =P
cos their culture more similar to s'pore ya?

u sent bernice's photos into that competition?

sylvia
safra mt. faber also got a pool side restaurant which lotsa ppl holding party there.
its nearer to central, u gals want me to chk on the price too?

mrs_n
me trying to clear cny left over peanuts also....hee hee....
eat like nothing.

m2b
wah....u win liao lor. =D
was thinking of ordering my kose eye mask from bp also, almost forgotten.

After reading through the different sort of arrangements the few places that can cater to our party, lets do a poll.

If any mummies have other ideas, do share and we will see what are the feedbacks on those ideas. So far, i think outdoors will not be good, so these options below are all indoors.

<font color="0000ff">BBs 1st Bday Bash</font>

1) Gymboree Gym Party - YLN
2) Build a Bear -
3) Macdonald's -

nini
The babies are very cute and chubby. Trudy was the only baby girl that day? So lucky gal. 

shint
Initially I also thought your Kai has changed so much…

wendy
How much is the steamer? Did you get it during the sale? If the price is okay, can get my hubby to bring me there. Hee..

rat/snow,
ya sent in but didnt get selected

YLN,
I think food for the kids now is abit secondary cos by 1YO i dont think they be eating the bday food. I think most impt is the decor and the place. Thats my thot la.

morning mommies

valnsw
dispute abt reno uh ? try to talk it thru lo.. for me that time, our main concern is the bb (n that time bb even hasnt come out yet :p) so we try not to do too much sophisticated reno.. need to think abt budget too...

TImmin
How's ethan today ?

Snow
yup understand.. if the cost got break down we wont really feel we have spent so much
that's the clever markting strategy

Oh forgot to say, my gal nowadays oso shouting n screaming, yup the high pitch one.. she even learn if she doesnt want something she'll sure will scream one till cough cough like that..
my mum said mayb bb when they realize they can make this sound feel happy n they mite like to hear their voices heheheh

linx,
thats what i say too .. that they amazed with the that high pitched sound they are able to make. Bernice very naughty she now learn to fake a cough.. she will go "cough cough" then smile .. so we learn to ignore her coughs cos she's just trying to get attention.

BBs 1st Bday Bash

1) Gymboree Gym Party
- YLN
- snow74
2) Build a Bear
-
3) Macdonald's
-

catherine
had they rel the result liao?
cos i understand that they extended the dateline for photo submission rite?

linx
ya lor, but since its over we also never discuss much liao lor.

oh, really ah?
bb will be happy when they heard their own shout?
no wonder zynn also shout till cought, sometime will fake cought out of nothing also.
really very fake that kinda cought sound..ha ha..

my updated resolution:

Breastfeeding Support Group Survey (Ongoing):
1. Jen - TBF, baby led
2. Rona - TBF >1yr
3. Krex - PBF (1FM); 1yr
4. mummygiraffe - TBF; >1yr
5. celynlee - PBF (1FM); >1 yr
6. Rata - TBF; 1yr
7. msapple - PBF (max 1 FM); >2 yrs

missysz,
I may start grinding brown rice when Aisleyne turned 7 months and store it in container. You want you come my house one day i show you. Jap i am using the Nikixxx brand. Dunno how to spell haha is a Jap Brand. Brown rice i am using organic one (Australia brand). For me I miz Jap rice with the grinded brown rice in slow cooker to cook

Nini,Jem, and all at nini's house,
trudy is the chubbiest? saw the foto with the 3 bbies, very nice fotos! and the one with all the babies, they are all so cute and chubby! very very cute! felt like squeezing their fat thighs... hehehe

<font color="0077aa">msapple,</font>
How to grind rice? which appliance do you use?

celyn,

what's g6pd?

mrs n,

OMG! so i'm not the only one with this prob! was so depressed when my isis duo only gave me 100ml this morning. i usu collect the most in the morning after i wake up...at least 160 - 180ml. and i was pumping like mad for 1 hr! then when i told my hb, he asked me why i dun switch to manual??? are u using this one now:

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/lactalinepump.html

if i buy, i'll definitely be more det to pump till 1 yr, but i hope it's not a rash pch.

wendy,

my boy's skin quite sensitive too but pd didn't say anything. his terribe milk and heat rash cleared when he was 1 mth old after pd gave some steriod cream. he will still get spots occasionally esp when he touch his face with dirty hands. but recently he seems to have heat rash at his neck...dunno if it's the hot weather?

missy,

actually can use normal tefal or iona steamer from best denki or courts. not very ex and these are also double/ triple layer and can use to cook rice and fish at the same time.

wendy
the book is good huh? but also ur bb very good boy too!!

linx
he's slightly grumpier these couple of days. not sure why also. he's happy, but just harder to please. i'm gonna get out of the hse!!

<font color="aa00aa">peanut butter,</font>
This is my favourite too. during pregnancy, i've single-handedly finished two big bottle of the Adams Chunky peanut butter and now I'm eating the Skippy Roasted Honey Peanut Butter... Its very good. Bought it from NTUC and finishing soon. didn't know the essence will go to the breastmilk...
Sure about this? Luckily Jerold doesn't seem to be affected. I read from some article reporting that MOST caucasian babies have this peanut allegies but Asian babies are usually free from it.

<font color="ff6000">sashimi,</font>
Jap ladies has been eating this leh, cos i've a jap customer who told me that his wife didn't stop eating sashimi! Just have to make sure the the quality if good lor! so have to go to reputated restaurant...
I love to eat tuna belly sashimi... but so damn expensive!

Catherine,
Jus to add, carrots can cause bb to turn orangy too! hehe..

Wendy,
My bb's poo is not consistent..sometimes chewy/gluey, sometimes watery..but wat i noticed are bits of carrots in her poo! :p

Valnsw,
Hee..ok thks!
i go ask Mousse abt the voucher.

Mousse,
I'm interested in getting the buy 5 get 1 can free enfapro voucher..muz exchange wif nan too ah?

<font color="0000ff">Pampers sale</font>
FairPrice ad in today's ST - Pampers Active M size (68pc pk) selling at 2 for S$45.95!
Datz S$0.34 a piece! instead of the usual S$0.50!

the post are going at at lightning speed, the moment i read the posts, there are more posts liao so i keep on refreshing the page

ms apple,
wow ur method very good leh, i rem those oler generation will also do this grinding and the bb grow big and strong...well i do not have the time and strength me lazy mummy keke

cat,
all ur porridge sound so yummy leh, next time can ask you for the receipe? maybe you can do up a cooking bb book?

bb pictures,
all so cuteeeeeee....

YLN,
thanks for organising, i ok with anyting...

shint,
i also tot Kai chnaged so much leh, me rem this week you went back to work liao eh how cum got time bring Kai go gathering....

mummies..

dunno what happen, these few days..my son cannot sleep well at night, kept tossing about..till I am like a panda now...haiz..

cat, moving end of next mth or early april
so am thinking can walk to katong mall for the positive babies class...u interested or anyone else? besides babyemma

what photo exhibition? can share

I am open to Gymboree...

Hi hi ReiRei,
I just wanted to exchange the vouchers + milk powder altogether, more attractive maahhh!
Cos if baby drinks Enfapro A+, this is a very good deal. Would you happen to have the NAN Pro 2 sample from Nestle?

i also have the nestle NAN Pro 2 sample leh, any mummies bb drinking wish to have it? i do not really have much use leh dun waste mah

<font color="#CD6889">sylvia</font>
Thanks I PM u soon k? Thanks in advance!!

<font color="#CD6889">krex</font>
hehehh, wah 1st attempt oredi 1 tbsp..

<font color="#CD6889">val</font>
Thanks for the heads up on PetPet.. Was telling myself need to get soon
*heheh*

<font color="#CD6889">M2B</font>
Wah... Really spreeing away!!

Was looking at the mascara.. heheheh, scared too dramatic &amp; then too kua zhang

<font color="#CD6889">Wendy</font>
Really healthy.. heheh, I'm taking soup based lunches when I'm not at my parents. Fastest!
But then come dinner, when hb &amp; i go out.. ahahah

David sayang mummy leh.. Really sleeping thru the night!! My little one still wakes for a feed

<font color="#CD6889">snow</font>
Nvm lor, cannot buy clothes, buy other things.. heehee, I think hb's agenda is to eat!
Prob carry or push her ard.. Now with the carrier, i think shd be less strenuous to carry *i hope* And hopefully at 16m.o she wld enjoy Disneyland..

Any gd hotels to recommend?

krex78,
G6PD is one of many enzymes that help the body process carbohydrates and turn them into energy. G6PD also protects red blood cells from potentially harmful byproducts that can accumulate when a person takes certain medications or when the body is fighting an infection.

In people with G6PD deficiency, either the RBCs do not make enough G6PD or what is produced cannot properly function. Without enough G6PD to protect them, RBCs can be damaged or destroyed. Hemolytic anemia occurs when the bone marrow (the soft, spongy part of the bone that produces new blood cells) cannot compensate for this destruction by increasing its production of RBCs.

Missysz..
Yes, I bought the steamer at the IKEA sale when I was still preggy. I think it was only $29! Thought it was very reasonable and knew that I'd use it for the baby so I bought it.

Krex..
Heat rash could be due to the weather. My boy also have. His face still breaks out in rashes (esp around his mouth) now and then. Dunno is it milk or heat rash.. I also apply the steroid cream prescribed by the PD sparingly. I also suspect could be his saliva because he loves putting his fingers in his mouth.. for that matter, whatever he can get his hands on goes straight into the mouth so that area is always moist with saliva. Have to make conscious effort to wipe whenever I can.

Timminbuzz..
Yes.. tks so much for the book recommendation!
Really really helpful. But his day naps still very short - 30mins or so. Never mind.. sleep more at night also good lah

ReiRei..
My boy's poo hasn't been watery for quite a while already. Thick and sticky in some sense also good.. makes cleaning a tad easier

Hisstory..
Have you PMed me YG's contact for the diaper supplier? Tks!!

<font color="#CD6889">Wendy</font>
I try to send u today k... Hang in there
U finished the book oredi? I kind of stopped reading coz eventually when my parents take over as caregivers I cannot expect them to watch out for sleepy cues.
Got 2 babies + 1 toddler to jagar, not possible to pay tt much attention

But hb &amp; i are working on our own for night sleep

/b{/green{cat,}}
I was having peanut butter, cheese and butter baguette just now when i was reading post. I think the two of us can get together and have a makan party.

Who is up for buffet? especially chocolates? Where got good buffet spread with good chocolates/desserts?

Val &amp; Snow,
Haha, after I finished a piece of work or mental blick, I will go BP look look see see lor...hahaha

Hisstory,
I ordered 1 of the mascara to try but yet to open it...I'm using the Majorca (spelling) 1 now...quite good!

BBs 1st Bday Bash

1) Gymboree Gym Party
- YLN
- snow74
- M2B
2) Build a Bear
- Personally think our kids are too young at 1, end up mommies doing
3) Macdonald's
- The games played might not be suitable for 1yo.

My opinion lah.

<font color="119911">cat,</font>
alamak! wrong stroke!!!

I'm still having fun with the colours... haven't started with doing up all the doc yet. very sian...

<font color="0000ff">M2B,</font>
good therapy hor... me too lah... i like to join sprees too... even for things i don't know. now trying to curb. like snow, vit m very low after the market plunged...

Me too, I like the Majorca mascara. I bought a few last year in toyko when its not found in s'pore. good that they have it now.

wendy
no probs! don't worry...they'll extend nap duration on their own! ethan was on 30min naps for the longest time. now he takes abt an hr, sometimes even 2hrs! i agree that night sleep is better! heheh...:D

Hisstory..
Okie dokes.. no worrries.. no hurry!! Hee.. thanks

I have not finished the book yet but kinda stopped reading cos I think whatever I need to know NOW.. I've read it up already. If need to tackle sleep issues (if any) when he is older.. then will prob refer back to it!

timminbuzz..
I sure hope that he'll extend.. there were a couple of times where he napped close to an hour in the morning. But not consistent. Ethan very good boy too! Gives mommy time during the day

Just wondering, do you all on aircon for baby to sleep in the daytime? I do, and he sleeps 2.5-3hrs every morning! (he fell asleep at 10.15 and still asleep now)

Yuuri
I don't on the a/c for the boy during the day. Tried it before and he still napped only about half hour.. so no point wasting electricity!! Hee..

It's great that your boy sleeps so well and so long!! How about in the afternoon? Also the same?

messy eating,
He isn't that messy everytime... just sometimes. I bought those shirt-like bibs with sleeves from mothercare, but such a big thing to wash everytime, so I seldom use. Got a few times weather hot I fed him while he was topless... kekek. Followed by a bath lah.

Wendy,
Stains on romper - I try to wash the stain immediately after feeding then throw it into the soaking pail with the rest of his laundry.

celyn,
I had a scare when my CL's agent told me I shouldn't broad beans when I was pregnant - I already ate she keep saying and saying that my bb will get g6pd. In the end didn't - phew. But I dunno where read that in Sg boys with g6pd are exempted from NS. Have you heard of this? Dunno how true.

Wendy
Yup he's a power napper! Afternoon will take 1-2hrs nap...evening another 1-2hrs nap. At night also sleep through...dunno why he likes to sleep so much. Good in the sense I can do my own things. Bad in the sense, I never have alot of time to do flashcards with him! But my 'trick' is I always on aircon to put him to sleep..

yuuri,
I wish my bb could sleep so well. It's plain torture for me! His sleep is so broken! So I have to stay near him to pat him when he stir otherwise he'll start crying - he looks like he doesn't sleep enough cos sometimes when he's had a long nap, he wakes up quite happy. Sometimes I feel like stabbing myself in the the thigh trying to stay calm myself so that he can fall asleep calmly.

wendy
aiyo..ethan's also not consistent one. recently, he's been taking shorter naps again. max 1hr. dunno y. i guess they go thru phases.

yuuri
i don't on the aircon in the day. but i tried too! it didn't work! so i thot i might as well save electricity. the times when he napped for longer...everything else was the same. haha...

yeah! gr8 that ur boy takes long naps!

Briebaby
Did you try on-ing the aircon? haha...it's the only thing I can think of. And I will heap a comforter on top of him so he feels very snug.

Timmin
Hmm...never on aircon also good lah. My boy takes up so much electricity!

briebaby
i've come to accept the fact that some bbs are just short nappers and some love to nap (like yuuri's.
i used to keep rocking ethan back to sleep too when he took a short nap. but the day i stopped that, he slept thru leh! so i guess it was his way of telling me that he had enough. :D now, i'm not particular abt how long he naps, as long as he gets sufficient no. of naps. but i'm still very particular that he goes to bed early, so he can get his sleep @ night. i read that for bbs this age...they need abt 15hrs in total. of cos some need less, and some need more.